The Glory Hunters.

Munch

why is that andy? serious question mate

Just fed up with the moaning faced gets around me, dont have a seat next to my pals this season, a combination of things mate. Its not all about the football on offer to me, its about the pub before (Which has become ****e too), the company at the game, the banter with the guys I sit around.

Next season, am going to sit in my old seat, totally regret ever moving. The guys round me had built up a nice tolerance to my rather fruitful behaviour.

• Replies 202
Just fed up with the moaning faced gets around me, dont have a seat next to my pals this season, a combination of things mate. Its not all about the football on offer to me, its about the pub before (Which has become ****e too), the company at the game, the banter with the guys I sit around.

Next season, am going to sit in my old seat, totally regret ever moving. The guys round me had built up a nice tolerance to my rather fruitful behaviour.

ah right mate totally understand

The guys round me had built up a nice tolerance to my rather fruitful behaviour.

Is the fruit you refer to an orange? :P

Guest Fabuloso
Whether or not you think it will happen, Therapist is correct.

Don't be so sure.

As an aside your earlier post recognised that crowds rise and fall which is true - over a period of time. The telling factor in this case (which no-one has articulated) is the speed of the change. If the same doesn't happen next season (all things staying the same) I'll eat my hat.

It is possible to support the Hearts players (team and club) without supporting Vlad. Too many use it as an excuse.

best post on the thread.

it's all very well withdrawing financial support of the CLUB when times are not so bad regarding the financial health of the club. to refuse to make a contribution to maximising the revenues of the club when times are very hard is quite frankly unforgiveable from people who call themselves hearts fans.

there's a comment earlier in the thread about the 'stay-aways' being "saviours of the club". complete and utter, deluded rubbish. they could only be described as saviours of the club if it could be proved beyond all doubt that their absence forced some kind of regime change or a change in direction of the present regime which resulted in the saving of the club. that patently isn't the case, and it's not likely to ever be the case, because romanov is showing no signs of changing or leaving.

people who are withholding their money from the club are compromising the financial well being of the club. it causes cash flow problems and impacts on every facet of the club's best interests. it's completely self indulgent for people to proclaim that they are looking after the club's best interests by damaging it's ability to improve it's financial position.

supporting the club is NOT supporting romanov.

Guest Fabuloso
best post on the thread.

it's all very well withdrawing financial support of the CLUB when times are not so bad regarding the financial health of the club. to refuse to make a contribution to maximising the revenues of the club when times are very hard is quite frankly unforgiveable from people who call themselves hearts fans.

there's a comment earlier in the thread about the 'stay-aways' being "saviours of the club". complete and utter, deluded rubbish. they could only be described as saviours of the club if it could be proved beyond all doubt that their absence forced some kind of regime change or a change in direction of the present regime which resulted in the saving of the club. that patently isn't the case, and it's not likely to ever be the case, because romanov is showing no signs of changing or leaving.

people who are withholding their money from the club are compromising the financial well being of the club. it causes cash flow problems and impacts on every facet of the club's best interests. it's completely self indulgent for people to proclaim that they are looking after the club's best interests by damaging it's ability to improve it's financial position.

supporting the club is NOT supporting romanov.

In that case fans who want to watch the team should be vocal and visible in their detest of the majority shareholder. Haven't seen this to be te case.

that would appear to he way forward. i guess that people who do go to the games are either not disgusted enough to cause them to take such action, or that there hasn't been the necessary organisation to facilitate a meaningful protest.

it's not necessarily my personal view on it but perhaps hearts fans don't yet have enough reason to start protesting yet. it could very well be argued that we are in no worse position now, on and off the field, than we were only a few years ago.

Guest Fabuloso
that would appear to he way forward. i guess that people who do go to the games are either not disgusted enough to cause them to take such action, or that there hasn't been the necessary organisation to facilitate a meaningful protest.

it's not necessarily my personal view on it but perhaps hearts fans don't yet have enough reason to start protesting yet. it could very well be argued that we are in no worse position now, on and off the field, than we were only a few years ago.

