Scottish independence and devolution superthread

Happy Hearts

pablo

Talk about desperation with the scrapping of the Named Person Act.

But while we're here, it was yet another dreadful government initiative where yet again, they had clearly lost the plot. The potential intrusion into family life was unacceptable and demonstrated a sense of distrust by government of parents to be parents. 

Carter
11 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

Congratulations on making a fool of yourself. I'll hopefully save a pile on of laughter at you and break it down for you.

Why it was binned has nothing to do with folk making out that it was some amazing policy on this thread. Which hasn't happened but seems to keep being suggested by others.

Clearly you haven't read a single page of what the policy entails.

The named person wouldn't be "some unknown adult" who has signed up to join the Named Person Brigade.

It would be initially the Child's Health Visitor to to the age of 5 (this is effectively still the role of the Health Visitor btw even without this policy).

Then when at School the Named person would change to either their Deputy Head/Guidance teacher or similar until they left school.

Do you question the reasons some people want to become teachers? Do you think they are all creepy child abusers? 

Could you explain exactly what you mean when you say "meddling in matters" what would this involve that would be overstepping the mark?

Will you take this on the chin and spend some of your day educating yourself on what the policy is?

Get all sanctimonious with someone else son. I wouldn't waste my time with you. I've read some of the shite you've posted elsewhere. 

I can appreciate it's excruciating watching the very notion of Independence crumbling before your eyes. The SNP can at least console themselves they've got types like you for life in their corner. 

3 minutes ago, Carter said:

Get all sanctimonious with someone else son. I wouldn't waste my time with you. I've read some of the shite you've posted elsewhere. 

I can appreciate it's excruciating watching the very notion of Independence crumbling before your eyes. The SNP can at least console themselves they've got types like you for life in their corner. 

I see you are a fan of Limmy.

6f3ac503f4839adbeaa517e96724785f.gif

frankblack
2 hours ago, pablo said:

Talk about desperation with the scrapping of the Named Person Act.

But while we're here, it was yet another dreadful government initiative where yet again, they had clearly lost the plot. The potential intrusion into family life was unacceptable and demonstrated a sense of distrust by government of parents to be parents. 

There was never a chance that was a viable proposition.

It would have loaded extra responsibilities onto Social Care and Teachers that someone would have to pay for in terms of substantial additional recruitment.

Gundermann
4 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

That's like what the Tories say. Blame Labour and others despite 14 years in power. 

Fair play if thats the nationalists angle. Council tax wasn't reformed because of Labour. 

No, it's nothing like it. Parties in power in Westminster are almost always there with a significant majority which means they can generally pass whatever laws they wish. Holyrood was designed for cooperative working. IIRC, Salmond's govt only had 47 seats, just one more than Labour.

I'm not going to defend SNP failure to deliver a new local/ council tax but will observe that Labour not only failed to do anything similar when they were in power and opposed SNP efforts to do so. The same Labour that at the time call people on benefits "something for nothing society" (Lamont) and criticised free prescriptions and education as "Tory policy" (!! - Dugdale).

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2008/sep/03/scotland.snp

Gundermann
3 hours ago, Carter said:

He was spot on.

Named Person has been functioning in all but name for a decade or more now. I've worked with vulnerbale young people and it's just common-sense (may even save some time and the money you allude to) by joining up the various agencies in a child's life - these could be nursery staff, teachers, health professionals, doctors, care workers, social worker and police. If you think the price of looking after kids and preventing abuse or neglect is dear, maybe have a look at the costs of not stopping it?

Like I said, I've seen it in action through work and another poster on here has benefited from it.

If the SNP do go for tried, tested and another Murrellesque failure in Swinney,  It will cause the further demise of the Party.  Humza was put in by the Murrells, then within days Peter arrested/released pending further investigation, then Both Nicola and the Treasurer, were arrested and released pending further investigation.  But Humza failed to suspend any of the three of them, and now the next in line, Nicolas deputy is set to keep her legacy going by behind the scenes kingmaking to get Swinney into power!  One has to ask why?  Peter Murrell, has been re-arrested and charged with embezzlement,  Yet the others who had access to those accounts are still in a job, but now they wish to put the next guy in line into the hotseat. the three people under investigation once again get their man!  More needs to be made of this.  Swinney might have been a hapless/helpless idiot in all of this, but he has not come out to speak on this subject and as Deputy he is either complicit or incompetent for not noticing anything un-to-odd.

