Footballers in real life

Smack

I'm fairly pleasant and mild mannered but on a football pitch I am 100% ar**hole. We've all got perceptions of players based mostly on their behaviour on the pitch. One of my mates met Neil Lennon in a bar a few years back and said he was pretty sound.

I've met a few, Robbo is a gentleman, Jim Hamilton is down to earth, Darren Jackson was a bit of a ******.

Jamie McAllister always seemed terrified when normal people spoke to him and resorted to cliches as if he was doing a press interview.

Graeme Smith seems a bit nervous of talking about football but is quite personable, maybe a bit aloof.

David Xausa (sp?) St Johnstone, Livi and Canada was a proper weirdo.

I quite often see the Livingston lads before a game and they seem pretty well behaved.

A hibee mate once met big Gilles and said he was different class.

Anyone else got any (better!) stories of footballers in real life?

• Replies 215

I'm fairly pleasant and mild mannered but on a football pitch I am 100% ar**hole. We've all got perceptions of players based mostly on their behaviour on the pitch. One of my mates met Neil Lennon in a bar a few years back and said he was pretty sound.

I've met a few, Robbo is a gentleman, Jim Hamilton is down to earth, Darren Jackson was a bit of a ******.

Jamie McAllister always seemed terrified when normal people spoke to him and resorted to cliches as if he was doing a press interview.

Graeme Smith seems a bit nervous of talking about football but is quite personable, maybe a bit aloof.

I quite often see the Livingston lads before a game and they seem pretty well behaved.

My dislike for this man is beyond words but unfortunately i do have to say that couple of my mates met him (a Raith fan and an egg-chaser) and he said he was really nice. I found it next to impossible to believe but there you go eh

Victor Meldrew

Pasquale Bruno and Gilles Rousset are two of the nicest guys you could ever meet. Brian Whittaker was also a top, top bloke.

Coburg Hearts

I worked with Colin Stein on a site for a while and he was as good as they come. A really nice guy.

Jimmy Millar (of Millar & Brand fame), was a true gentleman when he ran the Duke's Head pub in Duke St. If memory serves me right he was also a Jambo.

Sat next to Billy Bremner at Euro 96, Villa Park, Scotland v. Switzerland. McCoist scored the winner. BB was as happy as the rest of us, top bloke, tragedy he died so young.

i hope they dont mind me saying this on jkb

marion kello is sound as

christian nade is ok once you get into his circle of trust

alan mcalaren is a fat bassa ( soz lol)

from germany.....

Ercan Arslan

Alexander Rudenko

Toni Butz

Michael Steinemann

Kristijan Vidakovic

are all close friends of mine whom play for oggershiem, people that know me well will concur that these guy's play football as a job & dont take it as some sort of hierarchic that theyre god's gift to football.

Seen Neil Lennon four times in public life, spoke to him once... Very nervous and quiet when not bevvied, get's a bit swaggery when pished. When he was pished and I met him, he was with Hartson... Who to be honest was a really decent bloke off the pitch.

Met all the following and found them nice folk...

DeVries, Severin, Robbie, Csaba, Berger, Levein and ivanauskas.

Bumped in to Riordan once outside Tesco Corstorphine and once in Rose ST... Total khant both times.

Saw Burchil at the Gyle when I was a wee laddie and he played for Le Tim... Seemed to want everyone to recognise him and liked a wee swagger about.

Only one who ever came accross as a ****** was Ratboy tbh.

Is it even possible to form any sort of circle round Christian Nade?

Met most of the hearts team last season after a win against the hibs away at why not nightclub! Everyone of the team there were different class, Goncalves bought me a Jagerbomb. The Witt was there too and he was real sound was on rounds on him most of the night, remember us all including the players were singing hearts songs in the Vip area,

Stokes was there with his mates and he is a tosser who kept well away from everyone. Garry O'Conner was also there and he was chatting away and being very cival to everyone.

I have also met some of the Newcastle team, they were in Cav one sunday night for someones Stag do. I believe shearer is a member of a golf club near Gullane and that is why they were out o the sunday night in edinburgh

Seen Neil Lennon four times in public life, spoke to him once... Very nervous and quiet when not bevvied, get's a bit swaggery when pished. When he was pished and I met him, he was with Hartson... Who to be honest was a really decent bloke off the pitch.

Met all the following and found them nice folk...

DeVries, Severin, Robbie, Csaba, Berger, Levein and ivanauskas.

Bumped in to Riordan once outside Tesco Corstorphine and once in Rose ST... Total khant both times.

Saw Burchil at the Gyle when I was a wee laddie and he played for Le Tim... Seemed to want everyone to recognise him and liked a wee swagger about.

Only one who ever came accross as a ****** was Ratboy tbh.

I met rear end on George street once when I was steaming and once sober at casino playing poker. He seemed like a sound guy and was very quiet, his mates on the other hand.... tossers

I have good reason to dislike Lee Wallace, tbh, but he's a cracking player for Hearts, so...

I met Lee Wallace in the Casino a few weeks ago. I walked past him, then did a double take and said, "Here pal, do I know you?" and he said, "No."

Then I went "You're that Lee Wallace, aren't you?" and he said, "Aye."

So I said "I'm a big Hearts fan and I'm glad you're back in the squad, hope you have a great season." and he said, "Cheers."

Then we shook hands and I staggered back to the bird.

Spoke to a few players in nightclubs.

Gary O'Connor was a sound chap.

Berra likewise.

Obua and Driver also very friendly.

Spoke to Jamie Mole a while ago aswell whilst out, very sound lad, but bumped into him another time and he tried to pick a fight with my mate, then suddenly turned all nice, bought us a drink then buggered off :blink: as you do...

I met Lee Wallace in the Casino a few weeks ago. I walked past him, then did a double take and said, "Here pal, do I know you?" and he said, "No."

Then I went "You're that Lee Wallace, aren't you?" and he said, "Aye."

So I said "I'm a big Hearts fan and I'm glad you're back in the squad, hope you have a great season." and he said, "Cheers."

Then we shook hands and I staggered back to the bird.

That's a great story, Boomstick. :thumbsup:

Salvatore, Bruno and Rousset used to frequent a newsagents round the corner from my work as they sold international papers. All of them were absolute gents who would hang around and shoot the breeze with the Italian guy who owned it. Salvatore especially was a very nice guy. Alan Maybury was a very nice guy as well. But generally I don't believe you should meet your heroes.

When I was on was of those stadium tours as a kid, we bumped into Alex McDonald in the corridor. I was too nervous to ask for his autograph, but luckily my good old maw stepped in. So he took me into the managers office, sat me down and chatted about the team. I was a bit overawed by the whole thing so I didn't say much but it was an amazing experience. I've still got the autograph book (bought from the Hearts shop on Gorgie Road)and his is the first signature in it "ORRABEST Alex McDonald"

Robbo, John Millar and Tosh McKinlay are all sound blokes. Met Salvatori in Fingers once when I was reeking and, even though I'm sure I was a feckin nuisance he was great. Top bloke though goes to Scott Crabbe. Me and me brother in law were at an away game at Hamilton and he was on the terraces. He went to school with the B.I.L and came over and chatted to us for the whole game near enough. Went daft when we scored too. Top bloke. Hates Hibs :thumbsup:

It took me a few months of cyber-stalking, but I became best friends with Pinilla over Facebook. He confided in me during his time at the club and I really felt we had a great relationship. Then he upped and left without so much as a word.

Now I hate him.

It took me a few months of cyber-stalking, but I became best friends with Pinilla over Facebook. He confided in me during his time at the club and I really felt we had a great relationship. Then he upped and left without so much as a word.

Now I hate him.

So why was he out with a cracked finger nail for 6 months?

So why was he out with a craked finger nail for 6 month?

It was all a ruse. I had him locked in my basement.

Lee Wallace is a arrogant ned outside of football, most of his mates are pondlife!!

just goes to show how people see things differently, he presented flowers to a old friends widow in the summer and hung about for a while talking to the lads, he was chatty but a little shy and his girlfriend was very pretty, but I suppose you can only go by your own experiences, for instance I've met Robbo on more than one occasion and the " you should never meet your hero's" applies here with me.

I met rear end on George street once when I was steaming and once sober at casino playing poker. He seemed like a sound guy and was very quiet, his mates on the other hand.... tossers

If you want to assess the character of a man, look at his friends

bp

Matthew Le Tissier

Met suso up town last summer he was with his family. I went up to him and said loved the goal vs hobos he hugged me and said **** the hibs. Total class guy tbh

I met the French bloke that played for Hibs 2-3 years ago at a house party.

He seemed like a pretty nice bloke. 90% of the people there were Hearts fans and he took the ribbing in good humour.

Craig Herbertson

Alan Anderson in Contalmaison. Absolute gentleman.

I wonder what its like for the footballer though. You've had his poster on your wall, cheered him off the park and collected his bubblegum card when you were a wee kid, whereas he's just met some stranger who is about to churn out statements that he's probably heard a million times before. I suppose it often depends on the situation. If he's handing out strips at a charity event he could behave like a top bloke but If he's just lost his weeks wage at the bookies he might appear to be a wee bit surly.

johnnycummings

Been a member for some time but never posted.

I was interested to read the post about Jimmy Millar and Duke's Head.

I remember playing against him as a 17 year old in the welfare league.

Quick report goes as follows - kick off taken, ball pushed wide left to me, Jimmy Millar approaches, I nutmeg him smiling. 2 minutes later ball pushed wide to me, Jimmy Millar approaches, I get an almighty clatter and do 3 somersaults before landing in a heap wondering what the **** happened. Team mates defend me and tell him "Lay off Jimmy, he's just a laddie of 17" to which he replies "if he's good enough, he's feckin old enough"

Lesson learned, dinny nutmeg an old pro and make an arse of him.

I've met loads of players past and present, only one that left a bad taste was Henry Smith, full of himself, lazy bazza when he worked in The Diggers too.

jt

Kenny Black,sound guy.

Henry Smith,good company.

Stevie Frail,another good guy.

Brian Gallagher ex Killie and St Mirren,great guy,laugh a minute.

Chic Charnley,as above.

Kevin McAllister ex Falkirk,good guy.

In the same class at school as Gary Gillespie,another good guy.

That's a great story, Boomstick. :thumbsup:

I know, right?

I've been dying to tell everyone for ages but didn't know how to slip it in.

I've also met Robbo a couple of times really nice guy. Dave Mackay is also really good. I also met JJ a couple of times he's really friendly.

I met but didn't really say more than "hi" to Andy Driver and Csaba, although Csaba gave me a hug...it was odd, I said hi and he hugged me.

Michael Stewart was an absolute gentleman when I met him too.

And Ruben Palazuelos.

And Ismael Bouzid

Right, that's me decided, I've got to stop stalking the Hearts squad...

mulleted_jambo

Met Zal & Novi on saturday night. I'm not really one for going up and talking to footballers but.. :thumbsup: .

As I went past I congratulated Zal on his winning goal that day. Novi immediatly started ripping into him saying it was a s*** goal and that he was rubbish. Zal gave him a few friendly punches and I wandered off.

Met suso up town last summer he was with his family. I went up to him and said loved the goal vs hobos he hugged me and said **** the hibs. Total class guy tbh

Didn't think his arms were that long huh.gif

Met Marvin Andrews (remember him?) at a flat party when I was at uni. Some tidy bursd knew Marvin from somewhere.

