Astronomy / The Universe

graygo

On 07/05/2021 at 12:24, hughesie27 said:

Doesn't look anything like Jupiter.

Mmmm, feck, maybe you are right and the ASTRONOMERS at the Gemini North Observatory are wrong.I mean the hours of data they collected through the correct scientific methods and validated by others from the astronomical sciences ... 

Feck never took you for a conspiracy theorist...  

" Recently, astronomers at the Gemini North Observatory in Hawaii, USA, created some of the best infrared photos of Jupiter ever taken from Earth’s surface. The night was perfect . Gemini was able to produce such a clear image using a technique called lucky imaging, by taking many images and combining only the clearest ones that, by chance, were taken when Earth's atmosphere was the most calm."

• Replies 1.7k

• Cade

• JFK-1

• maroonlegions

• Unknown user

On 06/05/2021 at 17:53, Smithee said:

I didn't say anything about him, I just said that you don't apply a lot of critical thinking to the subject, so when you say "that's good enough for me" it doesn't exactly carry loads of weight

Hows this for critical thinking, you are taking the piss if you think i am this critical  below on the new Exoplanet on a planet 9 like orbit...

"High-resolution spectroscopy has opened the way for new, detailed study of exoplanet atmospheres. There is evidence that this technique can be sensitive to the complex, three-dimensional (3D) atmospheric structure of these planets. In this work, we perform cross-correlation analysis of high-resolution (R ~ 100,000) CRIRES/VLT emission spectra of the hot Jupiter HD 209458b.

We generate template emission spectra from a 3D atmospheric circulation model of the planet, accounting for temperature structure and atmospheric motions—winds and planetary rotation—missed by spectra calculated from one-dimensional models. In this first-of-its-kind analysis, we find that using template spectra generated from a 3D model produces a more significant detection (6.9σ) of the planet's signal than any of the hundreds of one-dimensional models we tested (maximum of 5.1σ).

We recover the planet's thermal emission, its orbital motion, and the presence of CO in its atmosphere at high significance. Additionally, we analysed the relative influences of 3D temperature and chemical structures in this improved detection, including the contributions from CO and H2O, as well as the role of atmospheric Doppler signatures from winds and rotation.

This work shows that the hot Jupiter's 3D atmospheric structure has a first-order influence on its emission spectra at high resolution and motivates the use of multidimensional atmospheric models in high-resolution spectral analysis".

As much as I don't agree with Legions views on aliens, the guy knows his onions when it comes to space. 

I've said it before, and I'll say it again. We will find alien life within our lifetime. Just not the flying saucer type. 

53 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

Aye if NASAs on the case then its good enough for me..  

What else did you expect a 2 hour long dissipation peer reviewed paper.. I post the link, its all there and all the critical thinking you want..

Feck sake are we not allowed to post a link with  add some comments..   

Do what you like mate, I will too

NASA completes a full 8-minute test burn of the SLS rocket.

So far, the project has cost $18billion and each launch will cost around $2billion. This is due to the entire rocket being single-use only.

Falcon Heavy costs around $150mil per launch. Falcon is partially re-usable.
Starship, being fully re-usable, is projected to cost as little as $2million per launch (which is optimistic to say the least).

Super_heavy-lift_launch_vehicles.png

On 12/05/2021 at 19:15, Cade said:

NASA completes a full 8-minute test burn of the SLS rocket.

So far, the project has cost $18billion and each launch will cost around $2billion. This is due to the entire rocket being single-use only.

Falcon Heavy costs around $150mil per launch. Falcon is partially re-usable.
Starship, being fully re-usable, is projected to cost as little as $2million per launch (which is optimistic to say the least).

Super_heavy-lift_launch_vehicles.png

15 hours ago, Cade said:

Some superb images

• 3 weeks later...

SpaceX assembling their first SuperHeavy test launch rig.

This is the big boy that sits under the Starship.

Rather than using just a few massive rockets and boosters to get into orbit like with their own Falcon Heavy or other more conventional designs, this monster is going to be using somewhere between 29 and 32 Raptor engines.

