Scottish independence and devolution superthread

Happy Hearts

10 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

Can't say in a massive tory fan right now but I'd vote for Penny just to see her get the opportunity to lampoon thick nationalists on a more regular basis

She rips Deidre a new one every week . Poor woman must be a masochist . 😂

25 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

Can't say in a massive tory fan right now but I'd vote for Penny just to see her get the opportunity to lampoon thick nationalists on a more regular basis

Oooh man Id get stuck in about that strapping wench until the council came round to see what the smell was.

And even then Id take my time answering the door.

Lord Montpelier
7 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

SNP woman trying to silence dean of advocates concerns about the hate crime bill . Scary stuff . They are running scared of this juggernaut . 

https://x.com/markthehibby/status/1770787431345684940?s=46&t=Uyg6zS_aUfEwlXY6vOoxzQ

IMG_7794.jpeg

The snp don't like Roddy Dunlop as he's (a) bright (b) successful and (c) has the temerity on occasion to question their brand of progressive nationalism. 

5 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

The snp don't like Roddy Dunlop as he's (a) bright (b) successful and (c) has the temerity on occasion to question their brand of progressive nationalism. 

Correct !☑️ 

Gundermann
4 hours ago, TallPaul said:

Folk need to get the finger out and work a bit harder 

But how? They know the currency.

Gundermann
21 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

SNP woman trying to silence dean of advocates concerns about the hate crime bill . Scary stuff . They are running scared of this juggernaut . 

https://x.com/markthehibby/status/1770787431345684940?s=46&t=Uyg6zS_aUfEwlXY6vOoxzQ

IMG_7794.jpeg

You'll have heard wee DRoss being put in his place by none other than Adam Tomkins, ex Tory MSP, then?

Just now, Gundermann said:

You'll have heard wee DRoss being put in his place by none other than Adam Tomkins, ex Tory MSP, then?

Stop the deflection . 

Gundermann
3 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Stop the deflection . 

How TF is it a deflection.

DRoss raised Dunlop's concerns, the FM raised Tomkins, the Chair of Public Law, as a response. It's called debating.

I don't know why you fear it so much...  :whistling:

Adam Tomkins, a former Conservative MSP, has written seven books in the areas of constitutional, administrative and European Union law, with a new one to follow later this year on the issue of free speech.

Mr Tomkins feels "if we focus on what the Act actually means, rather than on what intemperate voices on both the left and the right are falsely claiming it means, we might yet make a success of it".

It has been claimed that the new law will criminalise any kind of offensive speech, based solely on whether someone hearing it was offended.

The John Millar Professor of Public Law at the University of Glasgow was convener of the Scottish Parliament’s Justice Committee when the Hate Crime Bill was enacted, and has pointed to a number of what sees as misconceptions.

Read More: Hate Crime Act might yet be a success if we focus on what it means

Writing in The Herald Mr Tomkins explained: "Under the new law, not all of these characteristics are protected in the same way. Indeed, the Hate Crime Act puts them into three different categories. Race enjoys the fullest protection. Religion enjoys the least protection. And all the other characteristics are in the middle category.

Edited by Gundermann

2 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

DRoss raised Dunlop's concerns, the FM raised Tomkins, the Chair of Public Law, as a response. It's called debating.

The only people that hate the bill are people that hate certain parts of society. 

Lord Montpelier
4 minutes ago, XB52 said:

The only people that hate the bill are people that hate certain parts of society. 

It's that kind of shallow, sweeping generalisation that cements your nationalist credentials 

7 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

That article been savaged and ridiculed . No fear here mate . Bring it on 

Just now, Lord Montpelier said:

It's that kind of shallow, sweeping generalisation that cements your nationalist credentials 

Thank you. Always happy to have my Scottish nationalist credentials cemented by the British nationalists

2 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

That’s the language they use “ fear “ instead of people “ questioning “ the bill . It’s the same type of thinking of when police do stop and searches etc . Nothing to “ fear” if you haven’t done  anything nonsense . 

Edited by JudyJudyJudy

2 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

To be fair Konnie, I've better than that cleaning the dungeon.

Says the man that would shag a hole in a barbershop floor... :tt2:

Gundermann
2 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

That article been savaged and ridiculed . No fear here mate . Bring it on 

By the Daily Mail and Dross? Ok then...

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2024/mar/21/humza-yousaf-criticises-disinformation-over-new-scottish-hate-law

Tomkins insisted that “offensive speech is not criminalised by this legislation … just because you feel offended by what someone has said does not make it a hate crime”.

He wrote: “Asserting that sex is a biological fact or that it is not changed just by virtue of the gender by which someone chooses to identify is not and never can be a hate crime under this legislation.”

Police Scotland has firmly rebutted reports that comedians and actors would be targeted through enforcement, and earlier on Thursday the chief constable, Jo Farrell, told a meeting of the Scottish Police Authority that officers would apply the law “in a measured way, using their discretion and their common sense”.

