Scottish independence and devolution superthread

Happy Hearts

Australis
11 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

Scottish Ministers spent a record high of £926 million funding pupils with additional support needs last year fuelling claims of a “crisis in the classroom”, it has been revealed. Scottish Government data shows 37% of pupils have additional support needs (ASN) and critics claim the upward trend puts Scotland on course to have 50% of school-aged children defined as needing extra help by 2030.

The SNP Government has confirmed that staff increased by 725 (4.4%) last year bringing the total number of support staff in Scottish schools to 17,330. Campaigners say Scottish Government data shows there were 259,036 youngsters with ASN, up almost 3% from the previous year when 34.2% fell into the category. 

The Scottish Union for Education (SUE) says the Scottish data when compared with 17% in England is deeply troubling and that some parents may be incentivised to claim ASN status as a result of a diagnosis giving them entitlement to benefits. Julie Sandilands is an English and business teacher who worked in several secondary schools in Fife, and believes the spiralling number of pupils with ASN is reaching crisis levels.

20% worse than England - come on somebody is at it ! 

snp oot 

It's an SNP thing.

Australis
11 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

An SNP manifesto pledge to give free bikes to every child who can’t afford one is set to fail as new figures show just three per cent have received one. Data obtained by the Sunday Mail shows the 2021 promise has cost about £700 per bike, with £5.3million spent so far. 

Just 6814 bikes have been given out in the last three years, with the majority of Scotland’s 250,000 kids in poverty yet to receive one. The government has also admitted Transport Scotland, which funds the scheme, has made no assessment of when all children unable to afford a bike will get one. 

The SNP promised to fulfil its pledge by 2026. Critics said the money would have been better spent on anti-poverty programmes and have urged the government to ditch the scheme.

3% :rofl:

Any figures on the free laptops.

Jim_Duncan
1 hour ago, TallPaul said:

20 minutes ago, Australis said:

Thank for the figures TallPaul.

Would anyone be remotely shocked reading them.

It's what the nationalists do.

Constant promises and constant lies.

Even their own are starting to get fed up of the lies.

Love how they promise anything and everything at election time, then when they fail to deliver during their term they just blame the Tories. It's a formula that seems to have hooked many. 

Between voters in England who vote Tory 'because brown people and socialists' and voters in Scotland who vote SNP 'because Tories and Westminster', I'm not sure democracy is really living up to the hype.

There appears to be no accountability for failed manifesto pledges. There should be an impartial, publicly-funded body that audits everyone's manifesto and then rates it in terms of plausibility and taxation requirements. The results can be displayed on billboards all over the country at election time, with no other form of campaigning allowed. The incumbent party should also have their previous manifesto reviewed and a simple tick or cross next to edge commitment. 

Jim_Duncan
1 minute ago, Japan Jambo said:

Nothing to see Paul, it's all Westminster's fault that the SNP didn't do what the SNP promised to do. With the level of handholding they require one wonders how they get dressed in the morning?

Takes ages to decide whether to put on the men's or the women's clothes, depending on how they feel that day.

Aye they councillors from Labour and Tory who didn’t even want hungry bairns getting a free school meal are up in arms aboot then no getting laptops now…

****off :lol: 

Jim_Duncan
2 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Aye they councillors from Labour and Tory who didn’t even want hungry bairns getting a free school meal are up in arms aboot then no getting laptops now…

With the laptops, they could have ordered a takeaway, grabbed the food, beaten up the driver, and then used the defence that they were under the age of criminal responsibility. 

9 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

With the laptops, they could have ordered a takeaway, grabbed the food, beaten up the driver, and then used the defence that they were under the age of criminal responsibility. 

Don’t encourage them 😂

Australis
24 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Love how they promise anything and everything at election time, then when they fail to deliver during their term they just blame the Tories. It's a formula that seems to have hooked many. 

Between voters in England who vote Tory 'because brown people and socialists' and voters in Scotland who vote SNP 'because Tories and Westminster', I'm not sure democracy is really living up to the hype.

There appears to be no accountability for failed manifesto pledges. There should be an impartial, publicly-funded body that audits everyone's manifesto and then rates it in terms of plausibility and taxation requirements. The results can be displayed on billboards all over the country at election time, with no other form of campaigning allowed. The incumbent party should also have their previous manifesto reviewed and a simple tick or cross next to edge commitment. 

Remember the promised school class sizes of 18 and putting an end to foodbank use in Scotland. 

They have put foodbank use through the roof in Scotland and its about one teacher for 35 pupils in a class.

The scrapping the council tax.

The we will govern differently.

