The HUNS - pride of Britain - its all relative

VeraNT

I see where your coming from but the Rangers fans i know take great delight in correcting or pointing out several meanings to the term "Huns" that totally sways the term to their opposite's in Glasgow which in turn, turns the tormentor into a "fool". (friends words not mine)

In all my days of following Hearts i have NEVER heard the majority refer to Rangers as "The Huns" it was only celtic and hibs fans who said it but that doesn't mean you are not allowed, it's your call.

I used to laugh when an old friend of mine used to moan after a Hibs Rangers/Hearts game, he was forever being called a Fenian Ba$ tu rD, pity the people who were doing it didn't know what Lodge he was in:)

• Replies 276
which it seams that the leguslatuin doesnt seam to be working !!!!

my defence is that this thread started about showing that a scottish/brittish club is the pride of britian out of the brittish clubs in the uefa cup then people started bringing the scottish/brittish club down with the usuall way they do when we show support to one of the auld firm (not that i would show the same support for celtic) because they dont care about scotland or britain

Rangers fans do.

You are having a laugh.

Is that my some of the morons wear English tops?

There is a phrase that some old firm fans use that I think is quite fitting. They talk of the "Espanyolification" of Rangers. There was a time where the city rivals of Barcalona and Espanyol were on a par with each other, there was a fierce rivalry and both were big clubs in their own right. Over time Barca grew to be an absolute giant and Espanyol were left behind - just another team making up the numbers and now of no particular interest to the Barcalona support.

could this happen with Rangers and Celtic?

That's an interesting point.

I assume you're thinking of Celtic in the Barcelona role.

However, they are perceived as a Catalan club for all shades of political opinion.

I'm not sure we;re at a stage, despite the best efforts of Celtic's apologists, that a club that is at the very least Irish influenced would be the standard bearers for Glasgow/ Scotland.

With a more Scottish influence, and there are signs of that over the last few years (in fact you could argue the English flag/ tops era was a bit of an aberration), Rangers might take that role.

I see where your coming from but the Rangers fans i know take great delight in correcting or pointing out several meanings to the term "Huns" that totally sways the term to their opposite's in Glasgow which in turn, turns the tormentor into a "fool". (friends words not mine)

In all my days of following Hearts i have NEVER heard the majority refer to Rangers as "The Huns" it was only celtic and hibs fans who said it but that doesn't mean you are not allowed, it's your call.

I used to laugh when an old friend of mine used to moan after a Hibs Rangers/Hearts game, he was forever being called a Fenian Ba$ tu rD, pity the people who were doing it didn't know what Lodge he was in:)

I see where you're coming from with the first part but IMO, the fact that any unwashed hunbrox nazi felt the need to explain the origins of the word hun to me would be good enough for me.

If they weren't wound up about it they wouldn't feel compelled to explain it. And i've got plenty more in my locker when it comes to making any OF bigot look foolish.

Re calling them huns in the first place, i only really started doing so once i realised it wound them up. See the constant quoting of NBM for reference. I prefer to use the term nazi nowadays, the effect is more profound.

Re your last part, i was recently told that the high heid yin of Edinburgh's biggest orange lodge was a Hearts fan. And his second in command was a hibs supporter. Doesn't mean anything of course, i just thought it was slightly interesting.

There is a phrase that some old firm fans use that I think is quite fitting. They talk of the "Espanyolification" of Rangers. There was a time where the city rivals of Barcalona and Espanyol were on a par with each other, there was a fierce rivalry and both were big clubs in their own right. Over time Barca grew to be an absolute giant and Espanyol were left behind - just another team making up the numbers and now of no particular interest to the Barcalona support.

could this happen with Rangers and Celtic?

eventually if they dont break out off the bitter mold

That's an interesting point.

I assume you're thinking of Celtic in the Barcelona role.

However, they are perceived as a Catalan club for all shades of political opinion.

I'm not sure we;re at a stage, despite the best efforts of Celtic's apologists, that a club that is at the very least Irish influenced would be the standard bearers for Glasgow/ Scotland.

