The Royal family

HartleyLegend3

Just now, Smithee said:

It was you who specifically said holocaust perpetrators, all I'm saying is by the last Nuremberg rally in 1939 there had been no holocaust.

Some amount of mental gymnastics to avoid the fact that the legislation which allowed the persecution of the Jews in Germany was both announced at Nuremberg September 1935 and was named after Nuremberg

• Replies 1k

• FWJ

• Unknown user

• jack D and coke

• A Boy Named Crow

Ra tories are Nazis man! Johnson is hitler!! How can you no see it!! - people who have barely a clue what nazism was

Edited by A_A wehatethehibs

Just now, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Ra tories are Nazis man! Johnson is hitler!! How can you no see it!! 

It's absolutely hilarious. Zero credibility.

Thinking a bit more about Whitlam, I wonder what would have happened if a President backed by the National Party had sacked him.  Because the president was elected (even if they were just a ‘figurehead’) there would be some legitimacy to their position and those that voted for him might agree with what he had done - while those that voted Labor certainly would not.

I wonder if the transition of power would have been peaceful.  Who knows?

Edited by FWJ

14 minutes ago, FWJ said:

It is, by itself.  
There are other reasons why a constitutional monarchy is a good-enough way to run a country.  

And it seems to work.  Take a look at the countries with the highest ‘Human Development Index’.  You’ll find constitutional monarchies over-represented.

As I seem to keep on saying, I don’t have the jubilee tea cups and coronation tea-towels, I’m not going to a jubilee party.  But I’m in my late 50s now and there has been a bit of constancy throughout my life which, as pathetic as it sounds, is …. good.  Works for me.

They're over represented because they run their countries responsibly, including allowing flag shagging radges something to bow to. Their royals have very little influence though and they aren't feted the same way. The old Queen of Holland used to ride about Appeldoorn on her bike, can you imagine Charles doing that?

Anyway, my point is that these countries aren't doing well because they're monarchies. I mean, look at us - we're a ****ing disaster!

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

They're over represented because they run their countries responsibly, including allowing flag shagging radges something to bow to. Their royals have very little influence though and they aren't feted the same way. The old Queen of Holland used to ride about Appeldoorn on her bike, can you imagine Charles doing that?

Anyway, my point is that these countries aren't doing well because they're monarchies. I mean, look at us - we're a ****ing disaster!

Not quite.

Or, at least, not yet.

3 minutes ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Some amount of mental gymnastics to avoid the fact that the legislation which allowed the persecution of the Jews in Germany was both announced at Nuremberg September 1935 and was named after Nuremberg

It isn't at all, I'm not addressing it because it's just a straw man you've dug up.

I never agreed it's like Nuremberg by the way, I'm just saying the holocaust hadn't happened yet.

Just now, FWJ said:

Not quite.

Or, at least, not yet.

And what's the Queen doing about it, that's what I want to know. Bloody queens.

Just now, Smithee said:

And what's the Queen doing about it, that's what I want to know. Bloody queens.

I know you’re joking, but she’s keeping on going.  I think she’s worried about what Charles will get up to, too.

Just now, FWJ said:

I know you’re joking, but she’s keeping on going.  I think she’s worried about what Charles will get up to, too.

If it's democratic at least we get a choice if the next one's a walloper

Just now, Smithee said:

If it's democratic at least we get a choice if the next one's a walloper

And if enough people don’t want a monarchy we will become a republic.  

And what a huge positive impact that will have on all our lives.

1 minute ago, FWJ said:

And if enough people don’t want a monarchy we will become a republic.  

And what a huge positive impact that will have on all our lives.

A small improvement is worth making, I'd be quite happy to never have to hear about this bollocks again.

14 minutes ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Ra tories are Nazis man! Johnson is hitler!! How can you no see it!! - people who have barely a clue what nazism was

Who said that? 

Surprising, given that you seem an expert on Nazism, that you're unable to see the parallels of policy being rammed through Westminster with that of early 1930s Germany.

I'll help you out with a starter for 10. Forced resettlement. For the Nazis it was the 'under-people', for Patel its asylum seekers. 

The rest of his authoritarian agenda also apes the playbook of the National Socialists. 

One man's patriotism and all that eh.

Keep waving your wee flag 👍

Edited by The Mighty Thor
Filter doesn't like the German for under people 😕

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

A small improvement is worth making, I'd be quite happy to never have to hear about this bollocks again.

And instead we can have the bollocks of a presidential election every 4 years for a position that seems to be, by popular opinion, a bit of a waste of time.   Huzzah!

13 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Thinking a bit more about Whitlam, I wonder what would have happened if a President backed by the National Party had sacked him.  Because the president was elected (even if they were just a ‘figurehead’) there would be some legitimacy to their position and those that voted for him might agree with what he had done - while those that voted Labor certainly would not.

I wonder if the transition of power would have been peaceful.  Who knows?

Your ponderings on Whitlam are irrelevant. The Governor General  (in this context read "the queen") sacked the elected prime minister. Australia ceased to be a democracy. What makes you think the same couldn't happen in Britain?

Just now, FWJ said:

And instead we can have the bollocks of a presidential election every 4 years for a position that seems to be, by popular opinion, a bit of a waste of time.   Huzzah!

Cool

4 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Who said that? 

Surprising, given that you seem an expert on Nazism, that you're unable to see the parallels of policy being rammed through Westminster with that of early 1930s Germany.

I'll help you out with a starter for 10. Forced resettlement. For the Nazis it was the 'under-people', for Patel its asylum seekers. 

The rest of his authoritarian agenda also apes the playbook of the National Socialists. 

One man's patriotism and all that eh.

Keep waving your wee flag 👍

image.png.90d5d9347750cb6a29e0881be9853a5d.png

It's only a matter of time, folks.

Can't wait 'till Boris annexes Normandy.

14 minutes ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

Your ponderings on Whitlam are irrelevant. The Governor General  (in this context read "the queen") sacked the elected prime minister. Australia ceased to be a democracy. What makes you think the same couldn't happen in Britain?

They’re not irrelevant at all.  An elected head of state has a legitimacy.  

dobmisterdobster
1 hour ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

Are Scots exceptional, in that they have moved on from the world of slavery and imperialism? What's wrong with you??? I thought everybody was on the same page with this!

This idea that Scotland is more friendly and tolerant than England. It's not true at all but I see so many people delude themselves into believing it which does us no favours.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-44040251

3 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

This idea that Scotland is more friendly and tolerant than England. It's not true at all but I see so many people delude themselves into believing it which does us no favours.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-44040251

Barrel scraping-tastic stuff.

An extensive study? Naw a 2018 book.

Oh right then 👍 

52 minutes ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

Ainsley Harriott
1 hour ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

In fairness the Scottish socialist nationalists have been running Nuremberg style marches with defaced saltires for a while now. 

23 minutes ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

In fairness the Scottish socialist nationalists have been running Nuremberg style marches with defaced saltires for a while now. 

Must try harder.

4 hours ago, dobmisterdobster said:

FUQU7MCXoAA9y2p-1.thumb.jpg.5db0e76d8b0e5628eb2629f6943258f8.jpg

Knee pads, get your knee pads.

3 hours ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

:sweeet:

You have to admit, that was some spectacle.

Do people actually do this or/and watch it. :rofl: 

41 minutes ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

You're English and live in England. 

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

For some people, hatred of the Tories - although understandable at times - does seem to lead to odd brain manoeuvrings. The Nazis' systematic 'resettlement' and destruction of Jews as a race cannot be compared to a desperate and pathetic attempt to reduce the flow of asylum seekers from a variety of backgrounds.

I'm pretty sure the Tories of the time shipped black folk to America. 

2 hours ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

👇click here 

I know maybe just trolling, but for

the avoidance of doubt it is

utterly idiotic to draw any comparison between modern Britain and pre war nazi Germany.

What about pre war Britain and pre war Nazi Germany?

Riccarton3

Not long before parents are dob-meistered in by their kids as traitors. And you'll thank your kids. World repeats itself over and over. Indisputable. The drip drip of standards erosion and liberal corrosion.

But shame Queenie couldn't be there today to knee Johnson in the baws half way through his contribution.

Ainsley Harriott
45 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Must try harder.

Wasn't particularly trying. What did I say that wasn't true?

Ainsley Harriott
29 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

You're English and live in England. 

Even if I were what would that have to do with what I said?

35 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Do people actually do this or/and watch it. :rofl: 

I was on about the Nuremberg rallies, mate. 

Credit where it's due, those guys knew how to put on a show. 

Edited by Dirk McClaymore

Brits have kills more people than any other nation on this earth. Hitler would have loved to be in the same league.