31 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

It’s just like austerity never happened tho eh. The ACTUAL govt who control the finances cutback on everything but the SG are still to magic money out of thin air🤷🏽‍♂️I mean they couldn’t ask the half dozen posters on here for another shilling I mean they almost prop Scotland up themselves ffs. 
Labour in wales blame WM.
Labour here blame the SNP. 

How bizarre. 

Jim_Duncan
21 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

It’s just like austerity never happened tho eh. The ACTUAL govt who control the finances cutback on everything but the SG are still to magic money out of thin air🤷🏽‍♂️I mean they couldn’t ask the half dozen posters on here for another shilling I mean they almost prop Scotland up themselves ffs. 

How bizarre. 

That's the thing though, JD&C - rather than any of the buggers seeking to work together to make things better for everyone, they'd rather bicker and sow further seeds of division.

I genuinely think there needs to be another referendum, but this time the options are a) independence / b) no independence and scrap Holyrood. The SG appears to exist as some kind of outlet valve for frustration with the London mob. This only benefits the die-hard indy voters and fanatical unionists. Everyone else is just caught in the middle.

21 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

That's the thing though, JD&C - rather than any of the buggers seeking to work together to make things better for everyone, they'd rather bicker and sow further seeds of division.

I genuinely think there needs to be another referendum, but this time the options are a) independence / b) no independence and scrap Holyrood. The SG appears to exist as some kind of outlet valve for frustration with the London mob. This only benefits the die-hard indy voters and fanatical unionists. Everyone else is just caught in the middle.

I’ve said for a while do an all or nothing referendum. All on the table and let’s do it. 
But look at the credence that complete shit about laptops got there! :lol:  These are MPs who tried to stop hungry bairns getting a meal in their belly at school  kicking off about ****ing laptops!!

Its hilarious how dumb people are. 
The SG deserve a going over for certain things especially this last couple of years but it’s like blinkers on for the ACTUAL govt who control everything. 

3 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

I’ve said for a while do an all or nothing referendum. All on the table and let’s do it. 
But look at the credence that complete shit about laptops got there! :lol:  These are MPs who tried to stop hungry bairns getting a meal in their belly at school  kicking off about ****ing laptops!!

Its hilarious how dumb people are. 
The SG deserve a going over for certain things especially this last couple of years but it’s like blinkers on for the ACTUAL govt who control everything. 

Here’s a novel idea . Instead of coming up with shite ideas like bikes and lap tops for kids why not spend the money on helping feed those hungry kids ? 

17 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Here’s a novel idea . Instead of coming up with shite ideas like bikes and lap tops for kids why not spend the money on helping feed those hungry kids ? 

They did. Labour and Tory voted against though. 
Thats my point. 

18 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

They did. Labour and Tory voted against though. 
Thats my point. 

The bikes thing was an SNP greens policy . 

IMG_8147.jpeg

IMG_8149.jpeg

TallPaul
2 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

It wasn't them that promised laptops to win votes. I think you have massively missed the point.

2 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

The unionists are surely just trolling now. No way can they believe the shite they post on here.

P.S. my grandson loves his laptop he got from his school

1 hour ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Wow, a post from you that I agree with. One all or nothing referendum to decide for ever

18 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

The bikes thing was an SNP greens policy . 

IMG_8147.jpeg

IMG_8149.jpeg

Bit irrelevant seeing the snp are in govt. You said they should feed the bairns too, well they did bring free school meals. Also the extra £20 per child which was supposed to have a made a big difference. 

12 minutes ago, TallPaul said:

It wasn't them that promised laptops to win votes. I think you have massively missed the point.

No point missed. Things change. Budgets change or are forced to. 
These chancers didn’t want kids getting fed ffs. 

All children in primary 1 to 5, at schools run by their local council or funded by the Scottish Government, can get free school lunches during term-time.

Jim_Duncan
21 minutes ago, XB52 said:

Wow, a post from you that I agree with. One all or nothing referendum to decide for ever

🤝

TallPaul
53 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Bit irrelevant seeing the snp are in govt. You said they should feed the bairns too, well they did bring free school meals. Also the extra £20 per child which was supposed to have a made a big difference. 

No point missed. Things change. Budgets change or are forced to. 
These chancers didn’t want kids getting fed ffs. 

Things change a lot of the Nats. I'm sure the cult will keep falling for the empty promises though.

45 minutes ago, TallPaul said:

Things change a lot of the Nats. I'm sure the cult will keep falling for the empty promises though.

Nothing changes at uk level though eh👍🏼

Only up here. 

TallPaul
2 hours ago, XB52 said:

All children in primary 1 to 5, at schools run by their local council or funded by the Scottish Government, can get free school lunches during term-time.