With a more Scottish influence, and there are signs of that over the last few years (in fact you could argue the English flag/ tops era was a bit of an aberration), Rangers might take that role.

interesting you think that i was more inclined to say hearts can take that role we have in recent years become the big scottish club and as the capital club without the baggage and hate of ireland could expand in that direction im fairly sure that is the clubs long term goal

I see that argument.

I was commenting specifically on the comparison between Rangers/ Celtic and Barcelona/ Espanyol.

I've seen a few articles suggesting that Celtic are/ could become a worldwide brand marketing to the Irish diaspora while Rangers are wee men in crimpolene suits marching through Bridgeton and Belfast.

I don't think it's as simple as that.

While I'd love to see Hearts become the biggest club I'm not sure it's realistic given the base they're starting from.

Arguably Aberdeen moved towards this in the 80s and you see the remnants of it in the support they now have in the Central Belt.

IMO it would take years of sustained success to start bridging the gap.

A relatively bad year for Hearts is liable to see the new support drift to, probably, Rangers.

I see that argument.

I was commenting specifically on the comparison between Rangers/ Celtic and Barcelona/ Espanyol.

I've seen a few articles suggesting that Celtic are/ could become a worldwide brand marketing to the Irish diaspora while Rangers are wee men in crimpolene suits marching through Bridgeton and Belfast.

I don't think it's as simple as that.

While I'd love to see Hearts become the biggest club I'm not sure it's realistic given the base they're starting from.

Arguably Aberdeen moved towards this in the 80s and you see the remnants of it in the support they now have in the Central Belt.

IMO it would take years of sustained success to start bridging the gap.

A relatively bad year for Hearts is liable to see the new support drift to, probably, Rangers.

while your quite correct re the bit in bold being a massive oversimplification, it does potentially hold true.

i shudder to think what would happen to the Celtic income and fan base if they were allowed into the EPL they would go nuclear right to the top I'm afraid where as the gers would only get a bump in tv money and heres the thing sweeping statement perhapes but i swear i believe it to be true and i often tell my hun mates when there ranting on about the EPL . in the epl rangers and celtic will lose games and the huns don't like losing games there the biggest glory hunters in the spl and i think that a bad run would see some empty stands at ibrox

as to hearts i can see real growth once we have more seats available based on the scottish/capital/heart and soul thing we have going on as long as romanov does not screw it up royally

I have a daughter, A partner, a well paid job and a mortgage.

As much as this country has provided me with this, i still think it's a horrible place to live.

Before I pack my bags I'll be sure and notify you.

Don't bother, I couldn't care less.

If and when Northern Ireland votes to re-unite with the South I suppose that means the term UK disappears. :)

mental i was just wondering the same thing would they rename it great britain or just britain it cant be united kingdom as scotland and wales and england were already great britain but i think in this age they would not call it great we are to mousey these days ;);););)

I have never tried the Buckie but Cosa says it's an amazing buzz 'big man goan yersel'.

For this reason alone, I have been tempted to buy some. However, to me, it holds a greater taboo than going up to the counter to purchase a porn mag.

Is the 'buzz' really that good?

It's an unusual feeling, not like being drunk.

Never actually purchased a stroke mag though. Not much point when we have the internet.

Was it chilled?

Nothing worse than warm Buckfast imo.

Remember skulling 3 bottles on route to Easter rd from Dalkeith a couple of years back.

It has a bad name but there are worse drinks out there.

Mon the monks. ;)

Has to be chilled or it is gross beyond belief.

The monks do a fine job.

Whiskey and wine in the same bottle????

That sounds vomit inducingly bad.

Got it in one! :boak:

CompleteIdiot
total bull**** you are criticizing people about bigotry when your a anti semitic zealot which lets face it is the new age acceptable bigotry isn't it try reading a real book on the subject rather than one that start with "the Zionist conspiracy to take over the world"

Zionism was supported by the German SS and Gestapo. Hitler himself personally supported Zionism. During the 1930?s, in cooperation with the German authorities, Zionist groups organized a network of some 40 camps throughout Germany where prospective settlers were trained for their new lives in Palestine. As late as 1942 Zionists operated at least one of these officially authorized ?Kibbutz? training camps over which flew the blue and white banner which would one day be adopted as the national flag of ?Israel?.

http://www.jewsagainstzionism.com/antisemitism/nazisupport.cfm

Are the Jewish people that wrote that 'anti-semitic'?

