The Kickback Diaries - A History of Jambos Kickback

scott_jambo

That was it.

It was actually me that named it that in the morning. :biggrin:

Might be the same thread but i remember John Finlay getting barred along with a lot of younger posters.:biggrin:

I have started to like the threads that slate our postal service.Brilliant how all the posties come out at once.If only they could deliver the mail as quickly as they seem to pick up on a thread on kickback.

Edited by benny

• Replies 601

• Chad Sexington

• Gregory House M.D.

• Dusk_Till_Dawn

• Johanes de Silentio

Might be the same thread but i remember John Finlay getting barred along with a lot of younger posters.:biggrin:

It was a free for all. The cyber equivalent of a wild west, bar room brawl. :biggrin:

I'm pretty sure that when he made his grand it's-a-fair-cop-guv statement that he said he felt unable to return to Tynecastle and would be handing his ST to a charity. IIRC, a few folk tried to find out if he'd ever actually gone through with it but I don't think he did. Perhaps he did eventually give it to someone on the WoSH bus as GK mentioned.

My memory is pretty rotten but I think I also remember someone finding him having a right old laugh about the whole episode on the TAMB message boards some months after the original incident had ended which opened up a bit of a JKB v TAMB argy bargy for a day or two. Seems they were a tad more forgiving than us....

Here's Craig's long-winded apology ...... found it on an old BIM thread ... cut n pasted off Kickback at the time ..... looks like the lad was still good for a story after the event :biggrin::biggrin:

http://www.boysinmaroon.com/forums/index.php?showforum=2

Sunday 1st July, 2007.

This is the easiest thing I have had to write, however please bare with me

throughout this as I feel the need to give an explanation around my actions.

After speaking with my mother, I have been told to write this as I was

trying to ignore it and hoping it would go away. It was also bringing the

club "WoSH" into disrepute.

Firstly let me say thanks to troonjambo, Flogel_No_7, Jamboross98 and the

other WoSH boys, over this past season your friendship has meant the world

to me, and I have abused your trust in me. If a man can count the meaning of

his life in the strength of his friendships then I was a lucky man indeed.

In late 2004 I was diagnosed with mumps, this later developed into a pretty

serious case of chronic epididymal orchitis/epididymitis. This caused

depression and led me to believe I was dying of testicular cancer. I kept

getting cysts on my testicles, which made me believe cancer. To use a

cliche, I was in a dark place.

Due to this I went into a shell, and began to lead my life online, create an

online personality to escape reality. There is nothing wrong with that

(normally) as I am sure we will all do that from time to time, however

because of my illness I felt the need to live out a life online as I didn't

believe I'd get to live my own.

Most of the stuff I wrote about was true to a certain extent, I was studying

four subjects pretty indepth before I became ill. I was a boxer before I

stopped going to the gym due to my illness, with my weight ballooning. I was

also dating an Indian girl called Sabina, the "kids" though was more my hope

for the future more than anything else. Coming from a big family I always

wanted a big family, however even now that is never going to happen as the

above condition has lowered my sperm count to almost zero. As it is chronic,

and the fact that the scar tissues cause pain the only "cure" is to remove

the epididymus or remove the *beep*, hence why I was reading up on

prosthetic testicles (right one is being removed in the near future per my

discussions with my urologist). And of course the "earthquake" incident, my

girlfriends family were caught up in it at the time. I am also a believer,

although what I have done may not suggest as such. As I said, most of the

stuff I wrote was "based on fact" (including the lung nodule which turned

out not to be serious).

I built up some good friendships online under my previous names, and this

was partly why I did what I did next. After speaking with my Doctor and

telling him about my escapism he told me to kill it as it probably added to

my depression, I hasten to add I took his words too literally. I killed off

my online persona as it coincided with the death of an uncle (Rodger),

however as I was a TA footsoldier, and a Hearts fan I had to reregister, to

keep up to date with the WoSH as it was our debut year.

This part of my life is one I wanted to forget, and unfortunately it is

coming back to haunt me, and is now going to ruin my life again. I wont be

back at Tynecastle or Hampden for the forseeable future, if ever (pretty sad

that apart from my holidays this is my only pastime/hobby now), as I don't

think I'd be able to look anyone in the eye. I will lose some very good

friends as I don't expect troonjambo, Flogel_no_7 etc to trust me after

this. The thing is, I never lied to any of these guys in relation to my

life, only in regards to my "uncle."

This is my only secret, and it has always been causing me guilt, and I am

very glad that I am now getting it out in the open. Due to the recent death

of my gran and uncle on the same day I now know what grief is, and to lay

some false grief on people was wholly wrong and despicable.

I do not expect anyone to be forgiving, but feel I had to post the outline

as to WHY I done what I done. I'm not giving an excuse but I am giving a

reason as to why I acted the way I did, as it will give some people some

closure. Nothing can excuse my actions.

This will not make amends, however to show how sorry I am I will donate my

two Hearts V Barcelona tickets to charity, for KB to give to an

underprivilidged kid. I will also give my season ticket for Hearts for the

next 10 seasons for the same cause for JKB to give at their own discretion,

so someone less better off than I will benefit. At least some good will come

of this. A legal contract can be written so we know this will be honoured.

In regards to the Tartan Army Messageboard I don't know what I can do to

make amends, or even try to. I will donate something to their youth football

development programmes if this is acceptable? I guess I wanted to be caught

out as the Admin on the TAMB will vouch my postings under the name "Answer"

on the TAMB were disgraceful and merited investigation.

Calmac Man has my email address for a suitable suggestion for both and for

the postal addresses of where to send the ST etc. Calmac man in all my

dealings with him under my personas has always seemed very reasonable and

intelligent, so I do not mind laising with him in this regards. I also know

that he has taken some stick over this but I am thankful that this is now

out in the open.

To the WoSH - I do not think someone in my position can be expected to be a

social convenor so will step down, may I suggest troonjambo or Boab for the

role? Either him or Boab would be a good choice. The cheque for ?180 for my

"bus season ticket" and membership, consider this a donation and an apology.

I hope my actions do not reflect badly on the club.

I have forwarded my medical records for Calmac Man to verify the above as I

don't expect anyone to believe me in regards to the above. I wouldn't either

given my track record. I have asked him not to post them as while I am being

open and honest about this, I still want some privacy.

I told one despicable lie that has caused me to lose everything again. The

guilt I have felt has evaporated while writing this, and to be honest I am

still thoroughly ashamed, more than I have ever been about anything.

Some may ask why it took me so long to come out with the truth, since these

accusations came out a week or so back, foolishly I buried my head in the

sand, and thought it would blow over. Unfortunately it snowballed from there

and the longer it has went on the harder it has been to admit what I done. I

took the decision to come clean today after speaking with my mum, who was

the most ashamed I've ever seen, and after speaking with troonjambo last

night who told me to prove the allegetions were false as they were bringing

the WoSH into disrepute, as I couldn't I decided to bite my tongue last

night and enjoy one last night out with the boys, which I couldn't enjoy

because of the guilt.

The really sad thing, and the thing that is my major regret is that to a

(wo)man the people on both sites are great people, and if I had been upfront

about what I was going through I'd have probably receive more support than I

could have handled.

The lesson from this one was learned a long time ago, but my major regret

was getting others involved in trying to cover my behind. Let me reiterate

though, no-one apart from myself knew the truth, my original defence was

built around "the power of suggestion."

No-one has to tell me I've done wrong, I know that myself and will accept

the consequences of my actions.

So let me take this opportunity to apologise to all concened, what I did was

wrong and I only wish I had the courage and the integrity to say something

sooner.

Craig.

The American lady who's username many cannot recall was posting as LizDeux.

After all these years I can finally reveal that when the club was paying for Kickback I was one of the moderators. With hand on heart at no-time did anyone from the club contact me and tell me what and what couldnt be posted.