We keep hearing from their party members like Lesley-Ann Failureville  saying Swinney will be good for the Party, at no point have I heard any of them say what's good for the country!

Alex Massie has more or less said openly to the prospective candidate is Independence off off the agenda for the short to medium term so should use a degree of truth telling to the faithful to use a "degree of truth" about the likelihood of another referendum.

When I left there this morning the labour Motion was still going to be debated, despite that they know it wont go through but feel the need to fire one across their broadside.

Another thought of mine on the Swinney v Forbes debate, taking an objective view and possible outcomes.

Swinney will be the bookies Fav. and will get support from MSP's withing his party, but short term he will be 7/10 for the short term to assist the party,  He will be a 2/10 help to the country but medium to long term, he will facilitate the demise of the SNP and the next election, and ultimately be a 2/10 for the Party.

Forbes will be a 4/10 to the party right now, but 7/10 help to the country, at the next general election she will be 5/10 for the party thus more MSP's in her party keep their jobs, and will slow down the SNP rot.

In essence is short term vision that will see their demise, and hubris at not reading the room as to where the country is at and what it needs right now, and more of the same is idiocy!!!!!!

Gizmo
46 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

No, it's nothing like it. Parties in power in Westminster are almost always there with a significant majority which means they can generally pass whatever laws they wish. Holyrood was designed for cooperative working. IIRC, Salmond's govt only had 47 seats, just one more than Labour.

I'm not going to defend SNP failure to deliver a new local/ council tax but will observe that Labour not only failed to do anything similar when they were in power and opposed SNP efforts to do so. The same Labour that at the time call people on benefits "something for nothing society" (Lamont) and criticised free prescriptions and education as "Tory policy" (!! - Dugdale).

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2008/sep/03/scotland.snp

I do hope the electorate takes stock of all the failures Scottish Labour presided over, never mind the inflammatory rhetoric that they came out with towards various sections of society which was very un-labour-like and certainly not meant to mend bridges with S Lab voters who had become disillusioned with the party and moved to the SNP. 

2 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

I do hope the electorate takes stock of all the failures Scottish Labour presided over, never mind the inflammatory rhetoric that they came out with towards various sections of society which was very un-labour-like and certainly not meant to mend bridges with S Lab voters who had become disillusioned with the party and moved to the SNP. 

Labour were always for the working man.

The key word being working.

They rapidly morphed into a party for those who didn’t work.

They abandoned the working class that existed, who are now essentially middle class.

The SNP low balled everyone in this country who contributes to the system and hoovered up those who don’t.

Marxist socialism depends on everyone doing their bit.

That is labour at the moment .

2 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

Eh? Labour Marxist Socialist? Dinny hink sae!

Carter
20 minutes ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

Another thought of mine on the Swinney v Forbes debate, taking an objective view and possible outcomes.

Swinney will be the bookies Fav. and will get support from MSP's withing his party, but short term he will be 7/10 for the short term to assist the party,  He will be a 2/10 help to the country but medium to long term, he will facilitate the demise of the SNP and the next election, and ultimately be a 2/10 for the Party.

Forbes will be a 4/10 to the party right now, but 7/10 help to the country, at the next general election she will be 5/10 for the party thus more MSP's in her party keep their jobs, and will slow down the SNP rot.

In essence is short term vision that will see their demise, and hubris at not reading the room as to where the country is at and what it needs right now, and more of the same is idiocy!!!!!!

I'd suggest that what is best for the country will not feature in their decision. 

New Town Loafer

Frankly, we need a Conservative government in Holyrood. It is for the best.

pablo
10 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

:wtfvlad:

Gundermann
Posted (edited)
14 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

They abandoned the working class that existed, who are now essentially middle class.

The SNP low balled everyone in this country who contributes to the system and hoovered up those who don’t.

Most people on benefits are in work. Saying to them "you want something for nothing" and telling them that long-standing socialist principles like free health care and education is "Tory" will not win many votes. Little wonder that the working class areas in the central belt went over en masse to the SNP 14 years ago.

Other than wanting change from the current Scot Gov, I don't see what Labour is doing policy-wise to actually win these areas back. Criticising the failures of the current administration is easy. Not so easy to affect real change when your leader in London is vowing to continue Tory spending plans and legislation. Also, a bit awkward when we can look to Wales and see a similarly devolved administration under Labour control doing even worse than ours.

