• Cade

• JFK-1

• maroonlegions

• Unknown user

1 hour ago, Cade said:

One of the 5 engines popped right on launch, lowering the thrust-to-weight ratio from 1.25 to 1.

Which means it only had enough thrust to hover until it burned enough fuel to lose weight and then it was able to climb.

How much of a mess would have been inside spacesuits if such a thing occurred during a manned launch. I think they started looking to design escape methods following the Space Shuttle Challenger disaster. I don't know how far advanced these escape methods are.

To jog peoples memories and distinguish it from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster. Challenger exploded and broke up 73 seconds into launch.

Columbia disintegrated during re-entry due to missing heat absorbing tiles essential to surviving the extreme temperatures of re-entry. I don't know if anything could have saved the Columbia crew.

But it's thought that at least some if not actually all of the Challenger crew survived the break up. The crew compartment which was made of reinforced aluminium detached intact from the rest of the orbiter at an altitude of around 9 miles.

When it detached the crew experienced an acceleration with the compartment continuing to climb for around 10 seconds ultimately reaching an altitude about 12.5 miles.

It's estimated the acceleration would have created a g force anywhere between 12 and 20. This is what may create casualties. A quote from the wiki article.

At least some of the crew were alive and at least briefly conscious after the breakup, as three of the four recovered Personal Egress Air Packs (PEAPs) on the flight deck were found to have been activated.

PEAPs were activated for Smith and two unidentified crew members.

Certain levers and switches had been moved from their launch positions. It was concluded the blast could not have done this. Must have been moved by crew member Smith who was vainly trying to restore electrical power to the compartment.

It's unknown if anyone survived the fall all the way to the ocean but if anyone did obviously it would have killed them. The issue is they were alive during and even following the breakup. Some sort of proper designed escape method like fighter jet pilots have could have saved them.

Apparently the ISS gets around the escape pod problem by keeping enough Soyuz capsules docked to allow all crew to escape in an emergency. 

On 25/08/2021 at 05:46, spud said:

I’ve been told by a certain someone, to “dig deeper” to find the truth about aliens and their comings and goings, so I did and found this article, which I’m only going to summarise although I’ll provide a link if you like to follow it.

It’s by and I quote “truth seeking investigative journalist Kerry Cassidy who interviewed William Tompkins (Part One: https://youtu.be/Sb18kkVlRh4 and Part Two: https://youtu.be/oPMOjV9SMOoV), a skilled and experienced secret space program whistle blower. He has impressive credentials in the Aerospace industry, working with many companies including; Douglas Aircraft, Northrop, North American Aviation and two programs for NASA: the Saturn and Apollo Space programs.” Pretty Impressive, Eh? I’d say that he is a highly credible expert, especially because he worked on the NASA: the Saturn and Apollo Space programs.

Tomkins begins the interview by describing how some Nazis, including Adolf himself, escaped Germany in 1945 and fled to the South Pole. This led, in 1947, to the US sending an enormous battle group, second only in size to the group send the Normandy landings, with multiple warships and 400 aircraft to invade Antarctica under the code name “Operation Highjump”. However, within 20 minutes of arriving, this battle group was completely destroyed by Extra Terrestrial weapons. Tomkins explained that these weapons had already been used in the Battle of Los Angeles in 1942 by the Nordic group of Extra-Terrestrials called coincidentally, the Nordics, who Tomkins claims to have worked with. They used anti-gravity fields so as not to harm anyone from Los Angeles, though regretably, some people died from shrapnel. According to Tomkins this shows that they are a benevolent group and want to help humanity.

Tomkins now jumps to the Moon Landings where he claims, the Nazis and his Draconian Reptile allies had already arrived and they “jeered and mocked” the three Earthmen. They even tried to ram the landing module as it tried to land! Now, according to Tomkins, these Draconian Reptiles are malevolent types who regularly sacrifice humans and eat them, while they also drink their blood. Oh, and they are 9 foot tall and live to between 3000 and 4000 years as well.

