• FWJ

• Unknown user

• jack D and coke

• A Boy Named Crow

40 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Ultra nationalism is one of the main signifiers of nazi thinking. Racial purity and all that stuff. 
Just saying. 

Crayon muncher to equate that to Scottish self determination in 3,2,1

10 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Crayon muncher to equate that to Scottish self determination in 3,2,1

As opposed to drawing a parallel between crowds celebrating the queen’s platinum jubilee and the Nuremberg rallies.

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

What about pre war Britain and pre war Nazi Germany?

The rise of the Labour Party during the inter war years? 

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

How many Indians did the Brits kill and starve to death. 30 odd million and then some. North American, Australian and New Zealand native genocide or at least attempted and you could add Ireland to the list. 150 million(And then some) people killed by Brits in the name of the Empire. So proud. 

Who invented concentration camps again?  🤔

Some Scots then and now have been. :insufferable: lily livered, untrustworthy traitors.

The expected nationalistic response and it's pathetic. Do you count those Scots fighting in WW1 under UK flag traitors? You know, the ones that sacrificed their lives in order you could call them lilly livered and untrustworthy.

Must be difficult for you hating the majority of Scotland's population.

Edited by Malinga the Swinga

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

The Express really don't like the darkie. 

Nice use of racist terminology there. Pretty sure you should be retracting that.

3 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

The expected nationalistic response and it's pathetic. Do you count those Scots fighting in WW1 under UK flag traitors? You know, the ones that sacrificed their lives in order you could call them lilly livered and untrustworthy.

I can tell you about one young Scot who had fought in that war, at age eighteen he was called up to the Gordon Highlanders to fight in that war. His conscription cost him the couple of years he had served as an apprentice blacksmith, the next two years saw him serving in trenches and using his athletic abilities to run with messages between trenches he also learned how to shoot, stab with a bayonet and other methods of killing young Germans  just like himself.  

When the war was over and he applied for positions he was advised that he was unskilled labor. He did not respond as I would have, I am skilled if you want messages delivered under gunfire I am skilled at that, and I am also very good at killing. He went through his life with the shame to him of being called unskilled when he knew he would have been good at his trade if left at it. When I wanted to go to the army he was against it, his directions to me were from the age of four you are gong to be a policeman. House, uniform, good pay and pension plan and no apprenticeship, and you will never be demeaned as unskilled. That was my Dad a proud Scot who bravely served his Country and was abandoned by that self same country.  He was the proudest man in the world when I joined the Edinburgh City Police, and I hope he saw my conclusion, because I supplied for him the pride he lost in the service of his country Scotland 1916, to 1918.

16 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

I can tell you about one young Scot who had fought in that war, at age eighteen he was called up to the Gordon Highlanders to fight in that war. His conscription cost him the couple of years he had served as an apprentice blacksmith, the next two years saw him serving in trenches and using his athletic abilities to run with messages between trenches he also learned how to shoot, stab with a bayonet and other methods of killing young Germans  just like himself.  

When the war was over and he applied for positions he was advised that he was unskilled labor. He did not respond as I would have, I am skilled if you want messages delivered under gunfire I am skilled at that, and I am also very good at killing. He went through his life with the shame to him of being called unskilled when he knew he would have been good at his trade if left at it. When I wanted to go to the army he was against it, his directions to me were from the age of four you are gong to be a policeman. House, uniform, good pay and pension plan and no apprenticeship, and you will never be demeaned as unskilled. That was my Dad a proud Scot who bravely served his Country and was abandoned by that self same country.  He was the proudest man in the world when I joined the Edinburgh City Police, and I hope he saw my conclusion, because I supplied for him the pride he lost in the service of his country Scotland 1916, to 1918.

Think you can say you have made him proud.

52 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Nice use of racist terminology there. Pretty sure you should be retracting that.

