Is there anything in politics more shit than the Labour Party?

Ulysses

Gundermann
39 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Go on Labour, do whatever it takes to first of all win UK election and then play it's part in ridding Scotland of the vile and corrupt SNP government.

Obviously they're doing a grand job as the bitterness of your posts is ever increasing along with the desperation to throw any mud onto Labour as you can.

They're coming to power and the independence dream is dead. What a glorious start to the weekend.

You've changed your tune.

https://www.scottishconservatives.com/news/scottish-labour-failing/

I'm fine with Starmer in England btw. Will probably increase support for Indy.

• Replies 3.6k

• JudyJudyJudy

• ri Alban

• Gundermann

• BlueRiver

Gundermann
1 minute ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Boo hoo.

Another one for the petty grievance bank, Gundy.

My gurns against that gang of charlatans and chancers is more than petty, mon cher Italiane.

5 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

My gurns against that gang of charlatans and chancers is more than petty, mon cher Italiane.

And not without good reason. :lol:👍

Ulysses

🎵Avanti o popolo, alla riscossa

Bandiera rossa, bandiera rossa

Avanti o popolo, alla riscossa

Bandiera rossa trionferà.

Bandiera rossa la trionferà

Evviva il mumblo mumblo e la ahem, erm, embarrassed mumblo.... 🎵

G'wan yourself, Sir Keir!  :toasting:

3 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

🎵Avanti o popolo, alla riscossa

Bandiera rossa, bandiera rossa

Avanti o popolo, alla riscossa

Bandiera rossa trionferà.

Evviva il mumblo mumblo e la ahem, erm, embarrassed mumblo.... 🎵

G'wan yourself, Sir Keir!  :toasting:

I'm not sure they do keep the Red flag flying high nowadays.

Ulysses
18 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Hence the last line.  Or we could sing...

🎵The people's flag is brightest white

'Cos we are frightened of our shite

We hide our feelings in the mists

For fear you'll think we're socialists

When battle comes, be in no doubt

We'll run away, and chicken out

Though Lib Dems laugh and Tories sneer

We'll hide the red flag from Sir Keir. 🎵

16 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

Hence the last line.  Or we could sing...

🎵The people's flag is brightest white

'Cos we are frightened of our shite

We hide our feelings in the mists

For fear you'll think we're socialists

When battle comes, be in no doubt

We'll run away, and chicken out

Though Lib Dems laugh and Tories sneer

We'll hide the red flag from Sir Keir. 🎵

Where did you steal this from?😉

redjambo
2 hours ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

You say that like it's a bad thing, red'.

Do you think that they should really be pressing on with grandiose policy statements and pledges that they know will be twisted and slaughtered by the incumbent client media, thus placing unnecessary jeopardy upon their chances of getting into power with a sizeable majority?

One thing is for certain, if/when they DO get into power and the true state of the public finances after the criminal thievery and mismanagement of the last 14 years is revealed, their hands will be effectively tied.

No plan survives first contact with the enemy, so there's little to be gained in this instance for going all in with 'we'll do this and do that'.

I'm not a regular Labour voter, btw.

A fair argument, Tarks. We'll see what they do once they get into power because since they will have gained support from folk with quite a wide range of political beliefs, they are definitely going to piss off chunks of their voters when they actually start enacting policies that are any flavour apart from vanilla. Going in with an unclear agenda has its costs too.

Edited by redjambo

2 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Go on Labour, do whatever it takes to first of all win UK election and then play it's part in ridding Scotland of the vile and corrupt SNP government.

Obviously they're doing a grand job as the bitterness of your posts is ever increasing along with the desperation to throw any mud onto Labour as you can.

They're coming to power and the independence dream is dead. What a glorious start to the weekend.

Get the Red Tories in.:10900:

Ulysses
29 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Where did you steal this from?😉

A Taylor Swift album sleeve. :whistling:

Gundermann
1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

I wonder what they did with all the flinching traitors?

ehcaley
37 minutes ago, redjambo said:

A fair argument, Tarks. We'll see what they do once they get into power because since they will have gained support from folk with quite a wide range of political beliefs, they are definitely going to piss off chunks of their voters when they actually start enacting policies that are any flavour apart from vanilla. Going in with an unclear agenda has its costs too.

They have always pissed off the people who  think the Labour Party is a left wing Socialist party.It isn't,never was and never will be but it has always had a broad church membership from Fabians to Marxists who have mostly gotten along with a few spats on the way. The wee demanders like Militant and Corbyns Momentum regularly pop up and try to take over,see the recent past where the nut jobs were in charge and Labour went down to its biggest ever thrashing in modern times,ask the loonies to explain why " they weren't left wing enough" fruit loops man🤪and exactly the same as the far right who argue that the Tories aren't far right enough(and they will go down to their biggest ever thrashing)

Right open another Friday Guinness💋

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

I read excricketer Minty Panesar to stand for the Galloway party at the election plus 100+ candidates could do damage to labour in many areas of England 

Edited by ToadKiller Dog

1 hour ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

I read excricketer Minty Panesar to stand for the Galloway party at the election plus 100+ candidates could do damage to labour in many areas of England 

Is he pepperminty? A UK party that stands on policies focussed on a country hundreds of miles away. Sounds about right for that sleazebag and political opportunist George Galloway. 

Japan Jambo
4 hours ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

He named the party after himself? Sounds about right I guess; always was a narcissistic, opportunistic .

Just now, Japan Jambo said:

He named the party after himself? Sounds about right I guess; always was a narcissistic, opportunistic .

Think he calls it the workers party , 

Some other candidates is an exukipper and some guy who claimed that homosexuality comes from being sexually abused .

8 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

Sure enough, Labstain sell out the waspi women.

Screenshot2024-05-01at22-55-00LabourabstainasMSPsbackfullcompensationforWaspiwomen.png.4b537bd22335f6e2c2fe70d3e8eeeae9.thumb.png.6b6e3e0d043b51c81070dbd129556155.png

FB_IMG_1714631810107.thumb.jpg.8a289c178c3e47281a24eb64ab01c323.jpg

The Glasgow City Council equal pay and pensions scandal is another doozy. Going to cost around £770m. All successive Labour administration's work. 

2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

The Glasgow City Council equal pay and pensions scandal is another doozy. Going to cost around £770m. All successive Labour administration's work. 

Forgot about that, a Labour council under a Labour govt denying some of its poorest workers decent pay and pensions.

But aye, let's not vote SNP or Green to... protect women? Maybe Rowling could step in and help Labour pay those pensions? They're keen to use private finance apparently.

1 minute ago, Gundermann said:

Forgot about that, a Labour council under a Labour govt denying some of its poorest workers decent pay and pensions.

But aye, let's not vote SNP or Green to... protect women? Maybe Rowling could step in and help Labour pay those pensions? They're keen to use private finance apparently.

Don’t forget them kicking up a stink about bairns not getting laptops recently too. Or bikes.
This is the same pricks who voted against bairns in poverty getting a meal at school. 
More faces than the town clock the *****. 

43 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Don’t forget them kicking up a stink about bairns not getting laptops recently too. Or bikes.
This is the same pricks who voted against bairns in poverty getting a meal at school. 
More faces than the town clock the *****. 

Fair comment

I see labour is watering down its new deal for workers plan that was to be in place in the first 100 days .

After internal pressure supposedly yeah .

Given the result last night in Blackpool, if say there are a lot more useless things in politics than Labour.

15 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Given the result last night in Blackpool, if say there are a lot more useless things in politics than Labour.

Labour in name only. The voters have only swapped one colour of Tory for another.

https://www.unitetheunion.org/news-events/news/2024/may/unite-chief-blasts-labour-s-watering-down-of-new-deal

More gains across the country. So useless. 

16 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

2 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

Mon the red toaries!

“ Red toaries lies “ that’s got a good ring to it once they win the next election . It’ll make a good thread title for those suffering withdrawal symptoms from the “ toaries” thread. 

32 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

“ Red toaries lies “ that’s got a good ring to it once they win the next election . It’ll make a good thread title for those suffering withdrawal symptoms from the “ toaries” thread. 

How will they ever survive 😂 

Same bunch of tadgers that didn't even vote for left Labour Corbyn moaning that Labour aren't Labour anymore. 

Wish they'd just shut up and stick their mark in the SNP box as per like good wee boys. 

4 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

Same bunch of tadgers that didn't even vote for left Labour Corbyn moaning that Labour aren't Labour anymore. 

Wish they'd just shut up and stick their mark in the SNP box as per like good wee boys. 

Exactly 👍 

That's Labour for you though - 

Gordon Brown’s decision to sell Britain’s gold looks more disastrous by the day

Philip Pilkington

Thu, May 2, 2024 at 9:00 AM GMT+15 min read

Gordon Brown claimed the value of gold was volatile, and that Britain's portfolio required diversification - Ben Curtis/PA

According to the latest estimates, taxpayers will be on the hook to cover £85bn in losses stemming from the unwinding of the Bank of England’s quantitative easing (QE) policy. The scheme is set to lose about £20bn a year until the early 2030s – a yearly figure worth more than a third of our current defence budget.

And these estimates may, if anything, be too optimistic. Until very recently, it was widely assumed that the Federal Reserve would lower interest rates in the United States in the run-up to the election. The Bank was no doubt hoping that it could follow suit.

1 hour ago, BlueRiver said:

colinfox_400x400.jpg

Edited by il Duce McTarkin

1 hour ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

colinfox_400x400.jpg

Just walked passed  him . He’s at his usual pitch at the wellington statue at the east end  . He’s shouting about Palestine 

3 hours ago, BlueRiver said:

It's a bit like those who didn't vote SNP because of yoon-leanings moaning that the SNP variously... don't really want independence/ don't govern because are only interested in independence/ are controlled by the Greens/ only wan't to ban things/ are fascist/ are communist etc...