Tomkins goes on to report that the Nordics and some humans are part of a force called the “Solar Warden” and they are engaged in a battle above us with the Reptiles as we speak. Anyway, when the Nordics win, they are going to let humans into a lot of secrets. But, you have to be wealthy and pay them.

Tomkins also stated that the moon is hollow and has many stations and is a command centre for the Nordics who look after the Earth.

Despite them looking after the Earth, the Queen and her family and a load of other people are Draconian Reptiles and Princess Diana was going to spill the beans so they bumped her off.

I really can’t be arsed recounting more of this pish. So here’s a link if you want to read more

http://www.astoundingelements.com/

There are also many more stories in Astounding Elements including the latest Q anon messages, which just seem to be numbers, ramblings about the collapse of the world economies and a gardening section. Enjoy.

241234836_1932912473535782_5886103964731401268_n.jpg

On 25/08/2021 at 05:46, spud said:

I’ve been told by a certain someone, to “dig deeper” to find the truth about aliens and their comings and goings, so I did and found this article, which I’m only going to summarise although I’ll provide a link if you like to follow it.

It’s by and I quote “truth seeking investigative journalist Kerry Cassidy who interviewed William Tompkins (Part One: https://youtu.be/Sb18kkVlRh4 and Part Two: https://youtu.be/oPMOjV9SMOoV), a skilled and experienced secret space program whistle blower. He has impressive credentials in the Aerospace industry, working with many companies including; Douglas Aircraft, Northrop, North American Aviation and two programs for NASA: the Saturn and Apollo Space programs.” Pretty Impressive, Eh? I’d say that he is a highly credible expert, especially because he worked on the NASA: the Saturn and Apollo Space programs.

Tomkins begins the interview by describing how some Nazis, including Adolf himself, escaped Germany in 1945 and fled to the South Pole. This led, in 1947, to the US sending an enormous battle group, second only in size to the group send the Normandy landings, with multiple warships and 400 aircraft to invade Antarctica under the code name “Operation Highjump”. However, within 20 minutes of arriving, this battle group was completely destroyed by Extra Terrestrial weapons. Tomkins explained that these weapons had already been used in the Battle of Los Angeles in 1942 by the Nordic group of Extra-Terrestrials called coincidentally, the Nordics, who Tomkins claims to have worked with. They used anti-gravity fields so as not to harm anyone from Los Angeles, though regretably, some people died from shrapnel. According to Tomkins this shows that they are a benevolent group and want to help humanity.

Tomkins now jumps to the Moon Landings where he claims, the Nazis and his Draconian Reptile allies had already arrived and they “jeered and mocked” the three Earthmen. They even tried to ram the landing module as it tried to land! Now, according to Tomkins, these Draconian Reptiles are malevolent types who regularly sacrifice humans and eat them, while they also drink their blood. Oh, and they are 9 foot tall and live to between 3000 and 4000 years as well.

Tomkins goes on to report that the Nordics and some humans are part of a force called the “Solar Warden” and they are engaged in a battle above us with the Reptiles as we speak. Anyway, when the Nordics win, they are going to let humans into a lot of secrets. But, you have to be wealthy and pay them.

Tomkins also stated that the moon is hollow and has many stations and is a command centre for the Nordics who look after the Earth.

Despite them looking after the Earth, the Queen and her family and a load of other people are Draconian Reptiles and Princess Diana was going to spill the beans so they bumped her off.

I really can’t be arsed recounting more of this pish. So here’s a link if you want to read more

http://www.astoundingelements.com/

There are also many more stories in Astounding Elements including the latest Q anon messages, which just seem to be numbers, ramblings about the collapse of the world economies and a gardening section. Enjoy.

Been told to dig deeper concerning religion. 

So found  out that a  group of bearded elders and ancient learned  scholars believed that a carpenter, cured a blind man, walked on water, turned water into wine and rose from the dead..