IIRC correctly the term 'hun'has nothing to do with Atilla or the Germans. In Noirn Irelnad 'Hun'is a derogatory term for a Protestant.

I am an atheist but i regularly use the word 'Hun' in relation to the Sons of William simply because I know it causes offence.

As for ever congratulating either of the OF for their success past or present in Europe : in the words of my old boss 'I'd rather stick my **** in a liquidiser'.

The blatant manipulation of the Sellick PR machine in seeing a SCOTTISH club representing SCOTLAND in Europe by having an Irish flag is beyond belief.

And for the other half with their UJs and Star of David flags : it's like a bad comedy sketch that shames our nation.

Welcome to Scotland : keeping sectarianism alive for 400 years.

There was a great article in the Gruniaud today about the death of Paisley (the guy , not the town unfortunately) which quoted Connor Cruise O'Brien and his observation about NI chosing to align itself politically on religious grounds : it was/is doomed to fail. And yet Scotland is totally dominated in sporting terms along the same lines. Yep, sectarianism pays in footballing terms. And all of Scotland is the poorer for it.

The term "Hun" has been also used to describe peoples with no historical connection to what scholars consider to be "Huns".

Again from Wikipedia:-

"On July 27, 1900, during the Boxer Rebellion in China, Kaiser Wilhelm II of Germany gave the order to "make the name 'German' remembered in China for a thousand years, so that no Chinaman will ever again dare to even squint at a German". This speech, wherein Kaiser Wilhelm invoked the memory of the 5th-century Huns, coupled with the Pickelhaube or spiked helmet worn by German forces until 1916, that was reminiscent of ancient Hun (and Hungarian) helmets, gave rise to later English use of the term for the German enemy during World War I. This usage was reinforced by Allied propaganda throughout the war, and many pilots of the RFC referred to their foe as "The Hun". The usage resurfaced during World War II."

Of course Wikipedia is not a strictly academic encyclopedia in that anyone can contribute to it so there's no guarantee as to accuracy.

i live in belfast and was walking through a well known loyalist/unionist/protestant area called Sandy Row, it's close to the Europa Hotel. whilst walking through i noticed swasticas graffitied all over the walls.

i think that tells you something about the so called red hand salute.

a pic of the entrance to Sandy Row, Belfast.

375925-Sandy-Row-of-Belfast-1.jpg

http://www.jewsagainstzionism.com/antisemitism/nazisupport.cfm

Are the Jewish people that wrote that 'anti-semitic'?

oh wow a google search for something to back up your crazy beliefs

heress one it took me 2 seconds to find

http://www.zionism-israel.com/his/jewish_anti_zionism.htm

thing is mate your talking tosh the primary supplier off weapons to the jews were jews IN AMERICA and drum role the uk the jewish brigade of 30 000 Palestinian jews signed up and fought for the uk during the war and made up a huge part of the terrorist forces that later amalgamated into the IDF have you never wondered how the idf was forged and so effectively won a war in a matter off weeks agaist hugely superior forces it was cause they were Sargent majored up to the gunells with ww2 british forces as well as peace time jewish police and security forces (british trained and armed )

to try to clam that there was a major nazi part played is a obscenity to the millions off people who died under a jackboot

you really need to get a perspective on Israeli history and not this new age elders of zion pish that you seem obsessed with

i live in belfast and was walking through a well known loyalist/unionist/protestant area called Sandy Row, it's close to the Europa Hotel. whilst walking through i noticed swasticas graffitied all over the walls.

i think that tells you something about the so called red hand salute.

a pic of the entrance to Sandy Row, Belfast.

375925-Sandy-Row-of-Belfast-1.jpg

Total tosh. :rolleyes: