***** Official St Mirren v Heart Of Midlothian Match Thread *****

cookieboy

4 hours ago, Led Tasso said:

11 clear with 10 to play.

Once the lead gets > 1 pt/game it would take an epic collapse to lose it.

Once that gets to 1.5 pts/game it's done.

Already at the bit in bold! 

We're on 46 points just now and the "best" of the teams below us have a points per game average that would get them to 48 points at the end of the season.  I'm a little reluctant to say that third place is in bag because crazy things can happen, but while third might not quite be in the bag yet, it's in our hands, our hands are directly over the bag, a few millimetres above it, and the bag is being held wide open by the handles for us.  

• Replies 1.3k

• Watt-Zeefuik

• King prawn

• Hearts007

58 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Every week we lose you are on here having a pop at Neilson. Two wrongs? 

Here’s my angle.

We lose, especially a losing run and something somewhere is generally wrong. I comment on it. Discuss with others what it might be, suggest fixes and look forward to a better next time. If the manager deserves to be outed for being a part of reason for the loss(es) I out him.

We win and all those things that were previously earmarked as being wrong are either better or not really that relevant at that moment to debate.

Weve won today. I am delighted. There are still background long running issues IMO, one related to the manager and his shortcomings we’ve frequently witnessed the result of, but today isn’t the day for it - agreed ?

What I don’t do, is en masse on a weekly basis after every game and just about every other non match day slate a proportion of fans with a collective and widely held view, whether that’s pro or anti Neilson

Edited by JimmyCant

4 hours ago, Alec Eiffel said:

Dundee 0-4 Livingston.  What do Hearts do?  

Beat St Mirren for the third time out of three this season, having a couple of weeks ago beaten Livingston for the third time out of three this season. 

What's your next staggeringly stupid question? 

I’ve not read anything that has been posted after today’s result and with not watched the game I can’t make any comments, all I can say is a great result happy as **** , can’t wait for European nights back at the famous Tynecastle 🥳 

6 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

Here’s my angle.

We lose, especially a losing run and something somewhere is generally wrong. I comment on it. Discuss with others what it might be, suggest fixes and look forward to a better next time. If the manager deserves to be outed for being a part of reason for the loss(es) I out him.

We win and all those things that were previously earmarked as being wrong are either better or not really that relevant at that moment to debate.

Weve won today. I am delighted. There are still background long running issues IMO, one related to the manager and his shortcomings we’ve frequently witnessed the result of, but today isn’t the day for it - agreed ?

What I don’t do, is en masse on a weekly basis after every game and just about every other non match day slate a proportion of fans with a collective and widely held view, whether that’s pro or anti Neilson

I never slated fans. 

I called a group of posters " rabids". 

Please be accurate when quoting posts and then para phrasing. 

Perfectly reasonable giving their rabid posting about Neilson and slagging of him across multiple threads.

It is constant and quite aggressive. Rabid is appropriate. 

Also noteble that many are absent after a win. 

There is no proof that many of these  rabids are fans and even less there is a collective and a  wide held view. 

It's about 20 regularly posters on here backed up by many more(maybe 50- a guess (infrequent posters that go missing when we are doing well. 

Many also dish out lots of abuse. 

Just Look at this thread. 

Your moral high ground stance is very light, bordering on cynical. 

4 hours ago, Fort Vallance said:

I might need to read that a few more times.

I'll summarise it for you. Basically, the poster says that if you think either or both of Boris Johnson and Nicola Sturgeon isn't very good at their job, you have to think it's perfectly reasonable to call for Hearts to sack our manager while we're well clear in third place in the league! 

You've got to wonder what tune they were plucking on their banjo as they mentally compiled that post!

1 hour ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Bad miss / bad finish. 

If there is a keeper to beat it can't be a sitter as you need to beat them, by doing this you need use direction and/ or power. This takes it away from sitter territory.

Can be shite tho. 

I normally stay out of one-on-one discussions, but I think that is an unusual definition, certainly one I've never heard of.  

By that definition, if the goalie is in position, the scoring opportunity can never be called a "sitter".  

The Cambridge Dictionary defines a "sitter" in football as "an easy opportunity to score a goal that the player misses".  That's certainly closer to my understanding of the term.

And with that, I'll leave again.  :runaway:

4 hours ago, cookieboy said:

think am unbeaten starting match threads :flag1:

Be a good lad and start the cup quarter, semi and final threads now, would you? 

