The all new "yay" thread! (aka the anti-seethe thread)

Jimmy_McNulty

• Replies 1.6k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Dawnrazor

• superjack

Buttered Toast flavoured ice cream from The Milking Parlour in Kirkby Lonsdale, oh my God!!

25 minutes ago, Tazio said:

I found a tenner on the pavement earlier today. Surely a rare thing these days with so many people not carrying cash. 

Owner clearly forgot how to carry it.  

It was good to see on Landward the importance of predator control for Red and Amber listed ground nesting waders being highlighted, an unpalatable subject for many but vital for the protection of Curlew, Green Plover and Oyster Catchers.

Another good piece about peat restoration.

Edited by Dawnrazor

Next week will be worth watching for the piece about bracken and the problems it causes, Landward is 100% better than Springwatch, I really wish Landward do do a similar thing to Springwatch, which is truly awful.

Currently about to get dressed for my daughters graduation ceremony today. I know I'm going to be a gibbering wreck at some point, which for once I won't be embarrassed about.

59 minutes ago, superjack said:

Currently about to get dressed for my daughters graduation ceremony today. I know I'm going to be a gibbering wreck at some point, which for once I won't be embarrassed about.

1 hour ago, superjack said:

👍👍

13 hours ago, superjack said:

What a day it was. And yes, I cried like it was the 16th of May 1998. 

Screenshot_20240614_211759_Gallery.jpg

50 minutes ago, superjack said:

Great photo 👍

15 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Great photo 👍

It was an amazing day. Daughter and her pals are now on the pish, quite rightly. I'm now sitting with a pint and a large glenmorangie. The last time I was this emotional was when we dropped her off at the start of uni. She's keeping her flat in Gala for another year. Only downer is her boyfriend is a hibby!

6 minutes ago, superjack said:

It was an amazing day. Daughter and her pals are now on the pish, quite rightly. I'm now sitting with a pint and a large glenmorangie. The last time I was this emotional was when we dropped her off at the start of uni. She's keeping her flat in Gala for another year. Only downer is her boyfriend is a hibby!

If she's intelligent enough to graduate, she'll be intelligent enough to see a ****in Hibby is a bad life decision!!

Enjoy your night, be proud, you've every right to be 👍

4 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

If she's intelligent enough to graduate, she'll be intelligent enough to see a ****in Hibby is a bad life decision!!

Enjoy your night, be proud, you've every right to be 👍

Cheers Dawn. He's actually a sound guy, I really like him. Spending tomorrow night at his fathers for his 50th. As you said, I couldn't be more prouder. Not sure where she got the intelligence to get a degree from though.

Just on the train back from Glasgow.  Very good early dinner at ‘The Brasserie’ upstairs at the Ubiquitous Chip and then to Oran Mor to see “Dirty Harry” - Blondie tribute band, who were great (as usual).

Haven’t had a night out in the Weeg for years and (whisper it) it wasn’t too bad.  (Probably because we stuck to the West End).

Edited by FWJ

On 14/06/2024 at 21:18, superjack said:

Lovely pic . 👍

On 14/06/2024 at 19:51, Mikey1874 said:

Guy top left is same one in picture below. Jonathan.

20240614_194958.jpg

Incredible 

A bit of a strange one. I’ve had covid this week after avoiding it all this time and felt like shite. And on my holiday week which is just my luck. 
However now it gets odd. As a very odd side effect I’ve lost an annoying thing I’ve had for years. As long as I can remember I’ve had a click sound in my ears every time I swallow, I genuinely can’t remember it ever not being there. Then yesterday, nothing. Completely silent when I swallow, like a normal person I’d imagine. It’s very odd and hopefully lasts. It’s hard to explain how odd something I imagine is normal for most people feels. I’m going to enjoy it while it lasts. 

One of my TV remotes had been playing up for ages; had to press the buttons hard to get it to do anything.

Changed batteries, no difference in performance.

Eventually over the last year or two some buttons just stopped working entirely.

Gave up on it as "it's auld". :vrface:

Took it apart today, cleaned the circuit board with isopropyl alcohol, cleaned the rubber key membrane in soapy water, dried it all off, put it back together.

Works perfectly again.

The Halbro North West Senior Colts league fixtures are out today, wee Dawnrazors new team are in the same league as his old team, he's delighted, already planning what "wankers" he's going to "snot" and in what order, there's something not quite right about the boy 🤣

8 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

The Halbro North West Senior Colts league fixtures are out today, wee Dawnrazors new team are in the same league as his old team, he's delighted, already planning what "wankers" he's going to "snot" and in what order, there's something not quite right about the boy 🤣

Being a delicate flower at school I didn’t really get involved in sports ( one regret I have ) so what is “ snot “ ? 

