General Election

Don Dan

If only SNP had not let the Tories win 12 extra seats... they could have been king makers for Labour...

Instead, they are going to be carping more quietly from the sidelines with their big hitters gone

That's not what I call winning

By my maths an SNP Labour coalition would total 309 seats.

A Tory DUP pairing would reach 315 seats.

So your wee theory is nonsense.

• Replies 5.4k

*adopts Lord of the Rings voice*

The days of the SNP are over mate

It is over for the old faces and I include the current and past leaders in that. However, I think they have found their high point and will slip back for a period even into 3rd place but won't disappear completely.

Bowmans_Boot

Look yourself, their links with the UVF and the UDA are a good start.

Defending the indefensible there.

The DUP are not terrorists. To suggest they are is absurd.

We will be back at the polls very soon.

Although, has to be said that they now have multiple seats all over the Union

I agree about being back at the polls .

The loons in the DUP won't wash up well under real scrutiny like they never have had .

If Labour play this well they will romp the next GE .

For the SNP in Westminster I expect their more left leaning types Black and Shepherd to be more prominent now Salmond and Robertson are out the road, a change of dynamic for them at Westminster.

Remind me what terrorist acts Ulster Resistance committed please?

Look yourself, their links with the UVF and the UDA are a good start.

Defending the indefensible there.

Translation: You read that somewhere and you don't know.

I posted up the page about its brief history. The DUP walked away after the gun running incident.

Biggest party in Scotland, 3rd biggest in UK.

Well and truly over.

It should be said that even a few years ago SNP result last night would be seen as outstanding. Still got nearly all Glasgow and 3 in Edinburgh.

So they need to accept that and move on.

But the cause of independence has suffered, badly. Down to a serious miscalculation on pushing for quick second referendum rather than showing Scotland could work under SNP government.

Escobar PHM

What?

Scottish Labour encouraged voting Tory in marginal seats if it gave the best chance of beating the SNP. So blaming the SNP is a little far from the truth.

The fact remains that there was the atmosphere for a loud and strong protest vote against the Indy obsessed SNP. Labour were still a virtual irrelevance in Scotland. Voting Tory was the only way to make a protest that sent the real message they were protesting about. 'Shut the feck up about Indy or we'll vote tory' I bit sad its kept them in power but who really wanted a Labour Government as this stage anyway ?

I stated that they had been backing terrorist groups, never called them terrorists.

Associating DUP with certain people is certainly far more valid than say associating Jeremy Corbyn with the (do they still exist?) IRA

DUP...

Anti-abortion

Against same sex marriage

Climate change deniers

How wonderful.

Now look at why unionist voters have "hardened" towards them at the expense of the Ulster Unionists since the Good Friday Agreement was signed. The simple answer is that Blair's appeasement of Sinn Fein over the lack of IRA decommissioning pushed voters in Northern Ireland to more extreme positions.

If only SNP had not let the Tories win 12 extra seats... they could have been king makers for Labour...

Instead, they are going to be carping more quietly from the sidelines with their big hitters gone

That's not what I call winning

As I said earlier SNP obstinance over unpopular Independence has led to Scotland delivering a Tory led UK Government.

A better more prosperous and affordable future.

The others have failed to convince me that the Marxist Communist Socialist policies will work.

A better more prosperous and affordable future for whom? Not the majority I wouldn't think.

I didn't see the SNP, the Lib Dems, the Greens or UKIP standing for Marxist Communist Socialist policies. Yet you opted for the Conservatives which leads me to believe you either don't grasp how their policies will be negative for you (madness) or you see the prosperous benefits for yourself (selfish).

I'm sorry to interrogate you (It's not personal I assure you) but why can't Conservative voters just come out and say "I voted for the party that (rightly or wrongly) will best support my own self interests" rather than hiding behind some rationale that the other options are rubbish and they are doing it in everyone's interests?