4 hours ago, Four faces said:

Nothing wrong with that as an analogy.It's clear what is meant.Maybe you can't read properly.

It's clear what's meant. What's meant is utterly ludicrous though!

22 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

Here’s my angle.

Agree to an extent. Too many on here appear to want him out and just can’t wait for defeats. Not saying you are one of them but at times it sounds like he can’t do enough to convince you regardless of results. I’m in the camp - give them a fair chance, performance is important but it’s a results business-  this season is as good as it’s been for a while, there are real signs of progress again, don’t rock the boat (largely based on feelings from his last time in charge). As an example - reading the match thread today lots on here complaining as the game progressed. Not sure how many were actually watching the game but today was as impressive as we have been in Paisley for years against a team that had picked up 20 points in last 8 league matches. They were also getting ‘new manager bounce’. Completely dominated the game and with better finishing would have won by 5 or 6. Yes, playing 10 men for most of the game but were already well on top before the red. Changed the formation, good substitutions, good result. 

10 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

I normally stay out of one-on-one discussions, but I think that is an unusual definition, certainly one I've never heard of.  

By that definition, if the goalie is in position, the scoring opportunity can never be called a "sitter".  

The Cambridge Dictionary defines a "sitter" in football as "an easy opportunity to score a goal that the player misses".  That's certainly closer to my understanding of the term.

And with that, I'll leave again.  :runaway:eaay

Easy......... 

As per my original point if you need to beat a goalkeeper (definition - whose special role is to stop or prevent the ball from entering the goal) then you will ( generally) need direction / and or power to beat such a specialist. 

It can't be a sitter, it's not "easy". 

If there is a specialist between you and the goal, how can it be easy? 

If the specialist isn't between you and the goal, then it should be easy, therefore classed as a sitter as its "easy*. 

If he's there, it's not easy. 

Feel free to chip in whenever it suits. 

Edited by Bazzas right boot

2 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Agree to an extent. Too many on here appear to want him out and just can’t wait for defeats. Not saying you are one of them but at times it sounds like he can’t do enough to convince you regardless of results. I’m in the camp - give them a fair chance, performance is important but it’s a results business-  this season is as good as it’s been for a while, there are real signs of progress again, don’t rock the boat (largely based on feelings from his last time in charge). As an example - reading the match thread today lots on here complaining as the game progressed. Not sure how many were actually watching the game but today was as impressive as we have been in Paisley for years against a team that had picked up 20 points in last 8 league matches. They were also getting ‘new manager bounce’. Completely dominated the game and with better finishing would have won by 5 or 6. Yes, playing 10 men for most of the game but were already well on top before the red. Changed the formation, good substitutions, good result. 

Can’t really argue with much of that. Without going too deep (because we won well today) into it, I think in the medium to long term we could get a better head coach than the one we have. Neilson will keep his job (despite any lingering concerns anyone might have) if he keeps 3rd IMO and today was a massive step towards that. If he loses 3rd it will cost us millions and we should IMO make a change. 

8 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Easy......... 

As per my original point if you need to beat a goalkeeper (definition - whose special role is to stop or prevent the ball from entering the goal) then you will ( generally) need direction / and or power to beat such a specialist. 

If the specialist isn't between you and the goal, then it should be easy, therefore classed as a sitter as its "easy*. 

It seems that the key is what should be considered easy.

The specialist has to cover a goal that is 24 feet by 8 feet.  He's not superman, and the initiative lies with the attacker.

A professional footballer with a free shot or header from, say, 6 yards out should score almost every time, imo.  Unless it's Craig Gordon in goal !!!

I have to add that I didn't see the game today, so I have no opinion on Boyce's efforts.

Not getting involved with the arguments above. 

Watched the highlights, and that 2-0 scoreline was flattering to St Mirren. Even before the sending off, we had a good couple of chances. Boyce should have scored at least twice, if not more, and with better finishing, we could have had a goalfest today. 

It is not the shite performance that many were making it out to be whilst the game was in play.  St Mirren didn't even have a shot on target today. 

5 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

It seems that the key is what should be considered easy.

The specialist has to cover a goal that is 24 feet by 8 feet.  He's not superman, and the initiative lies with the attacker.

