COP26

Japan Jambo

13 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

Clearly we need to add decarbonising our history to the task of decolonising it. Every museum, every book, every school history leasson on the industrial revolution will have to be accompanied by an explanation of the harm the industrial revolution caused to the planet. Any statue of people like James Watt (and if there are any) of their decendents will need to be accompanied by a plaque "contextualising" it. Reparations to the victims of climate change must surely be made.

While we're at it, let's put in a claim against the Romans and Vikings

• Replies 594

• manaliveits105

• Japan Jambo

• JudyJudyJudy

• Seymour M Hersh

1 hour ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Here’s a point well missed by most:

There’s to many people and not enough space so, anyone care to drop a solution or two for that one.  I know people scoff at the amount of money spent on space exploration but…….we’re flitting in about 200 years…….we’ll when I say we I mean the Kate Burleys & Joanna lumlays amongst us (the rich and privileged)

Ban vaccines 

1 hour ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Here’s a point well missed by most:

There’s to many people and not enough space so, anyone care to drop a solution or two for that one.  I know people scoff at the amount of money spent on space exploration but…….we’re flitting in about 200 years…….we’ll when I say we I mean the Kate Burleys & Joanna lumlays amongst us (the rich and privileged)

Maybe a virus or something. 🤔

Edit: beaten to it by a cat.

Edited by Awbdy Oot

5 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said:

Edit: beaten to it by a cat.

ahem

Lex Barker as Tarzan with Cheetah the chimp' by Edgar Rice Burroughs, Inc.  as a print or poster | Posterlounge

11 hours ago, Lone Striker said:

Has she had a makeover or something ?  Maybe using new environmentally friendly makeup ?   She looks "different", somehow.

Looks like it’s been photo shopped or she has miss foundation on than a builders yard . She’s usually light on the “ beat “ ( Rupaul terminology for make up ) 

45 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said:

Apologies sir, didn't realise you meant Cheetah, Johnny's pal. 👍

That’s no Johnny that’s lex barker 

1 hour ago, hmfc_steve said:

While we're at it, let's put in a claim against the Romans and Vikings

and whoever is responsible for us chopping trees at Christmas and  the millions of Christmas lights should be crucified 

1 hour ago, cheetah said:

Ban vaccines 

1 hour ago, Awbdy Oot said:

Nah…..not buying that……the vaccine/virus as bad as it’s been will not even put a dent on the world population growth……in fact with the planet lockdown, it’s a fair guess that there has (will be) a huge baby boom.  Don’t have figures to hand (can’t be arsed looking) but, I’d place a bet on more people being born in the last 24months than passed away…..probably by a huge margin as well.  Add to that all the newborns in say 20 years time having kids of there own…..multiply x multiply x multiply etc……

2 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

and whoever is responsible for us chopping trees at Christmas and  the millions of Christmas lights should be crucified 

tbf,  they tried that a while back - didn't seem to work, for some unexplained reason. 🙂

16 hours ago, JimboJambo1874 said:

So prime ministers and presidents from across the globe fly to Glasgow for a climate summit. Oh the irony. Add to the that the fact that one of the key speakers is an 18 year girl, who will no doubt be desperate to share her many years of wisdom and you've got a bit of a circus. Par for the course these days. I'm not suggesting that the issue shouldn't be discussed, but I'm little tired of being preached to by the political and celebrity class who seem to operate on a do as I say not as I do basis.

I'm with you. Sick and tired of their preaching which would be fine if they actually walked the talk. The issue is the most important one facing the planet but they've been hosting these for something like 20+ years and still behave as they want, with scant regard to the issues they say they're want to address.

8 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

I'm with you. Sick and tired of their preaching which would be fine if they actually walked the talk. The issue is the most important one facing the planet but they've been hosting these for something like 20+ years and still behave as they want, with scant regard to the issues they say they're want to address.

Excellent post. 

2 hours ago, Dagger Is Back said:

+1. I’m mindful of environmental concerns but the loudest preachers are often the biggest hypocrites. Someone posted a video of Joe Biden’s 20+ gas guzzling vehicle motorcade making its way through from Edinburgh, where he and his entourage are staying , complete with hefty Police Scotland escort and helicopter. Said motorcade will presumably  be making  that 90-100 mile round trip every day. He arrived on the presidential Jumbo. It’s just breathtakingly lamentable.

As for Queen Lizzie and her dysfunctional  family, the carbon footprint of their homes and lifestyles will be astronomical and they’ve been piping up too.

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

I would have liked to have seen a dormitory-style setup, with all the 'dignitaries' hunkering down for the night in three-tiered bunkbeds wheeled out onto the floor of the SECC. BoJo would be the one making the fart noises under the covers to make everyone giggle, while Biden would be asleep before lights out. Macron would sneak his phone in so he could call his ma/wife. Meanwhile, Vlad and Batman are over on Hainan Island smoking cigars and drawing fake 'taches on photos of Greeter Thunberg.

