memories of the 80s

cookieboy

stirlingshirejambo

I believe the not was from Penicuik.

Named Penispew throughout the rest of the journey.

He was

We were

He then became a police officer

• Replies 516

I too remember the battles where the buses were parked outside Parhead. It was mayhem, like guys have said, there were thousands of hearts fans going to away games then. Police couldn't cope with the sheer numbers involved, running battles, bricks, bottles the lot. If you were unlucky enough to go down you knew you would be in for a kicking as you would quickly be rounded upon by a mob of smelltics. You literally felt like you were fighting for your life. It wasn't any safer on the bus as loads of windows got done in.

Could you imagine if we had used mobile phones then, it would have been all over the media.

I still remember I wore my Duran Duran style little slip on shoes with white socks, not really ideal for your first football riot!

Hearts buses parked around the Celtic end, mine (a Mercer bus) next to a Celtic bus, wtf did they think was going to happen?

That 1983 Cup game was some experience. I witnessed levels of violence way too X-rated for my 15 year old eyes. Inside Parkhead it was GA v. SP (even the jungle were cheering every cop hat thrown in the air), outside it was GA v. Celtic.

I wouldn't have missed it for the World, though. :D

Does anyone remember a 2-1 win at Ibrox in about '88. One of the chants was - We're going to Hampden, We're going to Hampden, You're no, You're no - as we had a Scottish Cup SF v Celtic coming up & they had been KO'd by Dunfermline.

For me it was a memorable win at Ibrox, The Rangers fans were not happy, which only added to the occasion.

And in the semi v septic Henry dropped the ball twice to gift Celtic the final which should have been ours to take.

Was listening to Chris Evans show on radio 2 this morning and they said Donald Trump helped do the Rumbellows Cup draw... ( league cup, forgot it was called that at one time!)...on the Saint and Greavsie Show.....:lol: Can't remember that?

And in the semi v septic Henry dropped the ball twice to gift Celtic the final which should have been ours to take.

Smith was fouled by McGhee, scumbag weegie ref gave the goal.

Losing the semi in 1987 to St Mirren hurt just as much! Especially after papping out Celtic the round before!

Buggies on Dalry Road with the mirror windows. We could see out, they couldn't see in. Handy.

You would probably get a lifetime banning order now with 12 months in Saughton.

Buggies was brilliant, went in there with 2 mates and ordered 3pints of lager with scampi and chips we couldn't believe we got served, we must've been 16/17. Always remember they had a big painting of Dave Mackay holding Billy Bremner by the throat on the wall.

Losing the semi in 1987 to St Mirren hurt just as much! Especially after papping out Celtic the round before!

Thanks for that, I had erased that from memory until I read your post :(

Was that the game that Peter shields had his leg broken by Danny McGrain ?

If it was I remember the bother also inside parkhead,mainly between the police and hearts fans , real nasty trouble and afterwards it all kicked off outside with the Celtic fans , can't remember but I'm sure there was quite a few thousand of us there

McGrain one was a different, earlier game. The one with the full scale riot was around February 1987. Our bus driver buggered off with the bus! Left us standing in the middle of the riot. Eventually got home and got a kebab out the shop that used to be opposite Spiders Web, hottest, fieriest thing I have ever eaten. Think Brian McLair scored late on to give them a 1-0 win. Some night.

John Robertson's hattrick at Tannadice and a Spud-u-Like on the way back.

Double you mean? Sandy Clark with the other

Big Chuck was between penalty spot and 18 yard line (slightly nearer the edge of box) when he nearly broke Hampden's crossbar, so roughly 16-17 yards from goal.

Cheers! Thought he was in the box likes.

Double you mean? Sandy Clark with the other

Quite right, apologies. My memory isn't what it was, but the baked potato did have something called Frankfurter salad, it was awesome.

Shameless bump, need to keep this one on the first page if we can :)

The Conan Doyle.

The Illicit Still.

Rick Astley.

Bursts with perms too big for their heads.

The Conan Doyle.

The Illicit Still.

Rick Astley.

Bursts with perms too big for their heads.

:rofl: For 'bursts' please read 'bursds'.

Or 'burds'

''Animal Farm'' was doing the rounds then ... not that I watched it !!!!!

Coupla pigs in that one :lol:

Was 80's porn any good?

Aye. There was a porno called Hot Rackets. Many a time the wrist was going like a Singer sewing machine.

Placid Casual

Was listening to Chris Evans show on radio 2 this morning and they said Donald Trump helped do the Rumbellows Cup draw... ( league cup, forgot it was called that at one time!)...on the Saint and Greavsie Show..... :lol: Can't remember that?

So surreal it had to be true!

Cinderellas was another one.

