Scottish independence and devolution superthread

Happy Hearts

8 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Yup, just biding her time.

In modern Scotland people more scared of a practising Christian than they are of other religions, particularly Islam.

People will trust her.

She is honest.

And has good core values.

She is very respectful to other lifestyles and outlooks.

I like her and really hope she gets the leadership.

More of her ilk and competency and I think or hope we get the momentum going again.

No referendum .

General Election SNP stand on a vote for them vote for independence. 

Westminster could not ignore or refute if we got a landslide and majority vote .

redjambo
46 minutes ago, stevie said:

The SNP have divided Scotland with their independence at all/any cost policy.

Politics in Scotland has been toxic since 2014

Scotland said No,can we now please concentrate on fixing broken Scotland and forget about separatism. 

I'd have agreed with you several years ago. However, along came Brexit and the English and Welsh pulled us out of the EU against our will. That should have brought independence and separatism back to the fore in an attempt to redress that wrong. If anything, the SNP haven't shouted loudly enough for independence since Brexit and I for one am hoping that will change.

redjambo
4 minutes ago, Ked said:

People will trust her.

She is honest.

More of her ilk and competency and I think or hope we get the momentum going again.

No referendum .

Westminster could not ignore or refute if we got a landslide and majority vote .

They will do both, taking their lead from the Catalonian situation a wee while back. But it's worth a try, all the same.

53 minutes ago, stevie said:

The SNP have divided Scotland with their independence at all/any cost policy.

Politics in Scotland has been toxic since 2014

Scotland said No,can we now please concentrate on fixing broken Scotland and forget about separatism. 

:symf:

redjambo
20 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

Why is it a lie?

Because lost in space wants it to be, pure and simple.

4 minutes ago, redjambo said:

I'd have agreed with you several years ago. However, along came Brexit and the English and Welsh pulled us out of the EU against our will. That should have brought independence and separatism back to the fore in an attempt to redress that wrong. If anything, the SNP haven't shouted loudly enough for independence since Brexit and I for one am hoping that will change.

Excellent post.

Peakybunnet

More importantly John Swinney being a Forrester boy, is he a Jambo? 😀 

Lord Montpelier

Getting Swinney in reminds me of whenever Hibs (frequently) get a new manager

Emboldens the support, think they'll be world beaters, a new beginning etc etc.

Then the reality of bad results will set in and it ends in disaster with everyone falling out. 

13 minutes ago, redjambo said:

They will do both, taking their lead from the Catalonian situation a wee while back. But it's worth a try, all the same.

I think Scotland is in a much stronger position .

Legally and democratically.

Unilaterally declaring ourselves a state is not illegal.

We also have an independence party that has dominated the political scene and despite the recent troubles has a firm grip of 40%.

And the keen for Independence hasn't shrunk just got a bit shy.

Well that's how I hope it goes policy wise .

Aim for the next GE .

frankblack
23 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

Then the reality of bad results will set in and it ends in disaster with everyone falling out. 

Its only arranged because The Greens wouldn't work with Forbes and the Scottish Government would have had to call a Holyrood election.

Forbes will do a Penny Mordaunt, wait until they lose, then take over as sword wielding matriarchs to put thing right after Labour royally screw it up

Forbes wont want to be the one who loses an election on her watch

luckydug

Good choice he will get the party back on an even keel. Wee Kate is onside as well.:pleasing:

This parliament will run the full term now and SNP will stuff the Red Tories as usual when the time comes.

AyrJambo
1 hour ago, heartgarfunkel said:

Not sure how Ked.  I'm absolutely vague on this but I'm now minded that a politically federalist/regional/devolved UK is the best way to meet the needs of the vast majority of the population and protect them from the worst of radge, introspective, disingenous, shan, self-serving, niche governments of inadequate chancers that have plagued the UK and Scotland. No wonder populist reactionary ***** have such media bandwidth.

Constitution

Sovereignty

Salvo

Liberation.scot

ISP

1 hour ago, Ked said:

The argument for independence is still as sound when you wanted it .

If people are using the bad governance of the last 3 years as a reason to avoid independence wtf are we doing still in the UK?

Correct

56 minutes ago, Ked said:

People will trust her.

She is honest.

No referendum .

Yes they could and they will

We need leadership with balls enough to take on the British state

Unlawfully since there is no legal route to Scottish independence

S30 referendum is dead

16 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Its only arranged because The Greens wouldn't work with Forbes and the Scottish Government would have had to call a Holyrood election.

Core of SNP support are behind Forbes.

The sidelining of the Greens has happened.

SNP imo are getting towards where they should be.

I've said plenty that Scotland essentially is conservative. 

That term isn't the English version.