Possibly the nicest guy you will ever meet. I even questioned him on that "tackle" that he did on Roman Bednar in 2005 when he played for Rangers (if anyone can remember that challenge). He said he didn't mean it and was generally apologetic about it. Any other footballer would probably taken it the wrong way and went in a huff :rolleyes:

I've met Neil Lennon a few times in the past and as much as it pains me to say, he is a nice guy. Martin O'Neill was a complete gentleman as well.

Henrik Larsson on the other hand was just rude :yucky:

Special Agent Dale Cooper

Work in a shop in Bearsden; basically the OF stomping ground. Have met the following. Tony Mowbray: quiet but affable. Peter Grant: polite and keen to chat. Billy Stark: arrogant, billy big boots. Neil Alexander: fairly quiet but a good guy. Steven Davis: really sound and down to earth. Andy Webster: OK I suppose, has more credit cards than I could imagine possible. And last but not least Kyle Lafferty: the most rude, disrespectful scrotum I've had the displeasure of serving

Met most of the hearts team last season after a win against the hibs away at why not nightclub! Everyone of the team there were different class, Goncalves bought me a Jagerbomb. The Witt was there too and he was real sound was on rounds on him most of the night, remember us all including the players were singing hearts songs in the Vip area,

Stokes was there with his mates and he is a tosser who kept well away from everyone. Garry O'Conner was also there and he was chatting away and being very cival to everyone.

I have also met some of the Newcastle team, they were in Cav one sunday night for someones Stag do. I believe shearer is a member of a golf club near Gullane and that is why they were out o the sunday night in edinburgh

yeah he is a member archerfield( in DIRLETON :whistling: ) as is freddy shepherd and gary liniker. I have been told they like their girls if you know what i mean :whistling: Dont know much about shepherd or shearer but i often see linikers helicopter when the brittish open is in scotland as he will stay at archerfield. He is seemingly a bellend and ignores anyone who he does not see as being important but i have never met the guy :thumbsup: However I have met rio ferdinand who was a top bloke, and my dad has met sir alex who was another top bloke and seemed to actually care what was happening at HMFC :thumbsup:

I met Dave Mackay in the 80's at Musselburgh races.

He was a total gentleman and had loads of time for me despite me gushing all over him like a Take That fan. Talk about over-awed. :o

Tell you what though, he HATES that iconic photo of him and Bremner.

Met most of the 2006 team at the POTY dinner. They all seemed sound but I was steaming so I'm possibly not the best judge. I do remember the friendliest one out the lot of them being Andy Webster though. :ninja:

RE: Lennon...I've never met him but a good mate of mine has and said he was charm personified. :o

Met squad couple o years ago doing rounds @ sick kids very day of Hartleys meeting fyssas mccann miko concalves zaliukas and Gordon chatted for ages Craigs a total gent very diplomatic didn't say a bad word bout vlad etc

used to pick up riccardo fuller alot when driving the taxis very sound guy always offered me tickets

grant brebner total and utter knob off a guy

clum very quite and polite

When I was in college I became friendly with girl in the class. one night i was invited to her house for tea - almost fell over when her dad came into the dining room - it was gilles rousset.

He found my staring and complete disbelief very funny and laughed. Lawrie told him I was a hearts fan and he said "ahh maybe you can bring my daughter to watch me" to which I replied "yes of course sir.......rousset......mr rousset" again he was laughing "call me gilles" - I will never forget that 1st meeting or the many hospitality tickets he gave us!!

I have met Robbo many times - stalked him a bit - love him, nicest guy you could ever meet

On my hen night, a bit worse for wear I had to fulfill this dare sheet that the girls had arranged - one dare was to collect signatures on my top - as we were leaving the club i got a policeman to give me his autograph, turned round and bumped into this guy, he apologised so I asked him to make it up to me by signing my top which he did and walked away. he policeman then said to me "do you know who that is" turns out it was Robinho