Just now, JudyJudyJudy said:

Being a delicate flower at school I didn’t really get involved in sports ( one regret I have ) so what is “ snot “ ? 

To inflict physical pain or damage to ones opponent.

8 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

To inflict physical pain or damage to ones opponent.

Oh right ! His father’s son then ? ! 

1 minute ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Half his mothers!

1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

Obviously gets it from his mother!

Edited by superjack

4 minutes ago, superjack said:

Obviously gets it from his mother!

A fair bit, aye!

1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

1 hour ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

100%…and nothing whatsoever to do with his mothers half. Poor lad never had a chance.

22 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

100%…and nothing whatsoever to do with his mothers half. Poor lad never had a chance.

It's great when your oldest and best mate and his son are stopping in unexpectedly overnight, even better when you can meet at a pub, get a good feed and a few pints.

The usual dull Wednesday is suddenly looking pretty entertaining 😊😊

Very moving item on bbc news this morning . An army veteran is taking part in the Invictus games soon . He’s became blind  a couple years ago , his 14 years old son committed suicide too , in the last couple years . However he is talking part in the skiing 🎿 a coach gives him directions via blue tooth in his ear on which way to ski when going down hill . God bless him 

Watching that cruise, book it programme this morning, one cruise , 1400 dollar drink package 

included, 😧, thats per person, some amount of bevy to shift.

Mind you, probably soft drinks as well😏.

1 hour ago, Harry Potter said:

Watching that cruise, book it programme this morning, one cruise , 1400 dollar drink package 

included, 😧, thats per person, some amount of bevy to shift.

Mind you, probably soft drinks as well😏.

Id love to do a cruise but the thing that puts me off it is its basically a drinking and a food orgy. My body is my temple now. :) 

2 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Id love to do a cruise but the thing that puts me off it is its basically a drinking and a food orgy. My body is my temple now. :) 

👍, can eat all day, i would come off looking like Billy Bunter.

3 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

👍, can eat all day, i would come off looking like Billy Bunter.

One of my mates went on one. He put on 2 stone in 2 weeks lol.  Id probably still go for it though as ive always wanted to go on either a med cruise or one around the Baltic states and Russia or Nordic one. 

On 23/06/2024 at 01:34, Tazio said:

A bit of a strange one. I’ve had covid this week after avoiding it all this time and felt like shite. And on my holiday week which is just my luck. 
However now it gets odd. As a very odd side effect I’ve lost an annoying thing I’ve had for years. As long as I can remember I’ve had a click sound in my ears every time I swallow, I genuinely can’t remember it ever not being there. Then yesterday, nothing. Completely silent when I swallow, like a normal person I’d imagine. It’s very odd and hopefully lasts. It’s hard to explain how odd something I imagine is normal for most people feels. I’m going to enjoy it while it lasts. 

I make that weird internal clicky noise when I swallow too. I just assumed everyone did. Also when I yawn it’s like thunder rumbling in my ears. 

Just had tomato sausages bought from Charles Wilson, what a lovely taste.

Managed to get red pudding as well.

Dick Dastardly

Mods. This thread should be pinned.it took way to long to find. A  wee thread of positivity at the top of the page would be good.

Anyway, if anyone cares to know, I'm having a wonderful evening so far.  On holiday, sitting in a field. Dogs about somewhere, hunting for mice. Probably. The Sun, now no more than a glowing promise of what's to come tomorrow, reflects on to a few fluffy clouds. I've got Red Kola, I've got a boost. I've got a tracky top in my man bag. The dog's got water. I've just finished my first joint in about 4 months. 

Then this banger comes on.

Yay.

16 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

Mods. This thread should be pinned.it took way to long to find. A  wee thread of positivity at the top of the page would be good.

Anyway, if anyone cares to know, I'm having a wonderful evening so far.  On holiday, sitting in a field. Dogs about somewhere, hunting for mice. Probably. The Sun, now no more than a glowing promise of what's to come tomorrow, reflects on to a few fluffy clouds. I've got Red Kola, I've got a boost. I've got a tracky top in my man bag. The dog's got water. I've just finished my first joint in about 4 months. 

Then this banger comes on.

Yay.

Wonderful 👍