Fair point. I think us Hearts fans deserve better though. Much better. Fans will always go because that's what they do. Crowds will dwindle of course. We're currently reaping the benefits of the newer recruits who came as a result of VR however these faces will disappear. In anyone's language this is no way to run a business. In short VR's interests in our team differs from the fans - I see this as a fundemental problem.

It is going to be torture seeing Celtic fill that end on Sunday.

Good shout mate,Hearts may as well give 'The Great Unwashed' the entire Wheatfield Stand,this season has been a huge cause for concern due to the lack of attendance at home,the atmosphere has been **** poor to say the least for the last 2 seasons.Tynie will never be the same,long live the 70's & the 80's when the Gorgie faithfull was untouchable & unforgetable HOME & AWAY. Sad days ahead? nowadays at Tynie the away support cherish the thought of visiting Tynie along with the opposition,changed days i'am affraid.

Too many excuses from so called supporters - easy option.

PC Brigrade - Rent Boys.

Fair point. I think us Hearts fans deserve better though. Much better. Fans will always go because that's what they do. Crowds will dwindle of course. We're currently reaping the benefits of the newer recruits who came as a result of VR however these faces will disappear. In anyone's language this is no way to run a business. In short VR's interests in our team differs from the fans - I see this as a fundemental problem.

yes you're right, there are differences between our interests and vlad's. is it a fundamental problem? it is for us, not for him. perhaps he doesn't give a monkeys either way, whereas we have to because football fans don't have an alternative to fall back on. it's not like buying goods or services in the marketplace where you can find an alternative supplier if you're not happy with the current one, in that sense it's a monopoly for the football club.

boycotts, protests and like may well be useful weapons against a normal owner. i don't know if anyone else has noticed but oor one is a tad different to the norm. he's never shown the slightest sign of being influenced by what other people think and say.

Guest Fabuloso
Good shout mate,Hearts may as well give 'The Great Unwashed' the entire Wheatfield Stand,this season has been a huge cause for concern due to the lack of attendance at home,the atmosphere has been **** poor to say the least for the last 2 seasons.Tynie will never be the same,long live the 70's & the 80's when the Gorgie faithfull was untouchable & unforgetable HOME & AWAY. Sad days ahead? nowadays at Tynie the away support cherish the thought of visiting Tynie along with the opposition,changed days i'am affraid.

Too many excuses from so called supporters - easy option.

PC Brigrade - Rent Boys.

Only one place to look for the answer my friend...

Supporters don't need excuses - they go if they want to. If they don't then ask yourself why. Please don't say 'credit crunch'.

Guest Fabuloso
yes you're right, there are differences between our interests and vlad's. is it a fundamental problem? it is for us, not for him. perhaps he doesn't give a monkeys either way, whereas we have to because football fans don't have an alternative to fall back on. it's not like buying goods or services in the marketplace where you can find an alternative supplier if you're not happy with the current one, in that sense it's a monopoly for the football club.

boycotts, protests and like may well be useful weapons against a normal owner. i don't know if anyone else has noticed but oor one is a tad different to the norm. he's never shown the slightest sign of being influenced by what other people think and say.

Which is of course no reason for us not to do it. Being guilty of doing nothing to influence the situation is almost as bad.

I respect everyone's choice to do what they like on a Saturday afternoon, and I can fully understand why they wouldn't want to go watch this current Hearts team.

But let's be honest: if Hearts make next May's Scottish Cup Final, there will be 30,000 fans looking for tickets.

Are you telling me that's because of the wonderful football on show?

I respect everyone's choice to do what they like on a Saturday afternoon, and I can fully understand why they wouldn't want to go watch this current Hearts team.

But let's be honest: if Hearts make next May's Scottish Cup Final, there will be 30,000 fans looking for tickets.

There'll be a damn sight more than 30,000

'Glory-hunters' - 'Heart of Midlothian FC'

You've got to be joking.

The average attendances at Ibrox and Parkhead since 1950:

attachment.php?attachmentid=1219&d=1225211797

This tells you all there is to know about glory-hunting in Scotland. Remarkable how they manage to dip to around (or even below) 20,000 at the slightest hint of 'trophy drought'.

