Veggie Rationing

That thing you do

17 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Sorry but I prefer Branston beans and sadly they're in short supply just now.😭

Scotmid have 2x 410grams Branston beans for 1.50. 

• Replies 312

• il Duce McTarkin

• Nucky Thompson

• periodictabledancer

31 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Scotmid have 2x 410grams Branston beans for 1.50. 

Fortunately a few weeks ago I I managed to get a good supply in Costco but there are none available just now.

Tesco 90p a 410g tin.😂

17 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Fortunately a few weeks ago I I managed to get a good supply in Costco but there are none available just now.

Tesco 90p a 410g tin.😂

Branston baked beans are for Tennent's drinking deviants that sit down for a pish imo.

Edited by Dirk McTarkin

10 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Branston baked beans are for Tennent's drinking deviants that sit down for a pish imo.

Am I misremembering you saying your missus was daft for Tennents on the PD thread?

We need more female deviants IMO.

IMG_20230224_102411.jpg

Just now, Konrad von Carstein said:

Am I misremembering you saying your missus was daft for Tennents on the PD thread?

We need more female deviants IMO.

IMG_20230224_102411.jpg

I though it meant Dirk at lodgers staying. 

3 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

You remember correctly, Konnie, she is indeed a sicko Tennent's drinking weirdo that sits down for a pish, apart from at the occasional music festival, where a squat behind the techno tent will often suffice.

She'd be out on her ear if she ever brought Branston baked beans home from the supermarket, though. And I'd be sending her hard drive off to the old bill pronto.

11 minutes ago, Dazo said:

I though it meant Dirk at lodgers staying. 

A couple of buxom Ukrainian lodgers would go down a treat, tbf.

What a difference 24 hrs have made, my local Co-op has now got lots of empty baskets in the fruit & veg aisle, the hoarderes have been out in force it seems.

25 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

What a difference 24 hrs have made, my local Co-op has now got lots of empty baskets in the fruit & veg aisle, the hoarderes have been out in force it seems.

Aye, the same every time there is some sort of shortage / slow supply.

Step 1:  Slow supply of products.  Almost everyone still getting their usual shopping.

Step 2: Media report the supply issue.  The panic merchants run out and empty the fecking shelves.

1 hour ago, Mark_Mywords said:

Aye, the same every time there is some sort of shortage / slow supply.

Step 1:  Slow supply of products.  Almost everyone still getting their usual shopping.

Step 2: Media report the supply issue.  The panic merchants run out and empty the fecking shelves.

Undoubtedly that's a lot to do with it.

Remember the petrol/diesel shortages last year, it was 3 or 4 garages in the London area then when the media got a hold of it, it suddenly became much more widespread because the panic merchants were out filling up their cars up only for most of them to sit on their driveway for the rest of the week.

Well in this case, some folks attic's and garages are going to stink in a week or two when all that fruit and veg starts to rot.

Dunfermline

Aldi no cucumber peppers or tomatoes last night 

Tesco no tomatoes today although there was no tomatoes cucumber or peppers earlier this week.

Caveat, I usually go early evening so they may have been picked clean during the day... 

Lidl, Dalry late morning, walked right past the trays and trays of tomatoes and cumbers to get at a Belgian Bun and a choccy croissant. :greggy:

Edited by ArcticJambo

4 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Dunfermline

Aldi no cucumber peppers or tomatoes last night 

Tesco no tomatoes today although there was no tomatoes cucumber or peppers earlier this week.

Caveat, I usually go early evening so they may have been picked clean during the day... 

If I'm honest I wouldn't know there was a shortage if the media weren't saying. I normally rock in quite late in the day and just take my chances on what's there at the best of times 🤣

1 hour ago, BlueRiver said:

If I'm honest I wouldn't know there was a shortage if the media weren't saying. I normally rock in quite late in the day and just take my chances on what's there at the best of times 🤣

Aye, but, for whatever reason*, it's much worse than I've seen. Previously every once in a while the salad veg isles were empty it's ridiculous right now though.

*Brexit most certainly is a contributing factor despite what the attention seekers and trolls on here and elsewhere say.

The bog-roll and bleach hoarders have latched on to the latest shortage scare, I see. 

Nothing like the peospect of a minor shortage to rapidly descend into a major shortage on account of some easily panicked, wobbly-hedded, cretinous, rimjobs.

5 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Same with Gorgie, hopefully it helps folk eat better 🤞

59 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Aye, but, for whatever reason*, it's much worse than I've seen. Previously every once in a while the salad veg isles were empty it's ridiculous right now though.

*Brexit most certainly is a contributing factor despite what the attention seekers and trolls on here and elsewhere say.

Indeed 

https://www.believeinscotland.org/10-reasons-why-brexit-is-behind-the-uks-food-shortages/

1 minute ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Seriously, believe in Scotland :rofl:

File next to 'believe in the Loch Ness monster'.

Asda in Berwick has their 25% of 6 or more bottles of wine just now.

Nipped in and got 38 bottles, a pack of tomatoes and a lettuce.

No empty shelves down there 

WorldChampions1902
15 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Asda in Berwick has their 25% of 6 or more bottles of wine just now.

Nipped in and got 38 bottles, a pack of tomatoes and a lettuce.

No empty shelves down there 

Apart from the wine aisle. Obvs. ::troll::

Lancaster doesn't seem to have suffered either.

*edit*

It suffers from being a shitehole but there's plenty veg' available. 

Edited by Dawnrazor

11 minutes ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

Apart from the wine aisle. Obvs. ::troll::

I cleared the shelf of Cava Rose and sparkling Pinot Grigio :biggrin2:

They're always the first to run out for some reason 

WorldChampions1902
Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

I cleared the shelf of Cava Rose and sparkling Pinot Grigio :biggrin2:

They're always the first to run out for some reason 

Made from freshly-pressed tomatoes. Shameful.

5 hours ago, ArcticJambo said:

Lidl, Dalry late morning, walked right past the trays and trays of tomatoes and cumbers to get at a Belgian Bun and a choccy croissant. :greggy:

By the time you got the bun the veg would be out of date in lidl.   

15 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Seriously, believe in Scotland :rofl:

You were the one saying the British experts knew more about conditions in Spain than the farmers there who said they weren't any 🤔🤷🏾‍♂️😆?
Typical blinkered British Nationalist separatist 🤪

WorldChampions1902
6 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Ffs I'm proper craving a well seasoned cheddar and tomato piece now, you lot need to shut up

Sliced turnip is in season and being trumpeted by the Brexiteers. Stop moaning and enjoy a rare Brexit benefit.

Personally, I hope we all starve to death so I can feel vindicated about my opposition to Brexit. 

Nothing like a good famine to make one feel all smug.

:greggy:

2 minutes ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

Sliced turnip is in season and being trumpeted by the Brexiteers. Stop moaning and enjoy a rare Brexit benefit.

I suppose it would still be a BLT 🤔

Just now, Dirk McTarkin said:

Personally, I hope we all starve to death so I can feel vindicated about my opposition to Brexit. 

Nothing like a good famine to make one feel all smug.

:greggy:

Ah who needs a famine?

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

Ah who needs a famine?

Have you seen the amount of fatty bloaters cutting about these days? A wee spot of famine might actually be good for folk.