A professional footballer with a free shot or header from, say, 6 yards out should score almost every time, imo.  Unless it's Craig Gordon in goal !!!

I have to add that I didn't see the game today, so I have no opinion on Boyce's efforts.

"Easy* is open to interpretation, but if the specialist that is there for the main purpose of stopping the goal is in the way it can't be that" easy" especially if compared to no gk in the way. 

That is easy, by any defenition. 

And yes, you should have watched them before. 

7 minutes ago, tian447 said:

Watched the highlights, and that 2-0 scoreline was flattering to St Mirren. Even before the sending off, we had a good couple of chances. Boyce should have scored at least twice, if not more, and with better finishing, we could have had a goalfest today. 

It is not the shite performance that many were making it out to be whilst the game was in play.  St Mirren didn't even have a shot on target today. 

Defensively I thought we were superb today and don’t give them a sniff of a chance. Partly Halkett coming back in but the organisation and concentration and determination just seemed much more on point. 

Attacking wise we had a good little spell and scored twice going on 4 and that was enough to win. Outwith that spell we were pretty rotten, especially the final ball and most especially the finishing.

1 hour ago, FarmerTweedy said:

We're on 46 points just now and the "best" of the teams below us have a points per game average that would get them to 48 points at the end of the season.  I'm a little reluctant to say that third place is in bag because crazy things can happen, but while third might not quite be in the bag yet, it's in our hands, our hands are directly over the bag, a few millimetres above it, and the bag is being held wide open by the handles for us.  

Oh fine, let's have some fun with this . . .

There's a trope in baseball that's a bit cringe but kind of useful. They talk about a "magic number," i.e. the number of wins needed to secure a regular season title or a postseason bid or some such.

Hibs and Well could conceivably each individually manage 67 points currently if they won out, but that will likely drop by tomorrow. United could manage 65. So 22 points from 10 games will guarantee us third, hence our "magic number" is 22 points.

But of course that implies winning ALL games, which would mean multiple wins over the OF for each. So that's a bit silly. So I looked at all of our chasers, from United to Aberdeen, for their best contiguous 10 game stretch over the season. (Briefly, it's DU 21, Hibs, 15, Well 17, Livi 18, Mirren 16, Dons 16). It's unlikely anyone is going to better the 21 points/10 games that United managed in the fall.

Unless Hibs or Well get three points tomorrow, that maxes the rest out at 56 points. We're on 46.

11 points from 10 games will do it. 3 wins, 2 draws and it's dusted.

12 minutes ago, tian447 said:

I was there today and your post is absolutely spot on. We were far superior  them today. . 

5 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

The rabids will be scrambling tonight. 

Now were double digits clear in the third again  they'll Probably circle back round to... 

We should be closer to the OF. 

Not enough yooof. 

Keep the drum banging. 

Beat Aberdeen and then they'll probably pipe down for a few weeks... An added bonus of a Hearts win nowadays is the thought of some  poor wee souls night they had planned  on JKB slagging everything Hearts and Bob- ruined. 

Even for you Tosh that’s pure rambling shite! 🤣

It was a very good win and a good performance. People trying to pick holes in a 2-0 win away to one of the in form teams in the league. Win on Wednesday and 3rd is all but done.

1 hour ago, FarmerTweedy said:

It would need a monumental collapse for us not to finish 3rd now. Even if hibs were to take 20 points out of a possible 33, we would only need to take 9 more points to finish 3rd. 

I notice hibs finished 3rd with 63 points last season and aberdeen were 4th on 56, so shows how much the teams around us have dropped off this season, as opposed to us being anything special. Reckon 55 would be enough for us this year. 

1 hour ago, Bazzas right boot said:

I generally start on topic but get side tracked as folk get personal and abuse from the off. 

I don't troll  threads just to argue and abuse folk and ignore the thread content. 

Unlike many seem to do. 

Aye right ye are Tosh! 🤣

I loved our forward passing. Benni & Devlin, Simms running in ... numerous chances ... could've scored a barrow-load but, the negatively minded STILL look for faults.

Oh what joy ... 🤣

1 hour ago, neilnunb said:

Missed Stephen Robinson's whinging Irish voice. Three decisions went against them...aye, right. Dick. 🖕🤣

Strictly speaking, he's right that three decisions went against them. The thing he didn't mention was that those decisions should have gone against them! They weren't wrong decisions! 