John

After all these years I can finally reveal that when the club was paying for Kickback I was one of the moderators. With hand on heart at no-time did anyone from the club contact me and tell me what and what couldnt be posted.

John

I remember Liz. Lovely lady, if she really existed. :ninja:

An outing as well...so to speak. :biggrin:

I remember Liz. Lovely lady, if she really existed. :ninja:

An outing as well...so to speak. :biggrin:

Liz exists I can assure you of that and so can at least one other Kickbacker.

John

John

Get her p.... ach naw.

He posts as Enzo Cheifio or something now.

I assure you CS that Enzo Chiefo is not the poster formerly known as Lacoste Lad.

EC works beside me, there again so do a healthy number of people who post on here.

I think the first ever barney I had on KB was with a lad calling himself Richard Samain from Ratho. God knows how I remember his name but the argument obviously made an impression on me. He was a full on flag waver.

John

Everyone loves a sailor, eh John? :biggrin:

I think the first ever barney I had on KB was with a lad calling himself Richard Samain from Ratho. God knows how I remember his name but the argument obviously made an impression on me. He was a full on flag waver.

Flag debates were something else as well.:biggrin:

Once met Lacostelad and he did look like a bit of a lad. Small though.

I remember bumping into Lacoste Lad at a game at Parkhead, maybe about 3 years ago.

I think, from his posts, I'd built up some sort of image in my head of what he might or should look like. Then having met him the only thought going through my mind at the time was, "Jesus Christ he is a skinny fecking midget".

I remember bumping, literally, into Lacoste Lad at a game at Parkhead, maybe about 3 years ago.

I think, from his posts, I'd built up some sort of image in my head of what he might or should look like. Then having met him the only thought going through my mind at the time was, "Jesus Christ he is a skinny fecking midget".

Lacoste Lad was alright, just a little "intense" shall we say. Some of his late night a little bit stoned threads in the Shed were hilarious. Insect wars etc.

Era Macaroons
Please elaborate on that one Coco - sounds a classic!

You'd ave won a prize :camera:if youd gone for the crossbar

Lacoste Lad was alright, just a little "intense" shall we say. Some of his late night a little bit stoned threads in the Shed were hilarious. Insect wars etc.

I agree Tazio, I had nothing against Lacoste Lad, there were some of (or a lot of) his posts you had to take with a pinch of salt though (more especially in The Terrace than The Shed). Still remember a fairly intense discussion him and I had about Edgaras Jankauskas, and the difference between a striker and a target man.

I too actually enjoyed LL's posts overall, but as I said from many of them I'd built up a picture of what he must look like, but in real life he was totally, totally different to the vision I had.

I received threats from "his brother", accusing me of "grassing" up makween and causing him to be banned. A previous, snivelling "can't we just friends" PM from makween is another personal highlight.

I'm speaking to him just now, and made him aware of this post. His exact words were:

"that is utter ****e"

I'm sort of inclined to agree with him. I know him well, and know he isn't that sad. Nearly, but not quite.

The one I remember the most is the one were, I think it was Craig section Z, went on a hunt for 3 girls he kept spying at games. Then all the drama was constantly getting posted back here with photos getting and posted on here to.

Ah memories :camera:

I'm speaking to him just now, and made him aware of this post. His exact words were:

"that is utter ****e"

I'm sort of inclined to agree with him. I know him well, and know he isn't that sad. Nearly, but not quite.

Ah, young Makween. A good lad with a seriously left of centre sense of humour. I think you were there the first time I met him, at Haymarket waiting for the Porty Hearts bus to Hampden. I think I made him nervous.

That confession from Craig is something else.

I phoned him that Sunday night and he was in pieces, a genuinely sorry laddie. I had met him at the Western a couple of weeks before, I'd told him how sorry I was about his uncle dying and everything, he'd carried on the pretence, but he was so deep in it. I don't suppose he could have done any different.

It ruined his life at the time, if I correctly recall there was a fairly big article in The Record a day or two after this and he subsequently lost his job with the RBS.

