P&O Ferries sack 800 staff via Zoom

So just to bring us up to date with this appalling action by the company.  What is being done, what action if any is being taken?  I cannot find anything as yet.

• Replies 282

• Unknown user

• Cade

• Lone Striker

• WorldChampions1902

WorldChampions1902

Senior management from P&O and DP World getting an absolute roasting by the Parliamentary Committee! Absolutely fantastic to see. Also been forced to admit that in Dubai in November, DPWorld met with U.K. government ministers and gave them the heads up over their intentions. P&O now been instructed to share all the details of those discussions. Not holding my breath.

The CEO just admitted breaking the law by not consulting with the RMT. Probably because the RMT is the only Union in this country with any cojones and would have taken them on. As they’ve admitted breaking the law I would expect the police to get involved.

WorldChampions1902
3 hours ago, Cade said:

Average P&O wage now £5.50/h

In the book “Britannia Unchanged”, co-authored by Tories Priti Patel, Kwai Kwarteng, Liz Truss, Dominic Raab and Chris Scudmore, they scribed quote, “British workers are the worst idlers in the world. We work among the lowest hours, we retire early and our productivity is poor” and “Whereas Indian children aspire to be doctors or businessmen, the British are more interested in football and pop music”. Unquote.

With such a collective mindset, is it any wonder that companies such as P&O feel empowered to behave the way they do? 

Openly admitting to snakery and illegal,  immoral practice in order to supposedly save a going concern.  Openly admitting he would do so again.

This is the product of a country that never does enough to prevent and discourage snakery and illegal,  immoral practice.  You reap what you sow.

Admitting they knew it was illegal but doing it anyway, having factored in the cost of compensation claims for the illegally sacked workers.

What a bunch of kants.

I really hope they get prosecuted to the full and given an unlimited fine running to billions. 

If you cannot afford to pay your staff the living wage, you don't deserve to be in business.

5 hours ago, Cade said:

Admitting they knew it was illegal but doing it anyway, having factored in the cost of compensation claims for the illegally sacked workers.

What a bunch of kants.

I really hope they get prosecuted to the full and given an unlimited fine running to billions. 

If you cannot afford to pay your staff the living wage, you don't deserve to be in business.

Astonishing, isn't it.  Thats presumably the same mindset of murderers,  rapists, fraudsters, drink-drivers  etc. 

Big question now is whether the government will give the green light to law enforcement to prosecute P&O, or will the RMT have to bring a court case due to government inaction ?   

BoJo's comment on why he ordered Tory MPs not to support Barry Gardiner's worker's rights bill was another shocker - "There's insufficient evidence that it would be effective"     Might as well repeal  loads of existing laws then - murder, rape, fraud, drink-driving etc - since there IS evidence that they're not being adhered to by everyone.

:wallbash:

It would be quite refreshing if the Wm government expelled P&O from operating in Scotland, England, Wales and NI. They won't, but...

They know the P&O guys won't resign.

Or be fired.

Or indeed be prosecuted.

They'll bluster and shake their heads and say how terrible it all is until the news cycle moves on, then it'll be back to business as normal.

Oh, and they won't be changing the law to prevent anyone else doing this in the future.

This is one of those fantastic "Brexit opportunities" they've been so keen on us all enjoying.

WorldChampions1902
On 25/03/2022 at 19:46, Cade said:

They know the P&O guys won't resign.

Or be fired.

Or indeed be prosecuted.

They'll bluster and shake their heads and say how terrible it all is until the news cycle moves on, then it'll be back to business as normal.

Oh, and they won't be changing the law to prevent anyone else doing this in the future.

This is one of those fantastic "Brexit opportunities" they've been so keen on us all enjoying.

Without question, Brexit = less employment rights.

If only somebody had told the RMT.

Oh wait…….!

More companies to follow the lead. The fake outrage from the Tory puppet master is quite sickening. Anyone falling for that, I would like to offer you the sale of a fully furnished penthouse flat on the arse end of Mars. Only one owner. :2thumbsup:

P&O recruitment ads stating "no previous sea experience needed"

Putting your life in the hands of an untrained agency worker being paid £5.50 an hour sounds just great, eh?

2 hours ago, Cade said:

Putting your life in the hands of an untrained agency worker being paid £5.50 an hour sounds just great, eh?

Profit>safety

WorldChampions1902
2 hours ago, Cade said:

RMT have been saying consistently that some of the replacement Indian staff are being paid as little as £1.81 per hour, and P&O are refusing to comment. If £1.81 is the true rate being paid, the ‘race to the bottom’ has hit a new low.