:berra:

41 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

Good post

Lord Montpelier
2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

How many Indians did the Brits kill and starve to death. 30 odd million and then some. North American, Australian and New Zealand native genocide or at least attempted and you could add Ireland to the list. 150 million(And then some) people killed by Brits in the name of the Empire. So proud. 

Who invented concentration camps again?  🤔

Some Scots then and now have been. :insufferable: lily livered, untrustworthy traitors.

Must be tough for you knowing your ancestors played a part in that Ri

8 hours ago, FWJ said:

So should we abandon the idea of having a separate head of state and just give that to the prime minister?

Elements of the role could be picked up by the civil service,  but I don't really see a reason for there to be somebody over the elected leader. 

Ceremonial duties could be done by anyone.

2 minutes ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

Elements of the role could be picked up by the civil service,  but I don't really see a reason for there to be somebody over the elected leader. 

We could do it in shifts, bagsy the first year.

1 hour ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Fair comment 

4 minutes ago, Smithee said:

We could do it in shifts, bagsy the first year.

I declare this leisure centre...open

I've been practising. The key is in the timing,  you need the pause!

Rocco_Jambo

It was really great to hear Nicola waxing lyrical about Her Majesty and the deep respect she has for her.

It was a really fitting tribute to Her Majesty given her years of service and no doubt appreciated by all.

It's always been for the benefit of the few and to the great detriment of the many. No matter the nationality.

Religion, nationalism, all bollox when carried to the extreme, probably even long before then.

We're on this infinitesimal speck of dust yet still somehow veer toward the belief some miniscule part of it is "superior" to the other and worth slaughtering each other over.

Our existence is finite enough, ffs!

Edited by J.T.F.Robertson

3 hours ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

I declare this leisure centre...open

I've been practising. The key is in the timing,  you need the pause!

I might just send my wee brother round to do all that shit while I get on with eating swans and wearing the hat.

16 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I might just send my wee brother round to do all that shit while I get on with eating swans and wearing the hat.

The hat is an interesting one.  We were talking at the pub yesterday about what an Australian republic would be like. Given the melting pot of cultures here,  we settled on whoever gets drawn to do their stint has to dress and behave like the accepted stereotype of their background.

If it was me, I'd have to wear a kilt all the time,  a true blue Aussie would be in a singlet and thongs (flip flops) with an akubra.

It doesn't need to be an ethnic thing, we could have a head of state in drag etc! If the crown and robes are your thing,  bash on, I like the idea of our head of state dressing in Hearts gear, full kit w@nker style though.

Edited by A Boy Named Crow

Maple Leaf
10 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Brits have kills more people than any other nation on this earth. Hitler would have loved to be in the same league.

I don't think that's true.

Germany triggered both WWI and WWII with a combined death toll of nearly 100 million.  How have 'Brits' exceeded that?

Watching the news I hadn't realised Royalists, Loyalists and Unionists were as inbred as the royal family. Explains everything, really.

9 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

The guy is off his head or, as I've posted before, a unionist troll posting the most outlandish rubbish to poke fun at Scottish Nationalists. I've got a few nutty unionists on ignore but aussieh was the first 

7 hours ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

Exactly. Every time getting rid of the farce that is the monarchy comes up, president Johnson/Sturgeon gets trotted out. What's wrong with just getting rid of the royals and keeping everything else the same (apart from independence of course e😊

9 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

You probably are pretty sure I should be retracting that. 

You're right though, I should have used quotation marks around it as its not my opinion rather it's that of the Express and the arseholes that read it. 

Oh and of course the senior royal that was concerned what colour Meghans child was going to be. 

Keep waving that wee flag though 👍 

dobmisterdobster
11 hours ago, Tazio said:

Ultra nationalism is one of the main signifiers of nazi thinking. Racial purity and all that stuff. 
Just saying. 

That's fascinating trivia. Not sure how that relates to the Royal Family.

3 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

I don't think that's true.

Germany triggered both WWI and WWII with a combined death toll of nearly 100 million.  How have 'Brits' exceeded that?

150m+ is more than 100m is it not. 