:wow:

Also, here's an amusing to-scale picture of Starship next to the 1969 Apollo LEM.

6kvj7nrzhot61.png?width=640&crop=smart&a

Edited by Cade

34 minutes ago, HartleyLegend3 said:

Oye Beltalowda. 

You a real rockhopper. 

images.png

Taki, beratna.

Branson and Bezos in a personal race to space.

Looks like Branson will get there first on his wee shuttle dropped by a carrier aircraft ahead of Bezos in his wee sex toy rocket.

Bezos wins credit for inviting Wally Funk to be part of his crew.

Wally was one of the "Mercury 13" group of women who had been put through the NASA selection process in the 1960s.

She'd outperformed the male astronauts in every regard but due to the USA being a backwards looking ultra conservative shitehole in the 1960s, she was denied a chance to go to space.

At 82 years old she'll be the oldest person to ever attain orbit.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wally_Funk

• 3 weeks later...

E6wZczJWYAELAde?format=jpg&name=4096x409

Wally Funk gives her thanks to the rocket that finally took her to space at the age of 82 after starting her NASA training in 1961.

2 hours ago, Cade said:

E6wZczJWYAELAde?format=jpg&name=4096x409

Wally Funk gives her thanks to the rocket that finally took her to space at the age of 82 after starting her NASA training in 1961.

It was a modest venture by the standards of today ... less impressive even than the Alan Shepard sub orbital flight in 1961.  But watching that re-usable rocket return to the launch pad was incredible. 

Branson and Bezos are just playing around with very (very) expensive toys.

It's highly debatable whether their spacecraft are actually contributing anything much in the way of real scientific value.

They do have some great technology but aircraft-assisted launch is nothing new (launching experimental rocket planes from heavy bombers began in the late 1940s) and re-usable rockets isn't as cutting edge as it once was thanks to SpaceX.

Virgin and Blue Origin simply skim the boundary of weightless space; Bezos only experienced 11 seconds of it before returning to Earth.

Where Earth's atmosphere ends and Space begins is a hot topic for debate; the US Federal Aviation Authority says 50 miles but the internationally recognised Karman Line starts at 62 miles.

Branson got to 53. Officially an astronaut by US standards, but not anywhere else.

Musk is already supplying the ISS with cargo and crew, has won the contract for the next NASA moon landings and is currently testing the super heavy booster that will take them there.

And he's not even been vain enough to send himself up there once.

The space industry is certainly in rude health with tons of commercial companies working together with nations to further our understanding of the cosmos, but there are still people like Branson and Bezos that only see it as yet another cash cow.

You say it doesn't add value. But you could have argued that about the Wright brothers first plane or the first cars and boats. They were small, expensive, crude and not very practical. ..

But people took them, added to them, improved... Then others improved.  

This is how it starts, when the next Elon takes this technology and improve on it . Then the next.. then the next. The sky, literally, is not the limit anymore..... 

Edited by Bigsmak
Spelling

58 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

3 words

Coronal mass ejection 

That sounds a lot like an xhamster search

4 minutes ago, Smithee said:

That sounds a lot like an xhamster search

You been searching for sexy hamsters again?

4 hours ago, Bigsmak said:

You say it doesn't add value. But you could have argued that about the Wright brothers first plane or the first cars and boats. They were small, expensive, crude and not very practical. ..

But people took them, added to them, improved... Then others improved.  

This is how it starts, when the next Elon takes this technology and improve on it . Then the next.. then the next. The sky, literally, is not the limit anymore..... 

Good post

20 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

You been searching for sexy hamsters again?

They keep getting stuck tbf

10 hours ago, Cade said:

The space industry is certainly in rude health with tons of commercial companies working together with nations to further our understanding of the cosmos, but there are still people like Branson and Bezos that only see it as yet another cash cow.

I'm sure I read yesterday that the young lad that went up with Bezos seat cost $28 million

His old man bought it but couldn't go due to a 'scheduling conflict'.  WTF was he doing that was better than a trip into space for 28m?

