memories of the 80s

cookieboy

maroonsgotop
1 hour ago, drumie jambo said:

62841 of which 45000 were Jambos. Sheep support was appalling considering they were in their purple patch era.

Worked as DJ in the Centurion that season. It was an oldies night and I can remember the longer the unbeaten run went on the travelling support got bigger and

bigger. The Cenny got wilder as the weeks went by with big Coops leading the singsong.

Also remember the Subway in those days was known as Pipers. Used to go there and Bobby Mcgees  after a night in The Auld Hundred in Rose Street which was the best bar none. Another great venue in Semple Street was firstly called The Americana. Went when it was called The Red Hot Pepper Club with DJ Huggy. Many a drunken night was had there. Finally remember Oscars nightclub under the Rutland Hotel pre refurbishment and it was another drunken shaggers paradise. Those were the days.

ended up in the Centurion on quite a few Saturday nights towards the end of the 86 run. happy days

• Replies 516
drumie jambo
1 hour ago, maroonsgotop said:

ended up in the Centurion on quite a few Saturday nights towards the end of the 86 run. happy days

Like sardines

N Lincs Jambo
9 hours ago, martoon said:

Still think the 1987/88 season was the best football I ever saw Hearts play. Many outstanding performances, home and away, against every team we faced. A travesty that such a good side didn't land silverware. 

4-1 v. Dundee Utd,  

5-1 @ Falkirk, 

3-0 @ Dundee Utd, 

2-2 @ Celtic, 

4-2 v. Dundee, 

6-0 @ St. Mirren... 

...were just some of the fantastic displays. 

Was at most of those Martoon. Best for me was the 4-1 v the Arabs as they had just reached a Euro final and were a really great team yet we ripped them a new one. The 2-2 v Sellick was a nightmare as it was away and we were 2-0 up with 10 to go. Almost missed the 6-0 as we took a last minute decision to go. Think feck we did :)

1 hour ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

Was at most of those Martoon. Best for me was the 4-1 v the Arabs as they had just reached a Euro final and were a really great team yet we ripped them a new one. The 2-2 v Sellick was a nightmare as it was away and we were 2-0 up with 10 to go. Almost missed the 6-0 as we took a last minute decision to go. Think feck we did :)

Absolutely, bud. We were terrific v. Dundee Utd. Pretty sure Jim McLean predicted post match that Hearts would win the title. 

The 4-2 v. Dundee a few weeks later was also a standout for me. We were superb in the 1st half and 3-0 up at HT. Robbo could have had a 5 minute hat trick but missed a penalty and a very attack minded Dundee made a game of it in the 2nd half. 

Games couldn't come quick enough for me that season.  

Iron Maiden played in a club in St Stephens street. Sure it was 1980. Paul Dianno was front man. 

Boy falling out of the stand at Brechin.

3-0 at Tannadice

Dens

Bayern Munich at Tyney

Tasty derbies

Great time to be a Jambo

1 hour ago, Jamhammer said:

3-0 at Tannadice

Dens

Bayern Munich at Tyney

Tasty derbies

Great time to be a Jambo

Through at Falkirk and singing Joe 90 to the falkirk fan with glasses, cant remember date or score.

Drink involved again no doubt.

Enzo Chiefo
1 hour ago, Jamhammer said:

3-0 at Tannadice

Dens

Bayern Munich at Tyney

Tasty derbies

Great time to be a Jambo

Oxgangs Hearts: "Reekin in Brechin"

bringbakterracing

Best years to be a hearts fan imo. Took thousands away from home regular. The mob was hundreds strong, no mobiles, no grasses, no CCTV, got off the train and lived off your wits. Some proper scary moments but some absolute hoots too. Loved it!

weekend offender
5 minutes ago, bringbakterracing said:

Best years to be a hearts fan imo. Took thousands away from home regular. The mob was hundreds strong, no mobiles, no grasses, no CCTV, got off the train and lived off your wits. Some proper scary moments but some absolute hoots too. Loved it!

Nailed it, it really is pish now

9 hours ago, gorgiegus said:

Iron Maiden played in a club in St Stephens street. Sure it was 1980. Paul Dianno was front man. 

Cinderella’s?

4 hours ago, bringbakterracing said:

Clydebank and Falkirk were always adventurous. Clydebank inside the ground and Falkirk outside. Thinking about it, Clydebank was tremendous. Their fans running onto the pitch at half time goading the hearts fans and some fans running on and chasing them back into their end.  Pat Byrne scoring a penalty springs to mind.  Elgin pre season, fans having a kick a bout on the pitch at half time.  Peter shields  winner. Did he ever score another 'crucial' goal for us?  

a safe pair of sells
On ‎14‎/‎01‎/‎2017 at 21:31, cookieboy said:

as we are in retro 80s memory week who remembers the guy selling rolls etc , getting smacked full puss with the ball at Clydebank in 85/86

was he the"meat, meat" guy? Someone asked him what kind of meat was on his rolls and he tutted and said angrily, "it's meat, meat!". Not surprisingly no one bought any after that, but boy did we giggle.

bringbakterracing
5 hours ago, Elmore said:

Clydebank and Falkirk were always adventurous. Clydebank inside the ground and Falkirk outside. Thinking about it, Clydebank was tremendous. Their fans running onto the pitch at half time goading the hearts fans and some fans running on and chasing them back into their end.  Pat Byrne scoring a penalty springs to mind.  Elgin pre season, fans having a kick a bout on the pitch at half time.  Peter shields  winner. Did he ever score another 'crucial' goal for us?  

Aye,  clydebank was always tasty. Remember chasing their piss poor mob down a road, a local proceeded to step out a pub,  punch one of our lads square in the puss then walked back into the pub. Poor lad lost his front four teeth. Claret everywhere!! 

We were in a pub after a Morton away game and they had ''walk on''  in the other bar blaring out

I asked who played that shite on the Jukebox

Bad move as the locals headed through cues in hand  and it KO, thankfully many Hearts fans were passing as the boots and fists  were flying at the door  then at that point the locals  made there way back in, quite scary at the time