You probably are pretty sure I should be retracting that. 

You're right though, I should have used quotation marks around it as its not my opinion rather it's that of the Express and the arseholes that read it. 

Oh and of course the senior royal that was concerned what colour Meghans child was going to be. 

Keep waving that wee flag though 👍 

Apologies for misunderstanding.

40 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

That's fascinating trivia. Not sure how that relates to the Royal Family.

I wasn’t talking about the royal family. 

I was terrified that my kids might be ginger too, tbf.

2 hours ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Belgium, The Netherlands, Luxembourg are all monarchies.

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, France, Finland aren't, but so what?

34 minutes ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

I was terrified that my kids might be ginger too, tbf.

52 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Apologies for misunderstanding.

It didn't read the best TBF👍

15 hours ago, Tazio said:

The Daily Express being roasted on Twitter for their reports of Harry and Meghan being booed as they arrive at St Paul’s, when all the footage shows otherwise, instead of the reality of Johnson being booed. 

Not just the Express that don't like Meghan. Here's today's Nazi front page. In amongst the 'joyous celebrations' there's always an opportunity to put the boot in promote team Wills & Kate. 

I can't put my finger on why they don't like Meghan 🤔

_125266129_sdmpage1june4-page-001.jpg

Edited by The Mighty Thor

John Gentleman
1 hour ago, jonesy said:

See how the lassies wear those hats with the brims at 45 degree angles... Do you think it affects their sense of balance?

Naw. Just their sense of perspective...

Carrie (just back from the abattoir by the looks of it) wears hers so that she doesn’t need to talk to or look at Clownshoes

86998003-5EC9-49F6-BA38-F971EC4B3C46.png

Maple Leaf
5 hours ago, ri Alban said:

150m+ is more than 100m is it not. 

Yes it is.  Where does the 150m number come from?

With regard to the relationship betweenWilliamand Harry, I( don't know if there is a problem but as with the Queen and her sister Margaret their lives were totally different and Margaret often had a back seat to the soon to be her Princess sisters future life. While the Queen to be was opening flower shows and other duties, Margaret was reputed to be living it up in night clubs with  an assortment of male escorts. There were comments made about the lack of relationship between the sisters, but an exigency of upcoming duty made them totally different as with the brothers. Life can be strange my father was the Janitor,handyman, chauffeur at St Trineans School in Park Road. Miss Lee  the owner the sister of Hearts doctor Dr Lee, insisted that my father send his daughter to a fee paying Girls School, of course not hers. Along came me, the son four years younger than the daughter, raised as a second child of a working class family no uniforms or fees, just a boy often dressed in his sisters hand me downs, with shoes two sizes too big stuffed with paper to fit, but my sister loved me with no limits, and I loved her deeply, and we stayed that way until her death in her eighties. So sometimes what could be the public view was not the factual situation, I suspect with these lads the situation is similar to how mine was, but it did not affect our sibling relationships, and I done o.k without public school education, and my sister married a printer and the moved to America, and we all lived happy ever after.

Sooperstar
42 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Scousers ken😊

FFC134A1-C292-4C1C-B4AF-E5182CD53982.jpeg

Some of my mate's neighbours in Currie arranged a street party yesterday. This was it at its peak.

IMG-20220603-WA0013.jpg

10 hours ago, jonesy said:

See how the lassies wear those hats with the brims at 45 degree angles... Do you think it affects their sense of balance?

Only in a cross wind

10 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

Some of my mate's neighbours in Currie arranged a street party yesterday. This was it at its peak.

IMG-20220603-WA0013.jpg

Magnificent. Only utter nonces and hoose jocks celebrated that shite🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿😊

6 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Magnificent. Only utter nonces and hoose jocks celebrated that shite🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿😊

Technically the nonce didn't celebrate as he has 'covid'.

9 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Technically the nonce didn't celebrate as he has 'covid'.

Fair comment

32 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

IMG-20220603-WA0013.jpg

One's wearing a tiara

:kirklol: