Brexit Deal agreed ( updated )

jumpship

dobmisterdobster
7 minutes ago, RobboM said:

Would it be fair to say that, if people voted Leave on the basis of what Farage said, they were misled?

Personally, I don't think the issue Nigel was talking about was that relevant to Britain's membership of the EU.

• Replies 25.9k

• ri Alban

• Cade

• Victorian

1 minute ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Personally, I don't think the issue Nigel was talking about was that relevant to Britain's membership of the EU.

Nice body swerve Dob.  😉
That would be an answer to the question "Is Farage's dog whistle racist billboard relevant to Britain's membership of the EU?". Imo it allowed the Leave campaign to garner racist support while leaving the "official" campaign plausible deniability. At the same time as the above billboard was in the news, the official campaign were promoting their line about Turkey's imminent inclusion into the EU. Maybe both the official and the unofficial Leave campaigns misled their voters?

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

The government no longer sending ministers to EU negotiations from 1st September, to apparently focus on leaving the EU on 31/10.

Its all about negotiating a deal, right?

The EU said they won’t negotiate. The deal we have been offered is the only one. It’s been rejected 3 times by our parliament. 

So if the EU won’t negotiate anymore and we won’t accept the Transition Deal then there’s no point wasting everyone’s time. 

We leave. Then we try and negotiate a future trading deal. That’s if we are all still speaking! 

I suspect something dramatic will happen eg another election or another referendum. 

Both sides (politicians) are intransigent at the moment. Pressure will mount from business to trigger some movement. 

Lets hope common-sense prevails and we stay. 

dobmisterdobster
55 minutes ago, RobboM said:

Nice body swerve Dob.  😉
That would be an answer to the question "Is Farage's dog whistle racist billboard relevant to Britain's membership of the EU?". Imo it allowed the Leave campaign to garner racist support while leaving the "official" campaign plausible deniability. At the same time as the above billboard was in the news, the official campaign were promoting their line about Turkey's imminent inclusion into the EU. Maybe both the official and the unofficial Leave campaigns misled their voters?

The Turkey issue was legitimate back then. Especially since David Cameron said he wasn't going to veto their application.

It wouldn't be an issue today since Turkey are such a political basket case.

dobmisterdobster
2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

The government no longer sending ministers to EU negotiations from 1st September, to apparently focus on leaving the EU on 31/10.

Its all about negotiating a deal, right?

Better to have officials back here where we need them instead of wasting their time schmoozing in Brussels.

1 hour ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Cool. And do you think it would be fair to say that, if people voted Leave on the basis of what Farage said, they were misled?

dobmisterdobster
6 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Cool. And do you think it would be fair to say that, if people voted Leave on the basis of what Farage said, they were misled?

Sure

The Turkey issue was legitimate back then. Especially since David Cameron said he wasn't going to veto their application.

???? Erdogan has been president since 2014 and Turkey has been a political basket case long before he took over. There was never ever a chance of Turkey joining the EU and you well know it. Just admit it, the leave campaign had a huge amount of racist propaganda, all lies of course. Of course not all, or even a majority of leave voters are brain dead racists, but enough of them were to swing the vote.

Let's get one thing clear.

Turkey was, is and will be for the next generation or so, totally unready to gain membership of the EU.

Since entry negotiations began in 1987, Turkey has met ONE of the 33 Chapters it must meet in order to join.

The one it has met is Science & Research Infrastructure.

32 years and this is as close as it's gotten to membership.

Some Chapters have stalled, some have gone backwards and some will probably never be met unless Turkey undergoes a significant and permanent change in culture.

Every chapter has to be individually ratified by every other member then even if it does somehow hit all 33,  there will be another ratification on membership as a whole.

As with any other ratification, every single member has a full veto.

Greece and Cyprus are just two stumbling blocks Turkey faces on top of their total unreadiness in almost all chapters.

Vote Leave trying to kid on that Turkey's membership was imminent was a lie, and a double lie as the UK could simply have vetoed it anyway.