To think that story is  believed and accepted as POSSIBLE or even TRUE by MILLIONS around the world.

Cant be arsed going deeper with that pish but below is one  motherfecker of a UAP incident. More believable than any man made religious shite dont you think.

For several hours, multiple experienced pilots, air traffic controllers, and ground observers watched a UFO drift over the city of Tehran, and exhibit a wide range of baffling behaviours that they are still unable to explain.

A pretty awesome (and pretty rare) 1994 'Sightings' episode is also mentioned and linked below - it contains both civilian and military eyewitness interviews and also testimony concerning a top secret meeting between the Imperial Iranian Air Force and the USAF (see 8:40) - also reports of a 'calculated disinformation programme' designed to discredit and downplay the incident by manipulation of the Iranian news media.

The 1976 Tehran UFO Incident was a radar and visual sighting of an unidentified flying object (UFO) over Tehran, the capital of Iran, during the early morning hours of September 19th 1976. During the incident, two F-4 Phantom II jet interceptors supposedly lost instrumentation and communications as they approached, only to have them restored upon withdrawal; one of the aircraft also supposedly suffered temporary weapons systems failure, while preparing to open fire.

The incident, recorded in a four-page U.S. Defence Intelligence Agency (DIA) report distributed to at least the White House, Secretary of State, Joint Chiefs of Staff, National Security Agency (NSA) and Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), remains one of the most well-documented military encounters with anomalous phenomena in history, and various senior Iranian military officers directly involved with the events have gone on public record stating their belief that the object was not of terrestrial origin.

• Documents:

THE TEHRAN 1976 CASE:

A declassified document related to the famous Teheran UFO and jet fighter encounter in 1976.

This is a capital case, acknowleged by a US intelligence agency, where a UFO encountered an aircraft, and reacted in a superior ant intelligent manner to the aircraft's interception attempt by shutting down temporarily the aircraft's weapons system.

The DIA evaluation termed this "An outstanding report. This case is a classic which meets all the criteria necessary for a valid study of the UFO phenomenon." The analysis called the UFO performance "awesome," noting that the objects displayed "an inordinate amount of maneuverability."

REFERENCES:

Title: DIA Defense Information Evaluation Report IR No. 6846013976
To: Censored
Author: Major Roland B. Evans, USAF, Military Capability Analyst.
Date: September 22, 1976
Length: 5 pages.
Classification: Top secret, Declassified
CC: None.

Document One

Document Two

Document Three

Document Four

PDF File - Tehran UFO Documents

Edited by maroonlegions

2 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

So found  out that a  group of bearded elders and ancient learned  scholars believed that a carpenter, cured a blind man, walked on water, turned water into wine and rose from the dead..

To think that story is  believed and accepted as POSSIBLE or even TRUE by MILLIONS around the world.

Cant be arsed going deeper with that pish but below is on  motherfecker of a UAP incident.

For several hours, multiple experienced pilots, air traffic controllers, and ground observers watched a UFO drift over the city of Tehran, and exhibit a wide range of baffling behaviours that they are still unable to explain.

A pretty awesome (and pretty rare) 1994 'Sightings' episode is also mentioned and linked below - it contains both civilian and military eyewitness interviews and also testimony concerning a top secret meeting between the Imperial Iranian Air Force and the USAF (see 8:40) - also reports of a 'calculated disinformation programme' designed to discredit and downplay the incident by manipulation of the Iranian news media.

The 1976 Tehran UFO Incident was a radar and visual sighting of an unidentified flying object (UFO) over Tehran, the capital of Iran, during the early morning hours of September 19th 1976. During the incident, two F-4 Phantom II jet interceptors supposedly lost instrumentation and communications as they approached, only to have them restored upon withdrawal; one of the aircraft also supposedly suffered temporary weapons systems failure, while preparing to open fire.