I go to work in a job that lines shareholders pockets, I do it because it pays well and benefits me. I don't pretend that I am doing some kind of good for society and the greater good. I'm being selfish in choosing my place of work. That doesn't make me a bad person but at least I recognise that I'm acting for me and my family and us alone. I believe in voting in a fashion that mitigates the success of people fortunate enough to be in my position by ensuring we do not do so at the expense of others.

We've now got a hung parliament with hard right wingers against minorities rights playing the kingmaker. This will suit the few, not the many. It's democracy and I absolutely accept the result but let's not pretend this is anything other than a victory for parochialism and self interest. Not society.

Associating DUP with certain people is certainly far more valid than say associating Jeremy Corbyn with the (do they still exist?) IRA

Such as?

It wasn't the DUP standing for minute's silences for any murdered terrorists. Although, to be fair, Willie McCrea did share a platform with King Rat Billy Wright on one occasion and paid the price for it.

Now look at why unionist voters have "hardened" towards them at the expense of the Ulster Unionists since the Good Friday Agreement was signed. The simple answer is that Blair's appeasement of Sinn Fein over the lack of IRA decommissioning pushed voters in Northern Ireland to more extreme positions.

Also forgot to add pro-death penalty and pro-creationism.

This is diabolical.

The fact remains that there was the atmosphere for a loud and strong protest vote against the Indy obsessed SNP. Labour were still a virtual irrelevance in Scotland. Voting Tory was the only way to make a protest that sent the real message they were protesting about. 'Shut the feck up about Indy or we'll vote tory' I bit sad its kept them in power but who really wanted a Labour Government as this stage anyway ?

The rest of the UK it seems and Scotland votes Tory

The IRA have never gone awaye.

This talk of the SNP honeymoon being over is complete nonsense.

There will always be around 40% of the electorate that will vote for them as they are seen as the only way to achieve independence. This will never drop unless other parties change their stances.

SNP will be running Scotland as it stands for the rest of your lifetime.

Positives from Salmond and Robertson vacating their seats is the presence of intelligent, well-versed pro-SNP voices on TV/Radio.

The "Scottish" Tory voters today are celebrating an alliance with the DUP, the most despicable party in the UK, and far worse than UKIP. Con-grat-u-lations.

They've just shed 13% of their vote in light of them calling indyref2. 37% after the first test of a other indy ref. They should drop it now and then I'd agree they may well rule for a long time.

The DUP are not terrorists. To suggest they are is absurd.

They ain't that but they are a collection of Homophobic ,Creationists , anti abortionists ,sexists .

The dinosaur Party .

The media hopefully will now put them under real scrutiny .

It's either ignorance or utter denial.  Googling DUP and terrorist links will bring up a multitude of sources.

How many are from An Phoblacht?

Piece of info: Just because it is on the internet doesn't mean it is true.

They ain't that but they are a collection of Homophobic ,Creationists , anti abortionists ,sexists .

The dinosaur Party .

The media hopefully will now put them under real scrutiny .

Not to mention a bunch of scammers paying chicken farmers to burn shite 24/7.

As I said earlier SNP obstinance over unpopular Independence has led to Scotland delivering a Tory led UK Government.

I agree

Still suits the SNP to have a Tory government. One of their key must haves.

Next time? Well that will be a real challenge for SNP. A bit more of a more left wing Labour might just move those who say "Labour abandoned me under Blair" and went to supposed 'social justice' SNP to consider who is the real progressive party.

A better more prosperous and affordable future for whom? Not the majority I wouldn't think.

I didn't see the SNP, the Lib Dems, the Greens or UKIP standing for Marxist Communist Socialist policies. Yet you opted for the Conservatives which leads me to believe you either don't grasp how their policies will be negative for you (madness) or you see the prosperous benefits for yourself (selfish).

I'm sorry to interrogate you (It's not personal I assure you) but why can't Conservative voters just come out and say "I voted for the party that (rightly or wrongly) will best support my own self interests" rather than hiding behind some rationale that the other options are rubbish and they are doing it in everyone's interests?

