Brexit Deal agreed ( updated )

jumpship

In a rare moment of speaking about something she believes in,   Mooth says May has 'cojones of steel'.

Thought she might have something to shout about the day job being ignored but hey-ho.

Edited by Victorian

• Replies 25.9k

• ri Alban

• Cade

• Victorian

3 hours ago, JamboX2 said:

Most of the government is in many ways moving to Brexit preparedness work in the next month. There have been rotations of staff around the government to focus on Brexit. Trust me the priority is getting through this without blowing everything up.

The idea that there's a will from either government to hold an indyref is ludicrous. If it was Sturgeon wouldn't be bothering with the current Brexit debate.

Maybe in Whitehall. 

12 hours ago, Toggie88 said:

Sturgeon should go ahead and call an independence referendum. This is beyond a shambles and we potential have a parachute if we bail now, she has the mandate - this (Brextastro****) is not what people voted for in 2014. 

Can't pronounce it - it won't catch on.

(Nor is it what people voted for in 2016, barring a few.)

3 hours ago, Jaap's Sigh said:

Leadership challenge today. Curtains for May I think. 

What's May's beef? Curtains?

2 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

We are repeatedly told by Remainers that when circumstances change it would be insane not to change your mind.

I would hope that most brexiteers are of the same sound opinion. The alternative is stubborn pig-headedness.

1 hour ago, Francis Albert said:

We don't really, not much. It was never going to be easy or clean and we don't yet know what the relationship with the EU will be after the transition.

The big change in circumstance since the piece dragged up by Channel 4 News is that the day afterwards the referendum vote was in favour of Leaving.

And then there was a General Election in which both major parties campaigned with a commitment to Leave.

They campaigned that on the back of a flawed referendum which said the majority were in favour of leaving. Of course that's what they campaigned on; they're idiots but they're devious , self-interested idiots.

"We don't yet know what the relationship will be after transition"... so why plough ahead with it regardless? That's just reckless.

4 minutes ago, gjcc said:

Was that really necessary? :boak:

Sorry. I can't see or hear the phrase "...it's curtains for..." without doing that. Ever since a pal who works in equity analysis wrote a note on a company in the foods sector including '...it looks like curtains for beef...'

If it's any consolation, I'm looking at PMQs right now and feeling very queasy about the matter.

27 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

Can't pronounce it - it won't catch on.

(Nor is it what people voted for in 2016, barring a few.)

What's May's beef? Curtains?

I would hope that most brexiteers are of the same sound opinion. The alternative is stubborn pig-headedness.

They campaigned that on the back of a flawed referendum which said the majority were in favour of leaving. Of course that's what they campaigned on; they're idiots but they're devious , self-interested idiots.

"We don't yet know what the relationship will be after transition"... so why plough ahead with it regardless? That's just reckless.

On the last point ... that is how Artice 50 works and the order in which the EU  wanted it to work. The EU may or may not allow us to suspend Article 50 and spend another few years negotiating. On the other hand they may not.

2 hours ago, Victorian said:

Labour are very much on an election footing.     They need to separate themselves from the SNP and to win votes in Scotland and avoid losing them in England.     Any perception of an alliance with the SNP (Scottish people - tail wagging the dog) is election poison for Labour.

If and when an election happens,   the Tories will go on the full attack about Lab-SNP coalition government to try to enrage people in England that Scotland will have too big a say.     Labour know this and must avoid any perception of cooperation like the plague.

Yes good points,..Nothing riles the English more than a Scot with some power....

1 hour ago, Victorian said:

In a rare moment of speaking about something she believes in,   Mooth says May has 'cojones of steel'.

Thought she might have something to shout about the day job being ignored but hey-ho.

Yes that boot has resurfaced again after having a bairn.  Hypocrite of the highest order. She and the insipid Mundell claimed they would resign due to the hard border issue....we are all still waiting.....

27 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Yes that boot has resurfaced again after having a bairn.  Hypocrite of the highest order. She and the insipid Mundell claimed they would resign due to the hard border issue....we are all still waiting.....

Sturgeon said "Judge me on education". Three in every ten pupils not at required literacy level by the end of Primary School in Scotland. 

All politicians are capable of saying something with the best intentions and then not standing by their initial statement. SNP are no different. 

12 minutes ago, Hasselhoff said:

Sturgeon said "Judge me on education". Three in every ten pupils not at required literacy level by the end of Primary School in Scotland. 

All politicians are capable of saying something with the best intentions and then not standing by their initial statement. SNP are no different. 

Look on the bright side  it means 7 / 10 do reach those levels :0 

3 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

I think after over 2 years "knee jerking" has passed.

Jezza didnt take a "step-back". He shat it because he's spineless and he wouldnt know what to do if he got the keys to number 10.

Labour needs a leader that can lead. The man stutters his speeches in Parliament. Nobody has any confidence in the man. Its a shame.

A man stutters and you condemn him :laugh2: He gets paid less than Sturgeon spends on her image. I applaud him for not giving a shit about trivia and trinkets.

Corbyn is a brexiteer lets not forget that.

7 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Look on the bright side  it means 7 / 10 do reach those levels :0 

Good maths. Go straight to the top of the class.

Middle class, mind. You'd never fit in the upper class.

Who's "Mooth"?

Just now, SE16 3LN said:

A man stutters and you condemn him :laugh2: He gets paid less than Sturgeon spends on her image. I applaud him for not giving a shit about trivia and trinkets.

Corbyn is a brexiteer lets not forget that.

Not condemning him but the next leader of the UK needs to at least look like he knows his stuff. Hardly "statesman" like when he's forgetting his lines, repeating himself and stuttering to get the words out. I condemn him because he's spineless and supposed to be a socialist unyet abstains on any vote when the tories are hammering the poorest in society. Nae baws!

You think the Scottish FM receives less money than the Labour leader? All in? Maybe basic salary but that lot in Westminster make up their wages...

10 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

Good maths. Go straight to the top of the class.

Middle class, mind. You'd never fit in the upper class.

Who's "Mooth"?

Dont assume what class i am.  You know who the " mooth" is !  Its that rent a gob nawbag who is ashamed of being Scottish and sucks up to her English task masters , 

2 minutes ago, Cade said:

Seems that May will win this vote easily.

That'll put Rees-Mogg and Boris back in their boxes for a wee while.

Probably end up being a good thing for her. Puts it all to bed for 12 months. That's at least one front she can forget about fighting on. 

1 minute ago, Cade said:

Seems that May will win this vote easily.

That'll put Rees-Mogg and Boris back in their boxes for a wee while.

Yes it will. Bad move by that mob.   If she only had the balls a couple of years ago to tell them to bolt we wouldnt be in the mess today. She had grossly over estimated the Brexiters powers and influence 

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

Yes it will. Bad move by that mob.   If she only had the balls a couple of years ago to tell them to bolt we wouldnt be in the mess today. She had grossly over estimated the Brexiters powers and influence 

It's that arsehole, Cameron, who had no balls.

Just now, Boab said:

It's that arsehole, Cameron, who had no balls.

Lets agree both have no balls...Europe has been the Tories achilles heel for decades...its been a  good thing in some ways as it got rid of Cameron and Thatcher i suppose. 

Just now, gjcc said:

Left in the mouth of a dead pig? 

Reveal hidden contents

My money is on Thatchers mouth. 

Even deid, I don't think he satisfied that sow !

3 hours ago, Boris said:

But Germany is federal, the UK isn't 

Why does that make a difference? It's a regional (national level here) party which always backs one party alone.

2 hours ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Maybe in Whitehall. 

And at Holyrood. A lot of devolved areas have Brexit consequentials to deal with. Including implementing the Continuation Bill.

But who do you think Scotland would negotiate with? Cardiff? There's no feasibility of this till after Brexit.

Sturgeon on that is 100%. 

So far at least.

3 hours ago, Victorian said:

Welcome to the UK.    A union of equal partner nations.   Lol.

Don't get this to be fair. Our system is parliamentaty. All Scots voters and mps are equal to other parts of the UK. The power resides there. No where else.

She's Offski....

After she delivers Brexit.................which ain't going to happen anytime soon.

9 minutes ago, JamboX2 said:

And at Holyrood. A lot of devolved areas have Brexit consequentials to deal with. Including implementing the Continuation Bill.

But who do you think Scotland would negotiate with? Cardiff? There's no feasibility of this till after Brexit.

Sturgeon on that is 100%. 

So far at least.

The Civil Service in Scotland aren't at Holyrood, and no matter what the politicians obsession with Brexit are, the Civil Service in Scotland aren't flat out on Brexit matters, that I can assure you of. 

I'm not disagreeing with you about your general premise BTW, you're right, Sturgeon should hold tight. I'm just saying your assertion about the Civil Service here isn't accurate.

36 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Not condemning him but the next leader of the UK needs to at least look like he knows his stuff. Hardly "statesman" like when he's forgetting his lines, repeating himself and stuttering to get the words out. I condemn him because he's spineless and supposed to be a socialist unyet abstains on any vote when the tories are hammering the poorest in society. Nae baws!

You think the Scottish FM receives less money than the Labour leader? All in? Maybe basic salary but that lot in Westminster make up their wages...

Its all a matter of public record including Sturgeon's image and marketing budget. "That lot at Westminster" :err:

Captain Sausage
7 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

The vote of no confidence appears to be a distraction, little more, on the basis she seems she has numbers to fend of the challenge. 

The problem is that changes nothing.

The path we are currently on continues. Which means nothing will happen as her deal will be rejected and I think a no deal won’t be allowed.

i can only see this playing out is revoke article 50, go round in circles for a bit and the decide on another referendum.

The problem with a general election whoever is elected is likely to be in minority government and will find it near impossible to pass anything through that is remotely controversial; which brexit is.

I just don’t see how we’re leaving as things stand. We might be in purgatory for a while.

This is where I’m at. Irrespective of any intra party politics, no deal will not be allowed unless a hardline Brexiteer gets into 10 Downing Street. 

Given that will not happen, all this does is delay everything by another couple of months. We will then be told it is May’s deal or nothing, it’ll be rejected and we will go to a people’s vote, where Remain will win out comprehensively. Possibly around this time next year. 

UK may be in permanent constitutional crisis for decades.

Minority govts taking turns not getting anything passed, shaky coalitions dissolving over incompatible red lines, factional in-fighting in the two big parties.

Fringe bampot parties actually getting MPs and even in coalitions.

:scenes:

This is what happens when an archaic system refuses to modernise or reform itself for a few hundred years.

51 minutes ago, SE16 3LN said:

Its all a matter of public record including Sturgeon's image and marketing budget. "That lot at Westminster" :err:

Aye, that lot!

Edit: You mean this? She takes less than shes entitled to as she has frozen her salary voluntarily to 2009 levels  (still over £135K so I am not suggesting shes on the breadline). Not sure how much she spends on lippy, jackets or hair do's (not even sure why we are even talking about it TBH):

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-42254880

Edited by Pans Jambo

May will win, not because most Tories rate her but because many would rather eat their own shite than see Johnson or his ilk take control.

30 minutes ago, Cade said:

UK may be in permanent constitutional crisis for decades.

Minority govts taking turns not getting anything passed, shaky coalitions dissolving over incompatible red lines, factional in-fighting in the two big parties.

Fringe bampot parties actually getting MPs and even in coalitions.

:scenes:

This is what happens when an archaic system refuses to modernise or reform itself for a few hundred years.

Not sure any political system would cope with Brexit. Too many competing and incompatible interests.

2 hours ago, Hasselhoff said:

If you had taken the trouble to read the introduction to the statistics https://www.gov.scot/publications/achievement-curriculum-excellence-cfe-levels-2017-18/pages/3/ you would have read the following - A pupil is reported to have achieved the expected level in Literacy if they have achieved the expected level in all three of the literacy organisers: reading, writing, listening and talking. Pupils will not be included in this calculation if ‘Not Assessed’ (Code 99) has been reported in one or more of the organisers. Therefore, this percentage will generally be lower than performance reported in three literacy organisers individually.

This statement renders the statistic you quote virtually meaningless

This collective statistic (literacy) was not collated in or before 2016 so can hardly be used to show declining standards. The components of literacy were collated though and surprisingly they show improvement. Reading up from 72 to 79, writing up from 65 to 73 and listening and talking up from 77 to 84. Is Nicola to be congratulated for this or are these improvements not fast enough for you? I await your response with interest.

2 hours ago, Hunky Dory said:

Oh HIYA Ruth.  Where you been hiding?

Maternity leave. 

