The HUNS - pride of Britain - its all relative

VeraNT

one more thing - I've actually just read the OP as I was wondering what this thread was actually meant to be about. It's a genius bit of logic really - nice work vera - sorry bout the hijack but if you mention Rangers or Celtic this always happens.

• Replies 276
Speak fir yersel likes. ;)

I was. I consider myself most entertaining. ;)

that is the worst point ever

Well at least I spelt it correctly. That gives me at least one point over you.

CompleteIdiot
I was. I consider myself mostly entertaining. ;)

The Internet: Acting as a virtual barrier for bottles and rotten fruit against public speakers since the early 90s. :biggrin:

one more thing - I've actually just read the OP as I was wondering what this thread was actually meant to be about. It's a genius bit of logic really - nice work vera - sorry bout the hijack but if you mention Rangers or Celtic this always happens.

your right if you dont talk about hearts and hearts only or if you have any of the same beliefs as any of the alud firm you are no longer a hearts fan you are either a rangers or celtic fan

The Internet: Acting as a virtual barrier for bottles and rotten fruit against public speakers since the early 90s. :biggrin:

and for that we are all very grateful I'm sure :biggrin:

your right if you dont talk about hearts and hearts only or if you have any of the same beliefs as any of the alud firm you are no longer a hearts fan you are either a rangers or celtic fan

I don't think I said that?

Well at least I spelt it correctly. That gives me at least one point over you.

ha ha i will give you that but i have drank a wee bit over the leagle limit :P

CompleteIdiot
ha ha i will give you that but i have drank a wee bit over the leagle limit :P

Lay off the Buckie!

those dastardly monks and their brain melting juice! :mad:

Lay off the Buckie!

funny you should mention buckie i have actually had a bottle and it was great

I am gobsmacked.

CompleteIdiot
those dastardly monks and their brain melting juice! :mad:

I have never tried the Buckie but Cosa says it's an amazing buzz 'big man goan yersel'.

For this reason alone, I have been tempted to buy some. However, to me, it holds a greater taboo than going up to the counter to purchase a porn mag.

Is the 'buzz' really that good?

I have never tried the Buckie but Cosa says it's an amazing buzz 'big man goan yersel'.

For this reason alone, I have been tempted to buy some. However, to me, it holds a greater taboo than going up to the counter to purchase a porn mag.

Is the 'buzz' really that good?

I can honestly say I've never had a drop of Buckfast. I don't think I'm missing much.

Dirk Diggler

Was it chilled?

Nothing worse than warm Buckfast imo.

Remember skulling 3 bottles on route to Easter rd from Dalkeith a couple of years back.

It has a bad name but there are worse drinks out there.

Mon the monks. ;)

I can honestly say I've never had a drop of Buckfast. I don't think I'm missing much.

it is fantastic lads i am 25 and i have never had a drink that is better i think everyone should try it saying that i stay in the west

no because they are playing for hearts

a queation for you would you get upset if a st georges cross ,red hand or a uj got flown at tynecastle

Opening part of my post answers that.

Bigger question - Rangers and Celtic have had players of a different nationality/persuasion and have never changed. IE Scottish,English,Irish,Welsh,religious and have only shown colours in what they believe in. Do you think that is proper way to go?

Was it chilled?

Nothing worse than warm Buckfast imo.

Remember skulling 3 bottles on route to Easter rd from Dalkeith a couple of years back.

It has a bad name but there are worse drinks out there.

Mon the monks. ;)

it was chilled mate can you remember any of the game ?

Dirk Diggler

Benylin with a buzz.

Before you leave this planet, i recommend you try it.

Dirk Diggler
it was chilled mate can you remember any of the game ?

Aye.

We drew 1-1.

Mowbray was in charge for the Hobos. Robbo for Hearts.

Hellish hangover.

CompleteIdiot

When I was 15/16 the get smashed drink was Thunderbird. Even then, I tended to buy Voddie and I am sure Glen's was called Grant's vodka then. Looking back, what a laugh.

indeed. cheep cider was the drink of choice with folks back in my youth - thunderbird, blue ocean, white lightning, electric white - anything with a really stupid name.

CompleteIdiot
it is fantastic lads i am 25 and i have never had a drink that is better i think everyone should try it saying that i stay in the west

You stay in the West? Wow! I never would have guessed.