The incident, recorded in a four-page U.S. Defence Intelligence Agency (DIA) report distributed to at least the White House, Secretary of State, Joint Chiefs of Staff, National Security Agency (NSA) and Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), remains one of the most well-documented military encounters with anomalous phenomena in history, and various senior Iranian military officers directly involved with the events have gone on public record stating their belief that the object was not of terrestrial origin.

• Documents:

THE TEHRAN 1976 CASE:

A declassified document related to the famous Teheran UFO and jet fighter encounter in 1976.

This is a capital case, acknowleged by a US intelligence agency, where a UFO encountered an aircraft, and reacted in a superior ant intelligent manner to the aircraft's interception attempt by shutting down temporarily the aircraft's weapons system.

The DIA evaluation termed this "An outstanding report. This case is a classic which meets all the criteria necessary for a valid study of the UFO phenomenon." The analysis called the UFO performance "awesome," noting that the objects displayed "an inordinate amount of maneuverability."

REFERENCES:

Document One

Document Two

Document Three

Document Four

Pish

1 hour ago, maroonlegions said:

Cant be arsed going deeper with that pish but below is one  motherfecker of a UAP incident. More believable than any man made religious shite dont you think.

• Documents:

THE TEHRAN 1976 CASE:

REFERENCES:

Document One

Document Two

Document Three

Document Four

ml, some might find that video convincing, but I do not.

The video was made 30 years ago, about an incident 45 years ago.  As usual, it was a nighttime encounter, so there is no visual evidence, all hearsay.  The closest they got to the object was seven miles, in the dark, but the pilot was able to say it was about the size of a Boeing 747.  Really?  Speaking from personal experience, I can tell you that if an aircraft is seven miles away, no-one can tell what it is or how big it is. Even in daylight.

The vastness the scale .

How can there not be alien life.

How can there not have been.

And no doubt there will be.

What's really amazing is our ability to grasp and understand it in our own tiny way.

220 million years for our sun to rotate 700 million years for our galaxy.

It's a joy to think about it.

What kind of photo's will the James Webb telescope take? I cant seem to get my head round it.

The Hubble sends cracking space pics back so what will be different about the JWT?

🤣 UFOs and intelligent life on other planets. Earth's a fluke folks, get used to it, there'll never be any contact, never, because there's none.

I would agree there will likely never be any direct contact with intelligent aliens. But I don't believe for a moment that there are none. The basic ingredients of life are everywhere while the first life on earth may have appeared little over 200 million years or so after the formation.

There is nothing special about Earth in terms of it's ability to retain liquid water. There will be countless billions of planets out there with the same feature. And liquid water is thought to be pretty much all that's required to 'brew' the basic ingredients and end up with simple single celled life.

From there evolution will take over just as it did here. I believe there will be primitive single celled life throughout the galaxy. Very possibly more than one version of it right here in our very own solar system. Intelligent technological life on the other hand will be far rarer.

But given the numbers involved simply can't be unique to Earth.  

1 hour ago, JFK-1 said:

I would agree there will likely never be any direct contact with intelligent aliens. But I don't believe for a moment that there are none. The basic ingredients of life are everywhere while the first life on earth may have appeared little over 200 million years or so after the formation.

There is nothing special about Earth in terms of it's ability to retain liquid water. There will be countless billions of planets out there with the same feature. And liquid water is thought to be pretty much all that's required to 'brew' the basic ingredients and end up with simple single celled life.

From there evolution will take over just as it did here. I believe there will be primitive single celled life throughout the galaxy. Very possibly more than one version of it right here in our very own solar system. Intelligent technological life on the other hand will be far rarer.

But also, given the numbers involved in both time and space, we're unlikely to ever encounter it.

If we do find even fossilised life-forms anywhere in our own star system, that means that not only is Earth not unique, but that life isn't just restricted to a narrow "goldilocks zone" a certain distance from a star.

It means that life can be anywhere and increases the chances of other sentient beings being out there by a huge order of magnitude.

A couple of wee fossilised microbes on Mars or living bacteria on Europa would change everything.

2 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

Could it be possible that other forms of life don't require/aren't sustained by water?

Agreed though, there will more than likely be a near identical planet to earth somewhere else in the universe imo.

10 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Could it be possible that other forms of life don't require/aren't sustained by water?

Agreed though, there will more than likely be a near identical planet to earth somewhere else in the universe imo.

Absolutely, there may be completely different Goldilocks zones for lifeforms we can't even imagine.

I'm loving this, I had space mentalists Henge on earlier, playing Goldilocks. It's like the radge thread was reading my mind

I used the astrophotography setting in my phone this week and the amount of stars it picked up was just mind blowing. Ordered a set of binoculars to take a look over winter and can see me getting a telescope in due course too.

I used to be fascinated by the universe and the sky but had long forgotten about it all until I started having a read of this thread 👍

Just hope an alien doesn't chore my binos when he sees me watching him flying about...

1 minute ago, Taffin said:

I used the astrophotography setting in my phone this week and the amount of stars it picked up was just mind blowing. Ordered a set of binoculars to take a look over winter and can see me getting a telescope in due course too.

I used to be fascinated by the universe and the sky but had long forgotten about it all until I started having a read of this thread 👍

Just hope an alien doesn't chore my binos when he sees me watching him flying about...

As far as I can tell the best way to avoid alien encounters is by having really good quality video recording equipment, those guys never see anything.

Just now, Smithee said:

As far as I can tell the best way to avoid alien encounters is by having really good quality video recording equipment, those guys never see anything.

I'll make sure my camera is turned on, should keep them at a safe distance. I'm also not an RAF bigwig so probably not got the impressive credentials to attract them in the first place.

16 hours ago, Ked said:

The vastness the scale .

How can there not be alien life.

How can there not have been.

And no doubt there will be.

What's really amazing is our ability to grasp and understand it in our own tiny way.

220 million years for our sun to rotate 700 million years for our galaxy.

It's a joy to think about it.

It’s incredible.

It’s enough just to stand in awe at the scale of it. It’s free as well !

Every clear night is a joy, looking at the stars !

Smoke and fire alarms went off in the Russian section of the ISS this week during a routine battery charging cycle.

Russian cosmonauts turned on the air scrubbers and went back to bed.

Next morning they reported a smell of burnt electronics/plastic but as everything was working fine, they just bashed on with normal operations.

They also performed a couple of space walks this week, integrating the Nauka module into the ISS (after the near disaster that this module caused when docking a few weeks ago).

It'll be a relief when the Russkies put their own new station into orbit and abandon the ISS, I think!!

3 hours ago, Taffin said:

There is an Edinburgh Astronomy club that you might want to look up.  They let me attend one of their nights and they all have scopes worth thousands .

Good bunch of lads! 

1 minute ago, Bigsmak said:

There is an Edinburgh Astronomy club that you might want to look up.  They let me attend one of their nights and they all have scopes worth thousands .

Good bunch of lads! 

Thanks for the suggestion, that's a great idea.

I'm sadly no longer based in Edinburgh but I'll have a look and see if there is similar near me. I could do with a new hobby!

5 hours ago, Boab said:

It’s incredible.

It’s enough just to stand in awe at the scale of it. It’s free as well !

Every clear night is a joy, looking at the stars !

Living in the toon you often cant see what's above us.I remember many years ago being completely blown away when down Dumfries way at the night sky.

It at the time was soothing as I had troubles at that time.It kind of put things in perspective .

I'm slavering here but aye it is just enough to stand in awe.

13 hours ago, ri Alban said:

🤣 UFOs and intelligent life on other planets. Earth's a fluke folks, get used to it, there'll never be any contact, never, because there's none.

The numbers involved just in what we know would suggest a few flukes no?

5 hours ago, Smithee said:

Now now .

