• the general

• Stuart Lyon

• luckyBatistuta

Who can remember the name of a place in Hanover Street we think, in the section between Rose Street and George Street.

Dining place, black and white check decor, chicken wings, spare ribs, that kind of thing. Around about 1981-1985ish.

Wife remembers that we always went after work on a Thursday as it was buy one meal get one free. They handed out these leaflets in the streets to get this offer. We think it was a one word name but not positive.

May have been Frederick Street but leaning more to Hanover.

Thanks.

Up a set of steps next to the bus stop?

This is proving really hard!

Not 'The Edinburgh Wine Bar' then?

The auld hundred in rose street, used to go there before Bobby McGees sometimes because it was close by. That had a disco upstairs

Must have been an awfy wee disco.

The upstairs was tiny.

Anyway, my place in Hanover Street?

My wife and I have decided it was a single name but plural.

Maybe!!

Maybe had a Z in it or started with a C.

WHO KNOWS?

Anyway, my place in Hanover Street?

My wife and I have decided it was a single name but plural.

Maybe!!

Maybe had a Z in it or started with a C.

WHO KNOWS?

Was it something like Chequerz?

I went there a few times, through the main door, down a few steps and into the main area which had the chessboard design floor.

Was it something like Chequerz?

I went there a few times, through the main door, down a few steps and into the main area which had the chessboard design floor.

Don't think so.

It was more an eating place than for drinking.

Beginning to think we are making this up!

Sort of theme place with maybe Cajun/American/Mexican food.

Thanks for trying though.

Anyone ever drink in the Viceroy on lothian Road? Was the place to be seen late 70's iirc.

Full of posers,I was a regular.

Is it not Innes and Gunn Beer Kitchen now?

Edited by systemx

Full of posers,I was a regular.

Is it not Innes and Gunn Beer Kitchen now?

Hopefully you were not a regular in Andersons then?

earlyyearsandroidsadvert.jpg

and at the West End, where the bouncers used to finish off the evening when the punters had left by having a game of chucking all the chairs at each other - loser was under a mountain of chairs

TheAndroidscirca1976YelloCarvelEdinburgh

Hearts of Glory man way back in the 70s at the Yellow Carvel - he's fatter and balder now :-)

Ah the Yellow Carvel, used to drink in there when it was the Buccaneer. Used to move between there and the Cockburn Lounge or sometimes Jim's Inn after starting out the night at the Southern Bar.

All decent biker/rocker pubs at the time.....early 80s.

Late late drink available at Finsbury Park.

Now a Mcdonalds in Sth St Andrews Street I think.

Worked in there and having thrown out a real tosspot he stabbed the other doorman in the arse through the letter box as he stood with his back to the closed door.

I laughed all the way home.

Cairneyhill Jambo

Don't think so.

It was more an eating place than for drinking.

Beginning to think we are making this up!

Sort of theme place with maybe Cajun/American/Mexican food.

Thanks for trying though.

Garfunkels??

Ah the Yellow Carvel, used to drink in there when it was the Buccaneer. Used to move between there and the Cockburn Lounge or sometimes Jim's Inn after starting out the night at the Southern Bar.

All decent biker/rocker pubs at the time.....early 80s.

loved the Yellow Carvel

was there watching the Valves one night and the Live Stiffs gig in Stirling was cancelled and they all came in to see the band

Wreckless Eric and Lena Lovich etc all ended up on stage

Remember the Viceroy but never in it.

My boozer on Lothian Road was Paddys down at the bottom.

I worked in there in the late 70's. Great place at the time but went down hill badly.

Remember the Viceroy but never in it.

My boozer on Lothian Road was Paddys down at the bottom.

loved the Viceroy sure they had a good football team in the Sunday morning league as well

Anyone remember drinking in Charlie Parkers on George Street?

Around 1980-1983ish

More or less opposite Maddogs

Anyone remember drinking in Charlie Parkers on George Street?

Around 1980-1983ish

More or less opposite Maddogs

Styx? I remember something about optics getting blasted with a sawn off in about 91.

Nope. Charlie Parkers before that. Never went in but I remember it.

Talk about memory lane. thanks for that.

Quite brilliant.Never missed a sunday all-dayer at Tiffs.More often than not straight there after an all-nighter at Wigan Casino.

Dave Grohl and Kurt Cobain playing the Southern Bar :wtf:

In front of only 20 people :rofl:

Cracking link, some amazing memories

it was a lot lot more busier than that iirc

Recall a place halfway down Blair St by the Tron, think it was called 'Everybodies', used to go there in the early eighties after finishing working in a hotel at the time as it was open until around 4am

Completely wild place which was eventually closed down by the authorities I believe due to the high level of violent crimes which kept reoccurring

Downstairs cavern type building which I also think was called Peppermint or something like that a few years ago, dont know if it still exists

My pals sister owned Everybody's.Went a lot. Another pal came home one night, said had a sore arm. She had been stabbed by a screwdriver... Drink killed the pain at the time..

Bumped into Tommy last year at an Independence Rally. Still looks exactly the same. He's still on the doors at the place down Calton Road (Studio 24 I think)

Does he still have his trademark Freddie Mercury 'tache? One of the few Edinburgh door staff that was actually human and didn't want to thrash folk for nothing!

Known Tommy for years...a good guy, extremely smart with a great sense of humour but being on the wrong side of him is not something you would want to do!

My pals sister owned Everybody's.Went a lot. Another pal came home one night, said had a sore arm. She had been stabbed by a screwdriver... Drink killed the pain at the time..

I remember the official opening night party ... everyone was there in their finery but the venue did not seem to have been damp proofed properly so anyone who leant on the walls etc had their clothes ruined 

Anyone mentioned the club The Living Room, on the Cowgate, the foot of Blair Street? It went during the fire. In fact, I'm thinkin it might've actually been called the Kitchen, with the Living Room maybe being a pub next to it?

Mr Sifter,

Would you please clear your inbox so I can PM you?

Please let me know when you have.

Thanks

Morgan