Lord Montpelier
6 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Brits have kills more people than any other nation on this earth. Hitler would have loved to be in the same league.

Being British, it must be tough for you to carry that burden of guilt. 

9 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Hitler's biggest mistake was condensing all of his war-mongering and genocide into a wee six or seven year period which managed piss everyone off.

If he'd stretched it out for a few hundred years, like the Brirish Empire, maybe nobody would've noticed.

The Daily Express being roasted on Twitter for their reports of Harry and Meghan being booed as they arrive at St Paul’s, when all the footage shows otherwise, instead of the reality of Johnson being booed. 

23 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

A statement that will never be proven and is therefore pointless. There have been many empires, from Roman to Mongal, from Persian to Spanish, from British to Russian.

You carry on hating your forefathers though. Scots played more than there fair share in empire.

What a burden of guilt you carry when you detest your own country more than Hitler's Reich. It's actually sad.

Edited by Malinga the Swinga

I have no real hard opinion on this subject. I heard the announcement of the death of the King on the radio, not TV. Then I heard a young lassie accept a pretty big job. A few months later at 171/2 I was swearing allegiance to the self same young lassie. SAs a soldier and a policeman I stood securityy for her, and later she and her husband, from both I have received a wee smile, the Queen whilst I was the policeman at the front door of St Giles when she was entering. I had no complaints about the job she did as Queen. I am a bit concerned as to how her son and heir will do. Of course you can legall get rid of he and the future inheritors, now you are open to a pseudo royal family of a Trump. Biden like figure who live royally in Palace White House.

Royalists having a jolly !

No harm in it. Let them get on with it...and eat cake !

Cheers for the holiday, Betty !

20 minutes ago, Tazio said:

The Daily Express being roasted on Twitter for their reports of Harry and Meghan being booed as they arrive at St Paul’s, when all the footage shows otherwise, instead of the reality of Johnson being booed. 

Yip, it was the fat fascist that got booed.

Edited by Joey J J Jr Shabadoo

HartleyLegend3
27 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

A statement that will never be proven and is therefore pointless. There have been many empires, from Roman to Mongal, from Persian to Spanish, from British to Russian.

You carry on hating your forefathers though. Scots played more than there fair share in empire.

What a burden of guilt you carry when you detest your own country more than Hitler's Reich. It's actually sad.

Unfortunately buddy you are both right. 

The British empire did in fact kill millions and through its actions of Divide and conquer attitude, the world is a seriously f-ed up place becauseof it. 

The jocks lead the British empire. 

https://listverse.com/2014/02/04/10-evil-crimes-of-the-british-empire/

The Eton Mess and his latest squeeze we rightly booed I hope he got the message loud and clear. 

1 minute ago, Imaman said:

The Eton Mess and his latest squeeze we rightly booed I hope he got the message loud and clear. 

The message he will take from the booing is that the public hate Carrie.
Divorce on the way?

7 minutes ago, HartleyLegend3 said:

Unfortunately buddy you are both right. 

The British empire did in fact kill millions and through its actions of Divide and conquer attitude, the world is a seriously f-ed up place becauseof it. 

The jocks lead the British empire. 

https://listverse.com/2014/02/04/10-evil-crimes-of-the-british-empire/

It's a shame that poster celebrates the atrocities of the empire/monarchy so much he needs to deflect. 

Hoose jocks, eh?

Edited by Joey J J Jr Shabadoo

Japan Jambo
21 hours ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

Nice to see him in the news for something positive for a change. 

👍 see what you did there!

3 hours ago, jonesy said:

There isn't a country on the planet that doesn't have issues with racism/xenophobia of some sort. The extent of the issues may vary, but it doesn't do anyone any favours to either a) deny there is an issue or b) acknowledge the successes some countries - Scotland included - have recorded in dealing with it.

I don't disagree but the starting point has to go acknowledgement of Scotland/Britain's role in the past. 

Only then can you contextualise the present.

I've said it before, Scotland's cancer is religious bigotry.

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

The Express really don't like the darkie. 

How many Indians did the Brits kill and starve to death. 30 odd million and then some. North American, Australian and New Zealand native genocide or at least attempted and you could add Ireland to the list. 150 million(And then some) people killed by Brits in the name of the Empire. So proud. 

Who invented concentration camps again?  🤔

Some Scots then and now have been. :insufferable: lily livered, untrustworthy traitors.