Anyway, I didn't feel the need to hang him out to dry at the time or now and I was pretty disgusted with the glee some people took in 'exposing' him. Really what harm did he do? Nobody got hurt, not even Quagmire and he jumped out of a plane!

The only person who suffered was Craig himself and he paid for his deceit in a way that was out of all proportion with what he did.

The internet - it's only 1s and 0s!

Ah, young Makween. A good lad with a seriously left of centre sense of humour. I think you were there the first time I met him, at Haymarket waiting for the Porty Hearts bus to Hampden. I think I made him nervous.

Makween had an older sister IIRC who used to have a rather revealing avatar. :ninja:

She was quite the hottie!

I sort of half met her in the Caley Sample Rooms after a game once.

She didn't show the slightest bit of interest!

A flirty young lady, but like her brother a smart cookie under it all.

That's what you get for having K9 with you :)

John

Clearly she had no issues with her eyesight then. :biggrin:

Yup, that was me. And you definitely did.

I liked Makween. Knew how to wind a few people up. Had some qwality banter about him.

Makween once made the final of the Predictor. :rubeyes:

Era Macaroons
Makween once made the final of the Predictor. :rubeyes:

whats been your favourite part of the whole set up Uly?:computer:

:flag2:

ie what makes you do it?

Edited by Era Macaroons

whats been your favourite part of the whole set up Uly?:computer:

:flag2:

Earlier on, a lot of the fun for me was in the match picture threads, especially because most weeks I couldn't be there. Wilyboo and Keith Brown in particular made huge contributions.

I only get to 2-3 games a season at most, so if anyone wants to take the hint above. ;)

In more recent times, it's been more about doing the whole admin thing. When things go a bit off balance it's a pain in the arse, but when the board is working well and a couple of thousand Hearts supporters are getting enjoyment out of being here then it's quite satisfying.

But throughout the years, it's been three things: being able to stay in touch even though I'm not local; meeting people I'd never have got to meet otherwise; and running the Predictor (honest).

:wacko:

Era Macaroons
Earlier on, a lot of the fun for me was in the match picture threads, especially because most weeks I couldn't be there. Wilyboo and Keith Brown in particular made huge contributions.

I only get to 2-3 games a season at most, so if anyone wants to take the hint above. ;)

In more recent times, it's been more about doing the whole admin thing. When things go a bit off balance it's a pain in the arse, but when the board is working well and a couple of thousand Hearts supporters are getting enjoyment out of being here then it's quite satisfying.

But throughout the years, it's been three things: being able to stay in touch even though I'm not local; meeting people I'd never have got to meet otherwise; and running the Predictor (honest).

nae spare tickets :dribble:big man,:biggrin:

Good on ye, ,to me its oddabit (thats wej) as I didnt grow up with it (tinternet) ...lol, txt ye the morn....erm....fffs...pfff....rewinnddd

that was a wee joke :) can see your motives

:flag2::computer::flag2: xxx

how u doing in predictor league....ps ill be in bed by the time u read this

Edited by Era Macaroons

John

Thank you!!!

Jeez that had been annoying me all day.

I can also vouch that she was real as I actually spoke with her quite a bit on MSN.

Ahem, I'll have you know I had my own seperate board for the match pictures, I came out with a few of these beauties!

i14439457_82104_3.jpg

Celebrating a goal V Livi

i14785460_97874_3.jpg

Webster scores against livi (4-1 or 3-1 IIRC)

i15614457_26882_3.jpg

That Save!

i47957802_60035_3.jpg

No caption needed here

i59171418_83514_3.jpg

Final fans

i61328447_13909_3.jpg

Remember the Huddle?

i59997853_68196_3.jpg

Hartley's free kick V Celtic celebrations

i65697572_23350_3.jpg

I do have full resolution versions somehwere.

Bednar's goal V rangers (1-0)

i15597402_16889_3.jpg

I believe this was the first of 4...

i43626693_73623_3.jpg

And this is the celebration after the third...

i43591693_44374_3.jpg

Who?

i46872893_19975_3.jpg

If you fancy a shiver down your spine then look no further.

