The Beast from the East

Swanny17

Jambo-Jimbo

Update on Road closures in the Borders.

Severe weather update

Heavy snowfall affects Borders

Latest update - 9am Sunday 4 March

The following roads are closed as far as we are aware.  Crews have been working through the evening on primary routes and overnight on key arterial routes.

We are receiving updates this morning, and will keep this list updated as much as we can.

Many routes will only be passable with extreme care. Many minor routes in rural areas will be impassable.

• A697 Carfraemill to Greenlaw
  • B709 Pipers Grave
  • B7007-B709 to the border
  • B6362 Stow to Lauder
  • B6368 Gilston
  • B6356 Earlston to Clintmains
  • C28 Denholm Hill
  • A1107 Tower Farm to Coldingham
  • C94 Coldstream to Duns
  • B6437 Auchencrow to Chirnside
  • D1/6 Longformacus/Cranshaws
  • A6112 Coldsteam to Swinton
  • A6112 Duns to Swinton
  • B6437 Pistols crossroad - Whitsome
  • C98 Longformacus to East lothian boundary

https://www.scotborders.gov.uk/info/20008/emergencies_and_safety/678/emergency_road_closures

For anyone who might not know the B709 Pipers Grave road is the Innerleithen to Middleton/Gorebridge section connecting to the A7.

Most schools still look likely to be closed on Monday again here in the Borders, there will be a further update later today as to whether the schools are to stay closed or not.

• Replies 1k
25 minutes ago, Normthebarman said:

I have a question for any teachers on here. We've been looking after our neice from Germany the last 8 weeks and she's been registered at the local primary school. She was supposed to fly home today but her mum wasn't able to fly over here to escort her back, so she's with us for another week. 

Will she still be able to go to school tomorrow? The missus is concerned that they'll say no as she was only registered to go for the last 8 weeks and they may not be insured to take her. 

Pretty sure it will be ok.

I used to work in a school that had a travellers site close by and they would register kids on the day and start them straight away.

You wouldn't see the kids for 6 weeks at a time tho when the parents were on the move

4 minutes ago, chester copperpot said:

I used to work in a school that had a travellers site close by and they would register kids on the day and start them straight away.

You wouldn't see the kids for 6 weeks at a time tho when the parents were on the move

Cheers Chester. Here's hoping. 

21 minutes ago, EH17 said:

Decided to dig the car out yesterday  and go shopping for food, i got out my street no problem but got stuck in my street on the way back, 1 neighbour (Polish woman) on her way back from the corner shop offered to push :oohmatron::ruiner: and then another Polish neighbour came out to help, but there was S*** loads of curtain twitchers and a Royal Mail van and a Next Delivery van  that just sat watching my attempt to get free. To top it all off some fecker was in the parking space i spent 30 mins clearing to get out off earlier. 

I managed to get parked in the next street but that was a struggle so i did not even attempt to get the car out today for me to drive the wife to work.

Thank you my Polish friends and feck you to the others.

Mon the Hearts.

My neighbour kindly offered to get some essentials for us the other day.

He says he is well used to these conditions in Poland.

So off he drove in his 4x4 and came back with bread and milk.

Top bloke?

1 minute ago, luckydug said:

Top bloke?

Those bloody foreigners.

Well done to him.

Fraggle Rock
20 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

Snowing heavy here again as well.

Yep, started again here in the Liberton area.

Fraggle Rock
12 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Top bloke?

Nice one,

Luckily my corner shop is about 1min from my door for emergency essentials but i needed a Big shop as with the kids being of school they are munching their way through everything fairly quickly.

3 minutes ago, EH17 said:

Yep, started again here in the Liberton area.

Wish it would just **** right off.Had a look at my weather app and it's saying it's pretty much going to be on until 6pm tonight.

Fraggle Rock
4 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

Wish it would just **** right off.Had a look at my weather app and it's saying it's pretty much going to be on until 6pm tonight.

Aye, I kinda hoped it would start thawing a wee bit now,  but nope.

The BBC weather have my area as sleet today but it is clearly snowing now.

Fraggle Rock

Oh well, i think it is time to nip to the corner shop for some beers, i wasn't planning on having a drink today as i was hoping to  get the car back on the road tomorrow but i think that's a big no no now.

Mon the Hearts.

I thought I had a brush to start sweeping snow but can't find it.  Bought it in 2010 after the snow problems and never used it as I live in flats.

No neighbours in our block have made any effort which means should I clear way for my car then some ***** would take its space.

The selfish cow in my block moved her car from the car park to the only drivable side of the road in front of the building on Friday, causing problems for the whole street.  Hope she moves and someone takes her place.

Looks like I will bus it to work tomorrow and target Wednesday as a possible return to driving.

Angry Haggis

Time to just cut the Borders loose...nothing but problems. Bit like Fife actually. Build a wall. Sorted. 

23 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

The rain starting to do a job :pleasing:

Just hope the temperature doesn’t take a drop. Felt like my taxi was on the Dancing on Ice programme last night. Was fun at times though:D

Just now, jonnothejambo said:

Is that not how you lot usually chuck the cab aboot   ?