I go to work in a job that lines shareholders pockets, I do it because it pays well and benefits me. I don't pretend that I am doing some kind of good for society and the greater good. I'm being selfish in choosing my place of work. That doesn't make me a bad person but at least I recognise that I'm acting for me and my family and us alone. I believe in voting in a fashion that mitigates the success of people fortunate enough to be in my position by ensuring we do not do so at the expense of others.

We've now got a hung parliament with hard right wingers against minorities rights playing the kingmaker. This will suit the few, not the many. It's democracy and I absolutely accept the result but let's not pretend this is anything other than a victory for parochialism and self interest. Not society.

Keeping it simple. I look at the all policies and the pasts of the various candidates. The Tories are the ones that suit my point of view. If you or anyone else doesn't like it or understand then it's not my worry.

Next election I'll do exactly the same as I have over the past 46 years. I chose the party that suits me. That's what it's about. Imo

"Sorry for voting Tory, it wasn't my fault.  The SNP made me do it."

I suppose it was the SNP's fault that Scottish Labour were so shite that voting Tory was the obvious response, instead of voting Labour, for example?

Here's the new Kingmaker

dab5ae4b3c059a0c4d1a0a9ea7fca2b6.jpg

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Hi Spacey.

Unfortunately, your link source is a bit of a fail here. Peter Robinson isn't in politics anymore.

Space Mackerel

Hi Spacey.

Unfortunately, your link source is a bit of a fail here. Peter Robinson isn't in politics anymore.

Bams from NI now call the shots.

Lovely.

Here's the new Kingmaker

dab5ae4b3c059a0c4d1a0a9ea7fca2b6.jpg

Haha hahaha. ...how predictable. Been hiding until you found something to cut and paste.

Hi Spacey.

Another source fail from SM?

Shocked.

That speech. :rofl:

Off her head. Out of touch. In denial. Belligerent. Arrogant. Self centred, self legitimising control freakery of the most hair raising kind.

Get some snazzy new clobber and a new set of artistic photographs done dear. Image is everything after all.

But that's right. Peter Robinson isn't around now. Things do change and this is an opportunity for the DUP to change and show some maturity.

Lovely.

That's Northern Ireland outperforming Scotland again!

But that's right. Peter Robinson isn't around now. Things do change and this is an opportunity for the DUP to change and show some maturity.

Though I suppose it could go the other way

post-5690-0-98944500-1497012019_thumb.jpg

They're the parliamentary wing of loyalist terrorism.  For you to deny that is laughable.

No, it's me being accurate.

Quick guide:

Loyalist terrorist groups - UDA / UFF. Political wing = Ulster Democratic Party (UDP). Represented in the first post GFA NI Assembly with 1 seat and never again

UVF / Red Hand Commando. Political wing = Progressive Unionist Party (PUP). Represented by Billy Hutchinson and David Ervine post GFA. Now no seats

Republican terrorist groups:

PIRA. Political wing = Sinn Fein

Official IRA. Political wing = Workers Party. Official IRA disbanded.

INLA. Political wing = Irish Republican Socialist Party (IRSP). Disbanded

Real IRA. Political wing = Eiregi = waste of space.

Bowmans_Boot

Keeping it simple. I look at the all policies and the pasts of the various candidates. The Tories are the ones that suit my point of view. If you or anyone else doesn't like it or understand then it's not my worry.

Next election I'll do exactly the same as I have over the past 46 years. I chose the party that suits me. That's what it's about. Imo

You were asked before if you vote Tory for personal reasons (i.e. you personally are better off under them) and you said no. You clearly do and I dont understand why some (pretty much always Tory) voters are almost ashamed to admit why they vote the way they do.

Don't vote Tory!

Vote Tory as it's better for SNP.

I'd never vote Tory and would have no problem voting for Corbyn.

It's our fault this has happened :rofl:

Escobar PHM

Surely the Tory Party will rip this sham down themselves.

This coalition wont last 5 minutes. May knows it. Corbyn knows it. Hell Sturgeon probably even knows it.