On 21/07/2021 at 22:18, The Mighty Thor said:

WTF was he doing that was better than a trip into space for 28m?

Probably hoping the kid wouldn't come back.  :runaway:

The new (well, old) Russian extension to the ISS has had constant problems over the last two weeks.

Well, to be honest, it's had constant issues since the start.

In the early 90s it was originally designed to be a modular component of the Russian part of the ISS but plans changed and it was held in storage as a back-up.

It was then redesigned as an orbital lab module and was due for launch in 2007.

Problems with the propulsion system meant it got pushed back time and time again and when it was eventually almost ready, the warranties on the propulsion parts ran out, so a total re-design and replacement of that system was needed. Farcical.

It finally got off the ground a couple of weeks ago.

Then the problems with that propulsion system manifested. Telemetry was lost, the module didn't know where it was or what it was supposed to be doing. Engineers on the ground had to work out where it was and how to get it back on the right flight path.

It's taken 8 days to get it in position at the ISS.

It docked today 

Three hours after docking, the propulsion system suddenly decided it was still halfway through docking and fired the main thrusters, rotating the entire space station by 45 degrees (!).

Russian cosmonauts on board the ISS managed to manually shut it down and the ISS was then returned to the correct position.

On 22/07/2021 at 23:11, Ulysses said:

Probably hoping the kid wouldn't come back.  :runaway:

Underrated post, and may even be true 😂

Seems that the ISS was in more trouble than we thought.

Telemetry and eyewitness statements have confirmed that it made at least one full rotation during the incident.

That's rather scary.

24 minutes ago, Cade said:

Seems that the ISS was in more trouble than we thought.

Telemetry and eyewitness statements have confirmed that it made at least one full rotation during the incident.

That's rather scary.

Could've been an absolute disaster. 

Should only allow Volkswagen to manufacture space station modules.

On 07/08/2021 at 06:41, Cade said:

SpaceX just about ready for an orbital test of the (fully re-usable) ships that will be taking humans back to the Moon.

gcqsVtB.jpgzxGtZne.jpg

mWUfiID.jpgHu9aIid.jpg

That's truly incredible.  If I counted correctly, that launcher has 29 engines.  29!!!

1 hour ago, Maple Leaf said:

That's truly incredible.  If I counted correctly, that launcher has 29 engines.  29!!!

29 Raptors for the main booster.

Another 3 on the 2nd stage plus 3 larger ones as well.

All the testing so far has been the 2nd stage bit.

Fully assembled, the unit is larger than the famous Saturn V that last took man to the Moon.

Anytime I read about the universe it blows my mind.

The scale and its possibilities.

And the fact that we can evaluate it and try to grasp it makes you think in a deeper way.

Humanity for all its faults really is a miracle

8 hours ago, Ked said:

Anytime I read about the universe it blows my mind.

The scale and its possibilities.

And the fact that we can evaluate it and try to grasp it makes you think in a deeper way.

Humanity for all its faults really is a miracle

It’s nuts. Was watching a programme with Brian Cox and he was talking about the size of our galaxy. Came out with some mind-busting thing about, if the Earth was to travel the diameter of the galaxy, travelling at it’s speed-1000 mph- it’s done less than 0.1% of the diameter in it’s lifetime.

Need to sit down !

😕

41 minutes ago, Boab said:

It’s nuts. Was watching a programme with Brian Cox and he was talking about the size of our galaxy. Came out with some mind-busting thing about, if the Earth was to travel the diameter of the galaxy, travelling at it’s speed-1000 mph- it’s done less than 0.1% of the diameter in it’s lifetime.

Need to sit down !

😕

And that's just our galaxy.

3 hours ago, Boab said:

Need to sit down !

😕

The size of the universe is too big to be comprehended by the human brain.  The Milky Way, at 100,000 light years across and 5,000 light years thick, is too vast for us to understand, yet it shrinks into insignificance when compared to the hundreds of billions of other galaxies.  There are local clusters of galaxies and super clusters of galaxies.  When one starts to talk about billions, no-one alive can mentally grasp it.