I guess I have the luxury of not being in any party despite coming from a formely solid-Labour area and having seen their BS from an early age.

As to Corbyn, I have voted SSP in the past, so does that meet your criteria.

Edited by Gundermann

Anyway, have just seen that the Tories hold on to Tees Valley. An area with some of the worst poverty in England and where poverty has got worse since 2015.

WTF? Turkeys and Xmas?

• Child poverty rates in the region are extremely high with 38.7% of children in County Durham and Tees Valley in poverty compared to 27% nationally.
    • Between 2015 and 2021, child poverty rates increased by 13.0 percentage points in Redcar and Cleveland; 12.4 in County Durham; 12.2 in Middlesbrough; 12.0 in Darlington; 11.8 in Stockton on Tees; and 11.6 percentage points in Hartlepool.
    • The rate of emergency admissions for children under 5 years in County Durham is 35.6% higher than the national average – and 74.4% higher in Darlington

https://www.thenhsa.co.uk/2023/08/health-divide-in-county-durham-and-tees-valley-shortening-lives-reducing-life-chances-and-costing-billions-in-lost-productivity/

7 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

It's a bit like those who didn't vote SNP because of yoon-leanings moaning that the SNP variously... don't really want independence/ don't govern because are only interested in independence/ are controlled by the Greens/ only wan't to ban things/ are fascist/ are communist etc...

I guess I have the luxury of not being in any party despite coming from a formely solid-Labour area and having seen their BS from an early age.

As to Corbyn, I have voted SSP in the past, so does that meet your criteria.

Presumably they are too right wing for you now though? 😁

1 minute ago, Japan Jambo said:

Presumably they are too right wing for you now though? 😁

The SSP?  😀

Not sure of their latest manifesto but they're more splintered than Kate Forbes' kirk.

3 hours ago, BlueRiver said:

They are pathetic,I will repeat from an earlier post The Labour Party has never ever been a left wing Socialist party,never.

Accept doctrine from the left or the right and they move the goalposts and ask for more,political purity is what they crave and can never have,but it makes them feel good about themselves .Their idealism hasn't ever put a meal on a hungry bairns plate.

You can find these same zealots in the Tory party as well as the SNP,lifelong placard and flag wavers demanding what can never be delivered but it leaves them with a self satisfied smug all knowing smile on their puss .I know some who couldn't possibly have voted for Corbyn because he wasn't far enough left😪

37 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

I have voted SSP in the past,  so does that meet your criteria.

Meets the criteria alright.

Tommy Sheridan posts epic rant about Celtic

1 hour ago, Gundermann said:

Anyway, have just seen that the Tories hold on to Tees Valley. An area with some of the worst poverty in England and where poverty has got worse since 2015.

WTF? Turkeys and Xmas?

•  

https://www.thenhsa.co.uk/2023/08/health-divide-in-county-durham-and-tees-valley-shortening-lives-reducing-life-chances-and-costing-billions-in-lost-productivity/

Democracy in action. You should never predict what people will vote for as people do inherently stupid things.

That’s so odd I was thinking about him earlier ! Tommy the tan . King of the swingers . Whatever happened to him ? 

Hands up anyone surprised by this revelation?

Anyone?

Nope. Me neither. 

18 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

That’s so odd I was thinking about him earlier ! Tommy the tan . King of the swingers . Whatever happened to him ? 

Posting on Kickback.

39 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Posting on Kickback.

Ohhhh I wonder what his user name is ? Could be a few, as there are quite a few yon

” socialists “ on this 

3 hours ago, Gundermann said:

WTF? Turkeys and Xmas?

•  

If you've ever been to Stockton or Middlesbrough then you'll understand why they voted for Houchen. 

They make our dribbling halfwits look sentient. 

3 hours ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Ay thought he was orange. 

Labour a wee bit worried about the London mayor result ?.

A shock win for the mentalist Tory candidate ,would be a boost to the tory hard right .

It's been good but it has not been brilliant for Labour in terms of % vote only 35 % Tony Bliar at this point was over 40 % in the equivalent locals .

It's not signalling a labour landslide ,though you have to factor the high independent candidate local votes .

2 hours ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

Labour a wee bit worried about the London mayor result ?.

A shock win for the mentalist Tory candidate ,would be a boost to the tory hard right .

It's been good but it has not been brilliant for Labour in terms of % vote only 35 % Tony Bliar at this point was over 40 % in the equivalent locals .

It's not signalling a labour landslide ,though you have to factor the high independent candidate local votes .

Yeah, Labour haven't quite Hibsed it but not the horsing they could've dished out. The pro-Israel stance has harmed them somewhat. Some academic says Labour may need a coalition. An indyref2 agree between Swinney and Starmer?

Screenshot_20240503_194705_SamsungInternet.thumb.jpg.cb22bbf132deef588607aa14fad6287d.jpg

Edited by Gundermann