Time to changed the words of the song to, “Britannia Rules The Slaves”.

17 minutes ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

Indian staff are being paid as little as £1.81 per hour

It's all gone full circle and the empire is back baby!

Get  the chaiwallahs manning the bilge pumps to bring the Belfast Billy Boys over to Stranraer 👍

The solution is simple.

unlimited fine  make it unplayable , then but p&o out of insolvency as a National interest .

bingo! Staff rehired and other companies given a due warning about what awaits if they pull the same stunt.

we get a key service back in public ownership 

1 hour ago, doctor jambo said:

The solution is simple.

unlimited fine  make it unplayable , then but p&o out of insolvency as a National interest .

bingo! Staff rehired and other companies given a due warning about what awaits if they pull the same stunt.

we get a key service back in public ownership 

How on earth do Tory donors make a profit if you 're-nationalise' it🤔

The Tory party is facing a £2-4 million black hole now that Vlad's Rubles are sine die. They won't fill it taking their mates cash cows off them. 

Well ... thanks to P&O's massive o.g. and their ferries being impounded by H&S inspectors, the NI protocol is no longer  the  main obstacle to frictionless  trade between GB and NI now.  :whistling:

Every cloud  etc  :wow:

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

How on earth do Tory donors make a profit if you 're-nationalise' it🤔

The Tory party is facing a £2-4 million black hole now that Vlad's Rubles are sine die. They won't fill it taking their mates cash cows off them. 

National interest- there is no way that such an integral service should be. In private hands.

Just now, Smithee said:

Has anyone else noticed more and more right wingers demanding socialist solutions to capitalist problems?

Nope

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

Has anyone else noticed more and more right wingers demanding socialist solutions to capitalist problems?

Left wing are a horrible

joke, hence the electoral wipe out globallly

19 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

Nope

17 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

Left wing are a horrible

joke, hence the electoral wipe out globallly

Oof, let them rustle gently in the breeze!

Socialist solutions to capitalist problems is something I agree with, we're on the same page here. The really important industries should be owned by the public for the public and not have profit milked from them by scoundrels 🤷‍♂️

10 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Oof, let them rustle gently in the breeze!

Socialist solutions to capitalist problems is something I agree with, we're on the same page here. The really important industries should be owned by the public for the public and not have profit milked from them by scoundrels 🤷‍♂️

That ought to be the logical way to do things - yet somehow UK governments don't have a shining track record when it comes to running companies which deliver a public service.   

The current Scottish debacle with Ferguson & Calmac is a good example of how politics can get in the way of  publicly owned companies following good corporate practice.  

15 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

That ought to be the logical way to do things - yet somehow UK governments don't have a shining track record when it comes to running companies which deliver a public service.   

The current Scottish debacle with Ferguson & Calmac is a good example of how politics can get in the way of  publicly owned companies following good corporate practice.  

It's frustrating to see, the model can work

8 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

National interest- there is no way that such an integral service should be. In private hands.

National interest. The Conservative and Unionist Party. 

:biglaugh:

If you're even remotely serious about any kind of national interest solution for key infrastructure then a handful of rusting roll on roll off ferries would be so far down the list as to be negligible. 

Let the market do its thing. Its the Conservative way old chap. 

9 hours ago, Smithee said:

That's how Neo-Liberalism works.

Profits are privatised.

Losses are socialised.

Steal/offshore/embezzle as much as you can until the company goes bust, then hope the company is big enough that the Government steps in and takes control to bail it out.

:fonzie:

WorldChampions1902
1 hour ago, Cade said:

That's how Neo-Liberalism works.

Profits are privatised.

Losses are socialised.

Steal/offshore/embezzle as much as you can until the company goes bust, then hope the company is big enough that the Government steps in and takes control to bail it out.

And while the company trades for many years (paying colossal dividends to shareholders), simultaneously allow it to build up a massive underfunding position on its Employer Pension Contributions, meaning that there is insufficient monies to satisfy the pension payments to its employees at the point of entering Liquidation.

So when the company goes bust, that pension shortfall is dumped onto the government pension lifeboat (Pension Protection Fund), thus increasing the burden on viable companies who fund the PPF via their insurance payments.

To compound matters, employees that find their underfunded pension transferred to the PPF, end up with a significantly reduced ongoing pension I.e 10% reduction and no or lesser inflation proofing which in the current climate, would rapidly devastate an employees pension.

Finally, a prediction. When so many liquidated companies result in an intolerable financial impact on the PPF, that it cannot fund its own inherited liabilities, ask the taxpayer to plug the mega-millions funding gap (losses socialised), or change the law, such that the PPF can significantly further reduce its pension payments to retirees (the retiree gets further screwed, AGAIN).

Yup, this pure Free Market ideology is braw.

UK Government 0 P&O Ferries 6

Looks a like a big win for the Ferry boys so far.  Huff puff and I will blow your house down says Shappsy boy, no you'll no says P&O.  Large number already accepted their redundancy agreements so they will not want their jobs back now anyway. No laws successfully changed yet by the Government to stop this now. Nothing being done to penalise ferry company yet has there?  

And the outcome will be, my guess only.  The ferry company CEO will resign and walk off into the sunset with a big final pay check and bonuses for a job be well done, he saved the company in the eyes of the Dubai high heid yins.  He will then walk into another high level job overseas.  The Government will claim a success because he was pushed out by their pressure.

5 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

UK Government 0 P&O Ferries 6

Looks a like a big win for the Ferry boys so far.  Huff puff and I will blow your house down says Shappsy boy, no you'll no says P&O.  Large number already accepted their redundancy agreements so they will not want their jobs back now anyway. No laws successfully changed yet by the Government to stop this now. Nothing being done to penalise ferry company yet has there?  

And the outcome will be, my guess only.  The ferry company CEO will resign and walk off into the sunset with a big final pay check and bonuses for a job be well done, he saved the company in the eyes of the Dubai high heid yins.  He will then walk into another high level job overseas.  The Government will claim a success because he was pushed out by their pressure.

the insolvency service have started a potential civil and criminal investigation against P&O

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-60953832

2 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

the insolvency service have started a potential civil and criminal investigation against P&O

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-60953832

Thanks for the link.

Will take action If found in breach of anything.  If being the key word.  My fear though is as I said the CEO walks with the big money in his trews, nothing really meaningful happens to the company and it is business as usual for other corrupt companies to carry on with bad employment practices.  This action needs employment law change quickly but I fear the Tories don't really want that.

• 4 weeks later...
Jambo-Jimbo

A P&O ferry is in trouble of the coast of Northern Ireland after suffering mechanical problems, tugs are escorting it to Larne port.

P&O say the vessel is making it's way under it's own steam, now.

Doesn't rain but it pours for this company, going down the plug hole P&O are.

4 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

A P&O ferry is in trouble of the coast of Northern Ireland after suffering mechanical problems, tugs are escorting it to Larne port.

P&O say the vessel is making it's way under it's own steam, now.

Doesn't rain but it pours for this company, going down the plug hole P&O are.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-61229753

They moaned that the checks were too rigorous. Possibly they were not rigorous enough

• 3 months later...

P&O Ferries announces record profits of $712million, up 51.8% on last year.

Turns out that firing all your staff and replacing them with agency temps on minimum wage boosts profits.

"Sacking 800 staff was the only way to save the company"

:getout:

periodictabledancer
15 minutes ago, Cade said:

Turns out that firing all your staff and replacing them with agency temps on minimum wage boosts profits.

The RMT will be all over this.

Thankfully. 

41 minutes ago, Cade said:

Liz Truss will be pleased. 

4 hours ago, Cade said:

Scandalous, a scandal the Tories were in on, yet the public shrug and blame the wee auld lady, buying 100 fags for the week, who moans about her energy going up multiple times. A bunch of mugs who deserve to robbed by the Tory and their big corporate buddies.

Mind when P&O blatantly said "yes, we know this is illegal but we did it anyways because we know the government won't do anything about it"?

8 minutes ago, Cade said:

Mind when P&O blatantly said "yes, we know this is illegal but we did it anyways because we know the government won't do anything about it"?

That’s right, they did.

On 27/03/2022 at 11:35, WorldChampions1902 said:

RMT have been saying consistently that some of the replacement Indian staff are being paid as little as £1.81 per hour, and P&O are refusing to comment. If £1.81 is the true rate being paid, the ‘race to the bottom’ has hit a new low.

Or even Britannia Waives the Rules.

41 minutes ago, Cade said:

That's not strictly true.

They changed the law to allow shitehawks like P&O to bus in agency workers to do the work of anyone taking industrial action. 

Tories. The party of the working man. 

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

That's not strictly true.

They changed the law to allow shitehawks like P&O to bus in agency workers to do the work of anyone taking industrial action. 

Tories. The party of the working man. 

As long as that man is prepared to work 15 hours a day, 7 days a week for tuppence.