3 hours ago, Led Tasso said:

There's a trope in baseball that's a bit cringe but kind of useful. They talk about a "magic number," i.e. the number of wins needed to secure a regular season title or a postseason bid or some such.

Hibs and Well could conceivably each individually manage 67 points currently if they won out, but that will likely drop by tomorrow. United could manage 65. So 22 points from 10 games will guarantee us third, hence our "magic number" is 22 points.

But of course that implies winning ALL games, which would mean multiple wins over the OF for each. So that's a bit silly. So I looked at all of our chasers, from United to Aberdeen, for their best contiguous 10 game stretch over the season. (Briefly, it's DU 21, Hibs, 15, Well 17, Livi 18, Mirren 16, Dons 16). It's unlikely anyone is going to better the 21 points/10 games that United managed in the fall.

Unless Hibs or Well get three points tomorrow, that maxes the rest out at 56 points. We're on 46.

Nice work!  I'm very confident we'll get those 11 points, although in reality I think 5 or 6 is as much as we'll actually end up needing! 

6 hours ago, neilnunb said:

Missed Stephen Robinson's whinging Irish voice. Three decisions went against them...aye, right. Dick. 🖕🤣

"The whole game was dictated by decisions today unfortunately," said Robinson. "I haven't seen [the red card] back, but I didn't think there was any malice in the tackle.

"The next decision is a penalty against Alex Greive where the boy's on a yellow card. And then at the second goal, Jak Alnwick has the ball in his hands before [Simms] tackles him."

what a load of pish he slavers.

1. Didn’t matter if there was no malice it’s an obvious red.

2. It is a decent shout for a pen, I would certainly have been screaming for it down the other end but was it not woodburn, who hadn’t been booked, who tangled with him? 
3. No he didn’t 

20 hours ago, TheBigO said:

Been left wi the kids today so missing game (cinema for peace).

Exec decision to tape alba n likely lads it til 10pm when i get me time.

BigO out

Try no too piss n moan too much today y'all!

That went well. Should i do it every week!?

Well done Hearts, good win and created plenty chances. I thought Beni was looking more like himself with plenty of first time passes (as opposed to him trying to keep the ball) that kept our midfield looking slicker than of late. 
Credit to RN also for changing the formation, I thought we looked really good right from the off… Boycie needs to find his scoring boots though, lots of chances today. 
Well done Hearts, really happy with that win and performance. 🇱🇻🇱🇻🇱🇻

9 hours ago, Led Tasso said:

V good. I'll buy that. 

51 minutes ago, allyjambo said:

"The whole game was dictated by decisions today unfortunately," said Robinson. "I haven't seen [the red card] back, but I didn't think there was any malice in the tackle.

"The next decision is a penalty against Alex Greive where the boy's on a yellow card. And then at the second goal, Jak Alnwick has the ball in his hands before [Simms] tackles him."

2. It is a decent shout for a pen, I would certainly have been screaming for it down the other end but was it not woodburn, who hadn’t been booked, who tangled with him? 
3. No he didn’t 

The whole malice thing annoys me when used to defend a player and claim the it shouldn't be a red card. Very rarely is there any malice in bad tackles, but a bad tackle is almost down to carelessness of a player and poor technique. The St Mirren player has a heavy touch, so in his rush to get the ball back he has been careless and gone into the tackle with it high. No one is saying he is out to hurt Beni, he just is rash. 

1 minute ago, jamboinglasgow said:

The whole malice thing annoys me when used to defend a player and claim the it shouldn't be a red card. Very rarely is there any malice in bad tackles, but a bad tackle is almost down to carelessness of a player and poor technique. The St Mirren player has a heavy touch, so in his rush to get the ball back he has been careless and gone into the tackle with it high. No one is saying he is out to hurt Beni, he just is rash. 

Absolutely… red card all day long, no question. Even the challenge on GMS could have been a red. 

Not getting involved in any arguments but for me a sitter is anything a fat slob on Dalkeith park could score it then a professional player should never miss.

Whilst we played far better than the last three games once again other result also helped. Just a shame the sheep didn't win and put more pressure on Hibs. But will take the extra two points the draw gave us.

Simms movement makes a big difference, he could improve some parts of his game but defenders will not enjoy playing him. He could have backed out of the challenge with Alnwick but was committed and brave, good to see. Disappointing that Boyce does not seem able to benefit more. It looked a bit of a partnership but not so far. Maybe they will click against Aberdeen. Well done all, hopefully a turn in form at this vital time.

