BBC Presenter

Bauld

7 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

Yep. Stress again I'd perhaps feel differently had there been evidence of criminality (but even then I still wonder if the alleged committed crime warranted this much media action) but there's none according to the Met. 

I can have my own view on his conduct but on a human level I feel for him right now, and more particularly his wife and family.

Let he who is without sin...

Yup.  It’s been a busy week down at the stone (& pitchfork) shop.

• Replies 1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• hughesie27

• Unknown user

• Lone Striker

2 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

I think we’ve been raised on this scum media and actually enjoy it. Or not enjoy it but because it’s someone else getting roasted so we can feel superior or something for a few days. 
Britain invented this stuff to keep us all fighting each other and it seems our media uses it against us too. Like little sheep getting herded into pens. 
The media chooses our prime ministers and destroys whoever they please. 
John Major said he was shocked at the influence Murdoch had when he was in power. There’s no way in any universe on any planet that Boris Johnson could’ve got into any position of power if they didn’t :lol: 

I only highlighted the 1st line of your 3rd patagraph from your post as above as I'm pretty well sure that nothing, but nothing would 'shock' John Major:-

"She also details how the pair discussed God in the bath and alluded to a three-hour sex session."

☝️ is a quote from 👇

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/2288341.stm

I rest my case. 😉

Edited by Wee Mikey

Dick Dastardly
9 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

I filled out an online form to say that i only use my TV to play xbox, not that it's any of their business. 

They still waste thousands of pounds sending threatening letters to everyone, which get chucked straight in bin. 

I suppose the mugs that still pay the licence pay for the postage. 

9 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

Aye I’m gonna do that as well. Actually getting forced into paying is unreal in this day and age. 

Honestly, I've not had a license for about 20yrs. I've never had a visit. I get letters through telling me they are coming for me but, so far, nothing else. 

The letters seem to come in a cycle, for a few months I'll get 2 a month then nothing for 6 months or so. You can  fill in the form saying you don't need a license and they stop pestering you for 2 years but i can't really be bothered, and I'd prefer that they didn't know my name, tbh. 

13 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

Honestly, I've not had a license for about 20yrs. I've never had a visit. I get letters through telling me they are coming for me but, so far, nothing else. 

The letters seem to come in a cycle, for a few months I'll get 2 a month then nothing for 6 months or so. You can  fill in the form saying you don't need a license and they stop pestering you for 2 years but i can't really be bothered, and I'd prefer that they didn't know my name, tbh. 

Should be like Sky if you want it (subscripion) you pay, you dont want it then no payment.

Dick Dastardly
8 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

They have the same right to a private life as anyone else. But that does not extend to a public figure paying £35k to someone to feed a cocaine habit for favours rendered. Allegedly subject to his lawyers suing for defamation.

Look I have a great deal of sympathy for Hew and his family. Maybe his mental illness made him think he was not vulnerable to public exposure for his personal life.

I'm not sure you can blame him for what the money was spent on, can you? If we are playing that game you'll have to blame the royals for funding Huws porn habit. 

9 hours ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

What have the BBC done wrong?  And if he hasn't done anything illegal why do we need to know? 

Dick Dastardly
1 minute ago, Harry Potter said:

Should be like Sky if you want it (subscripion) you pay, you dont want it then no payment.

Yeah, pretty much agree with you. 

Portable Badger
9 hours ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

I'm just disappointed it wasn't Stephen Nolan. Oh well.

Nice that Huw had a spare 35K though from his salary.

Don’t think Huw’s wife will be too happy - he allegedly told her that he didn’t have enough for new curtains 

😜

30 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

I'm not sure you can blame him for what the money was spent on, can you? If we are playing that game you'll have to blame the royals for funding Huws porn habit. 

Sorry. Which royals were involved in the transaction?

6 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

I only highlighted the 1st line of your 3rd patagraph from your post as above as I'm pretty well sure that nothing, but nothing would 'shock' John Major:-

"She also details how the pair discussed God in the bath and alluded to a three-hour sex session."

☝️ is a quote from 👇

I rest my case. 😉

Quite possibly true :lol: 

Murdoch is absolute vermin with far too much influence here is also true.