Era Macaroons
Bednar's goal V rangers (1-0)

i15597402_16889_3.jpg

I believe this was the first of 4...

i43626693_73623_3.jpg

And this is the celebration after the third...

i43591693_44374_3.jpg

Who?

i46872893_19975_3.jpg

If you fancy a shiver down your spine then look no further.

well worth a watch, ty, esp 2nd vid , what an atmos

John Gentleman
That was Freud I think. Shot himself about 3 years ago.

'Sigmund Fraude' to be precise. His real name was Mike and I corresponded with him frequently. I recall many a hilarious exchange betweeen himself and 'Synapse' on Hibsnet and KB. Really good natured banter between two obviously intelligent human beings.

A terrible shame that Mike was obviously suffering from such mental anguish that he chose to take his own life.

......and his career background WAS in psychology/psychiatry.

He was no fraud, but obviously a very troubled individual.

I was very saddened the day I learnt of his suicide. I suppose it just illustrates that no matter what our station in life, we are but human and thus vulnerable.

Ahem, I'll have you know I had my own seperate board for the match pictures, I came out with a few of these beauties!

I do have full resolution versions somehwere.

Your pics were brilliant that season Hughsie. Really helped add another dimension to what was going on for the ex-pats.

Why don't you take a few more????

Your pics were brilliant that season Hughsie. Really helped add another dimension to what was going on for the ex-pats.

Why don't you take a few more????

Thanks MB

I was lucky that I took up the 'role' in the first season under Vlad when Burley was here. We were playing great football and there were a lot of memorable moments in the games that I managed to capture. However the real bummer in the situation was that my camera broke! After a few months I just lost interest in the whole photography thing and I am still cameraless. I've kept all of the images on my PC though and even got a couple of my favourite ones from the SC Final in 06 blown up and put on my bedroom walls.

Which half did you meet Doc.:biggrin:

This is the first I've heard about how 'Sigmund' died. I knew he had passed on, but was unaware of the circumstances.

I was thinking this over last night as I was going to bed and I recall getting a PM from him not long before he died. It was as a result of a fairly heated debate over bigotry and intolerance at Tynecastle. IIRC Sigmund was a liberal kind of a guy who called out that kind of nonsense.

Then I recalled some trouble that he'd had with a few posters from here posting some defamatory stuff about him on another website. The comments were definitely made on another site, but it sort of spilt over onto KB. This was not long before he took his own life.

I got to wondering whether this is perhaps the darkest episode of KB's history.

Although it's obvious in retrospect that Sigmund was unwell, I'd hate to think that his mental condition was worsened by these events.

Which half did you meet Doc.:biggrin:

lol

I saw her, I tried to talk to her, I crashed and burned.

It wasn't pretty.

"that is utter ****e"

Fair dues, believe what you so wish. Since said communications were made through a previous version of the board, I cannot provide evidence to back up my claims.

Was his name Michael / Mick etc by chance :biggrin:

i think it might have been actually. cam something or other was his nick

Bomber Harris' Best Mate
BHBM - my puns are top class and DG often agreed. I am sure you laughed too but are scared to admit it.

Stuart, that reminds me of the guy who emailed ten puns to his mates in the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh?

Unfortunately, no pun in ten did.

You should post pics on here more often. :thumb:

Did you win the Predictor as well? :527:

I'll see what I can muster up from the darkest areas of the web!

And yes, I did:D

Beat Acey I think, either that or I played him in the Final the year before and got beat by him.

My standards droipped though when I began predicting in a more relaxed style without actually thinking about it.

I'll see what I can muster up from the darkest areas of the web!

And yes, I did:D

Beat Acey I think, either that or I played him in the Final the year before and got beat by him.

My standards droipped though when I began predicting in a more relaxed style without actually thinking about it.

I have a record of you playing the final in May 2007 against Auldreekie1874, but I didn't keep the result.

I'm still missing the names of two of the 16 winners. :ninja:

• davemclaren locked this topic