1 hour ago, allyjambo said:

3. No he didn’t 

Had to laugh at their keeper, getting up holding his shoulder after THAT tackle only to see the ball in the net then trying to get it taken back for a head injury he never suffered. Even mentioned it on TV that night. Ok it could have been a penalty but then we should have had one for hand ball , and two of his players should have walked, so rather than opening his big gob he should wait until he sees the whole game before putting his foot in his mouth.

1 minute ago, Skacelsid said:

Simms movement makes a big difference, he could improve some parts of his game but defenders will not enjoy playing him. He could have backed out of the challenge with Alnwick but was committed and brave, good to see. Disappointing that Boyce does not seem able to benefit more. It looked a bit of a partnership but not so far. Maybe they will click against Aberdeen. Well done all, hopefully a turn in form at this vital time.

Boyce was at the half way line more than in their box. Why does he come so far back when everyone knows he is too slow to make it into an attacking position? At one point he was defending the near side post at a corner, I want my strikers on the half way line ready to attack the minute we get the ball back. Breakaway's depend on players getting into the box quickly and if he is on the goal line, he has no chance of getting up the park.

8 hours ago, neilnunb said:

Even sportscene said the ref got all decisions right, maybe robinson should question the hackers in his team.

The tackle on GMS prior to the sending off was just as bad.

Edited by Harry Potter

10 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Easy......... 

Don't talk such shite. You can still miss a sitter with the goalie to beat, and a say this as a fully paid up member of the goalkeeper's union.

If you don't understand that then I suggest watching football is not for you.

The Apprentice

Thought we looked far better yesterday with the formation tweak and that was with Woodburn being completely ineffective yet again. Even 11 v 11 we were much the better side and should have been a couple in front. 

Clear to see Robinson hasn’t changed, the moaning faced disaster. If the ref does his job properly he stops the game for the tackle on GMS before the boy goes in out of control on Beni. Stonewall red card. The penalty incident, I have to admit I’d be screaming for it at the other end but Woodburn wasn’t on a booking so why he’s moaning about a second yellow I have no idea.

For the second goal, the keeper makes a brilliant save but he’s never in control of the ball at any point, and he actually looks up to watch Devlin score before rolling about on the floor. 

Robinson and St Mirren a match made in heaven. Delighted we totally dominated them yesterday and absolutely no reason why we can’t do it again in the Quarter Final. 

15 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Even sportscene said the ref got all decisions right, maybe robinson should question the hackers in his team.

The tackle on GMS prior to the sending off was just as bad.

I actually thought the tackle on GMS was the worst of the two. Could very easily have been two Red cards instead of just the one for the foul on Beni.

Colonel Kurtz
13 hours ago, TorinoJambo said:

Dont forget Harry Kinnear and Don Murray 🤣🤣🤣🤣. God we watched some shite in my youth (late sixties/early seventies. 

Don Murray was a centre half but Harry Kinnear was mirder 

23 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Don't talk such shite. You can still miss a sitter with the goalie to beat, and a say this as a fully paid up member of the goalkeeper's union.

If you don't understand that then I suggest watching football is not for you.

Nah, not a sitter. 

We're butchering the meaning of the word sitter to describe any good chance missed or good save here. 

Not having it. 

Boyces weren't sitters imo. 

Chances like that get missed/ saved up and down the country every game. 

Every chance missed in the box isn't a sitter. 

We're just throwing phrases about now with no regard. 

2 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Nah, not a sitter. 

We're butchering the meaning of the word sitter to describe any good chance missed or good save here. 

Not having it. 

Boyces weren't sitters imo. 

Chances like that get missed/ saved up and down the country every game. 

Every chance missed in the box isn't a sitter. 

We're just throwing phrases about now with no regard. 

His first header was a sitter.

Boyce is not an instinctive finisher.

He takes too long, especially in getting shots off.

10 hours ago, karipidis said:

It was a very good win and a good performance. People trying to pick holes in a 2-0 win away to one of the in form teams in the league. Win on Wednesday and 3rd is all but done.

Not being too picky but a poster above has a formula ( magic number ) for gaining third by looking at the other teams previous results etc. He states that 3 wins and 2 draws means third is secured so your claim that one more win and it's done is false.