2 hours ago, Hunky Dory said:

Love how the press accept her statement, and fail to question why the absolute charlatan is now backing the thing she threatened to resign over a couple of weeks ago.

She'll say anything she wants as there's never a challenge from our spineless Scottish press.

See all politicians. The SNP are criticising Labour for not going for a vote they'd lose whilst Labour avoid backing a referendum that's not off their table.

They're all at. 

2 hours ago, AlphonseCapone said:

The Civil Service in Scotland aren't at Holyrood, and no matter what the politicians obsession with Brexit are, the Civil Service in Scotland aren't flat out on Brexit matters, that I can assure you of. 

I'm not disagreeing with you about your general premise BTW, you're right, Sturgeon should hold tight. I'm just saying your assertion about the Civil Service here isn't accurate.

Is from what I've heard. But anecdotal evidence is always down to the individual! 

I just think it'd be a crippling blow at this time neither serving Scotland or the wider UK. 

Ok rant coming up. Apology. Just listened to some representative of young people given ten minutes of airtime to spout nonsense about how young people were angry about being denied the opportunities to travel and work in Europe which their parents and grandparents enjoyed. As far as travel is concerned Brexit will make no material difference whatsoever. As a grandfather I will continue to travel much as I did before we joined the EU except more widely not because of the EU but because of the collapse of the Soviet empire. As for the right to work this affected a tiny minority of the youngs' parents and grandparents - 2%?. Maybe 5% of a privileged class. And the obstacles post Brexit will remain largely unchanged - the need to find a job and somewhere to stay and the required funds. For the vast majority of young people outside and inside the EU the real issue wil be getting a job with a living wage not the freedom to live abroad. Yet this privileged middle and upper class nonsense gets an unchallenged voice on the BBC and other media.

My prediction for tonight - May to win with at least 250 votes and Rees-Mogg and co to be humiliated.

May to then concede that if she can’t get the deal through Parliament she’ll call a general election, thus forcing all those tories to vote for the deal or face the possibility of a Labour government.

2 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Aye, that lot!

Edit: You mean this? She takes less than shes entitled to as she has frozen her salary voluntarily to 2009 levels  (still over £135K so I am not suggesting shes on the breadline). Not sure how much she spends on lippy, jackets or hair do's (not even sure why we are even talking about it TBH):

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-42254880

Talking about it because you've been mugging off Corbyn for his appearance and Sturgeon spends a lot on hers. Her pay has just increased to £155k. You're right, the money is frozen at 09 levels, but the extra will become part of her pension fund on retirement. I don't think Corbyn is a good leader but in the ethics stakes I'd take him before Sturgeon any time.

4 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

That mob, will vote against the government at ever vote. She may win tonight but she can't govern.

I actually agree with Angus MacNeil. The SNP isn't the Scottish stop Brexit party, get independence sorted.

4 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

Dont assume what class i am.  You know who the " mooth" is !  Its that rent a gob nawbag who is ashamed of being Scottish and sucks up to her English task masters , 

Narrowing it down to being a female but I'm still clutching at straws. Do you mean her off of Have I Got News for You? The lesbian tory lady?

p.s. re the first part, there was no assumption - it was a little joke.

Any other person would have resigned or had a mental breakdown by now. How the hell Maybot is still functional and fighting her corner is quite incredible. 

I can't think of another Prime minister in history which has had so much shite thrown at them. 

Much of it due to her own Ineptitude but still...

9 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

Narrowing it down to being a female but I'm still clutching at straws. Do you mean her off of Have I Got News for You? The lesbian tory lady?

p.s. re the first part, there was no assumption - it was a little joke.

Im not at all interested in her sexuality . In my experience ive met some miserable lesbians and straight wimmin.  I just find her Abrasive....thats the best word to describe her. 

6 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Any other person would have resigned or had a mental breakdown by now. How the hell Maybot is still functional and fighting her corner is quite incredible. 

I can't think of another Prime minister in history which has had so much shite thrown at them. 

Much of it due to her own Ineptitude but still...

I feel more sorry for people surviving poverty wages, universal credit shambles and disability assessments. and many others ..she has zero sympathy from me.  Shes like the bit of shite on your shoe u just cant get rid of !

• davemclaren changed the title to Brexit Deal agreed ( updated )