It's like revelation after revelation with you. I am shocked to the core. All my stereotypes of Strathclyders are being blown apart by you.

it was grants back then its only just changed because of grants whiskey complainig of naming rights

CompleteIdiot
indeed. cheep cider was the drink of choice with folks back in my youth, thunderbird, blue ocean, white lightning, electric white - anything with a really stupid name.

Diamond White.

You stay in the West? Wow! I never would have guessed.

It's like revelation after revelation with you. I am shocked to the core. All my stereotypes of Strathclyders are being blown apart by you.

lol i stay in prestwick and travel on the west of scotland hearts bus (not everyone has the same vies as me )

dont tell me all your sterotypes of the west are bukie drinking bigots ;)

Diamond White.

from rangers to cheep cider in a few easy steps. :D

I'm addicted to this thread - I can't seem to stop posting crap on it.

omega , carbon white was a stinking cheap cider

lol.

you going to answer my question first

i think they should fly the coulors of every nationalty that they have playig for them which we did a few year ago

another queation for you why when we had the flag days at tyncastle where was the uj st georges flag

Already answered that question!

Bigger questoin for you (might be hard if you've been on the buckie)

Why do you only mention 2 flags?

I always preferred K cider in those days.

that stuff is rocket fuel it comes in a black can

one of the worst drinks i have ever tried is md 20/20

CompleteIdiot
lol i stay in prestwick and travel on the west of scotland hearts bus (not everyone has the same vies as me )

dont tell me all your sterotypes of the west are bukie drinking bigots ;)

To think the CIA were practicing the illegal rendition of bigoted people that supported terrorism from Prestwick. I suppose Americans don't do irony.

Already answered that question!

Bigger questoin for you (might be hard if you've been on the buckie)

Why do you only mention 2 flags?

it was a number 10 bottle of buckie

what the american flag i like the stars on it what about the greek flag

To think the CIA were practicing the illegal rendition of bigoted people that supported terrorism from Prestwick. I suppose Americans don't do irony.

no they dont the air rade sirens have just went off

an interesting paragraph.

Why do you think the long term future of Northern Ireland will have a significant effect on Rangers FC? I fail to see what would change if a united Ireland came about. The Rangers fans would still retain their "British" sense of identity, and some fans would still retain a Loyalist (with regards to NI) view point. Would this not be comparable with the historic, and current, position of the Celtic support in that they are largely Republican in the context of a Unionist majority(and British rule) in Northern Ireland. This has not been an unsustainable position for Celtic(in fact, some would argue it sustained them!) and I fail to see how the other side of the coin would be less sustainable for Rangers.

It might cause the Rangers support to move their focus away from Irish politics - but the main thing they identify with politically - their Britishness - will always be a sustainable position, only Scottish independence would fully scupper that!

Anyway, I think you overstate the speed at which a united Ireland will come about. I think it will definitely happen one day but think things will move a bit slower - I also think that when it does it will probably have more to do with the EU than anything else.

I'm conscious that this thread has moved on (or rather, meandered about all over the place!) since I last logged on in the early hours of yesterday, but to answer your question: you're quite right that Rangers would maintain a loyalist identity. But the problem they'll find, and are already finding, is it will inevitably attract less and less sympathy, which is bound to impact on sponsorship deals, rich benefactors being prepared to take them over, and so on.

Celtic have been able to justify their stance for many decades by arguing that Catholics were being discriminated against in Ulster and indeed Scotland: whether you agreed with it or not, they had a cause, and wanted change. But Rangers will look ever more antiquated and reactionary if they maintain their view, even after a united Ireland came into being (which incidentally, I agree won't happen quickly, and there's always the chance that a decent proportion in the south actually won't want all the hassle of uniting anyway). For Rangers to be successful, they have to be relevant to today and tomorrow's generations - but times are changing, and I don't see how they'll be able to change with them.

In sum, my thesis is that Celtic will actually have less and less reason to behave in a sectarian way, so will be able to focus on more positive aspects of their heritage and what they stand for... but Rangers are a different story entirely. The worst case scenario is they end up merely as a repository for fascists, skinheads and assorted lowlifes, who'll keep pouring out their filth until the day they die; but that any more common purpose and identity is lost. Indeed, it's when people feel they're losing their identity that trouble tends to result.

Lastly, on Scottish independence: years ago in a class at uni, I expressed my prediction of the massive upheaval I believe Britain is set for during the twenty-first century. At some point over the next hundred years, I expect Ireland to be united, Scotland to become independent... and eventually, what we now know as Britain to end up as merely the Republic of England and Wales. Tell you something: if all that comes to pass, JKB could be an interesting place to check out over the next few decades! :)

it was a number 10 bottle of buckie

what the american flag i like the stars on it what about the greek flag

Being a whisky drinker i wouldn't know what a #10 bottle is!

The other flags you mention or any other flags you mention does nothing to me! Imo there is too much persuasion/opinion put on the flying of flags at football grounds. I simply don't see the problem unless it's made into a banner that says the wrong thing. But then it becomes a banner!!!!!

hobo

I'm conscious that this thread has moved on (or rather, meandered about all over the place!) since I last logged on in the early hours of yesterday, but to answer your question: you're quite right that Rangers would maintain a loyalist identity. But the problem they'll find, and are already finding, is it will inevitably attract less and less sympathy, which is bound to impact on sponsorship deals, rich benefactors being prepared to take them over, and so on.

Celtic have been able to justify their stance for many decades by arguing that Catholics were being discriminated against in Ulster and indeed Scotland: whether you agreed with it or not, they had a cause, and wanted change. But Rangers will look ever more antiquated and reactionary if they maintain their view, even after a united Ireland came into being (which incidentally, I agree won't happen quickly, and there's always the chance that a decent proportion in the south actually won't want all the hassle of uniting anyway). For Rangers to be successful, they have to be relevant to today and tomorrow's generations - but times are changing, and I don't see how they'll be able to change with them.

In sum, my thesis is that Celtic will actually have less and less reason to behave in a sectarian way, so will be able to focus on more positive aspects of their heritage and what they stand for... but Rangers are a different story entirely. The worst case scenario is they end up merely as a repository for fascists, skinheads and assorted lowlifes, who'll keep pouring out their filth until the day they die; but that any more common purpose and identity is lost. Indeed, it's when people feel they're losing their identity that trouble tends to result.

Lastly, on Scottish independence: years ago in a class at uni, I expressed my prediction of the massive upheaval I believe Britain is set for during the twenty-first century. At some point over the next hundred years, I expect Ireland to be united, Scotland to become independent... and eventually, what we now know as Britain to end up as merely the Republic of England and Wales. Tell you something: if all that comes to pass, JKB could be an interesting place to check out over the next few decades! :)

good post, and I'd pretty much agree with everything you have said there. Which is just as well, because I wouldn't be bothered with a well thought out response when the topic of cheap cider is so much more appealing :biggrin:

I can definitely see what you describe in your last paragraph happening - this seems to be the way the EU want it - and I think they'll get their way eventually.

I'm guessing you are about the same age as me.

I was at school during 9 in a row, Gazza, Laudrup, McCoist, Hateley, Durie always scoring against us, Gough, Goram, Rousset's cup final blunder and Rangers throwing about money like confetti on guys like Kanchelskis, Porrini, Amoruso, Prodan, Rozenthal, Guivarc'h and Negri. It was horrible seeing so many glory hunters who never even went to games and were not even from Glasgow claiming to be Huns and ripping the **** out of me after every 4-0 pummelling they gave us at Tynie. The arrogance and hatred that oozed from their fans appalled me and that's why i find it hard to give them any respect.

That's what made 98' cup final so special for me. After the 2 cup final defeats, we final beat the dark side of the force with all of their golden boys and their manager saying their farewells with the bitter taste of defeat in their Hun mouths. I was delighted when Wim Jansen and Celtic won the league and we won the cup and the Huns won **** all. I have always likened the Huns to the evil empire in Star Wars and probably always will. They truly are the dark side of the force. :P

Cheers for that, cosa. And you're quite right: there's no doubt that my depressing experience of Rangers' total dominance during the 90s played a big part in the opinions I hold now. At the time, it was staggering how far they were ahead of Celtic on and off the field, and they were quite obviously the bigger club too. Now, it's all turned around, and I'd argue Celtic are now bigger and have considerably more potential, whatever might happen in one particular season like this one.

