The Rangers soap opera goes on and on.

Sergio Garcia

Don't worry, Richard Gordon and the Sportsound team will be all over it.....

I know, I know .... The best bet is probably "Off The Ball". That light-hearted show is more likely to have a meaningful discussion about this than any of the so-called 'heavy hitters'

Rick Grimes

That's their defence.

However, it completely ducks the improperly registered players aspect. Teams have been kicked out the cup for improperly registering one player. The Huns whole team was improperly registered for years.

The semantic shift to "imperfectly" registered is a smokescreen. It is a binary concept. You have either properly registered your player, or you have not.

The precident is that you get kicked out the competition for not registering all your players correctly. The SFA/SPFL cannot now bring in a sliding scale of how imperfectly players are registered to suit their agenda.

That's it in a nutshell.

Rick Grimes

Peter Lawwell must plan to piss into the tent from the outside ...

In the meantime : https://thecelticblog.com/2017/07/blogs/more-trouble-at-ibrox-as-sevco-players-give-a-new-nickname-to-pedro-the-fraud/amp/

I'd suggest it's more so he can pay lip service to doing something about it, whilst actually doing nothing.

Edited by Triceracop

I'd suggest it's more so he can pay lip service to doing something about it, whilst actually doing nothing.

I'm not being an arse but I take it you mean 'forgets' rather than 'forges'?

It really is beyond a joke. The media should be shouting this from the rooftops.

Aye was meant to be forgets.

https://johnjamessite.com/

"The decision by Peter Lawwell to rejoin the SFA?s Professional Game Board came as a surprise to many. It could be perceived as a vote of confidence in the severely compromised Stewart Regan. Conversely, given that Doncaster is also joining Lawwell on the SFA board, while retaining his Chief Executive position at the SPFL, it could be the harbinger of a putsch to clean out the Augean stables. Could it be a case of keeping your friends close and your enemies closer? I will propose an alternative view."

Edited by jambovambo

Pedro seems like a right dick.

Which is great. :lol:

Quite possibly, however, it's just as likely that some of the older and/or more experienced players are behaving like dicks, and don't like being told so by Pedro.

Which is also great. :lol:

Edited by The Gasman

Escobar PHM

https://johnjamessite.com/

"The decision by Peter Lawwell to rejoin the SFA?s Professional Game Board came as a surprise to many. It could be perceived as a vote of confidence in the severely compromised Stewart Regan. Conversely, given that Doncaster is also joining Lawwell on the SFA board, while retaining his Chief Executive position at the SPFL, it could be the harbinger of a putsch to clean out the Augean stables. Could it be a case of keeping your friends close and your enemies closer? I will propose an alternative view."

Some great stuff in that article, including our own Ann Budge's probable re-election to the SPFL board next week and therefore a key player as to whether the enquiry is re-opened or not. I hope she has been listening to the fans of her own club before she votes on that

yes that's my understanding of what they are now saying.

1. At the time of the EBT's there was no rule specifically preventing use of them

2. So although EBT's gave them an advantage it wasn't breaking any rule.

3. What DID break the rules was not declaring the EBT in the player registration as part of the financial package each player was on.

4. Not declaring it is a technical admin rule break and in itself did not give a sporting advantage.

Morally reprehensible way of looking at it IMO

.... and surely they did this precisely to maintain the pretence of the EBT itself? So it was knowingly done to mislead both the SPL/SFA and HMRC ****ing cheating ***** in both cases

Escobar PHM

.... and surely they did this precisely to maintain the pretence of the EBT itself? So it was knowingly done to mislead both the SPL/SFA and HMRC ******* cheating ***** in both cases

They concealed it from the SFA/SPFL ( and almost every other written document in the organisation) only so that HMRC wouldn't ask difficult questions about it.

Operating EBT's was NOT a breach of the football rules at the time they operated the EBT's. Failing to declare them in the contract was a breach of the football rules. They couldn't/didn't declare them anywhere because they knew on some level that they were dodgy at best.

EDIT. Sorry I should have made clear, the above isn't my opinion, its how the football authorities seem to be playing it.

I think they were cheating

Edited by Escobar PHM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40667419

Barrie McKay says he had to leave Rangers for Nottingham Forest this summer because of the way he was being treated by new manager Pedro Caixinha.

"I wasn't being treated the way any human being should be treated"

Have Amnesty International been informed? What on earth was Pedro doing to him?!

"I wasn't being treated the way any human being should be treated"

Have Amnesty International been informed? What on earth was Pedro doing to him?!

These pesky foreigners.

ECHR here we come ... oh wait ..

Does this have a thread of its own somewhere? Would think all fans would want a say in this.

Arf. After I put it on here I thought it should have its own thread. Sorry

Not at all, bud. I genuinely hadn't seen the other one. Wasn't being wide. Hope as many people see it as possible.

Heh. There you go !

What's the fallout with Kenny Miller and Lee Wallace etc.?  Guess I missed this bit of news.

Rumours abound that there is a split in the camp, the old players not happy with the new regime and the way Pedro is treating them, and Pedro not happy that the old guard aren't buying into his methods.

That could explain why several of the old guard have been banished to train with the U20s pending being offloaded.  Miller is apparently the ringleader for the old guard and Pedro is looking to get shot of him.

All just rumour and speculation, but wouldn't do us any harm if true.

Rumours abound that there is a split in the camp, the old players not happy with the new regime and the way Pedro is treating them, and Pedro not happy that the old guard aren't buying into his methods.

That could explain why several of the old guard have been banished to train with the U20s pending being offloaded.  Miller is apparently the ringleader for the old guard and Pedro is looking to get shot of him.

All just rumour and speculation, but wouldn't do us any harm if true.

Kenny and Pedro, this year's Bazza and Le Guen, nice.

Barrie McKay has probably had the easy life at Rangers and when Pedro has joined and booted him up the erse, he's spat the dummy out

John James spot on, in my view, today:

https://johnjamessite.com

He said he received the comment at the bottom from someone with a ring-side seat, but they have the exact same writing style as himself.

Looks like he just wrote it himself and put it in italics tbh.

Jambo-Jimbo

Barrie McKay has probably had the easy life at Rangers and when Pedro has joined and booted him up the erse, he's spat the dummy out

Overrated one trick pony.

Ran rings round posties, joiners and fishermen but was found out more often than not last season in the big league.

Ricardo Shillyshally

John James spot on, in my view, today:

https://johnjamessite.com

He manages to shoehorn "apropos" into every entry.

It's like the dumb kid in class who has learned a big new word and wants to use it at every opportunity

He manages to shoehorn "apropos" into every entry.

It's like the dumb kid in class who has learned a big new word and wants to use it at every opportunity

You would wonder if it is Three Names being schizo.

Guy is a wank.

You would wonder if it is Three Names being schizo.

Guy is a wank.

If "JohnJames" told me tomorrow is Saturday I would go check my calendar.

So you don't think his scenario is pretty likely to be what's going on?

What scenario do you have?

So you don't think his scenario is pretty likely to be what's going on?

What scenario do you have?

I have no idea and neither does he. There may be some truth ( the trick of all these bloggers) but he adds so much bluff and bluster .

My main gripe with him is that his high moral stance is undermined by his casual sexism , ( see his comments re Anne Budge and Nicola Sturgeon) racism and general ignorance. I posit ( see what I did?) is that he is mid 20s , some legal knowledge and can't get a job.

I have no idea and neither does he. There may be some truth ( the trick of all these bloggers) but he adds so much bluff and bluster .

My main gripe with him is that his high moral stance is undermined by his casual sexism , ( see his comments re Anne Budge and Nicola Sturgeon) racism and general ignorance. I posit ( see what I did?) is that he is mid 20s , some legal knowledge and can't get a job.

Agreed.  He alienates a great deal of his potential readership really for no reason, by going off on wholly irrelevant tangents, sharing odious personal opinions, and otherwise diverging from a discussion of his alleged set of facts, then constantly whines about not receiving enough donations.  It is hard to separate the wheat from the chaff in his writings, but to use that as an excuse to discredit everything he says (not saying you're doing that) is not reasonable, either.

My main gripe with the arsehole is that when he first appeared he tried a "concern troll" tactic of pretending to be an Orc. That to me gives him no credibility whatsoever.

Imagine believing anything from his mouth or pen

It just makes you shake your head in wonder at the inability of some to think for themselves

Did you read it?

There are some inaccuracies in that report.

The Creditors pot is now ?15m (and falling), not ?30m. 

Wavetower's claim against BDO was down to ?3.5m, before Henderson & Jones got involved.  A figure of ?2.5m was mentioned at the last CoS hearing on 31 May.

buzzbomb1958

Me thinks the real shit is about to hit the fan ,poor wee Barry and cohorts will be wetting their breeks,is this also the beginning of the end for the new club here's hoping

Aidan Earley's comments about a legal claim from yesterday, implicating D&P. 

https://www.aidanearley.org/news/

Prior to the purchase of Rangers Football Club in May 2011, MCR (insolvency and restructuring specialists) were retained by Mr Whyte to advise on all aspects of the transaction. Prior to the completion of the Rangers takeover MCR was sold to Duff and Phelps for a significant initial consideration but which also included a multi million pound deferred consideration. This deferred consideration specifically related to a major insolvency case from which the vendors of MCR were hoping and expecting to earn very substantial fees. Unbeknown to Mr Whyte that large insolvency case was none other than Rangers Football Club plc. So at the time that Mr Whyte was retaining them to advise on a successful restructuring of Rangers, they actually had a direct multi million pound incentive to ensure that Rangers went into liquidation/administration instead. Following the takeover of Rangers by Wavetower (the Whyte vehicle) the MCR team, now part of Duff and Phelps, were retained to negotiate with HMRC in order to agree a solution to the various tax problems faced by Rangers. However, instead of negotiating in good faith on behalf of Rangers/Wavetower, having been retained to do so, they actually advised HMRC to reject any restructuring proposals coming from Rangers and to appoint them as administrators instead. Following the administration of Rangers the MCR vendors were then able to, and did, receive the multi million deferred consideration they had planned. This unethical, and probably illegal, treachery is evidenced in an affidavit from HMRC. Similarly, the multi million pound deferred consideration incentive is confirmed by an affidavit submitted by the CEO of Duff and Phelps in the recent Scottish trial.

The losses and reputational damage resulting from this duplicity is the subject of the Second Legal Claim.

This could have some way to run if the above is true.

Edited by Footballfirst

• Maple Leaf locked this topic