Would you send your child to a private school?

New Town Loafer

9 minutes ago, Morgan said:

You've tweaked my interest, Ked.

I'll be blunt - do you have a whopper?

We have already found out today that Mr McTarkin has.  I know I have.  I suspect you do, and a germ of an idea about starting a sub-forum for large members has entered my mind.

Big enough to fill 4 prams my friend .

• Replies 395

• il Duce McTarkin

• JudyJudyJudy

• ri Alban

• PaddysBar

13 minutes ago, Morgan said:

We have already found out today that Mr McTarkin has.  I know I have.  I suspect you do, and a germ of an idea about starting a sub-forum for large members has entered my mind.

Just for clarity not the actual width of 4 prams .

2 minutes ago, Ked said:

1 minute ago, Ked said:

Just for clarity not the actual width of 4 prams .

Excellent!

Who is going to set up the sub-forum?

9 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

😂😂😂😂😂

in the real world, our society doesn’t give equal opportunity to people education wise. Never has and never will. You don’t get a equal education amongst two states schools along the road 🤷‍♂️

Thats nothing to do with private education but more to with the standard of education in the state sector. A standard that has been falling in Scotland for some time and objectively not a particularly high stabdard. 

The availability of private education does not determine the standard of state system FFS. 

People don’t sent their kids to education in a belief it will make them ‘smarter’, their education level is pretty much determined by genes. It’s about providing them with an environment and opportunity to be the best version of themselves.

State schools are designed for the lowest common denominator. This means resources are focused on those who will waste them most 🤷🏻‍♂️. That’s not the case with private school, where the teaching is tailored to individual pupils. 

One of the main reason the environment is better at private schools is due to the nature of the parents. They undoubtably view education much more important than most people (certainly someone like you) and certainly more than the state do. This does tend to produce more focussed pupils in general terms, albeit kids and families still have issues irrespective of finances. Whilst, having the financial means to send your kids to school means you have done financially fairly well. That's probably in part being smarter than your average bear. That gets reflected in kids genes and educational level. 

State school standards may be acceptable to most people but I want better opportunities for my kids. I will give my kids every opportunity in life they can get. You might think that's unfair but who gives a duck, life ain't fair. A lesson people need to learn early on. 

Some of the inverted snobbery of this thread is mental. Hey though prejudiced people struggle to hide their prejudices 😉

I don't look it at wasting cash by the way. I look as an investment in my children and their future. Like all investments their is no guarantee it pays off but early signs are good and past history tends to support the notion that private education result in better outcomes. 

As aside, in the real world private health care is far superior to NHS. Something being ‘free’ or state run does not result in a good quality of service. Actually results in the opposite, as we see with education as well. It results in the bear minimum of service. People will choose private providers as they provide a better level of service. Nothing surprising about that. 

Relying on the state is the trademark of a fool. Education standards in Scotland have been falling for some time. You may be happy sending your kids to a failing system, I ain't. My kids are way more important than that. 

Well said .

Edited by JudyJudyJudy

15 hours ago, moogsy said:
Of course most people would agree that everyone deserves equal access to a good education but in the real world it just doesn’t work like that. What happens is that most people who have the means and either don’t want to/can’t afford to go private will buy homes in areas with good state schools, indirectly paying for a better education anyway. 

The reality is in certain state schools ( a good few in Edinburgh I can think of) even if a child is bright and wants to learn, the sheer volume of disruptive/violent/feral children makes it almost impossible for them to achieve anything, as the league tables will attest to. These problems can usually be traced back to the parents and what the kids are learning/witnessing at home at home, so I’m not sure there’s a great deal the state can do about it. I’ll be ****ed if I’m sending my children into an environment like that.

welcome to the real world.  well said. 

23 hours ago, Spellczech said:

I suspect so. I'm not sure about the thinking behind such inclusiveness. I know I suffered from it in primary school as you had widely disparate levels of ability in one classroom and the cleverer kids were left alone to get on with it whilst the teacher's time was heavily weighted towards helping those struggling, and disciplining those who had given up. In my primary school class there were 33 of us and only 10 boys. I would say 4 of the boys were at one end of the scale and the other 6 were at the other extreme and most of the girls were in between, though some were amongst each grouping of boys too...No idea if that was typical or anomalous.