4 hours ago, Ked said:

Living in the toon you often cant see what's above us.I remember many years ago being completely blown away when down Dumfries way at the night sky.

It at the time was soothing as I had troubles at that time.It kind of put things in perspective .

I'm slavering here but aye it is just enough to stand in awe.

Went to Auz years back and  drove down to the coast on NSW and the stars were like pearls !

Enjoy the heavens !

22 hours ago, Smithee said:

But also, given the numbers involved in both time and space, we're unlikely to ever encounter it.

Pondered that aspect myself, what are the odds of being around at the same time as such a civilisation? That's a hard one to quantify since we have no data on the longevity of technological civilisations.

We know of only one and it's still extant. Still extant around 7,000 years or so after settling down to farming following millions of years of being hunter gatherers.

Which makes you wonder what could be possible for a civilisation at just the 10,000 year range. Or how about 100,000 years? Such a civilisation would always be extant because they would be colonising other suitable solar systems.

I would gamble that there will already be such a civilisation somewhere in the universe if not the galaxy. There is obviously absolutely zero evidence in the milky way right now of any technological alien activity. Unless you include the Wow! signal as a potential.

But there could very well be a 20,000 year old civilisation in the galaxy right now but they're 50,000 light years away. So we wont see any signs of their activity for perhaps tens of thousands of years.

Alternatively if they're out there they wont have seen any signs of us either unless they're inside a bubble of around 100 light years or so. It's been around a century or so since we began transmitting TV signals which pass through the atmosphere out into space. Radio signals bounce back down.

Which raises the possibility that a younger less advanced civilisation may always see the more advanced aliens first. For potentially thousands of years before the more advanced aliens become aware of you. 

Or, there's always the possibility that we're the only technological civilisation in the galaxy. Maybe it's there for the taking if we can hang on for just another thousand years or so.

10 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

Pondered that aspect myself, what are the odds of being around at the same time as such a civilisation? That's a hard one to quantify since we have no data on the longevity of technological civilisations.

We know of only one and it's still extant. Still extant around 7,000 years or so after settling down to farming following millions of years of being hunter gatherers.

Which makes you wonder what could be possible for a civilisation at just the 10,000 year range. Or how about 100,000 years? Such a civilisation would always be extant because they would be colonising other suitable solar systems.

I would gamble that there will already be such a civilisation somewhere in the universe if not the galaxy. There is obviously absolutely zero evidence in the milky way right now of any technological alien activity. Unless you include the Wow! signal as a potential.

But there could very well be a 20,000 year old civilisation in the galaxy right now but they're 50,000 light years away. So we wont see any signs of their activity for perhaps tens of thousands of years.

Alternatively if they're out there they wont have seen any signs of us either unless they're inside a bubble of around 100 light years or so. It's been around a century or so since we began transmitting TV signals which pass through the atmosphere out into space. Radio signals bounce back down.

Which raises the possibility that a younger less advanced civilisation may always see the more advanced aliens first. For potentially thousands of years before the more advanced aliens become aware of you. 

Or, there's always the possibility that we're the only technological civilisation in the galaxy. Maybe it's there for the taking if we can hang on for just another thousand years or so.

I'm sure that in the billions of years of universal existence there will have been, and will yet be other civilisations.

There could have been a million of them come and gone before we put in an appearance, and so far away.

Edited by Smithee

19 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I'm sure that in the billions of years of universal existence there will have been, and will yet be other civilisations.

There could have been a million of them come and gone before we put in an appearance, and so far away.

The galaxy is almost as old as the universe. It's estimated the galaxy formed just 200 million years after the big bang.

On 23/08/2021 at 06:03, AlphonseCapone said:

Just a quick response from me just now but ironically guess what I found on my book shelf, Krauss' book a universe from nothing!

Obviously picked it up at a charity shop and forgot (I have too many books if that's such a thing). 

