The Last of Us (tv show)

Really, really looking forward to this.

9 episodes based on the 1st video game (arguably the best video game of all time)

It looks like they are going to cover the events of the original game

Pedro Pascal plays Joel and Bella Ramsey plays Ellie 

• Replies 292

• Nucky Thompson

• hughesie27

• jack D and coke

• vegas-voss

15 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

9 episodes based on the 1st video game (arguably the best video game of all time)

Space invaders?

Imagine it’ll be pretty gruesome if like the games. 
TLOU2 especially is pretty visceral and violent. 
Both games deal with lots of issues too including a trans character in the 2nd one. 
It got stick for being too woke. 
Must have a bit of Walking Dead vibe I’d imagine. Hopefully as good as when that was the best thing on tv. 

3 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Imagine it’ll be pretty gruesome if like the games. 
TLOU2 especially is pretty visceral and violent. 
Both games deal with lots of issues too including a trans character in the 2nd one. 
It got stick for being too woke. 
Must have a bit of Walking Dead vibe I’d imagine. Hopefully as good as when that was the best thing on tv. 

Never heard of it. But the show has the Mandalorian in it, so I'll give it a go .

3 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Never heard of it. But the show has the Mandalorian in it, so I'll give it a go .

That’s the sequel. It’s dark and violent. 
Exceptional game. 

3 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

You've got to give the game a go. Tremendous 

Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

You've got to give the game a go. Tremendous 

Last time a played a game, my oldest hammered me about 12-0 at fifa. He was about 10. I nearly throw the thing out the windie. :D Bad loser.

13 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

I would think so, but with a much better story

4 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Last time a played a game, my oldest hammered me about 12-0 at fifa. He was about 10. I nearly throw the thing out the windie. :D Bad loser.

Lol. I was the same :biggrin2:

I was playing a horse racing game with my laddie and he blocked me in on rails to stop me winning.

I got a row from my wife for shouting at him

1 minute ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Lol. I was the same :biggrin2:

I was playing a horse racing game with my laddie and he blocked me in on rails to stop me winning.

I got a row from my wife for shouting at him

I was shouting "This fecking control thing doesnae work"  :mad:

3 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I would think so, but with a much better story

TWD was brilliant for 7 seasons then christ knows what happened. Think it was S8 was when Negan appeared then it just turned into absolute pish…I was gutted. 
Zombie stuff has been done a lot these last few years but there’s potential seeing as I’m into it before it’s even out. 

7 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

TWD was brilliant for 7 seasons then christ knows what happened. Think it was S8 was when Negan appeared then it just turned into absolute pish…I was gutted. 
Zombie stuff has been done a lot these last few years but there’s potential seeing as I’m into it before it’s even out. 

Aye, that's exactly where I watched TWD up to as well.

It's now on the final season, so I might watch that to see how it ends 

3 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Aye might have a look myself then👍🏼

16 minutes ago, mrmarkus1981_1 said:

It's garbage, don't waste your time

It's not even been released yet.

The premiere is in January 

1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Same with me. Series 6 or 7, then I was out. 

Dennis Reynolds

I don't think I have ever or will ever have such high expectations for a show. I have faith that HBO will do this justice and it'll be one of, if not the finest thing to grace TV, ever. The story is incredible and I am like a kid before Christmas waiting on it coming out.

mrmarkus1981_1
11 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

It's not even been released yet.

The premiere is in January 

My apologies, i should have really quoted a TWD post. Really looking forward to The Last of Us :) 

2 hours ago, mrmarkus1981_1 said:

My apologies, i should have really quoted a TWD post. Really looking forward to The Last of Us :) 

Dean Winchester
1 hour ago, Dennis Reynolds said:

Looks incredible.

From the trailer it looks like a shot for shot remake of the game and expansion which is all I want.

Good to see they gave Troy Baker a cameo too. I assume Ashley Johnson will have one as well.

Actually she is in the trailer... I mistook her for Bella :lol:

Edited by Dean Winchester

2 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

I played this game after your claim that it’s best video game of all time. It’s not and not even close. 

Fair enough mate.

What's your favorite then?

There's loads of great games out there, so it's maybe a stretch describing it as the best of all time, but I haven't played a game with a better script or storytelling 

On 24/11/2022 at 19:20, Nucky Thompson said:

Cannot wait for this. From the trailer it looks completely authentic and true to the game. 

Thunder and Lightning
On 24/11/2022 at 20:09, jack D and coke said:

That's probably when I gave up as well. 

Loved it! My favourite game and was worried this wouldn’t live up to it but I’d say it was the perfect start! Incredible adaptation with new things thrown in there that enhance the story and characters. 

24 minutes ago, JamboMarc said:

Loved it! My favourite game and was worried this wouldn’t live up to it but I’d say it was the perfect start! Incredible adaptation with new things thrown in there that enhance the story and characters. 

Good to hear.

I'll watch it at 9pm on Sky Atlantic 

Almost a shot by shot recreation of the first few hours of the first game.

Be interesting to see how far they take the story/plan on dragging it out compared to where the first game ends.

I'm waiting for the PC version to finally come out before playing it for the first time.

Watch the TV show now or wait until after I've played the game?

Dean Winchester
38 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

Almost a shot by shot recreation of the first few hours of the first game.

Be interesting to see how far they take the story/plan on dragging it out compared to where the first game ends.

Spoiler

There are shots of the hospital in the trailer so I don't think there will be any dragging out in terms of the overall plot.

There are going to be other feature length episodes as well that I think they'll flesh out a bit more than the game and they're also covering the Left Behind DLC as Riley is in the trailer as well.

47 minutes ago, Dean Winchester said:
  Reveal hidden contents

There are shots of the hospital in the trailer so I don't think there will be any dragging out in terms of the overall plot.

There are going to be other feature length episodes as well that I think they'll flesh out a bit more than the game and they're also covering the Left Behind DLC as Riley is in the trailer as well.

Interesting. Possibly a 2 season and done effort then. Although Game 2 could easily be 2 or 3 seasons in itself!

Dean Winchester
1 hour ago, hughesie27 said:

Interesting. Possibly a 2 season and done effort then. Although Game 2 could easily be 2 or 3 seasons in itself!

Spoiler

Yeah I think it would need to be:

Part 1 - Season 1

Part 2 - Seasons 2 and 3

Part 3 may well be out or nearly completed by the time they do another 2 seasons so maybe some scope for that but I don't think they'll go beyond the source material.

Really strong first episode that stayed pretty much true to the game.

Spoiler

Felt horrible watching the initial outbreak and knowing what was about to happen though. :sob:

Spoiler

I’m dreading Sam and Henry 😭😭😭