Turkey were never joining the EU. Greece will never agree to it, especially while Cyprus is still split. Basic geopolitical knowledge for people to realise that. 

dobmisterdobster
14 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Turkey were never joining the EU. Greece will never agree to it, especially while Cyprus is still split. Basic geopolitical knowledge for people to realise that. 

Fair enough. Doesn't matter that much anymore.

annushorribilis III
2 hours ago, dobmisterdobster said:

He was saying one thing to Turkey and one thing for domestic consumption. 

In any case, the irony of threatening Turkey's impending membership should be a reason to quit the EU-

https://www.express.co.uk/news/politics/763220/Turkey-Theresa-May-free-trade-deal-UK-freedom-movement

The trade talks bombed because UK refused to discuss freedom of movement - and you can be sure India will do the same. 

53 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Fair enough. Doesn't matter that much anymore.

So you now admit the lies about Turkey so it doesn't matter anymore. You just go on to the next lie 

20 minutes ago, XB52 said:

So you now admit the lies about Turkey so it doesn't matter anymore. You just go on to the next lie 

Never ever trust unionists. You should know better. Drag Scotland down all the time and never positive. 

1 hour ago, Zlatanable said:

Imagine the EU wobbling about the Irish issue. Would shred Republic of Ireland in the EU.

Brilliant that a wee country has the UK tied in knots by doing nothing. 

dobmisterdobster
19 minutes ago, XB52 said:

Mate, the referendum was three years ago.

This thread is supposed to be about the ongoing negotiations.

Some people on here still want to do the whole tired "we was robbed ref" routine.

I am happy to give people vindication if they want it.

2 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

You have misunderstood.

The relevant issue is how un-brilliant it is, if the EU cooks up a solution that leaves the ROI high and dry. 

They won't. The UK is on its own now, and the Vultures(The USA) are circling.

2 hours ago, Smithee said:

Do you concede that people voted remain of what the then no 11 downing street said?

Another slur on those who hold a different view to you Smithee?

As if any political election was based on promises delivered.

2 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

And that is the thing. 

The EU have made big things about the backstop, and defending the EU and all that. 

But deep down, the EU is a trading cartel, based on commercial trade. 

And the EU is a democracy second.

It's an issue to keep our eyes on.

Sounds like the UK.

1 minute ago, jake said:

Do you concede that people voted remain of what the then no 11 downing street said?

It would be quite funny if the UK struck a trade deal with Turkey with freedom of movement. India and Pakistan even more. Nigel would shit himself.

12 hours ago, Boris said:

With the greatest respect, I'm struggling to grasp your point.  Or the irony.

Aye course ye ur

So you agree it's related to the host nation, and so not an EU side-effect?

Are you an EU version of the Russian trump internet community ?

You don't seem to know how the EU works Jake.

I think I do .

As above.

Its a conspiracy!

Wow 🙂

I'm not saying the minimum wage in the UK is the right level, however it creates a level playing field, so if you talk about cheap labour, in the context of the UK, that labour will cost the same whether the person is from Poland, Bonnyrigg or Spain.

Create a level playing field.

Level fekin playing field.

On ye go 

20 minutes ago, jake said:

Aye course ye ur

Are you an EU version of the Russian trump internet community ?

I think I do .

Wow 🙂

Create a level playing field.

Level fekin playing field.

On ye go 

Would you welcome mass immigration in Scotland?

4 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

I've said  there would be unexpected consequences of No Deal no matter the preparations you out in place.

Been an upsurge of reports. Here's another one.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-49405270

It's almost like no one has thought any of this through to a conclusion. 

We all just need to believe harder and it'll be sunlit uplands. 

6 hours ago, jake said:

There's no slur Jake and I don't appreciate the implication.

The guy was evading the question, not my question, so I repeated it - copied it word for word from the other guy actually.

And you're missing the importance of the word "if" by the way.

It's quite a nice little time for Johnson's new cabinet of 'the good guys club'.    They get to ponce about like pretend statesmen and stateswomen and play the big tough guy act.