I always thought major to be a fairly decent bloke but maybe that’s comparing him to todays clowns🤷🏽‍♂️

8 hours ago, FWJ said:

Did he know what the money was being spent on?  That’s the responsibility of the person getting the money.

Maybe he thought the fact it wasn’t the public’s business made him think his personal life was personal.

(Although working in the cess-pit that is the British media he should have known better.  So guilty of naïvity.  Throw away the key!)

A 17 year old coke addict can't really be held responsible for how the money was spent either. Hew it seems given his illness and mental health can't either. A mess all round.

(The good news is we can now drop the  "their" pronoun when referring to the victim.

The only thing that I got a bit worked up about on this thread!)

1 minute ago, Francis Albert said:

A 17 year old coke addict can't really be held responsible for how the money was spent either. Hew it seems given his illness and mental health can't either. A mess all round.

(The good news is we can now drop the  "their" pronoun when referring to the victim.

I'd have thought extending your logic that you'd be questioning how any public employee decides to spend their salary seeing as 'we pay their wages'?

Your train of thought on this is a bit of mess TBF. 

6 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

☝️ is a quote from 👇

I rest my case. 😉

Oh dear I’ve just woke up

and the image of John major in a bath having sex is making me nauseous 

3 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

So it was a he ? Why all the secrecy about his sex ? 

By

2 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I'd have thought extending your logic that you'd be questioning how any public employee decides to spend their salary seeing as 'we pay their wages'?

Your train of thought on this is a bit of mess TBF. 

Where did I say anything about anyone paying anyone's wages?

Dick Dastardly
21 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Sorry. Which royals were involved in the transaction?

The ones who had a wedding which enabled Huw to earn more money. It's the same principle as you blaming him for what the "young person" spent their earnings on. 

9 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

OK. But that is a separate issue. And not the only public interest. Especially if it relates to a public entity we all have to pay for. 

10 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

By

Where did I say anything about anyone paying anyone's wages?

My apologies if you weren't inferring that with the top post. 

4 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Oh dear I’ve just woke up

and the image of John major in a bath having sex is making me nauseous 

So it was a he ? Why all the secrecy about his sex ? 

On reflection perhaps we need to know his preferred pronoun before we we use the word his.

The secrecy was presumably something to do with protecting the "victim's" identity by not revealing his sex. That could have easily been achieved (and was in some reports) without using language that suggested both parties involved were 17 when their transactions began. 

7 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

The ones who had a wedding which enabled Huw to earn more money. It's the same principle as you blaming him for what the "young person" spent their earnings on. 

That is a bit of a stretch! And I wasn't and am not blaming anyone. 

Edited by Francis Albert

10 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

BBC news now doing its best to whitewash Hew's activities. Repeatedly saying there was nothing criminal. But if he did pay £35000 to this "victim" what was it for exactly? And no mention of any failing of the BBC in handling the whole thing. The Sun castigated of course but if not for the Sun would we ever have known?

That's the Police that said that. Just reporting what the Police found which is standard journalistic practice.

7 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

My apologies if you weren't inferring that with the top post. 

The two posts were replying to different posts in different contexts. But well done!

11 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

BBC news now doing its best to whitewash Hew's activities. Repeatedly saying there was nothing criminal. But if he did pay £35000 to this "victim" what was it for exactly? And no mention of any failing of the BBC in handling the whole thing. The Sun castigated of course but if not for the Sun would we ever have known?

It's the Police who have said he has done nothing illegal.

Going to have to wait until.the dust settles but surely if nothing has gone on the Sun will end up paying out another large sum for defamation 

39 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Wy all the secrecy about his sex ? 

Sorry I had just woken up. I think he has now been established as a she?? Not that it matters a jot.

15 minutes ago, Tazio said:

So. To lighten matters. 
What’s grey and smells of curry? 
John Major’s pubes. 

Matters remain unlightened by that.  :(

18 minutes ago, Tazio said:

So. To lighten matters. 
John Major’s pubes. 

What's green and smells of pork?

Kermit's middle finger

19 minutes ago, Tazio said:

So. To lighten matters. 
John Major’s pubes. 

Omg and eggs too 

4 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Sorry I had just woken up. I think he has now been established as a she?? Not that it matters a jot.