Guest Fabuloso

It's one-off end of season showpiece which enables people to watch Hearts lift a trophy. This is different to showing loyalty by purchasing a season ticket or going every week. It's no secret that cup finals are more geared towards families also which would count for many thousands.

In short people aren't staying away because of the team - it's a lot simpler than that. Look at Hibs - they've been poor for years however they're still getting healthy attendances (in relative terms of course!).

Is it not that the true fans with principles are watching TV or in the pub?

poppy in the club coffers, that's all that matters.

no poppy leads to 'hobo porn', financial trouble for hearts.

it's not rocket science, except for the hobos.

2 Seasons ago we sold out all season tickets, and we had a waiting list of around 5 thousand.

Where have the glory hunters disappeared too, and when are they likely to return ?

Right enough, the 5000 waiting list :laugh:

It's one-off end of season showpiece which enables people to watch Hearts lift a trophy. This is different to showing loyalty by purchasing a season ticket or going every week. It's no secret that cup finals are more geared towards families also which would count for many thousands.

In short people aren't staying away because of the team - it's a lot simpler than that. Look at Hibs - they've been poor for years however they're still getting healthy attendances (in relative terms of course!).

No they aren't. They're drawing their core support.

So are we now whereas we were exceeding that in the last two seasons.

The balance is people who want to go when we're playing well and winning but not when we aren't.

It's perfectly understandable but it also means they're not true fans the way people that go every week regardless are.

That excludes the people who now are working on Saturdays but weren't the last two years and those that now have to babysit their granny's budgie.

not following you fella.

I was trying to make a point that people who claim they are staying away for the good of the club do nothing else.

sorry, yes i agree.

It is possible to support the Hearts players (team and club) without supporting Vlad. Too many use it as an excuse.

The club was there before him and I have no doubt whatsoever that it will be there long after he's gone. He's not responsible for what the 11 'chosen ones' do for those 90 minutes every week, and that's what I go there to watch and support. No matter who they are or where they came from or what their individual abilities are.

I've disagreed with team choice under every manager we've ever had, I've been doubtful of the abilities of players under every owner. I think most football fans are the same, Jambos or not.

Guest Fabuloso
No they aren't. They're drawing their core support.

So are we now whereas we were exceeding that in the last two seasons.

The balance is people who want to go when we're playing well and winning but not when we aren't.

It's perfectly understandable but it also means they're not true fans the way people that go every week regardless are.

That excludes the people who now are working on Saturdays but weren't the last two years and those that now have to babysit their granny's budgie.

Sorry, you're wrong. It's not the drop in attendance you should be looking at, it's the rate at which it's happened (20% over one summer). This speaks volumes as to the reasons why. It's not the team's performance in this case. It's VR's actions and (some) peoples intolerance.

The club was there before him and I have no doubt whatsoever that it will be there long after he's gone. He's not responsible for what the 11 'chosen ones' do for those 90 minutes every week, and that's what I go there to watch and support. No matter who they are or where they came from or what their individual abilities are.

I've disagreed with team choice under every manager we've ever had, I've been doubtful of the abilities of players under every owner. I think most football fans are the same, Jambos or not.

spot on! i support hearts football club and always will but i'll never support romanov or his ways

If Hearts were top of the league tomorrow: no one would care about Romanov's morals.

I don't believe Vlad per se has anything to with falling attendances. It's to do with the crap football and dodgy results.

Fringe/fair weather fans will support a good team if it's there. If a new owner came in and we blew teams away, I bet the credit crunch would be over for those suffering the credit crunch.

Good team: big crowds

Crap team: smaller crowds.

I'm not judging. Just stating an opinion

If Hearts were top of the league tomorrow: no one would care about Romanov's morals.

I don't believe Vlad per se has anything to with falling attendances. It's to do with the crap football and dodgy results.

Fringe/fair weather fans will support a good team if it's there. If a new owner came in and we blew teams away, I bet the credit crunch would be over for those suffering the credit crunch.

No offence mate, but he has.

I will always be there for my football team, but lets be honest, a lot of people stay away due to him.

Sorry, you're wrong. It's not the drop in attendance you should be looking at, it's the rate at which it's happened (20% over one summer). This speaks volumes as to the reasons why. It's not the team's performance in this case. It's VR's actions and (some) peoples intolerance.