I am not an educator but it would be interesting to hear from someone who is - is the inclusiveness for the kids or is it for the parents as parents simply don't like the idea of their child being visibly behind and streaming/setting makes it very "out there". Appears to me as someone who has no involvement in education this century that whilst more kids are being identified as having increased needs, there also seems to be no such thing as stupid - everyone struggling has a condition and I'm unsure if this a justification or merely an excuse...

However, as I noted above, education of a wide spectrum of abilities will always gravitate towards the lowest denominator, where the greatest need lies. It did in my primary school. 

I suspect the state system has it wrong, but they won't admit it. Socialism rules in schools. You have to wait for University until it becomes more of a meritocracy.

The big reason behind the change is that when you stratify like that, basically the results for anyone deemed "below average" falls off a cliff. If you keep everyone together but provide supplemental help both for those falling behind and for those who are surging ahead, the folks at the front don't lose much at all and the folks at the back gain quite a bit.

My daughter just turned 7 but she's speeding through books written for 9-10 year olds. (Kind of a problem as her emotional maturity is still that of a 7 year old, so there's a lot of books she could read perfectly well but which would be very confusing or scary or otherwise to her.) I'm not worried about her progression in the least. We send her to the public school where she learns, most importantly, to see commonality between everyone around her, then we push her on a bit.

I do want my kids to excel and I take responsibility for that, and for me that looks like taking that on personally. She needs to do better at math, fine, I can start showing her multiplication tricks now. Reading? Off we go to the public library. Science? That's why we have a membership at the local science museum.

21 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

To be fair , we pay for a state education we don’t use…..

You also pay for roads you'll never drive on, ferries to islands you'll never visit, health care research for diseases you'll never catch, and many other services you don't use. An educated populace is a public good. Ironically I would have thought Scotland, cradle of universal public education and whose status as among the most educated in Europe, so excelling in engineering that Gene Roddenberry basically assumed in the future that spaceship engineers would still be Scottish, would understand that.

8 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

Some of the inverted snobbery of this thread is mental. Hey though prejudiced people struggle to hide their prejudices 😉

Like others on this thread, I earned my deep and abiding hatred of private schools both through personal experience with them myself and encountering the graduates at the top levels in Universities. It's not prejudice if it's empirical.

6 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

Here the thing.

the best possible start in life is the responsibility of the parents .

Why? Why only the parents?

What about kids who've lost a parent, or both? (This is on my mind a lot at the moment as I'm getting ready to go to the funeral of a dear colleague from graduate school who just passed, leaving her 2 and 5 year old motherless.)

What about kids whose parents are alcoholics? Or abusive?

Of course parents should see to their children. But we should all also see to the children of our neighbors. Public school is one place that's been robustly proven time and again to be a winning investment for everyone involved. Empirically, the benefits of private schooling versus public schooling effectively vanish once you account for the income, education, and health of the parents. The biggest advantage of getting your kid into Eton is that maybe he becomes best mates with someone who's going to inherit his father's financial services firm and can get you the inside track on a cushy hedge fund management position. And if that's you're goal, then, well, fine, but then it's no longer about education, is it?

27 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Most men claim they have a " large" apendage. I can confirm they are liars. 

Yes good quality education should be free to everyone. Thats a given., But in the real world were most people live it doesnt work out like that.  Budgets by councils are mispent on other so called " priorities " and funding is always an issue.  Parental support of childrens learning is critical and motivate a child to do well. If you dont have that you have a steeper hill to climb if you are at a state school.

Apprenticeships are the way forward. If a lad or lassie is bored shitless of formal education at 14/15 then college/ apprenticeships and areas of interest for them should be offered to them.  Some kids just hate formal education as most of the subjects are deadly dull. I went to a state school which was one of the worse in Scotland and no wonder. The teachers were hopeless by a few of them.  They couldnt control unruly pupils and this impacted on my learning but i did manage to leave school with a few O levels and Highers , which coincidently helped me in no way in my future job searches or in fact career. Proved it could memorise info and regurgitute it back via exams. 