I share your experience of what Rangers fans can be like too. I do have one good mate who's a Gers fan (West Ham are his English club), but the stuff he used to come out with a few years back... He's grown up since, and is actually embarrassed by many of the opinions he held back then: which tells me an awful lot, frankly.

Now, it's all turned around, and I'd argue Celtic are now bigger and have considerably more potential.

There is a phrase that some old firm fans use that I think is quite fitting. They talk of the "Espanyolification" of Rangers. There was a time where the city rivals of Barcalona and Espanyol were on a par with each other, there was a fierce rivalry and both were big clubs in their own right. Over time Barca grew to be an absolute giant and Espanyol were left behind - just another team making up the numbers and now of no particular interest to the Barcalona support.

could this happen with Rangers and Celtic?

There is a phrase that some old firm fans use that I think is quite fitting. They talk of the "Espanyolification" of Rangers. There was a time where the city rivals of Barcalona and Espanyol were on a par with each other, there was a fierce rivalry and both were big clubs in their own right. Over time Barca grew to be an absolute giant and Espanyol were left behind - just another team making up the numbers and now of no particular interest to the Barcalona support.

could this happen with Rangers and Celtic?

Not to the same extent - but definitely to a degree, I believe. Bear in mind though that any such phenomenon isn't likely to manifest itself through Celtic just winning title after endless title: because of all Europe's leagues being dominated by the same few clubs, and the CL now a virtual cartel of the wealthy too, I think a European Super League is an absolute certainty to come about, probably within the next decade. So what we might see is Celtic holding their own within a Super League Premier, but Rangers falling behind them, and ending up in Super League One or Two.

Great Britain isn't a country. It's the biggest island in the group of islands that constitute the country called the United Kingdom.

Northern Ireland is part of the UK, but not part of Great Britain.

Just in case anyone questions you, like.:)

i was aware off that NEVER THE LESS still the best place in the world

That's very small minded. There's a picture earlier in the thread with Rangers fans with an Israeli flag. Zionists committed massive amounts of terrorism against British soldiers in Palestine to secure a Zionist Israeli state. These Zionist terrorists were armed and funded by no less than Hitler's Germany.

These short sighted arguments you are making really make no sense. You need to educate yourself rather than concentrate on local differences.

total bull**** you are criticizing people about bigotry when your a anti semitic zealot which lets face it is the new age acceptable bigotry isn't it try reading a real book on the subject rather than one that start with "the Zionist conspiracy to take over the world"

i was aware off that NEVER THE LESS still the best place in the world

Especially if you live in Scotland and not England.

Who cares where it derives from? Who cares who were labelled as huns first? Who cares if it is clear cut or not?

All that matters is that it winds up those unwashed nazi bigot's. ;)

I see where your coming from but the Rangers fans i know take great delight in correcting or pointing out several meanings to the term "Huns" that totally sways the term to their opposite's in Glasgow which in turn, turns the tormentor into a "fool". (friends words not mine)

In all my days of following Hearts i have NEVER heard the majority refer to Rangers as "The Huns" it was only celtic and hibs fans who said it but that doesn't mean you are not allowed, it's your call.

I used to laugh when an old friend of mine used to moan after a Hibs Rangers/Hearts game, he was forever being called a Fenian Ba$ tu rD, pity the people who were doing it didn't know what Lodge he was in:)

which it seams that the leguslatuin doesnt seam to be working !!!!

my defence is that this thread started about showing that a scottish/brittish club is the pride of britian out of the brittish clubs in the uefa cup then people started bringing the scottish/brittish club down with the usuall way they do when we show support to one of the auld firm (not that i would show the same support for celtic) because they dont care about scotland or britain

how pished were you when you wrote that :welldone::welldone::welldone:

i really have to have a chat with you about your politics BTW :rolleyes:

The Huns were an early confederation of Central Asian equestrian nomads or semi-nomads,[1] most likely with a Turkic aristocracy.[2][3][4][5][6] Some of these Eurasian tribes moved into Europe in the 4th and 5th centuries, most famously under Attila the Hun.

Hey - if you have questions, check out wikipedia.

Cheers for that, so the term goes back even further than the Great and the 2nd World War's?

Even more reason for the term NOT to be labeled onto the Rangers fans but hey who am i to defend the undefendable;)

PS Cheers for looking up wikipedia:welldone: