Footballers in real life

Smack

At Disco Inferno at the Assembly Rooms many years ago, tousle-haired Hibs 'star' Michael O'Neill was so drunk he was walking head first into walls :rofl:

• Replies 215
Hearts Machine

Believe it or not but Micky Weir was a right good laugh and very entertaining when I met him at a night out,Paul kane was also okay but as rough as they come.

I know it`s been done before, but I liked my way best.

Met Mickey Weir at tail-end of a dug night. I kept schtumm, but fitba` raised it`s head. He was desperate for me to ask who he was, to the point of dropping heavy, and heavier hints.

I asked him if he had a pen, he delightedly pulled one out of his coat, beaming with delight and anticipation. I took it, wrote on it, "To Michael...best wishes xxxx xxxxxx" handed it to him and said. "There ye go Mickey, I know you`ve been dying to ask me all night." Then walked off.

The look of sheer bemusement, and scratching of thinning ginger hair had me laughing all the way home.

Once spent a VERY boozy evening at Musselburgh Races in Alan Combe's company. We have a mutual friend. Wanted to hate him but like has been mentioned earlier the guy is brand new. Good laugh and doesnt take himself or his job too seriously. Would bet on the colour of shite though.

I know it`s been done before, but I liked my way best.

Met Mickey Weir at tail-end of a dug night. I kept schtumm, but fitba` raised it`s head. He was desperate for me to ask who he was, to the point of dropping heavy, and heavier hints.

I asked him if he had a pen, he delightedly pulled one out of his coat, beaming with delight and anticipation. I took it, wrote on it, "To Michael...best wishes xxxx xxxxxx" handed it to him and said. "There ye go Mickey, I know you`ve been dying to ask me all night." Then walked off.

The look of sheer bemusement, and scratching of thinning ginger hair had me laughing all the way home.

I would think we've all done that or pulling a camera out and asking if they minded,then give them the camera put you thumbs up and say cheese.

Anyway Weir was on good form the night I met him,(was still a player for them at the time)and didn't really rub it in that much considering the place was full of hibs supporters.

Players I've met who were sound....

Bednar. Very polite.

Rudi. Polite but slightly scared.

Kello. A good laugh.

Nade. Very quiet.

Bouzid. Very polite.

Mackay. Very chatty.

Sandison. Sound.

Goram. Up for anything but quite arrogant.

Bobby Johnstone. Big headed drunk.

I've met a few more but can't really remember.

Met JC, Dave McPherson and Souness, all top guys.

Not surprised to see Henrik Larson and Gary Lineker getting a bad rap, have been told by people who met them that they are both bell-ends.

I met bruno Aguiar up town the other day :confused:

Is he still playing for the amonia nicosia same as kari,why would he be back in edinburgh?

I play a lot of football with the Hearts and Hibs masters teams, and to be honest they are all decent lads even the Hibby's - although there's a couple who I still wonder how they played pro football given there love of the bevvy. Think you'd be surprised how friendly they all are given the history in derby's, some of the wind up's from the Hearts team to the hibby's about the 22 in row is priceless, a certain Mr Kane takes great exception to them.

Met Andy Walker at the golf once. Arrogant tw@t.

Gilles Rousset was a really nice guy when I got his autograph a fiew years ago

Worked at John Browns house a few year ago sound bloke warned me off his daughter though. Andy Goram at the Star in Linlithgow he was ok as was Barry Ferguson when my mates and me met him at Hamilton Palace. Met Jim Cruickshank when he came to pick up his mrs when she was my teacher good guy. When i went to Aya Napia 11 year ago we met Emile Heskey ( down to earth) Kevin Gallagher (****) Dean Richards ex spurs another **** who wanted to fight with everyone. Met Andy Webster in Scotmid West Calder (total ****) Kenny Miller when he was at hibs at the century 2000 (kid on hardman) but met him when he was 1st at rangers at club earth with Mark Burchill and he was ok. Stevie Crawford and Craig Brewster after a champions league game against Barca in Newcastle both we're ok with Crawford being in a worse state than i was falling about the place. Scott Crabbe used to come drinking in West Calder he was always chatty. Met Mike Galloway a few times sometimes he was sound then others he was a total **** depending on how drunk he was. Jim Hamilton at Millers in Broxburn when he was with us sound guy.

Dr. Sheldon Cooper

Won a competition a few years back when I bought the home top to have lunch with Antti Niemi and Steven Pressley. Niemi had left by the time of the event and it was just after the 5-1 game so I had no choice but to pick Mark de Vries. Pressley was very polite, very chatty and an absolute gentleman. De Vries was a good laugh, had a few stories about his football in Holland.

My mate lives next door to Gordon Marshall Jr and have spoken to him a few times. My mate and I had a 20 minute conversation with him at my mates' mum's 40th about football just after he stopped being Hibs' goalie coach. Nice guy. Mates with Marshall's nephew who is also a goalkeeper.

jambo22inarow

as a taxi driver for a living i ve had a fair few footballers in the back of the taxi and have to say the forgein guys are more up for the chat than the home grown lads ! also got married in 2006 stag do was a week in prague when we arrived at the airport was met by the full hearts squad leavin to go on preason tour and was probably the last thing they wanted was ten bevvied guys in kilts pestering them but they were brilliant happy to chat and get photos but to top it all of the legend that is rudi skacel was on the same flight to prague as us great guy and even recommened a couple of local establishments we would probably enjoy if you know what i mean !

Amazed by the amount of "Saw so and so in Asda but didnt speak."

Is everyone on this thread 8 years old? They are just normal folk.

I've met Neil Lennon a few times in the past and as much as it pains me to say, he is a nice guy. Martin O'Neill was a complete gentleman as well.

Henrik Larsson on the other hand was just rude :yucky:

met Lennon a few times in the pub and I can confirm that he is sound.I have a very fond memory of meeting with O'Neill on a Saturday night outside my flat after we'dd been gubbed 5-0. I'd asked him the score as I'd gone out in disgust at 2 down and genuinely didnt know the full time, he spent a good 10 mins chatting about football, it was just before we played Bordeux and Celtic had played them the previous season so he talked about our chances against them, a real gent and complete football enthusiast. Met most of the Rangers early 70's squad and found Gordon Smith a likably guy. Only Jambo's Ive met are big Gilles at Tannadice who was very friendly and Mahe who was also a sound bloke and very passionate about us.

Juan Rom?n Riquelme

Amazed by the amount of "Saw so and so in Asda but didnt speak."

Is everyone on this thread 8 years old? They are just normal folk.

Aye, hence the reason not to go up and badger them while they're doing their grocery shopping.

Hugh Burns used to have a tea-room in Troon - used to see him most days. He's since moved to a pub in Prestwick. Initially seemed very sound, but I think "volatile" is the word.

aberhill jambo

Met Tony Fitzpatrick in an indian restuarant once told him i was a jambo gave me his business card told me to phone him anytime for tickets.

Have also met Paul Ritchie a few times absolute gentlemen.

Henry Smith saves

Managed to get a game for the Hearts Legends once, no that I've actually played for Hearts but they needed a GK at short notice. I was utter sh!te. Was over-awed playing in the same side as Alan McLaren, Scott Crabbe (never stopped moaning all night), Jose Quitongo, Jimmy Sandison, Maxi Christie and the rest like my self were ringers. All really good guys!

Best part of the night was after the game in the changing room (ooh er Mrs!).

Wee Jose was getting dried after his shower and one of the previous players mentioned (no names!) looked up and just stared at him, started rubbing himself and saying "wee man, you could turn me like, that wee bum you've goat is outstanding"

Jose was papping himself, shouting "perv, perv, don't touch me"

Everyone else was rolling about. Brilliant.

TBH the wee man was ripped and put us to shame, if you catch my drift :ninja:

I once shared a flat with a couple of girls and I woke up one morning to find Gary O'Connor (ex-Hearts goalie) standing in my kitchen after he'd been gentleman enough to see one of the ladies home.

:ninja:

Also....

The day before I moved out that flat - Andy Watson came to look around as he had just been chucked out by his missus and needed a new gaff right away. He was real prat.

I was also at school with Darren Dods - nice guy and I still give him the time of day when I see him despite him playing for that lot - even though he was a Jambo.

Aye, hence the reason not to go up and badger them while they're doing their grocery shopping.

That's exactly what I thought when I read that. What a strange post!

I once shared a flat with a couple of girls and I woke up one morning to find Gary O'Connor (ex-Hearts goalie) standing in my kitchen after he'd been gentleman enough to see one of the ladies home.

:ninja:

Also....

The day before I moved out that flat - Andy Watson came to look around as he had just been chucked out by his missus and needed a new gaff right away. He was real prat.

I was also at school with Darren Dods - nice guy and I still give him the time of day when I see him despite him playing for that lot - even though he was a Jambo.

Never really known anything about you before Drylaw... This was a nice LOL moment...

OH and... Darren Dodds is a Jambo? Honestly? Feck...

Spoken to loads of professional footballers over the years - the only one who really made any lasting impression on me was Tommy Walker ( a nicer and more genuine person you could never meet).

Never really known anything about you before Drylaw... This was a nice LOL moment...

OH and... Darren Dodds is a Jambo? Honestly? Feck...

He was a jambo but being a footballer he obviously didn't get to many Saturday games when I knew him.

Also......

That flat was the other side of the road from where John Hughes lived and on Cup Final 98 Weekend I stood outside his house for what felt like hours in the early morning of the 17th singing all sorts of Hearts songs.

I ran like feck when his bedroom light went on though.

Adrian Sprott (Hamilton) - went to school with him, good lad and Hearts supporter

Willie Hunter (Hibs & Motherwell) - played fives with him (even though he is about 20 years older than me) good lad

Bobby Prentice - met him in the travellers good lad

Andy Bowman - used to work at the travellers, always felt he was quite shy but a good lad

Tommy Preston (Hibs) - manager of the travellers, good football chat and a good laugh

Ally Brazil - Hibs shitebag had the misfortune of meeting him once at the Beua Brummell

Alan Rough - good lad and game for a laugh met him once at same time

Rousset - total gent, met him when my son was mascot

Gary Locke, Billy Brown and Robbo - met them same day, didn't say much to them but they went out they're way to make my sons day a good one

Derek O'Connor - met him in Clarks seemed a good lad

Walter Kidd - liked him too

Donald Ford - total gent

Mickey Weir - totally down to earth guy who used to play in kickabouts in the field at Drumbrae

I played golf with Stephen Simmons just after he scored "that" goal against Rangers and he was really pleasant, but quite shy. I also golfed with Murdo McLeod and Tom Boyd at charity do's. Tom Boyd was a good guy, Murdo wasn't!

Also knew Paul Richie and Greg Shields (Dunfermline)through my kids, both really good guys and Paul is a huge Jambo.

As a kid I met Drew Busby after training and he took me into the back of the stand to meet the other players. He was a gent but I was still in awe of him. Terry Yorath was another like that - on the field he looked like he ate his young, but off the field he was a real gent.

Met Jock Wallace when he was manager of Leicester. He seemed nice, but was a bit difficult to understand.

Donald Ford was a real gent

My sister went out with Brian Welsh, before he went to Hibs. Decent guy, but friendly with Micky Weir's wee brother!

Edit: I forgot about Max Christie, I know him quite well through work, but never think of him as a footballer. Sorry Max!

He was a jambo but being a footballer he obviously didn't get to many Saturday games when I knew him.

Also......

That flat was the other side of the road from where John Hughes lived and on Cup Final 98 Weekend I stood outside his house for what felt like hours in the early morning of the 17th singing all sorts of Hearts songs.

I ran like feck when his bedroom light went on though.

Beautiful, DH, BEAUTIFUL!

No sure about the bit in red though to be honest...

Beautiful, DH, BEAUTIFUL!

No sure about the bit in red though to be honest...

No....neither am I !!

bit of a generalisation there mate no?? do you personally know all his mates?

again the arrogance referred to is just non existant he would speak to fans and people he doesnt know no bother, never a case of him acting superior to anyone

I can't comment on all his mates but the couple I've come across up the town have been roasters. Can't say I've ever had any dealings with Lee though.

The Bellends

Steven Pressley, Fernando Ricksen, Roy Carroll, Michael Gray, Michael Mols, Bobby Williamson

Good Guys

Robbo, Henry Smith, Rousset, Locke, Sandy Jardine, Sandy Clark, Paul Kane, Don Hutchison, Sammy McIlroy, Mark Williams, Keith Gillespie, Aaron Hughes

Diamond Geezers

Tam Flogel, Antti Niemi, Gerry Armstrong, Pat Nevin, Steven Caldwell, Mixu Paatelainen

Grumpy Headmasters (I only asked for an autograph - my nine-year old self didn't know I had to call you Mister)

King Kenny & Fergie

All right but you know there's a wee powderkeg ready to go boom

Craig Levein (friendly but you just felt like you were on a tightrope with one misplaced word - and as for that piercing stare...)

Met a few of the old hearts players however only met my most fav player Robbo once. It was later in the evening and he popped into Merchie Hearts and I tried to shake his hand and he blanked me :cry: I put it down to probably having shaken half the towns hand!

Met Jim Leishman at the milk cup (think it was) in Glasgow whilst playing for St Bernards. We were in the hospitality tent and my mates were saying it was him and I was saying it wasn't. I made an off comment saying it wasn't and as he was leaving he grabbed my shirt and said "Aye it is ya wee s***" much to the enjoyment of my team members.....

I also scored against Celtic under 16's that day and we only lost 2-1 to them after the ref gave a penalty for a perfect tackle in the box then let them take it three times after our keeper saved it twice! Even their coach said he was a disgrace and shouldn't be doing kids footy :down:

Stood on Alan Shearers toe in the BA lounge at Heathrow after getting a cup of coffee out the machine.............he said sorry to me!!! :rolleyes:

Surprised at how slight he was for such a strong forward.....then again, I am a 6ft + bruiser.......:whistling:

Does that count??