No I'm not.

The drop in rate over one summer is basically taking us to the level we were at pre Vlad.

I was surprised season tickets held up so well last year but this year we're back to the core support.

As I say I don't find that surprising but people shouldn't kid themselves it's anything more than that, other than a very few cases.

:laugh: Lol, Hearts would be a strange choice for anyone wanting to become a glory hunter. Celtic, Man U, Chelsea... Na, Hearts! For de glory! :D

The more likely scenario is punters have been turned away through years of chronically pish football and have chosen to spend their money on other things, things they enjoy!

So, what does that make us ST holders all these years? People who don`t have a clue about football ?

People who like pesh football?

People who are wasting their dough?

It`s alright saying the stay away fans are the "saviours" (boak) of the club but if we all stayed away there would defo be no club.

Like it or not, agree or not, there is an element of glory hunting in the Hearts support. The fans who came back two years ago only came back because the team was genuinely good and had a real chance in the league.

Now, they have no staying power or the constitution to brave it through a tough(ish) period.

I`m not having a go at genuine fans who have followed the team for years and have finally had enough for a season, but more the ones who turn up every 4 or 5 seasons because we`ve suddenly produced an excellent team.

Guest Fabuloso

Would you still have that enthusiasm if VR openly stated that he picked the team and it wasn't based on players ability? Hypothetical of course.

Guest Fabuloso

If a new owner came in I, along with my friends, will buy season tickets again. For the record we won't be back until Vlad goes irrespective of league position. Bold but absolutely true.

The only reason I'd consider staying away is personal safety.

The Gorgie Dancer seems to have taken an even madder turn since I was last at Tynie and now tries to Karate kick people who come near him.

I'm living in fear.

Guest Fabuloso
No I'm not.

The drop in rate over one summer is basically taking us to the level we were at pre Vlad.

I was surprised season tickets held up so well last year but this year we're back to the core support.

As I say I don't find that surprising but people shouldn't kid themselves it's anything more than that, other than a very few cases.

Surely you know many people who haven't renewed this season?? I'm talking about long term ST holders (myself included) who didn't renew. I'm into double figures off the top of my head.

As for your first point I'm not denying the numbers, but the rate at which they occurred. Does this not suggest something to you? Believe me, they'll drop considerably next season too if nothing upstairs changes.

If a new owner came in I, along with my friends, will buy season tickets again. For the record we won't be back until Vlad goes irrespective of league position. Bold but absolutely true.

I believe that the majority of fans who have drifted away have done so due to results.

I believe that if Hearts had won the league every year since 2006 it would not matter one jot as to how 'Mad' Vlad is.

I believe that many people who are no longer season ticket holders would be first in line for cup final tickets and forget their anti-Vlad stance for the day.

I believe that if Hearts were to suddenly go on a massive winning streak, many of the fans who say they won't be back until Vlad walks are kidding themselves.

:dito: When Madfud gets tae ****, i'll be first in the queue to buy a Season Ticket...Until then it's Soccer Saturday in the Pub...Unless one of the mates doesnae go and offers me their season ticket!! :P

Saying that never took the ticket last week against the Dons and not taking it for Sundays clash with the S C U M fae the Weeg!!

Would you still have that enthusiasm if VR openly stated that he picked the team and it wasn't based on players ability? Hypothetical of course.

Would I moan about it? Yes. Would I still have enthusiasm for my team? Yes.

Well all these so-called "Glory Hunters" must have been the fans making all the noise at Tynecastle a few years ago, because it's not just the team thats crap these days. Tynecastle used to be a "Fortress", the fans used to sing from the first whistle to the last, so lets get back on our feet, support the team and maybe Tynecastle will be back rocking in no-time!!!. ;)

So, what does that make us ST holders all these years? People who don`t have a clue about football ?

People who like pesh football?

People who are wasting their dough?

It`s alright saying the stay away fans are the "saviours" (boak) of the club but if we all stayed away there would defo be no club.

Like it or not, agree or not, there is an element of glory hunting in the Hearts support. The fans who came back two years ago only came back because the team was genuinely good and had a real chance in the league.

Now, they have no staying power or the constitution to brave it through a tough(ish) period.

I`m not having a go at genuine fans who have followed the team for years and have finally had enough for a season, but more the ones who turn up every 4 or 5 seasons because we`ve suddenly produced an excellent team.

Sorry Debut but I tend to agree with HOG on this:eek::eek:

In Scottish Fitba "glory hunting" is attaching to one of the Uglies. Every other club has a base support and logic dictates that if their club is doing well or playing good footie then more will come along, is that Glory Hunting? I don't think it is. Hearts will be down to their base of approx 10 thousand again if things don't improve this season IMHO.

I believe that the majority of fans who have drifted away have done so due to results.

I believe that if Hearts had won the league every year since 2006 it would not matter one jot as to how 'Mad' Vlad is.

I believe that many people who are no longer season ticket holders would be first in line for cup final tickets and forget their anti-Vlad stance for the day.

I believe that if Hearts were to suddenly go on a massive winning streak, many of the fans who say they won't be back until Vlad walks are kidding themselves.

Couldn't agree more.

Guest Fabuloso

Elements of truth in all your points however let's not read too much into this. That's footie fans for you. My point is that there is a large VR factor which is not only affecting the attendances (majorly) but the morale of the fans (and the team?) which is the worst I've ever witnessed.

Guest Fabuloso
Would I moan about it? Yes. Would I still have enthusiasm for my team? Yes.

Would you still supply Hearts with your hard earned cash and not feel cheated? Yes, of course you would.

bigis semiauskas
Sorry Debut but I tend to agree with HOG on this:eek::eek:

In Scottish Fitba "glory hunting" is attaching to one of the Uglies. Every other club has a base support and logic dictates that if their club is doing well or playing good footie then more will come along, is that Glory Hunting? I don't think it is. Hearts will be down to their base of approx 10 thousand again if things don't improve this season IMHO.

Xakly CJ, the OF were down to crowds of under 15thou the last time they had a baron spell when Sir Alex Ferguson's Dons humped them in the 80's

That made me Vewy,Vewy Pwoud.

Elements of truth in all your points however let's not read too much into this. That's footie fans for you. My point is that there is a large VR factor which is not only affecting the attendances (majorly) but the morale of the fans (and the team?) which is the worst I've ever witnessed.

I think the point is that many of these fans aren't affected by VR at all, they're affected by results...but VR's behaviour gives them a brilliant way of avoiding having to say "I just can't be arsed".

Would you still supply Hearts with your hard earned cash and not feel cheated? Yes, of course you would.

Probably, yes. I don't know many football fans who don't often feel cheated in some way or another. Look to our neighbours in Leith for a good, local example....it isn't a problem exclusive to Hearts or to us as fans.

I see the PT`s are out in force tonight:p

Yes Clerry, you are right to an extent, but what sets these fans apart from the rest though?

Not as much love for the club?

Don`t like their football as much as the regulars?

Higher standard:eek:s???

Prefer Tescos at 3 in the afternoon with the other half?

VR's actions are the results of HMFC's fans' low morale.

I'm not taking any moral high ground here. With respect, I am simply offering an different perspective as to why crowds are down, and I strongly believe it is down to poor performances and not Vlad's spirit-sapping running of the club.

This argument though, as you suggested - is futile.

Guest Fabuloso
I think the point is that many of these fans aren't affected by VR at all, they're affected by results...but VR's behaviour gives them a brilliant way of avoiding having to say "I just can't be arsed".

It's the first time my group of friends "couldn't be arsed" in the best part of 20yrs my friend. Come on, I thought the situation was obvious, isn't it?

For the record the boozer is nice and warm.......come and join us....

Guest Fabuloso
VR's actions are the results of HMFC's fans' low morale.

I'm not taking any moral high ground here. With respect, I am simply offering an different perspective as to why crowds are down, and I strongly believe it is down to poor performances and not Vlad's spirit-sapping running of the club.

This argument though, as you suggested - is futile.

Just one look at JK suggests we have a problem on our hands. Is it too much to comprehend (not you personally) that people might be a little disillusioned and perhaps think "**** it"?