7 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

Here the thing.

the best possible start in life is the responsibility of the parents .

the state should provide a basic standard of service to everyone.

and it does

the fact people do not utilise it and make the most of it is not the fault of the state .

Why do many kids ( and I include me) get through state school with great results?

And some get none.

parents parents parents

might as well let kids leave school at 14, then let the other kids get on with their education.

the leavers can go to college or whatever

schools have gone from places of learning to places to teach kids how to speak, toilet train, eat, behave , identify.

private schools do what they are meant to .

state schools are surrogate parents.

Mine ended up in private school because a kid kept assaulting him and the school did nothing as “ the other kid has the right to an education “

Excellent posting

9 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

😂😂😂😂😂

in the real world, our society doesn’t give equal opportunity to people education wise. Never has and never will. You don’t get a equal education amongst two states schools along the road 🤷‍♂️

Thats nothing to do with private education but more to with the standard of education in the state sector. A standard that has been falling in Scotland for some time and objectively not a particularly high stabdard. 

The availability of private education does not determine the standard of state system FFS. 

People don’t sent their kids to education in a belief it will make them ‘smarter’, their education level is pretty much determined by genes. It’s about providing them with an environment and opportunity to be the best version of themselves.

State schools are designed for the lowest common denominator. This means resources are focused on those who will waste them most 🤷🏻‍♂️. That’s not the case with private school, where the teaching is tailored to individual pupils. 

One of the main reason the environment is better at private schools is due to the nature of the parents. They undoubtably view education much more important than most people (certainly someone like you) and certainly more than the state do. This does tend to produce more focussed pupils in general terms, albeit kids and families still have issues irrespective of finances. Whilst, having the financial means to send your kids to school means you have done financially fairly well. That's probably in part being smarter than your average bear. That gets reflected in kids genes and educational level. 

State school standards may be acceptable to most people but I want better opportunities for my kids. I will give my kids every opportunity in life they can get. You might think that's unfair but who gives a duck, life ain't fair. A lesson people need to learn early on. 

I don't look it at wasting cash by the way. I look as an investment in my children and their future. Like all investments their is no guarantee it pays off but early signs are good and past history tends to support the notion that private education result in better outcomes. 

As aside, in the real world private health care is far superior to NHS. Something being ‘free’ or state run does not result in a good quality of service. Actually results in the opposite, as we see with education as well. It results in the bear minimum of service. People will choose private providers as they provide a better level of service. Nothing surprising about that. 

Relying on the state is the trademark of a fool. Education standards in Scotland have been falling for some time. You may be happy sending your kids to a failing system, I ain't. My kids are way more important than that. 

THIS 

6 hours ago, Spellczech said:

I think the problem is that there is a big social work aspect to being a teacher in the state school system. Whether this is having to give more time than they should to prop up the provision of assistance to the learning difficulties kids who someone on high thinks have to be included in the same classroom, trying to help out deprived kids horrid home situations (breakfast clubs etc) or trying to decide when to keep or exclude feral kids and bullies (I suspect State schools have a higher tolerance for misbehaviour as well as fewer options to remedy it.

Very good summary of what it is like in schools now. It really is a mixture of parenting and social work.  Education comes in 3rd place. 

1 hour ago, Spellczech said:

As I said above, socialism rules in schools. Inclusivity is probably the most divisive word in the dictionary at the moment...

Someone needs to wake up in the public sector and realise that if the pot of money is limited then you have to prioritise, and if that means pushing responsibility back onto parents then so be it. Irresponsible people get away with far too much in a nanny state. 

I get that argument and agree that there will always be irresponsible people only too happy to let somebody else take responsibility for their failings. 

But sometimes parents aren't equipped or not there at all for kids. As I said, it's very complex so I don't know the answer but the one thing we shouldn't do is abandon the kids. 

frankblack

I agree with Labour's view that all tax breaks should be removed from private schools.

Of the people I know, those that went to Stewart's Melville achieved less than those who went to comprehensive schools.