May and probably Sturgeon wont be around for the re-play (which will be in the late autumn)but it will result in a Labour led LibDem/SNP coalition

Bowmans_Boot

They're the parliamentary wing of loyalist terrorism. For you to deny that is laughable.

They really arent. There are separate political parties who represent the various paramilitary groups.

Nigel Dodds MP. Attended a UVF funeral alongside Ian Paisley.

Sammy Wilson MP. In 1994, he welcomed the UDA's plan for the ethnic cleansing of Northern Ireland after the withdrawal of the British Army as "a very valuable return to reality". 

Emma Pengelly MP. Her father spent 2 years on remand after being arrested in Paris for trafficking weapons (including rocket launchers and RPGs) to Ulster Resistance. 

Terrorists and terrorist sympathisers all over the shop in that bampot party.

Bowmans_Boot

It should be said that even a few years ago SNP result last night would be seen as outstanding. Still got nearly all Glasgow and 3 in Edinburgh.

So they need to accept that and move on.

But the cause of independence has suffered, badly. Down to a serious miscalculation on pushing for quick second referendum rather than showing Scotland could work under SNP government.

I agree with this. I think the general public have no appetite for another referendum at present.

I hate the DUP but the lefty seethe against them on here is wonderful!

:glorious:

56anawthat

Serious question PJ - I've always thought East Lothian would be natural Tory territory, but it seems to be a Labour / SNP marginal?

Happy to answer that one. It's not all Tory territory - the main population centres in Musselburgh, Prestonpans and Tranent have always been fertile ground for Labour and more recently the SNP. And the rest of the county has always been sympathetic to able, moderate Labour politicians such as John MacIntosh, John Home Robertson and Iain Gray (now the MSP and who held it against the trend at the last Scottish Election). Add to that the fact that it has one of the best educated electorates in Scotland when it comes to tactical voting, and they came up with a good candidate this time in Former lawyer tuned schoolteacher Martin Whitfield.

Labour put considerable effort into this one, with frequent visits by Kezia Dugdale, and strong support from Iain Gray. The siting MP, George Kerevan, who actually lives not in the constituency but in Edinburgh, was also handicapped by the opposition of many voters to the possibility of Indyref2, and lost many votes to both Labour and Conservative on that one.

In fact the Tories did increase their vote and are now snapping at the heels of the SNP. But not enough to upset the form in this particular constituency. Pretty much as I had expected, in fact.

They're the parliamentary wing of loyalist terrorism. For you to deny that is laughable.

Is Sinn Fein the parliamentary wing of republican terrorism?

Hi Spacey.

Aye he is, he came out of retirement in march after Stormont fell apart and now the DUP want him given a seat in the House of Lords as part of the deal

:scenes:

Aye he is, the DUP want him given a seat in the House of Lords as part of the deal

:scenes:

Maybe Iris will get a job too so that she can call homosexuality an abomination again!

The sad thing is.

The folk that vote tory tactically ( but are actually central/ left) have just handed power to the right.

If 8-10 seats in scotland that had turned Tory had stayed SNP or went to Labour, then Labour SNP could have made the next government.

Instead England an NI will tell us what to do.

In all honesty, Scotland is a skid mark. we deserve to be told what to do, we really are a nation of shite bags.

SNP should throw the gauntlet down and state we will have another referendum, however in the result in a No vote the Scottish parliament should be dissolved and we should take our place in line with the rest of the UK. Afterall this is what we want?

The sad thing is.

The folk that vote tory tactically ( but are actually central/ left) have just handed power to the right.

If 8-10 seats in scotland that had turned Tory had stayed SNP or went to Labour, then Labour SNP could have made the next government.

Instead England an NI will tell us what to do.

In all honesty, Scotland is a skid mark. we deserve to be told what to do, we really are a nation of shite bags.

SNP should throw the gauntlet down and state we will have another referendum, however in the result in a No vote the Scottish parliament should be dissolved and we should take our place in line with the rest of the UK. Afterall this is what we want?

Yeah

The idiots that went from Labour to SNP really do have a lot of soul searching

Maybe not now but they will

Lovely.

Should help strengthen the union though