:tlj:

Good one:laugh:

Maybe some of the jockeys do, but as an owner of a new cab, I’m looking after it.

Pishing with rain and melting. It will be a distant memory tomorrow.

Just have to panic about the floods now :jj_facepalm:

53 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Just hope the temperature doesn’t take a drop. Felt like my taxi was on the Dancing on Ice programme last night. Was fun at times though:D

It's to actually rise as the night goes on

Thank **** that the rains here and taking care of the snow. Hope it gets warmer now. 

17 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Thank **** that the rains here and taking care of the snow. Hope it gets warmer now. 

4 c the morra , snow will soon be gone.:smile:

16 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

:oohmatron:

‘What you trying to insinuate jonno, you better watch out, you might get a ban:qqb006:

1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

It's to actually rise as the night goes on

Good news, need those golf courses open

1 minute ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Good news, need those golf courses open

Loads of green patches on Carrick Knowe golf course when I walked the dug this morning.

Playable by Tuesday

Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

Loads of green patches on Carrick Knowe golf course when I walked the dug this morning.

Playable by Tuesday

:jiggy:

Cleared my drive on fri afternoon. Yesterday the neighbours were out clearing the street. I got a few looks while I was out having a fag and coffee as if I was to grab my shovel and help out ?? they were duly ignored

6 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Dinny even go there.......

:angry:

4 minutes ago, Eddie said:

Cleared my drive on fri afternoon. Yesterday the neighbours were out clearing the street. I got a few looks while I was out having a fag and coffee as if I was to grab my shovel and help out ?? they were duly ignored

Christ, I live next door to Eddie :sad:

Meant to be driving back to West Linton tomorrow. Can't see it happening. Been off work since Tuesday though, going stir crazy. 

15 hours ago, chester copperpot said:

Robbing old people you mean

Woke up this morning with most of the snow melted. I reckon it will all be gone today

11 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Playable by Tuesday

Apart from the dug turds on Greens 1, 2, 6, 12, 14 and, 18:laugh:.

14 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Apart from the dug turds on Greens 1, 2, 6, 12, 14 and, 18:laugh:.

Jambo-Jimbo

Woke up this morning with most of the snow melted. I reckon it will all be gone today

Getting a shift, yes, but it'll take a lot longer than gone by today or tomorrow here, as there is still between 6-12 inches of snow lying on the ground, it'll take the rest of this week at least for the streets to be clear and a lot longer than that for the fields and hillsides to be clear, which is an absolute disaster for the farmers, especially the sheep farmers as lambing season is upon us.

17 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Getting a shift, yes, but it'll take a lot longer than gone by today or tomorrow here, as there is still between 6-12 inches of snow lying on the ground, it'll take the rest of this week at least for the streets to be clear and a lot longer than that for the fields and hillsides to be clear, which is an absolute disaster for the farmers, especially the sheep farmers as lambing season is upon us.

Where are you about? I'm looking to get my grass cut by Wednesday;)

Jambo-Jimbo

Where are you about? I'm looking to get my grass cut by Wednesday;)

In the Borders, I have said before, more than once.

Edit:  The RAF has been drafted in to fly supplies into some areas of Cumbria, such is the amount of snow.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-cumbria-43285331

I have said before, that just because you, in the city have not got much snow, not everywhere has been so lucky, whilst your location counts the depth of the snow in centimetres, some places are counting it in feet.

On 01/03/2018 at 22:36, Francis Albert said:

Good post. I had been tempted to get winter tyres since the last time i got stuck but didn't do so. Will do now. 

Good man. I should add that the thicker tread makes them take potholes and speed bumps better. Only slight downside is that they are a little noisier at motorway speed, but they are safe up to about 115mph so that is not a problem.

Everything looks shit now that the snows gone. 

Blizzard just now though. 

On 05/03/2018 at 07:15, Nucky Thompson said:

:rofl::rofl:

Greedy_Jambo

No again, man.

Stuck in cues in east Calder.

Going absolutely nowhere. 

26 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

:rofl::rofl:

What you laughing at?? Pishing down with rain and snow all melted.

I take it you're in the sticks and are getting excited about a wee bit snow again :laugh:

Rain has turned to sleet, woopee do. It's not lying and is forecast to turn to rain again by midday

My back garden is like a swimming pool right enough

7 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

What you laughing at?? Pishing down with rain and snow all melted.

I take it you're in the sticks and are getting excited about a wee bit snow again :laugh:

Wrong.

its just your posts make me laugh.

Keep it up snowflake.:laugh:

Jambo-Jimbo
39 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

And it's snowing again.

Shit wet snow.

Yip that shitty wet snow, roads and paths are all white again, it won't last as this stuff melts quickly.

3 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Nucky Thompson - snow denier.

No Snowing in Corstorphine vic, the sleet has turned back to rain as I type.

It makes no difference though as rain fecks my working day up too.

Roll on Spring

9 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Wrong.

its just your posts make me laugh.

Keep it up snowflake.:laugh:

You're easily amused pal