54 minutes ago, Ked said:

IMG_8667.gif

42 minutes ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

The big reason behind the change is that when you stratify like that, basically the results for anyone deemed "below average" falls off a cliff. If you keep everyone together but provide supplemental help both for those falling behind and for those who are surging ahead, the folks at the front don't lose much at all and the folks at the back gain quite a bit.

My daughter just turned 7 but she's speeding through books written for 9-10 year olds. (Kind of a problem as her emotional maturity is still that of a 7 year old, so there's a lot of books she could read perfectly well but which would be very confusing or scary or otherwise to her.) I'm not worried about her progression in the least. We send her to the public school where she learns, most importantly, to see commonality between everyone around her, then we push her on a bit.

I do want my kids to excel and I take responsibility for that, and for me that looks like taking that on personally. She needs to do better at math, fine, I can start showing her multiplication tricks now. Reading? Off we go to the public library. Science? That's why we have a membership at the local science museum.

You also pay for roads you'll never drive on, ferries to islands you'll never visit, health care research for diseases you'll never catch, and many other services you don't use. An educated populace is a public good. Ironically I would have thought Scotland, cradle of universal public education and whose status as among the most educated in Europe, so excelling in engineering that Gene Roddenberry basically assumed in the future that spaceship engineers would still be Scottish, would understand that.

Like others on this thread, I earned my deep and abiding hatred of private schools both through personal experience with them myself and encountering the graduates at the top levels in Universities. It's not prejudice if it's empirical.

Why? Why only the parents?

What about kids who've lost a parent, or both? (This is on my mind a lot at the moment as I'm getting ready to go to the funeral of a dear colleague from graduate school who just passed, leaving her 2 and 5 year old motherless.)

What about kids whose parents are alcoholics? Or abusive?

Of course parents should see to their children. But we should all also see to the children of our neighbors. Public school is one place that's been robustly proven time and again to be a winning investment for everyone involved. Empirically, the benefits of private schooling versus public schooling effectively vanish once you account for the income, education, and health of the parents. The biggest advantage of getting your kid into Eton is that maybe he becomes best mates with someone who's going to inherit his father's financial services firm and can get you the inside track on a cushy hedge fund management position. And if that's you're goal, then, well, fine, but then it's no longer about education, is it?

We’re not talking about people who have suffered an event that changes the course of their childhood.

You know that too.

30 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

But sometimes parents aren't equipped or not there at all for kids. 

Two options present themselves here:

A. Sterilise the feckless layabouts.

B. Confiscate the children and indoctrinate them into a Galactic Empire style Stormtrooper training program in preparation for our upcoming wars with Iran, Russia, China, Vatican City, and the Republic of Ireland.

Edited by il Duce McTarkin

15 minutes ago, frankblack said:

I agree with Labour's view that all tax breaks should be removed from private schools.

Of the people I know, those that went to Stewart's Melville achieved less than those who went to comprehensive schools.

You could, but then all the private school kids will now need spaces at state schools.

They did that in NZ and rapidly backtracked as the state system became overwhelmed .

and anyway all that would happen is a housing battle in certain areas where the better off access better education by catchment .

Best results ?

Mearns, Jordanhill 

Reason?

Middle class.

This just buys advantage in another way.

Just now, doctor jambo said:

and anyway all that would happen is a housing battle in certain areas where the better off access better education by catchment .

This happens already. 120 grand more expensive for a simiar house twonstreets over in a different catchment area. Mugs are paying fees by a different name.

1 minute ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

This happens already. 120 grand more expensive for a simiar house twonstreets over in a different catchment area. Mugs are paying fees by a different name.

Not mugs - you own the house, its value goes up.

3 kids at private school = £46,000 per annum and I own feck all

18 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

Aye mugs if the state school is only marginally better than the catchment across the road and is trading largely on an historical name, and the more expensive house ****ing bursts you.

At least for your 3 kids at 46 grand per annum - well done btw, big baws - you're getting the education you're paying for with the added bonus of nae riff-raff.

Edited by il Duce McTarkin

PaddysBar

I would consider it if:

A: The private school was nearby. I wouldn’t if it meant my kids traipsing all over the place for hours each day. I get the train into town from Newtongrange and see loads of kids in uniform travelling into town from further south. Plus as folk have said, they won’t have (m)any pals locally. 