We demand a new and better deal.   We're not moving an inch.   We've moved too far already.   The EU will cave at the last minute... they always do you know.    We'll leave with no deal.    It's all manageable.    There will be bumps along the road but we'll look after you.    Tax cuts for everyone.    Wee ones for the wee people and big yins for the squeezed rich.     We'll let you work until you're 75 before... it's for your own health you know.    

Edited by Victorian

dobmisterdobster
18 hours ago, Cade said:

DUP chief whip:

"The reality is that for unionists the Good Friday agreement was an agreement between Unionists and nationalists, and there isn’t unionist consent for the backstop, and therefore there is no cross-community consensus on this proposal and that breaches the principles of the GFA."

The DUP refused to sign the GFA in the first place ya stupid bamstick.

For you lot to be up in arms about anybody else being in breach of the spirit of the GFA is laughable.

They accepted the outcome of the GFA referendum. Novel concept I know.

Edited by dobmisterdobster

7 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Do you support the agreement reached at the multi-party talks on Northern Ireland and set out in Command Paper 3883?

Yes 676,966 71.12%

No  274,979 28.88%

A concisely and meaningfully worded specific question with an overwhelming result. A question on an agreement that had already been hammered out prior to the vote. Every household received a copy of the text of the agreement. They knew exactly what they were voting for.

Oh, and the DUP didn't ****ing "accept the outcome' either, are you absolutely mad? Their walking out of the talks while every other major party remained open to trying to negotiate, followed by their continued intransigence for a decade after it passed hindered its implementation for years.

18 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Bollox

2 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

These are the sort of figures that persuaded Teresa May to hold an election.

Aye and it backfired spectacularly.

dobmisterdobster

Probably an outlier. But what I find interesting is that Boris appears to gave squeezed the Brexit Party vote more than normal.

1 minute ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Probably an outlier. But what I find interesting is that Boris appears to gave squeezed the Brexit Party vote more than normal.

Possibly those that switched are normally Tories anyway?

dobmisterdobster
9 minutes ago, Boris said:

Possibly those that switched are normally Tories anyway?

That's true but the Tories need them back or we are looking at another hung parliament.

15 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

That's true but the Tories need them back or we are looking at another hung parliament.

Well Johnson is giving them what they want regards Brexit

11 minutes ago, Boris said:

Well Johnson is giving them what they want regards Brexit

He should be jailed if he resigns the day after no deal.

dobmisterdobster
3 hours ago, ri Alban said:

He should be jailed if he resigns the day after no deal.

Jailed for what? Allowing an act of parliament to go into effect?

That might not be an outlier tbh.    It would make sense that the big pretendy tough guy act would attract a bit of support from Labour leavers and Brexit Party gammons.    

The strategy is obvious.    To shore up the electoral support on the back of a bogus plan to supposedly care about getting a deal + no deal is the EUs fault.    Call an election before much of the no deal chaos starts to dawn on the gammons, etc.     Retain power and blame everyone else for the train wreck.

5 minutes ago, Cade said:

Shot as a deserter for dereliction of duty?

hiya gchq that wasn't an actual death threat thanks

😂     AK47.  Hydrogen peroxide.  

I'm kidding too.   😳

Edited by Victorian

Got to love Merkel.

Gives Bawjaws 30 days to find the unicorns for the backstop or to STFU.

Best way to deal with the lying Shitehawk. Call him out on his pish knowing he's got zero chance of coming up with anything beyond the wit of a 4 year old. 

Boris is still banging on about "The EU always caves in at the last minute" with absolutely no evidence to back up this bullshit claim.

He's playing chicken but the other player in the game is a cliff wall.

Trapper John McIntyre
2 hours ago, Victorian said:

That might not be an outlier tbh.    It would make sense that the big pretendy tough guy act would attract a bit of support from Labour leavers and Brexit Party gammons.    

The strategy is obvious.    To shore up the electoral support on the back of a bogus plan to supposedly care about getting a deal + no deal is the EUs fault.    Call an election before much of the no deal chaos starts to dawn on the gammons, etc.     Retain power and blame everyone else for the train wreck.

I hope you enjoy chewing on shit if he pulls it off.

• davemclaren changed the title to Brexit Deal agreed ( updated )