On the Origin of Everything

4 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

The galaxy is almost as old as the universe. It's estimated the galaxy formed just 200 million years after the big bang.

Is that all?

21 hours ago, Boab said:

Went to Auz years back and  drove down to the coast on NSW and the stars were like pearls !

Enjoy the heavens !

Similar experience taking the greyhound from Sydney to Byron Bay overnight.  I had never seen the beauty of the night sky like I did on that journey.  Just stunning.

10 hours ago, Smithee said:

Is that all?

Yes, only. That 200 million years is less than 1.5% of the total current age of the universe. If you were to equate it to say a 60 year old human that human would be less than a year old at just 1.5% of his/her current age. 

I remember being surprised on learning the relative speed of the formation of the galaxies. And was encouraged to think if the galaxies have been around that long there just has to be other intelligent life out there, somewhere, or at the very least has been at some point intelligent life out there.

But obviously i'm no expert. It further occurred to me that the earliest stars in these galaxies were composed of almost entirely hydrogen with a little helium and you're not going to brew life with that.

All of the other elements as we know were created inside these early stars then scattered when the larger ones went nova. Thus we're all stardust. Who knows how long that would take after galaxy formation. 

On 10/09/2021 at 05:43, maroonlegions said:

• Documents:

THE TEHRAN 1976 CASE:

REFERENCES:

Document One

Document Two

Document Three

Document Four

I was extremely disappointed that your response to my “digging” was to blether on about religion and then cut and paste another from your collection of opinions by “highly credible experts” from nearly 50 years ago. My disappointment was increased as you didn’t have the good grace to comment and seemed to dismiss the opinions of my expert, William Tompkins.  As I pointed out, he had worked for many aviation companies, including NASA and of course had shared his expertise with the “Nordics” the inhabitants of the hollow moon and self-proclaimed guardians of the Earth in their fight with the 9 foot reptiles

I would very much like to find out more and so perhaps you could reveal the source of your articles. Would it perhaps be the David Icke forums, as I have heard that you are a member of many years standing and regular contributor?

There's been an astronomical event taking place recently and probably still is right now though we wont see anything. It involves a star 1,470 light years from Earth which is exhibiting regular dimming no one can explain. This is a description of the star taken from wiki.

Tabby's Star (also known as Boyajian's Star and WTF Star, and designated KIC 8462852 in the Kepler Input Catalog) is an F-type main-sequence star in the constellation Cygnus approximately 1,470 light-years (450 pc) from Earth.

Unusual light fluctuations of the star, including up to a 22% dimming in brightness, were discovered by citizen scientists as part of the Planet Hunters project. In September 2015, astronomers and citizen scientists associated with the project posted a preprint of an article describing the data and possible interpretations.

The discovery was made from data collected by the Kepler space telescope, which observed changes in the brightness of distant stars to detect exoplanets.

This is so baffling one hypothesis being bandied around is that what we're seeing is aliens far more advanced than us mining a star. That would explain it all. Which none of the other hypotheses so far can.

No one is suggesting aliens in our midst. Which I personally wouldn't believe for a moment without compelling evidence. I'm aware some think there is compelling evidence but like with food, people have their own tastes in what passes as compelling evidence.

What some of these scientists are saying is that there may be a highly advanced civilisation out there who we can see through their activities of star mining.

If this were the case they're very far away and would have no idea we exist. Since we only began transmitting any signal at all capable of going into space around a hundred years or so ago.

At the distance they're at it will be another 1300 years or so before they could potentially detect a signal from us. Now i'm not saying I believe star mining is that answer, there might be something else going on we simply don't understand. Need to study this further.

But in saying that it's the first time in my life I have ever thought it may be a potential. WOW signal aside maybe. And if that were the case would be perhaps the very best way to introduce the fragile human psyche to the fact that there are aliens.

Something like don't panic, they're not here and they're not going to be anytime soon but we can now definitively say they exist and that they're at least thousands of years more advanced than we are.