Not free though are they 

2 hours ago, TallPaul said:

Not free though are they 

They are for the kids that eat them

Ulysses
56 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

They are for the kids that eat them

We're finally trying to catch up with Scotland and implement free school lunches in our primary schools.

Gundermann
On 16/04/2024 at 16:09, Australis said:

It's an SNP thing.

Er... supporting pupils with additional needs is a good thing, no? Or am I missing something?

Have worked with traumatised and kids from deprived areas for years and iniatives such as PEF are very welcome. Am not uncriticial of SNP record on education but this is a good thing FFS.

1 minute ago, Gundermann said:

Er... supporting pupils with additional needs is a good thing, no? Or am I missing something?

Have worked with traumatised and kids from deprived areas for years and iniatives such as PEF are very welcome. Am not uncriticial of SNP record on education but this is a good thing FFS.

The same posters are on bleating about the drugs deaths and then when people who need early intervention get it guess what? 

SCREEEEEECH

lunatics. 

Gundermann
8 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

How bizarre. 

People who are against independence whinging about not having the powers of independence.

4 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

what the reason for sky rocketing stats of kids with Additional support for learning since you claim to know lots ?

32 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

The same posters are on bleating about the drugs deaths and then when people who need early intervention get it guess what? 

SCREEEEEECH

lunatics. 

Save the junkies! Gie the bairns **** all!

Its hard to keep up. 

Jim_Duncan
Just now, jack D and coke said:

Save the junkies! Gie the bairns **** all!

Its hard to keep up. 

Feed the dead junkies to the bairns. 

Dearie me , the screeching !!! 

12 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Ever thought about politics? Couple of smashing suggestions today…

14 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Not enough meat on their emaciated bodies. Good for soup stock though 

Edited by The Mighty Thor

Gundermann
50 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

SCREEEEEECH

lunatics. 

Or the same who say 'minimum pricing won't solve anything on it's own'....

But whinge about any other initiative. Nanny state... Spying on folk... Banning stuff... 

:muggy:

Jim_Duncan
22 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Ever thought about politics? Couple of smashing suggestions today…

Could I count on your vote?

17 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

But whinge about any other initiative. Nanny state... Spying on folk... Banning stuff... 

so why has the need for addtional support for learning sky rocketed ?  You never answered my perfectly civil non screeching question ? 

frankblack
17 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

Minimum pricing is akin to using a sledgehammer to crack a nut.  Punish everyone in the mistaken belief that problem drinkers will stop.

Problem drinkers won't stop using this approach - they will sacrifice something else to afford the drink e.g. food, heating.  This might get them back in hospital more frequently.

Was it not shown that minimum pricing has had no impact on problem drinking cases?

1 hour ago, Ulysses said:

We're finally trying to catch up with Scotland and implement free school lunches in our primary schools.

What better investment in the future can any country try make than investing in the future of our young people?  Making sure they all have a decent nutritious meal at least once a day to give them the energy they need to grow and learn is about the greatest investment we can make in society. 

Even worse than complaining about the investment in additional support for those kids who need it. 

That's what helps us move onwards and upwards alright. 

3 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Was it not shown that minimum pricing has had no impact on problem drinking cases?

You're right it wasn't shown.

Public health Scotland research showed a reduction in deaths and hospitalisations.

Gundermann
30 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Minimum pricing is akin to using a sledgehammer to crack a nut.  Punish everyone in the mistaken belief that problem drinkers will stop.

Problem drinkers won't stop using this approach - they will sacrifice something else to afford the drink e.g. food, heating.  This might get them back in hospital more frequently.

That's why other measures, as well as this, are important. One single policy isn't gonna change everyone's habits.

47 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Could I count on your vote?

Keep the common sense stuff coming and you can rely on it. 

frankblack
28 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

That's why other measures, as well as this, are important. One single policy isn't gonna change everyone's habits.

Its autocratic government by a party that get a block vote.  See my link in the above post - this policy has no justification.  

Same goes with the green issues and hate crime bill.  The only thing stopping these clowns introducing a bill to devalue peoples homes who have gas boilers is a general election.  Blackmail politics.

God knows how much worse an independent Scotland would be with these jokers in charge.

Ulysses
2 hours ago, Gundermann said:

It is, but there seems to be an unexpectedly large number of them.

In Ireland it is estimated that if you combine intellectual disability,  physical disability, and difficulty with memory and retention together you might get to somewhere between 7 and 9 percent of the population, with the school age population in line with those figures.  Is Scotland all that different?

Just now, Ulysses said:

It is, but there seems to be an unexpectedly large number of them.

In Ireland it is estimated that if you combine intellectual disability,  physical disability, and difficulty with memory and retention together you might get to somewhere between 7 and 9 percent of the population, with the school age population in line with those figures.  Is Scotland all that different?