Cinderella's was great.....Went as a 19/20 year old great looking girls, classy

This could well be the best thread in the history of the internet

Nostalgia thread to keep on going till after the winter break ends.....

went to a night there called the ozone I think. Michaella strachan was hosting.

The hitman and her.....Telly was dire after coming back from the football/pub at the weekend in the 80s

Someone and just recently, told me the Hitman and Her shows were made in the afternoons with little or drink on parade

Dont shoot the messenger but he seemed serious

Staggering home on a Friday night/Saturday morning, in daylight, and turning on the telly to Timmy Mallet's ironically named "Wide Awake Club".

Weeeeeeee're wide awake.

Someone and just recently, told me the Hitman and Her shows were made in the afternoons with little or drink on parade

Dont shoot the messenger but he seemed serious

Regarding the hitman and her,i remember they turned up at flicks niteclub in brechin in the late 80s,years later I went to a Stirling Albion v brechin game and they still had signage round the park proclaiming that flicks niteclub"as seen on the hitman and her" was brechin premiere niteclub [emoji38]

Sent from my Vodafone Smart Tab 4G using Tapatalk

The Fitba special trains and hundreds of Jambos walking to the ground singing the Gorgie boys are in town.Great days !

SlickbackDavieMac

The Fitba special trains and hundreds of Jambos walking to the ground singing the Gorgie boys are in town.Great days !

Christ i hope i dreamt this but wasn't the fitba specials referred to as Saville Travel at the time as Jimmy was the face of British rail?

Remember being in top tier of the broomloan when Bonni ginzburg,Avi Cohen,Mo Johnstone and Mark Walters were playing for rangers. What an atmosphere you just wouldn't get away with now. And the game at parkhead when aitken nearly broke Robbo's neck. Can't remember if that was the same game Robbo hooked tommy burns. Was on the Manor Hearts bus that day from palmerston place. Crazy bus. I always remember a guy dressed up in full maroon and white camouflage army gear including maroon beret. A real eye opener as a young lad!

The Robbo game when he was stretchered off was the start of the 85/86 season.

Robbo scored the only goal of the game and Henry had an amazing game.

Robbo played the following week.

Could well have been the start of the great run that season.

Thoroughly enjoying these anecdotes lads.

Did an ambulance not come onto the pitch at Parkhead to take Robbo off??

I wonder if that was around 87? (Ibrox) I remember this complete radge, bleached hair and a scar on his cheek. He ripped a seat out and lobbed it into the lower tier where the Huns were.

I'm sure after that is when they stopped giving away fans the top tier.

You've got me on that one. Should think Morgan will know. Was next to Faze 1 tho!!!

Subway was Banana Jax at one point. Very early '90's I think.

Christ i hope i dreamt this but wasn't the fitba specials referred to as Saville Travel at the time as Jimmy was the face of British rail?

Rings a bell :(

That rings a bell! Is Wonderland still on Lothian Road??

Sure is. Remember those polystyrene aeroplanes you got from there?

The Players Lounge thread got me thinking of the relationship we had with players back then.

Going to dinner dances with players who actually acted like they were happy to be there, club blazers et al, to the extent they'd usually have the microphone at the end of the night, belting out The Hearts Song!

Nowadays, on what is often the flagship event of a supporters club's season, you get a guy in t-shirt and torn jeans staying for half an hour tops as they pop in to pick up their award.

Edit: hard to blame current players for not hanging out with fans, given that their every word/action is recorded by idiots who claim to support them but can't wait to share any slight misjudgement on their part.

I wonder if that was around 87? (Ibrox) I remember this complete radge, bleached hair and a scar on his cheek. He ripped a seat out and lobbed it into the lower tier where the Huns were.

I'm sure after that is when they stopped giving away fans the top tier.

I was sitting in the front row of the top tier the day the seat was thrown. The seat hit the ledge before it bounced over and hit the Rangers fans below. It was bedlam after that. I was grabbed by the Police and thrown out at half time even though everyone around me said I had done nothing wrong. Rangers fans below said I threw coffee or a pie or some other made up object - Policeman in lower tier lied and said he saw me do it - must have made his day a bit easier.

I was led out but they couldn't get me out on the top tier (not sure why) so was led down and through the Rangers fans - spat on kicked and punched - with my arms up my back from the Police. After I got let out a door the mounted Police hassled me asking why I had been kicked out. There must have been at least 20 Hearts fans who were chucked out in quick succession after me.

Never saw who threw the seat but the story at the time was the guy with the Billy Idol blonde haircut was just grabbed because he stood out in the crowd - not sure if that was true or not.

I got back to our supporters bus as fast as I could as there was a lot of Rangers neds hanging about the streets.

Listened to the end of the game on the bus it finished 0-0 in the end. The game with the seat throwing was February 1990 though.