Dawnrazor
Just now, Konrad von Carstein said:

Oh I didn't say I wouldn't!

henrysmithsgloves
4 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Swept or unswept?🤔

3 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Oh I didn't say I wouldn't!

True...

:sadrobbo:

Just now, henrysmithsgloves said:

Swept or unswept?🤔

Don't think it would matter to Kickback's wanna be Casanova...

:patersone:

henrysmithsgloves
Just now, Konrad von Carstein said:

Don't think it would matter to Kickback's wanna be Casanova...

:patersone:

Probably do the brush too😲😂

Last few pages have “at last” been pretty *** good and definitely funny.Perhaps the Natz have a sense of humour after all,who knew 👍

TallPaul
26 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

But how? They know the currency.

Humza doesn't 

4 minutes ago, stevie said:

Last few pages have “at last” been pretty *** good and definitely funny.Perhaps the Natz have a sense of humour after all,who knew 👍

No we don't :angry:

Gundermann
5 minutes ago, TallPaul said:

Humza doesn't 

98d1f7e136319d57.png

17 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

Asserting that sex is a biological fact or that it is not changed just by virtue of the gender by which someone chooses to identify is not and never can be a hate crime under this legislation.”

Yes i am aware of that. However if say a person writes this or says this after April 1st a person may be offended by this and contact the police. Thats the concerning issue. 

8 minutes ago, stevie said:

Def not. Thats a feature they have with Sturgeon et al. Zero sense of humour. Zero. Its an awful liability in life. 

Lord Montpelier
2 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Def not. Thats a feature they have with Sturgeon et al. Zero sense of humour. Zero. Its an awful liability in life. 

To be fair one of them went off on one questioning my mental state recently, I found that funny. 

1 minute ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Bwahahahahaha.... You're never exactly ooze humour.

Ever.

Sarcasm, pissyness and lack of self awareness, those you have in abundance. :)

5 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Bwahahahahaha.... You're never exactly ooze humour.

Ever.

Sarcasm, pissyness and lack of self awareness, those you have in abundance. :)

Your dull as dishwater dear,. dreary Sorry. 

30 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

Actually appreciate you are at least discussing some of the finer issues of this legilslation unlike others on this who are just going for my jugular. 

Lord Montpelier
33 minutes ago, XB52 said:

Thank you. Always happy to have my Scottish nationalist credentials cemented by the British nationalists

I always had you down as an Alba leaning nationalist for some reason.

Who as far as I can tell from the like of Neale Hanvey have little support for this hate crime pish

Japan Jambo
3 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

We need more settlers in England.

Quite agree, I view it as a cultural exchange. 

2 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

To be fair Konnie, I've better than that cleaning the dungeon.

TBF she's on light duties only given her condition.

Also,the Green Party seem like a right hoot.Their annual shindig must be quite the thing.

3 minutes ago, stevie said:

Also,the Green Party seem like a right hoot.Their annual shindig must be quite the thing.

Imagine that? everyone minding their ps and qs scared to get pished in case they really say what they are thinking :)

Dawnrazor
11 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

TBF she's on light duties only given her condition.

Not here she won't!

1 hour ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Imagine that? everyone minding their ps and qs scared to get pished in case they really say what they are thinking :)

Id imagine there’s absolutely no alcohol at a Green shindig JJJ

Probably sat hugging each other and having a right good cry.

henrysmithsgloves

and how do you prove someone is " stirring up hatred " ?  

Catch them in the act, using this utensil 😂

Exhibit A..

th-4156743654.jpg

Your dull as dishwater dear,. dreary Sorry. 

Like I said lack of self awareness, you're tedious and get all your nonsense (which you don't check) from the express and some Hibs fud on twitter.

8 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Like I said lack of self awareness, you're tedious and get all your nonsense (which you don't check) from the express and some Hibs fud on twitter.

Bore off. 

28 minutes ago, stevie said:

Id imagine there’s absolutely no alcohol at a Green shindig JJJ

Probably sat hugging each other and having a right good cry.

Aye itll be chai tea and touchy feely hugs and emotions all over the place. count me out. :) 

24 minutes ago, henrysmithsgloves said:

Exhibit A..

th-4156743654.jpg

Thats no big enough for some on this :) 

Jim_Duncan
1 hour ago, henrysmithsgloves said:

Exhibit A..

th-4156743654.jpg

When the lad suggested spooning, he had no idea it would lead to this nonsense. 

henrysmithsgloves

Thats no big enough for some on this :) 

laughing-come-see-this.gif

henrysmithsgloves
18 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

When the lad suggested spooning, he had no idea it would lead to this nonsense. 

😳😂

1 hour ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

He's also done a couple of awareness courses at work.

Thunder and Lightning
12 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Dp

Mucky *******.