To some it probably does . 

14 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

The Sun and Lee Anderson going to really go after those protecting perverts.

20230713_093705.jpg

This guy will be relieved 

IMG-20230706-WA0003.jpg.3a4e0fd0b412e5fa161522fbeb0305d2.jpg

10 hours ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

What have the BBC done wrong?  And if he hasn't done anything illegal why do we need to know? 

Excellent point.   Seems to me that The Scum  deliberately  stirred the pot with their headline to the point that the public perception (for the gullible at least)  is that the BBC knowingly harbours paedophiles among the staff.   Job done.

Murdoch and his editors are the scum of the earth.   

41 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Not sure that statement holds water.   If you need coke because you're already an addict, you have to buy it from a  dealer who is already breaking the law.   So if anyone's aiding and abetting a criminal, its her - although obviously she won't see it that way.

I wonder how the £35k figure was arrived at.   Was Huw that desperate for the girl's nudie pics that he'd pay anything ?   Or did the girl haggle once she found out who he was - almost at a blackmail level ?  

And how did it take so long for the mother to work out where the money was coming from ?   We don't know yet if the daughter was also  getting income from other punters for similar services.

28 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

The two posts were replying to different posts in different contexts. But well done!

You're most welcome. 

4 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Excellent point.   Seems to me that The Scum  deliberately  stirred the pot with their headline to the point that the public perception (for the gullible at least)  is that the BBC knowingly harbours paedophiles among the staff.   Job done.

Murdoch and his editors are the scum of the earth.   

Not sure that statement holds water.   If you need coke because you're already an addict, you have to buy it from a  dealer who is already breaking the law.   So if anyone's aiding and abetting a criminal, its her - although obviously she won't see it that way.

I wonder how the £35k figure was arrived at.   Was Huw that desperate for the girl's nudie pics that he'd pay anything ?   Or did the girl haggle once she found out who he was - almost at a blackmail level ?  

And how did it take so long for the mother to work out where the money was coming from ?   We don't know yet if the daughter was also  getting income from other punters for similar services.

It’s a girl again?! 🤪😂

5 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Has anyone, other than the young woman or her parents, actually seen any bank statements to confirm any large monetary transactions yet?

Last I heard, the Sun ran the story without any sight of her bank statements. They just took the word of the parents, apparently. 

3 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

It’s a girl again?! 🤪😂

:sadrobbo:   I can't keep up !!  😃   Let's just go with "them"     😉

2 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

:sadrobbo:   I can't keep up !!  😃   Let's just go with "them"     😉

:lol: 👍🏼

18 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

This guy will be relieved 

IMG-20230706-WA0003.jpg.3a4e0fd0b412e5fa161522fbeb0305d2.jpg

I'm not sure the boxing gloves go with the suit but they're a nice match to his shoes 

Dick Dastardly
10 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

But that does not extend to a public figure paying £35k to someone to feed a cocaine habit for favours rendered. 

58 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

That is a bit of a stretch! And I wasn't and am not blaming anyone. 

It was you that said he was paying someone to feed their habit. As much of a stretch as me saying the royals were funding his porn habits. 

12 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

It was you that said he was paying someone to feed their habit. As much of a stretch as me saying the royals were funding his porn habits. 

It was her mother who said the money was being used to feed her child's drug habit. 

Was  Putin funding Hew's  porn habits by invading Ukraine?

Getting silly now. I'm out.

Dick Dastardly
3 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

It was her mother who said the money was being used to feed her child's drug habit. 

Was  Putin funding Hew's  porn habits by invading Ukraine?

Getting silly now. I'm out.

You said it as well in the post i quoted. 

I was pointing out how much of a stretch your statement was. 

4 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

You said it as well in the post i quoted. 

I was pointing out how much of a stretch your statement was. 

Based on the source - her mother. At that time the main source of the "news".

What was your source for the royals funding of Hew's porn habit? 

I get it. You are not a royalist. 

Fair enough.

1 hour ago, Francis Albert said:

On reflection perhaps we need to know his preferred pronoun before we we use the word his.