I like that scenario :D 

Alternatively, they could all have stayed at home and conducted the whole thing on Teams or Zoom, as I’ve had to do in my job since March last year with no end in sight.

1 minute ago, Japan Jambo said:

Just checking, is that a meme or part of the actual transcript?

lol

6 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

The Germans for the trees and Thomas Edison for the lights but good attempt at some subtle humour though😀😀😀

4 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

The Germans for the trees and Thomas Edison for the lights but good attempt at some subtle humour though😀😀😀

I’ll take good attempt 🙂

Seems progress is being made at COP26 - more cash to poor countries 

progress on trees - India putting a date on net zero albeit later than 2050 

all the hot air seems to be coming from the activists and extinction rebellion spangles 

Boris' bomb analogy :facepalm: :laugh:

He's such a bloody bumbling balloon. But a dangerous one at that. 

2 hours ago, jonesy said:

I would have liked to have seen a dormitory-style setup, with all the 'dignitaries' hunkering down for the night in three-tiered bunkbeds wheeled out onto the floor of the SECC. BoJo would be the one making the fart noises under the covers to make everyone giggle, while Biden would be asleep before lights out. Macron would sneak his phone in so he could call his ma/wife. Meanwhile, Vlad and Batman are over on Hainan Island smoking cigars and drawing fake 'taches on photos of Greeter Thunberg.

Brilliant

dobmisterdobster

Russia, India and China are not signing the methane deal which means it's worthless.

Oh and Leonardo DiCaprio has turned up. This is embarrassing theatre. If you think this convention is going to save the earth then seek help immediately.

9 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Russia, India and China are not signing the methane deal which means it's worthless.

Oh and Leonardo DiCaprio has turned up. This is embarrassing theatre. If you think this convention is going to save the earth then seek help immediately.

It does need a titanic effort 

9 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

understand the skepticism but I have to think it's more productive than gluing oneself to the M8, despite the risible optics  

On 01/11/2021 at 18:32, manaliveits105 said:

American tv stations CNN and NBC based in Edinburgh with Castle as backdrop when they could have had an auld crane and squinty bridge 

The yanks know class 

GlasCOW bin strike back on !

A couple of papers today mocking American networks covering COP from Edinburgh. But BBC Scotland regularly covers Holyrood from Glasgow.

22 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

understand the skepticism but I have to think it's more productive than gluing oneself to the M8, despite the risible optics  

Talk about damning with faint praise!

19 minutes ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

Does anybody know when air force one takes off

10pm apparently. 

2 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

251083615_10159918337249658_5666930161724566843_n.jpg

Nonsense. She’s probably just asking if her party made a manifesto pledge 5 years ago to completely abolish Air Passenger Duty.

Probably get the same reply though.

35 minutes ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

Does anybody know when air force one takes off

When it's wheels leave the ground.

14 minutes ago, Salad Fingers said:

10pm apparently. 

Surprised it landed at Edinburgh. When I worked there only the French rugby supporters with a near empty fuel tank and minimal luggage 747 could take off as runway was to sort. 

21 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

A couple of papers today mocking American networks covering COP from Edinburgh. But BBC Scotland regularly covers Holyrood from Glasgow.

Their two football teams don't like or want to play Cup semi finals in Edinburgh.

58 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Agreed. This is about the 20th COP. The square root of diddly has been achieved in fact emissions have risen and more deforestation has happened. 
There is no way we rescue this imo. 2050 some countries are talking ffs :lol: 

We just have to hope and pray the forecasts are wrong in some way or we’re screwed. 

Edited by jack D and coke

12 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Agreed. This is about the 20th COP. The square root of diddly has been achieved in fact emissions have risen and more deforestation has happened. 
There is no way we rescue this imo. 2050 some countries are talking ffs :lol: 

We just have to hope and pray the forecasts are wrong in some way or we’re screwed. 

It’s all grandstanding posturing pish.

Leonardo Dicaprio 🤣

1 minute ago, Des Lynam said:

It’s all grandstanding posturing pish.

Leonardo Dicaprio 🤣

Hilarious so it is :lol: not just Di Caprio. 

BJ has just given the green light to a coal mine, new drilling licences off Shetland, lower tax on internal flights so people fly from Manchester to London etc etc etc at the same time as voting to dump fresh shit into all Englands waterways. 

What a complete ****ing waste of everyone’s time. 

Just now, jack D and coke said:

Hilarious so it is :lol: not just Di Caprio. 

BJ has just given the green light to a coal mine, new drilling licences off Shetland, lower tax on internal flights so people fly from Manchester to London etc etc etc at the same time as voting to dump fresh shit into all Englands waterways. 

What a complete ****ing waste of everyone’s time. 

I can’t wait to buy a diesel car when they’re super cheap to noise folk up. 😂