B: I believed they’d do better. I don’t. If a kid is a numpty, they’ll be a numpty at any school. If a kid is bright, the same applies. 

I went to Porty high. It had a great mix of posh kids, normal kids and bams. It was a great experience.

I don’t want my kids to get a leg up in life just because I could afford private education. I’ll use my time with them to help them become rounded individuals who are happy and kind to others, the rest will sort itself out 👍 

the posh bit
16 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

That's some ****ing parenting metric right there. 

1 minute ago, the posh bit said:

That's some ****ing parenting metric right there. 

Doctor Mengle sedom disappoints.

the posh bit
27 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

The clever parents can do both. Pay mental prices for property in Comely Bank or Stockbridge/ Ashley Terrace or Morningside, P1-P6 in the local, decent cooncil schools, get ahead of the mortgage and then P7+ high school in Edinburgh Academy, Stewart Melvilles or GWC. Very, very common. 

Edited by the posh bit

PaddysBar
24 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Folk who move house solely to get into a different catchment area are ****ing bell-ends. 

Unless they moved to Niddrie in the 80s so the kids could go to castlebrae. 

Id suggest if you feel you are not able to offer good  parenting  for whatever reason , dont have a child.  Wait until you are ready. 

11 minutes ago, PaddysBar said:

Porty high. It had a great mix of posh kids, normal kids and bams. It was a great experience.

Yep 

Do the Edinburgh Merchant Schools count as ‘private’? 
I know a few who have been and they all seem ok.  Can’t honestly say any of them, male or female, act or are entitled.

Guy I knew in college dropped out of our course and went into teaching. He did a few years in a state school in W Lothian and then (against his left-ish principles) took a job in one of the Merchant Schools.  Said it was night and day - primarily that the kids wanted  to learn.  Much easier and much more satisfying.

39 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Do the Edinburgh Merchant Schools count as ‘private’? 
I know a few who have been and they all seem ok.  Can’t honestly say any of them, male or female, act or are entitled.

Guy I knew in college dropped out of our course and went into teaching. He did a few years in a state school in W Lothian and then (against his left-ish principles) took a job in one of the Merchant Schools.  Said it was night and day - primarily that the kids wanted  to learn.  Much easier and much more satisfying.

There are kids in state schools who want to learn but unfortunately distracted for various reasons, mainly I kids who have no interest in learning or have behavioural issues which impede the teaching staff , teaching , 

1 hour ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Two options present themselves here:

A. Sterilise the feckless layabouts.

B. Confiscate the children and indoctrinate them into a Galactic Empire style Stormtrooper training program in preparation for our upcoming wars with Iran, Russia, China, Vatican City, and the Republic of Ireland.

Reading some other comments I think that is what some folk are actually getting at.  You've cut to the chase.  

doddsyJR9

I personally don't have a problem whatsoever with private schools. They are places of excellence, with pupils who normally go on to live good lives, and contribute to society. The problem, I have is with the left wing among us, and their race to the bottom. They want to abolish excellence, and expand their them v us ideology. 

I would love to see the top tier left live in the high rise flats, or without their ever increasing salaries, in Niddrie, Banana Flats, Mental Royston etc, set an example to the rest of us plebs. Move out of their leafy suburbs? Semi Mansions? Give up their feathered lifestyles?

PaddysBar
5 minutes ago, doddsyJR9 said:

I personally don't have a problem whatsoever with private schools. They are places of excellence, with pupils who normally go on to live good lives, and contribute to society. The problem, I have is with the left wing among us, and their race to the bottom. They want to abolish excellence, and expand their them v us ideology. 

I would love to see the top tier left live in the high rise flats, or without their ever increasing salaries, in Niddrie, Banana Flats, Mental Royston etc, set an example to the rest of us plebs. Move out of their leafy suburbs? Semi Mansions? Give up their feathered lifestyles?

All schools produce pupils who go on to live good lives and contribute to society.