3 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

The size of the universe is too big to be comprehended by the human brain.  The Milky Way, at 100,000 light years across and 5,000 light years thick, is too vast for us to understand, yet it shrinks into insignificance when compared to the hundreds of billions of other galaxies.  There are local clusters of galaxies and super clusters of galaxies.  When one starts to talk about billions, no-one alive can mentally grasp it.

Yip. To bring into comprehension you have to think of objects near us in those terms. The nearest sun to us, other than our own, is 4.2LYs away.

A spacecraft, travelling at 35,000mph, would take 72,000 years to get there.

It’s incredible !

37 minutes ago, Boab said:

Yip. To bring into comprehension you have to think of objects near us in those terms. The nearest sun to us, other than our own, is 4.2LYs away.

A spacecraft, travelling at 35,000mph, would take 72,000 years to get there.

It’s incredible !

And this is why our chances of meeting alien life are so extraordinarily tiny - they could be anywhere in many billions of miles, and they could have been at any time in many billions of years.

The chances of them being near enough in distance and time for us to detect are so small it's not even worth wasting brain cells on

35 minutes ago, Smithee said:

And this is why our chances of meeting alien life are so extraordinarily tiny - they could be anywhere in many billions of miles, and they could have been at any time in many billions of years.

The chances of them being near enough in distance and time for us to detect are so small it's not even worth wasting brain cells on

Yip. No chance basically.

We could receive a signal from somewhere in space. Problem is, signal could have been sent thousands of years ago…or even more !

1 hour ago, Maple Leaf said:

To try to put the number one billion into perspective, I posed a question on another thread about how large a box would be needed to store one million pound coins.  The answer appears to be a box slightly smaller than 4 feet X 4 feet X 4 feet.  And that's just a million.

To store a billion one pound coins, one would need a box 1,000 times larger.  :cornette_dog:

Thousands of the stars we see in the night sky probably ceased to exist several million years ago but the light from those events won't reach Earth for another few million years.

So when you look up at the night sky you're actually looking back in time.

Not only are the galaxies all moving away from each other through space, but space itself is also stretching.

And rather than slowing down, the rate of expansion seems to be increasing.

What energy is driving that is a mystery.

3 hours ago, Cade said:

Thousands of the stars we see in the night sky probably ceased to exist several million years ago but the light from those events won't reach Earth for another few million years.

Not only are the galaxies all moving away from each other through space, but space itself is also stretching.

I've stated on this thread a few times something to the effect that as the universe is infinite, the obvious conclusion is that life forms would meet the same conclusion. On reflection though, although my first theory still holds, after the passing of 15-odd billion years the number of "infinite" life forms will have greatly diminished, hence I'm talking pish! (again :()

34 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

giphy.gif?cid=82a1493bz21xdn67bv14lbli38

According to the Bible, Jesus ascended into Heaven about 2,000 years ago.  If he has been ascending at the speed of light, he'll still be in our galaxy.

7 minutes ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

I've stated on this thread a few times something to the effect that as the universe is infinite, the obvious conclusion is that life forms would meet the same conclusion. On reflection though, although my first theory still holds, after the passing of 15-odd billion years the number of "infinite" life forms will have greatly diminished, hence I'm talking pish! (again :()

Factor in 4th dimensions and you are not talking pish.

We know nothing .

But its odds on given the numbers that life intelligent or not exists elsewhere.

The human mind is a miracle I suppose

3 hours ago, Cade said:

It's a subject that really makes you think .

What energy especially .

Like I said previously mind blowing .

8 hours ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

Sorry to disappoint but you’re not talking pish. You have forgotten that in the "passing of 15-odd billion years" many life-forms will have begun and evolved, including all the Earth forms that inhabit the Earth.

Not forgetting all the alien civilisations with the different shaped spaceships, that visit us and all the various life forms that inhabit their planets.