Most people would probably experience a WOW moment for a while then forget about it. Who cares about a thousand years in the future? They're alien asses are over a thousand light years away and no issue to either me or mine or even my grandkids own grandkids when they eventually have them.

The human race would get a thousand years to digest it. 

15 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

There's been an astronomical event taking place recently and probably still is right now though we wont see anything. It involves a star 1,470 light years from Earth which is exhibiting regular dimming no one can explain. This is a description of the star taken from wiki.

This is so baffling one hypothesis being bandied around is that what we're seeing is aliens far more advanced than us mining a star. That would explain it all. Which none of the other hypotheses so far can.

No one is suggesting aliens in our midst. Which I personally wouldn't believe for a moment without compelling evidence. I'm aware some think there is compelling evidence but like with food, people have their own tastes in what passes as compelling evidence.

What some of these scientists are saying is that there may be a highly advanced civilisation out there who we can see through their activities of star mining.

If this were the case they're very far away and would have no idea we exist. Since we only began transmitting any signal at all capable of going into space around a hundred years or so ago.

At the distance they're at it will be another 1300 years or so before they could potentially detect a signal from us. Now i'm not saying I believe star mining is that answer, there might be something else going on we simply don't understand. Need to study this further.

But in saying that it's the first time in my life I have ever thought it may be a potential. WOW signal aside maybe. And if that were the case would be perhaps the very best way to introduce the fragile human psyche to the fact that there are aliens.

Something like don't panic, they're not here and they're not going to be anytime soon but we can now definitively say they exist and that they're at least thousands of years more advanced than we are.

Most people would probably experience a WOW moment for a while then forget about it. Who cares about a thousand years in the future? They're alien asses are over a thousand light years away and no issue to either me or mine or even my grandkids own grandkids when they eventually have them.

The human race would get a thousand years to digest it. 

There is a TED lecture on this subject on YouTube given by Tabitha Boyajian around 2015. She discovered the irregular dimming when she was doing her PhD, might have been a post-doc. It's a really good place to start, if you are interested. If I remember correctly one hypothesis advanced at the time was that the dimming was caused by the rotation of gigantic artificially built structures, which again would introduce an advanced civilisation into the equation. Although, Dr Edward Schmidt, University of Nebraska announced earlier this year that he had found another 15 stars which behave in the same manner, which would probably point to a natural explanation and not an alien one.

2 hours ago, spud said:

There is a TED lecture on this subject on YouTube given by Tabitha Boyajian around 2015. She discovered the irregular dimming when she was doing her PhD, might have been a post-doc. It's a really good place to start, if you are interested. If I remember correctly one hypothesis advanced at the time was that the dimming was caused by the rotation of gigantic artificially built structures, which again would introduce an advanced civilisation into the equation. Although, Dr Edward Schmidt, University of Nebraska announced earlier this year that he had found another 15 stars which behave in the same manner, which would probably point to a natural explanation and not an alien one.

Been following this phenomena since it was first discovered. Remember finding it interesting that it had been found by citizen planet hunters which has developed into a very useful scientific aid.

All this free labour contributing and in fact I have at times myself spent hours staring at photos of galaxies and galaxy clusters they sent looking for anything out of the ordinary. You don't need to be an expert. They provide a description of the kind of thing to look for.

Lots of groups like that. Too much data not enough computing power or eyes to look at it all. Some of these groups you don't need to look at anything.

You simply,load up software to which SETI sends data to be analysed then It just runs in the background. Millions are doing it so I expect that's like one giant super computer.

4 hours ago, Cade said:

I liked splashdowns better than shuttle landings. I was about 10 during the Apollo 13 incident. That was a nail biter of a splashdown. 

On 11/09/2021 at 11:48, JFK-1 said:

Get yer tartan paint, 2 for a tenner.

I always thought that to be true. It was obviously different than how it is today.

Edit: Double checked on Nasa's site and they say pretty much the same.

Edited by Pap