Well I work in the M&S Simply Food on Drymen Rd but stay in Charing X area. Lafferty deserves all the hassle he gets tbh. I was serving him at the tills and he genuinely refused to face me. Made his girlfriend (poor soul) foot the bill. Utter fanjita of the highest order

Lucky barsteward he is for having miss Scotland as his burd tho. He's a complete tool.

julienbrellier

actually met and had a wee chat with andy driver last Saturday night. He was at Andy C at liquid rooms with a mate and seemed like a genuinely sound guy, someone who has time for the fans as well.

Bumped into JJ out in the dalmahoy car park before hitting a few balls on the driving range whilst he was still Killie manager. Hearts were having a rough time at the time (the season we finished 8th) and we both discussed how gutted we were.

Met Rudi the day before the cup semi at hampden when i was working in the cinema at fountainpark. He was a total legend as you'd expect and said he would score 2 against the hobos on derby day. His promise was obviously not lived up to, but Sir Paul scored a hat-trick so who gives a ****

Was at my mates house one night and went through to his living room and there was Larry Kingston sitting chatting away to my mates dad, turned out to be a top boy and we ended up getting a ball out and him showing us tricks and the like.

Kevin Thomson used to go out with the bird who worked in the corner shop (9.5/10 at least) at my bit so he was there a fair bit, used to speak to him quite a bit when I was going in for my paper round (it was a while back) but he was a sound guy.

Lee Makel's wife was pals with my mum and got me a signed ball.

Oh and lastly, met Anthony Stokes in the casino, seemed a bellend but then again he could've just lost all his cash so I won't judge.

Best of the best though is big John Brough, total gentleman.

Was at hospitality recently and went outside for a smoke and got chatting to JB. I was freezing and the big guy gave me his coat. Top bloke.

Roy Croppers Handbag

In regards to Lee Wallace and his mates - off the mark IMO.

I know his 2 best mates and have met Lee through them a couple of times, all 3 are sound.

Funny moment was when I said to Wallace I couldnae believe Jamie McAllister got a game ahead of him as he was shite and he said 'aye I know, Rix is a clueless sex pest'

Just remembered a few more I've met.

When I was staying in Glasgow on a course a few years ago there was a few Rangers players staying in the same hotel.

Henning Berg. A total gent who was always in the bar with his family.

Emerson. Totally football mad.

Kizanishvili. Very quiet. Kept himself to himself.

Couple of years ago Scott Leitch took a few of my training sessions when at under 14's at motherwell.

Also Scott Crabbe is a manager in my league he coaches East Calder

Gary Mackay is a gentleman used to come into Safeway and he also used to come into the Spar shop where I was assistant manager to pick up his papers. A couple of years back when me and the family were in the hospitality suite. He came over to our table and ended up taking my late bro' though to meet the team. Neil McCann is also sound. Jim Leishman is funny and always had 5 minutes for a blether. Away from football imo Stephen Hedry is an arrogant git even if you say "Good Morning" to him he just used to blank you.

just goes to show how people see things differently, he presented flowers to a old friends widow in the summer and hung about for a while talking to the lads, he was chatty but a little shy and his girlfriend was very pretty, but I suppose you can only go by your own experiences, for instance I've met Robbo on more than one occasion and the " you should never meet your hero's" applies here with me.

Unfortunately I agree about Robbo. Met him once as a kid and once as an adult and both times he was rude and dismissive. Very disappointing.

Gary McSwegan was an ar*ehole as well.

Everyone else has been really nice.

I have met: Robbo, JC, Henry Smith, Gary Locke, Craig Levein, George Cowie, Neil Berry, Wayne Foster, Craig Gordon, Alan McLaren. JC is my all-time Hearts hero and I met him when I was the mascot v Kilmarnock in November 1995. He saw I had named him as my favourite player and came over to chat. He had since said hello to my dad in the street. A nice, intelligent man, as I say, my all-time hero. I once went ot Starks Park with my dad, a friend of may dad and George Cowie (a friend of my dad's friend) and on the way back, we went to a pub in Dunfermline with Craig Levein. Levein gave me a row for refusing a drink from him and then accepting one from my dad's friend. Yes, I was nervous meeting, but no need with a 13-year-old lad. Met Henry Smith and Garl Locke on the same day in Marks and Spencer in the Gyle. Henry Smith signed an autograph. Gary Locke did the same and seemed really pleased to be asked, handing his girlfriend (or wife) a fiver so she couls pay while he signed me an autograph. These signatures remained on my wall for years. I get the impression Skacel is a nice guy but never met him.