12 minutes ago, doddsyJR9 said:

Absolutely no chance of that happening. They enjoy their luxury lifestyle while telling rest of us to make cutbacks.

PaddysBar
Just now, Malinga the Swinga said:

Absolutely no chance of that happening. They enjoy their luxury lifestyle while telling rest of us to make cutbacks.

Yeah, the looney lefties are well know as perpetrators of cutbacks and austerity measures. 

doddsyJR9
1 minute ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Oldest trick in the book my man. Left wing versus us the plebs. They're very busy at the moment reversing Thatcher's individual car populism, that ushered in eras of wealth and diversity. They won't be happy in their miserable existence's until they drive us plebs into the ground. I'd love to see them driven out of their leafy suburban protectionism.

I quite liked what they did in Finland(?) where there are no private Schools, so if rich folk want their kids to have a better education, they can donate to the school (and by proxy, improve the experience for everyone). I don't believe your start to life should include such a leg up in Schooling and therefore the rest of your life. 

In answer to the OPs question, if I had kids. It would be difficult, on one hand, everyone I know thats went to a private school is a jumped up, entitled little *****. I've not met one thats a pleasure to be around, and they're all gimps of the highest order. On the other hand, they achieve more academically.. I dare say the lionshare of folk at top Uni's came from Private Schools, and those on high paying grad schemes are also predominately from private schools. 

So for the education, absolutely. But in terms of the social aspect of it, I'd be very concerned that my bairn would turn into a *****. 

I assume the ones that earn their way in on Scholarships are a bit different, so perhaps it just comes down to the person and their background? I.e if your kid as you are now, won the opportunity to get a scholarship, would you deny them? - Absolutely not. 

doddsyJR9
9 minutes ago, PaddysBar said:

Yeah, the looney lefties are well know as perpetrators of cutbacks and austerity measures. 

Yeah, the guardians, of the environment, telling us plebs to walk, cycle, get out of our cars yeah? Destroy the economy because of anti Thatcherism, yeah man.

PaddysBar
7 minutes ago, doddsyJR9 said:

Yeah, the guardians, of the environment, telling us plebs to walk, cycle, get out of our cars yeah? Destroy the economy because of anti Thatcherism, yeah man.

Fettes or Gordonstoun m8?

doddsyJR9
Just now, PaddysBar said:

Fettes or Gordonstoun m8?

Comprehensive. Don't have a chip on my shoulder pal. Leave that sort of stuff to the left wing thugs, who vehemently believe in them versus us plebs ideology, thank you. 

PaddysBar
2 minutes ago, doddsyJR9 said:

Comprehensive. Don't have a chip on my shoulder pal. Leave that sort of stuff to the left wing thugs, who vehemently believe in them versus us plebs ideology, thank you. 

I’ve seriously got no idea what you’re on about to be honest. 

But it’s Saturday night so that’s all cool. 

doddsyJR9

I’ve seriously got no idea what you’re on about to be honest. 

But it’s Saturday night so that’s all cool. 

Nae worries. I'll keep fighting the good fight against left wing elitism, You stay cool now. 

PaddysBar
3 minutes ago, doddsyJR9 said:

Nae worries. I'll keep fighting the good fight against left wing elitism, You stay cool now. 

How are you fighting that fight?

doddsyJR9

How are you fighting that fight?

By raising my voice and opinions, against leftist illiberal elitism. We all have them. The left wing think they can shout the loudest, and boldest. Not on your nelly Paddy.

PaddysBar
1 minute ago, doddsyJR9 said:

By raising my voice and opinions, against leftist illiberal elitism. We all have them. The left wing think they can shout the loudest, and boldest. Not on your nelly Paddy.

Hopefully you don’t live in the EH22 postcode. 

doddsyJR9
1 minute ago, PaddysBar said:

Hopefully you don’t live in the EH22 postcode. 

Why would that be Paddy?

doddsyJR9

It’s full of lefty bams. 

Anyway, back to the main point. Of course there should be selective education. The best, most educationally attained would never be noticed in thousands of pupils comprehensives, or be anonymous because of them. I want the best to be selected because of potential, not denied it, due to marxist/communist chips on shoulders. I'll leave it at that for now.