It is somewhat but not what it's become.

Forbes fits what we like.

Good standards.

Honesty.

Competence.

And a genuine caring spirit.

1 minute ago, AyrJambo said:

Constitution

Sovereignty

Salvo

Liberation.scot

ISP

Correct

S30 referendum is dead

Disagree.

Legally and with democratic backing Scotland can unilaterally declare itself a state.

Now how that is affected by our treaty I'd be lying if I said I knew.

But the latest ICJ ruling that it was legal.

Anyway I feel the SNP has to capitalise now before passion erodes.

11 hours ago, BlueRiver said:

😂 I apologise profusely for my clumsy description of a defensive legend. 

Lord Montpelier
Posted (edited)
36 minutes ago, AyrJambo said:

Constitution

Sovereignty

Salvo

Liberation.scot

ISP

Correct

S30 referendum is dead

Intrigued to understand what taking on the British state "unlawfully" actually means, in practice. 

Edited by Lord Montpelier

5 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

me neither, but the SNP are blowing things massively.

The public just dont care about cycle lanes and gender education

they want to eat, stay warm, get to work and not worry about money all the time

grow the economy dim wits

How do they do that without control of the main economic or fiscal levels?

Pans Jambo
21 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

And it’s obvious why Labour were more successful in government in Scotland . They weren’t distracted by Indy pish . They got on with the day job 

:rofl: Did you just leave the school or what? Labour were, are, and always be a shambles. SNP not much better lately mind you but lets not look back on Labours tenure as some sort of Nirvana eh. 

Korky
1 hour ago, Lord Montpelier said:

Getting Swinney back is like Hibs reappointing Pat Fenlon.

2 hours ago, lost in space said:

Swinney says no deal done with Kate.

So starting as FM with a lie. Treating the voters like mugs.

Here we go again.......

Yep . A deal done . Not exactly transparent . They didn’t want a dirty campaign opening up self inflicted wounds for the general public to hear about . The party of secrecy and lies . Just like it’s always been . 

1 hour ago, Lord Montpelier said:

Good analogy . Hopefully it ends like Hibs always do . With their arses handed to them on a plate . 

Dawnrazor
2 minutes ago, Korky said:

Getting Swinney back is like Hibs reappointing Pat Fenlon.

Seriously though, how great would that be 🤣

10 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

:rofl: Did you just leave the school or what? Labour were, are, and always be a shambles. SNP not much better lately mind you but lets not look back on Labours tenure as some sort of Nirvana eh. 

Whereas the SNP are  a shambles plus they stole grievence resentment division and hatred of those who oppose them . 

20 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Labour ran Scotland for more than 70 years and did nothing. Even when they were in control in Westminster too. 

12 months under Labour and it'll full screech

stevie
2 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

:symf:

Typical NatZ response,Indy at any cost.Empty brained disciples 

frankblack
1 hour ago, Ked said:

Core of SNP support are behind Forbes.

The sidelining of the Greens has happened.

SNP imo are getting towards where they should be.

I've said plenty that Scotland essentially is conservative. 

That term isn't the English version.

It is somewhat but not what it's become.

Forbes fits what we like.

Good standards.

Honesty.

Competence.

And a genuine caring spirit.

That is only true if they are happy to settle on legislation that the likes of Labour wouldn't object to, i.e. no indie ref votes.

46 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

How do they do that without control of the main economic or fiscal levels?

They controlled bifab.

They controlled the off shore windfarm sell off 

They controlled prestwick airport

they controlled Ferguson marine

they banned fracking

they set education standards

they froze council tax

they set income tax rates that have led to 1000 high earners leaving ( approx £150 million down then at least , more when the self employed are taken into account)

they prioritised bike lanes over the homeless

Now shamelessly avoiding an election because their former rulers allegedly stole all their campaign money, so they couldn’t fight an election if they tried !

Gender > jobs

And I don’t care what England do .

i don’t live there 

I demand better

37 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Whereas the SNP are  a shambles plus they stole grievence resentment division and hatred of those who oppose them . 

What does the SNP being "finished" mean Judes? 

5 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

What does the SNP being "finished" mean Judes? 

You spelt judas wrong I mean Judy.

26 minutes ago, stevie said:

Fair comment 

29 minutes ago, stevie said:

Boris

Swinney, should he become SNP leader, needs to mould a cabinet that is broad across the party. Forbes' position suggests this is what will happen.

If he's clever, Swinney needs to distance this new admin from the Sturgeon era. Whilst independence will always be on the agenda, the mathematics of parliament should see a better focus on "the day job", for want of a phrase.

This should be a chastising and humbling affect on the SNP, interesting to see if they can learn from it.

To many Swinney will be seen as continuity, and to an extent he is, but he's also a bridge to a new start.

Another point from all of this is that after the next Holyrood elections, the Tories will no longer be the opposition and will presumably have less airtime.

Gundermann
1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Labour ran Scotland for more than 70 years and did nothing. Even when they were in control in Westminster too. 

12 months under Labour and it'll full screech

Labour almost bankrupted Glasgow coonsull fighting to stop women getting an equal wage. And, did Broon not raid the pensions. Then Iraq. And PFI. 

Labour...

Gundermann
1 hour ago, frankblack said:

That is only true if they are happy to settle on legislation that the likes of Labour wouldn't object to, i.e. no indie ref votes.

Mind you, Labour were on board with the GRA and HCA. Not with the Waspis though.

1 hour ago, stevie said:

The insults are flying the night from the separatists , best not to stoop to their level . 

1 hour ago, doctor jambo said:

They controlled bifab.

They controlled the off shore windfarm sell off 

They controlled prestwick airport

they controlled Ferguson marine

they banned fracking

they set education standards

they froze council tax

they set income tax rates that have led to 1000 high earners leaving ( approx £150 million down then at least , more when the self employed are taken into account)

they prioritised bike lanes over the homeless

Now shamelessly avoiding an election because their former rulers allegedly stole all their campaign money, so they couldn’t fight an election if they tried !

Gender > jobs

And I don’t care what England do .

i don’t live there 

I demand better

Well said 👍 he’s obsessed with England 

58 minutes ago, Ked said:

You spelt judas wrong I mean Judy.

Pathetic hatred filled insults regarding people with an opposing view to you . You really know how to win friends and convert them from no to yes !!  Not ! 

7 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

board with the GRA and HCA

So we’re you 

Offended by everything. Ashamed of nothing. 

luckydug
1 hour ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

22 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

The insults are flying the night from the separatists , best not to stoop to their level . 

What insults ?

Oh ffs Kirsty Blackman is making a tit of herself on “ question time “ embarrassing that the rest of the UK are being exposed to the dregs of the SNP

England we do have some decent politicians , even ones who know how many chromosomes they have ! 

She even got a tartan blouse thing on ! Oh naw she’s on about guess what ???? 

Scotland not having their own spending powers , change the record dear 

IMG_8835.gif

redjambo
21 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Judy, sorry to point this out, but all you seem to do on a political level is fling insults and invective. Virtually every single post. It's like you are so obsessed with the SNP that they now live permanently in your head and your Pavlovian reaction to hearing the term "SNP" is to go off on one.

I normally wouldn't bother pointing this out because it's so obvious to all and sundry, but that post of yours I've quoted above wins Hypocritical Post of the Year 2024, hands-down, and we're only at the start of May! I had to stop myself from guffawing when I read it. The sheer chutzpah. I can't but admire your audacity, to be honest. :)

luckydug
4 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Oh ffs Kirsty Blackman is making a tit of herself on “ question time “ embarrassing that the rest of the UK are being exposed to the dregs of the SNP

England we do have some decent politicians , even ones who know how many chromosomes they have ! 

She even got a tartan blouse thing on ! Oh naw she’s on about guess what ???? 

Scotland not having their own spending powers , change the record dear 

IMG_8835.gif

Why don't you ?

1 minute ago, redjambo said:

Judy, sorry to point this out, but all you seem to do on a political level is fling insults and invective. Virtually every single post. It's like you are so obsessed with the SNP that they now live permanently in your head and your Pavlovian reaction to hearing the term "SNP" is to go off on one.

I normally wouldn't bother pointing this out because it's so obvious to all and sundry, but that post of yours I've quoted above wins Hypocritical Post of the Year 2024, hands-down, and we're only at the start of May! I had to stop myself from guffawing when I read it. The sheer chutzpah. I can't but admire your audacity, to be honest. :)

I’m no one using terms like “ soft lad “ 

“ screechers “ or calling someone a 

“Judas “ for changing from a yes to no 

3 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Is she still talking about her genitals?

No she’s talkin about “ snp  successes “ it lasted all of 10 seconds than velvet voice Bruce butted it to clamp her 

4 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Ps please locate an insult I’ve used . Thanks . And try and read others posts and the insults they use and challenge that as well . 

redjambo
2 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I’m no one using terms like “ soft lad “ 

“ screechers “ or calling someone a 

“Judas “ for changing from a yes to no 

Don't worry about it. I'm a Judas too as I've switched from No to Yes. We'll balance each other out. :)

Just now, redjambo said:

Don't worry about it. I'm a Judas too as I've switched from No to Yes. We'll balance each other out. :)

I’m not worried about it I just think it’s pathetic 👍