Edited by Gundermann

Australis

I honestly thought Swinney was a nap to resign after how bad the party has been the last 18 months.

He put so much care and effort into the SNP and it looked like all his hard work had been undone, with the chances of a referendum and Indy further away than it has ever been.

He's got guts, or just likes constantly telling the donkeys lies for high wages.

13 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

Now there has been a lot of hysterical bollocks written over the past week or so and while this is far from the worst it is patently bollocks. 

The state of the country is not down to idleness and the vast majority of folk who struggle to make ends meet are working. It just so happens that earnings haven't kept pace with the cost of living since the financial crash. 

Joe Punter is paying for the greed and hubris of the Masters of the Universe that melted our economy following deregulation. The guy stacking shelves is picking up the tab for their greed much more than you are picking up the tab for people on benefits. 

Motion resutls are in 70 to 58 for the government, the greens shat the bed

I think the result shows the Greens are worried the a HGE would wipe them out.....good and good riddance 

Again the greens have put themselves first before the country

Carter

What a laughable pile of shite Holyrood is. A massive waste of time and money. 

BlueRiver
28 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Wee Paddy Harvie changes his tune more often than his underpants. The reality of not having his wee snout at the top trough must have hit him hard.

Man's a fud. 

3 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

You know when you say to a lassie after breaking up 'We can still be friends' and then you never see each other again. Well, Paddy actually thinks he's still pals with the SNP. He doesn't get that they fecking hate him and his merry band of loons.

Thing is though, they don’t.

Swinney is more of the same .

the greens will work with him- no question .

Time for Forbes to step up and show her worth.

She won’t though .

19 minutes ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

I think the result shows the Greens are worried the a HGE would wipe them out.....good and good riddance 

Yep. 

I'm actually a little disappointed we didn't get to see Humza be his own man. 

The BHA absolutely hamstrung him, yet in the brief moments before things fell apart, he took £80m out of some active travel budget the greens had squirrelled away and stuck it into housing in Dundee. 

Fortunately, it should mean if Kate wins, she can go about things in her own way, without relying wholly on the greens, provided all parties engage in good faith. 

1 hour ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Wee Paddy Harvie changes his tune more often than his underpants. The reality of not having his wee snout at the top trough must have hit him hard.

The thought of him in underpants gives me the dry boak 

18 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

Swinney is more of the same .

Yep 

Japan Jambo
1 hour ago, Jim_Duncan said:

He's massively overachieving right now. Never getting a gig like the one he has again.

14 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

He has the look of someone who has just been caught sniffing some.

Double dry boak 

1 minute ago, Japan Jambo said:

He's massively overachieving right now. Never getting a gig like the one he has again.

Exactly . They all can’t believe their luck . Every single on of them 

Japan Jambo
1 minute ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Exactly . They all can’t believe their luck . Every single on of them 

Yup that weirdo Lorna Slater couldn't run a bath. Shocked that she has an engineering degree...though according to wiki she was at uni for 7 years so that might explain it.

1 minute ago, Japan Jambo said:

Yup that weirdo Lorna Slater couldn't run a bath. Shocked that she has an engineering degree...though according to wiki she was at uni for 7 years so that might explain it.

Quelle surprise . Life long students ! 

Also, quite annoyed Ash Regan has voted against the government. 

She should have voted with, as now has given needless ammo and hurt the push for SNP voters 2nd votes. 

Pretty ****ing stupid.

2 minutes ago, OTT said:

https://www.thenational.scot/news/24291858.andrew-neil-red-faced-claim-yousaf-will-get-52k-year/

The £52k story was utter nonsense. He'll get £2k once he reaches pension age... how does a journo get that this badly wrong...

Because Andrew Neil is an ass .

He knows what he's doing by putting out lies ,once it's out there it sticks even if it total bollocks .

Neil and his ilk know what they are doing .

13 minutes ago, OTT said:

She should have voted with, as now has given needless ammo and hurt the push for SNP voters 2nd votes. 

Pretty ****ing stupid.

Or alternatively, she put the majority of people's beliefs before the minority view of independence. She deserves congratulations.

1 hour ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

Greens in Scotland know this is the only opportunity they'll have to get noses in trough and would align with anyone who allows them to continue to hover up cash.

Run by two weirdos, supported by a handful of people and yet hold power in Scotland.

Shut the Scottish parliament down now and send these ***** out into real world.

6 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Or alternatively, she put the majority of people's beliefs before the minority view of independence. She deserves congratulations.

Which is fair, but from the perspective of votes at the next election, Unionists aren't going to vote Alba. Their aim needs to be convincing the hundreds of thousands of wasted SNP2 votes to be re-directed their way. The Greens had shot themselves in the foot because the impression was that they were voting with Unionists to bring down a Nationalist FM. 

From that perspective, I don't think its a smart move. The talking heads are already rejoicing in Alba voting against a nationalist government. 

Unforced errorn IMO. 

8 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Greens in Scotland know this is the only opportunity they'll have to get noses in trough and would align with anyone who allows them to continue to hover up cash.

Run by two weirdos, supported by a handful of people and yet hold power in Scotland.

Great wee thread about the state of the green party that poses some very reasonable questions. 

Ulysses
39 minutes ago, OTT said:

https://www.thenational.scot/news/24291858.andrew-neil-red-faced-claim-yousaf-will-get-52k-year/

The £52k story was utter nonsense. He'll get £2k once he reaches pension age... how does a journo get that this badly wrong...

What?  You mean it was a lie?

Presumably the completely above board and honourable Mr Neil has retracted and corrected his error?

Mikey1874
3 hours ago, Gizmo said:

Dunno. 

How long did you wait for ambulance in 2006? Or a cancer check. Or a GP appointment.

47 minutes ago, OTT said:

Pretty ****ing stupid.

She will vote whatever way AS tells her to. Hopefully her latest actions will see the tiny Alba vote reduce even further.

Tazio
Posted (edited)
32 minutes ago, OTT said:

Great wee thread about the state of the green party that poses some very reasonable questions. 

I was going to post that as well. Interesting the idea that the Greens are now an urban party that seems to have abandoned the concept of protecting the countryside in their major policies and political personalities. 

Edited by Tazio

3 hours ago, Gizmo said:

The Scottish electorate will be too busy remembering the multitude of failures overseen by the current failed Scottish nationalist government, and their little green partners, to worry about perceived rhetoric.

Both SNP and Greens are an absolute disgrace. If they had a shred of courage or dignity between them, they would stand down and call an election, as they demanded Tory's In Westminster should do, as we see yet another unelected, by the people, take the throne.

5 minutes ago, Tazio said:

I was going to post that as well. Interesting the idea that the Ge]teens are now an urban party that seems to have abandoned the concept of protecting the countryside in their major policies and political personalities. 

They're solely interested in gender politics these days. Well, that and other people's young children.

51 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Yep that’s about . Detestable , vile individuals . 

Joanna knows , I know ! You know ! 

IMG_8295.jpeg

Gundermann
Posted (edited)
46 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Dunno. 

How long did you wait for ambulance in 2006? Or a cancer check. Or a GP appointment.

I don't know. Can you tell us?

We can look to Labour's record in Wales though. Not very inspiring.

https://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/health/nhs-wales-waiting-times-ae-26739266

And those cancer waiting lists...

Longer waiting times for cancer treatment in Wales is a "crisis", a charity has warned.

NHS waiting lists have grown to their second highest levels and cancer waiting times are the second worst, according to latest statistics published by Welsh government.

It said it was investing heavily in cancer services.

Richard Pugh, head of partnerships for Macmillan Cancer Support, said he was no longer "shocked" by cancer waiting times.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/clkez97p2jdo

What would the Branch Office here do differently that the Welsh Branch Office is doing?

Edited by Gundermann

Useless on the news talking about how politics is now “ toxic “ … wow !!!

white white white ! 

1 minute ago, Gundermann said:

What would the Branch Office here do differently that the Welsh Branch Office is doing?

Yet more deflection. Scottish government an absolute shambles, SNP being dictated to by a tiny wee party who are obsessed with gender politics and going through FM's faster than Hibs go through managers, yet you want to criticise Labour.

Must be difficult seeing through your tears as the independence dream dies. Even worse, it's been killed by your party and allowed to happen by independence supporters like yourself who have sat back and watched it happen, all the while clapping as Nicola and Humza drive nails into independence campaign.

6 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

Most of us don't live in Wales though.

Mikey1874
9 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

You can check. All the main health measures were much better under Labour in Scotland. 

Also we still have council tax.