The secrecy was presumably something to do with protecting the "victim's" identity by not revealing his sex. That could have easily been achieved (and was in some reports) without using language that suggested both parties involved were 17 when their transactions began. 

It didn't suggest that, FA. You inferred it. Incorrectly.

I think the hysteria over this is a little puzzling to those outside the British bubble, like say Americans or continental Europeans. But fair to say they probably wouldn't be anything like as culturally aware and sensitive to anything that has a hint of sex scandal at the BBC.

It's Savile and some other stuff isn't it, Savile big time for obvious reasons, I will never get over that slimy ******* getting away with it in his lifetime. Savile was part of a wider overall sort of tacit acceptance throughout British society that inappropriate behavior wasn't all that bad, just meant in fun at worst.

True story btw, Savile always gave me the creeps when I was growing up watching, he was just too touchy feely and kiss me on the cheek and stuff with those girls it made me cringe even as a youngster who didn't know the full truth.

But he was just an extreme of a wider culture, here's another true story. I was at high school in the mid to late 1970's while at the time they were expanding the school building on land adjacent and connected.

This was quite a major project and there were a lot of "workies" around who would enter the school to buy food from they school canteen. One day I was standing in a line to get into that canteen and a workie came out of it, he put his hand up the skirt of a girl in that line. She would be about 14.

She yelped and jumped away and this guy laughed, until that is he noticed the headmaster of the school whose presence he had been unaware of witnessed the entire event. The headmaster calls out at him something like hey you,

This guy scowls and starts walking away and as he passed me I could hear him cursing about something or other, I don't know if the headmaster heard it. But the guy was angry that the head would sort of humiliate him in front of us kids like that, as if he were one of us, no matter what he had done.

Absolutely zero comprehension of how outrageous what he did was, like it was just high spirits or something, no big deal. That's the kind of society that produced Savile. I don't what if anything came out of him doing that to this girl.

I don't know if the head had words with any foreman or something, i'm more than confident he didn't ask cops to come to the school.  

35 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

I think the hysteria over this is a little puzzling to those outside the British bubble, like say Americans or continental Europeans. But fair to say they probably wouldn't be anything like as culturally aware and sensitive to anything that has a hint of sex scandal at the BBC.

It's Savile and some other stuff isn't it, Savile big time for obvious reasons, I will never get over that slimy ******* getting away with it in his lifetime. Savile was part of a wider overall sort of tacit acceptance throughout British society that inappropriate behavior wasn't all that bad, just meant in fun at worst.

True story btw, Savile always gave me the creeps when I was growing up watching, he was just too touchy feely and kiss me on the cheek and stuff with those girls it made me cringe even as a youngster who didn't know the full truth.

But he was just an extreme of a wider culture, here's another true story. I was at high school in the mid to late 1970's while at the time they were expanding the school building on land adjacent and connected.

This was quite a major project and there were a lot of "workies" around who would enter the school to buy food from they school canteen. One day I was standing in a line to get into that canteen and a workie came out of it, he put his hand up the skirt of a girl in that line. She would be about 14.

She yelped and jumped away and this guy laughed, until that is he noticed the headmaster of the school whose presence he had been unaware of witnessed the entire event. The headmaster calls out at him something like hey you,

This guy scowls and starts walking away and as he passed me I could hear him cursing about something or other, I don't know if the headmaster heard it. But the guy was angry that the head would sort of humiliate him in front of us kids like that, as if he were one of us, no matter what he had done.

Absolutely zero comprehension of how outrageous what he did was, like it was just high spirits or something, no big deal. That's the kind of society that produced Savile. I don't what if anything came out of him doing that to this girl.

I don't know if the head had words with any foreman or something, i'm more than confident he didn't ask cops to come to the school.  

Yes Jimmy Saville gave me the creeps too when I was a kid but I still wrote to him requesting a “ jim I’ll fix it “  thank god I never got a reply . 

5 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Yes Jimmy Saville gave me the creeps too when I was a kid but I still wrote to him requesting a “ jim I’ll fix it “  thank god I never got a reply . 

Something told you he was a wrongun but we all watched religiously :lol: 

Im still amazed that Rod Hull never got done for anything. Hand in a puppet going around groping bairns…

Mental thinking about it now.