January transfer window ( Now closed )

bigsuperslim1874
4 minutes ago, TheBigO said:

I did nearly mention Halkett before I remembered Roberts existed tbf, which says it all really!!!!  Shame, the guy seems to have all the pieces, just no ability to put them altogether.  He's Stevie Wonder with a jigsaw.

🤣🤣🤣

• Replies 11.6k

• Cruyff

• Lord Beni of Gorgie

2 minutes ago, TheBigO said:

I did nearly mention Halkett before I remembered Roberts existed tbf, which says it all really!!!!  Shame, the guy seems to have all the pieces, just no ability to put them altogether.  He's Stevie Wonder with a jigsaw.

You never know he might come good. Not sure if he can defend but I actually think he could be worth trying at RB, a Clare type move. Good athlete, good height, not the worst touch in the world... but as i say, no idea if he can defend. Probably not. 

10 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

I'd still keep the faith with Ginnelly. He's obviously got a hamstring issue at the moment but when he's available for 20 mins or half an hour, he makes an impact and changes games. So I'd keep him, use him as an impact sub and sign another right winger. He will play 90 minutes at some point, I don't doubt that but if he can't, it's no biggy, he can be still be a key player off the bench. 

Agree, if it’s a hamstring injury we all know that takes a long time to properly heal, we don’t need him to win this league for us we have enough goals in this team already ,we should nurse him through this season and get him fully fit for next he could be a very important player for us.

17 minutes ago, One five said:

Agree, if it’s a hamstring injury we all know that takes a long time to properly heal, we don’t need him to win this league for us we have enough goals in this team already ,we should nurse him through this season and get him fully fit for next he could be a very important player for us.

I suppose it is just about risk and reward and the wage he is looking for, if we offer him say 4-5K a week and he breaks down then that is a significant part of budget for next year.

Don't get me wrong I think he looks class every time he play's just a risk Robbie etc will need to weigh up.

Edited by steve123

6 minutes ago, steve123 said:

I suppose it is just about risk and reward and the wage he is looking for, if we offer him say 4-5K a week and he breaks down then that is a significant part of budget for next year.

Don't get me wrong I think he looks class every time he play's just a risk Robbie etc will need to weigh up.

True it’s a risk and we have to see what wages etc he would agree on .

I think we should send Gino off to a specialist to get him properly assessed. He's a player I want to see 100% fit and in a maroon jersey, so if it takes him to get treatment and sit out for a couple of months then so-be-it. Getting an injury free Gino back in for pre season training should be what the management team are hopefully thinking.

Juho_Makela_Goal_Machine

As good as Armand looked last night, getting a midfielder with strength and pace in to play alongside Irving would be an even bigger signing. My trust is in Joe and the team as the business that's been done since he came in has been top drawer.

20 minutes of Gino is better than 220 minutes of Frear or Roberts. He seems a perfect fit for us in that he has taken to the club and we have taken to him. We need to give him every opportunity to prove he can get fit and stay fit. If he can he could be a major asset. 

Lots of ifs and buts and it may come down to the level of financial risk we are prepared to take. 

42 minutes ago, Juho_Makela_Goal_Machine said:

As good as Armand looked last night, getting a midfielder with strength and pace in to play alongside Irving would be an even bigger signing. My trust is in Joe and the team as the business that's been done since he came in has been top drawer.

We are obviously building for next season . I accept Berra is a fading force but he is nowhere near as bad as some make out . Think any team in this league would take him . Right now midfield is the problem . Hopefully keep Irving , get Haring fit and sign a Cameron type [I know] .

Think there are plenty goals in the team

We are getting there

2 hours ago, Gimme an H... said:

We have enough strikers if Wighton stays. If he goes then we don't. 

This.  We brought in AG because we needed another striker.  Just takes Boyce, Naisy or AG to get injured and we’re toiling again. 

I don’t see the point in loaning out a player for the remainder of their contract. Be as well holding on to him as cover.  

6 minutes ago, gashauskis9 said:

This.  We brought in AG because we needed another striker.  Just takes Boyce, Naisy or AG to get injured and we’re toiling again. 

I don’t see the point in loaning out a player for the remainder of their contract. Be as well holding on to him as cover.  

Unless you want some of his salary to bring someone else in. 

Hibs preparing for moves for Porteous and Doig with 'several English clubs interested'...righto.

Who the hell would want them, especially Doig? Not once when I've seen him have I thought he made a mistake letting him go. 

😁

1 minute ago, neilnunb said:

Hibs preparing for moves for Porteous and Doig with 'several English clubs interested'...righto.

Who the hell would want them, especially Doig? Not once when I've seen him have I thought he made a mistake letting him go. 

😁

Doig is not a bad player and still young 

porteous is just atrocious he is a complete liability how the media rave about him is just embarrassing

5 minutes ago, Kyle1874 said:

Doig is not a bad player and still young 

porteous is just atrocious he is a complete liability how the media rave about him is just embarrassing

doig is decent, doidge on the other hand.....

think the original post may be getting them mixed up.

Porteous however, sounds like someone has seen McKenna go down south after being bummed up something rotten and then looked for the next young Scottish defender who is getting the same treatment!

7 minutes ago, Gav M said:

doig is decent, doidge on the other hand.....

think the original post may be getting them mixed up.

Porteous however, sounds like someone has seen McKenna go down south after being bummed up something rotten and then looked for the next young Scottish defender who is getting the same treatment!

No, Doig is the defender. He's bang average. I'd actually go so far and say I can't believe he keeps Stevenson out! 😁

2 hours ago, Clerry Jambo said:

Disagree, Naisy should be right up top alongside a partner. Totally wasted running about all over the park, especially with his fitness issues. Very clever player around and in the box. IMHO ofcourse

18 hours ago, sac said:

Doesnae look 6’4” to me. Specky wi bandy legs inaw. Hope he’s quicker than he looks.

BRILLIANT!!

3 hours ago, kingantti1874 said:

With a heavy heart i agree. From what little we’ve seen he’s the best winger I’ve seen at the club for some time. But we don’t seem to be able to get 90mons from him.

I hope we haven’t rushed him back from previous hammy 

I thought his previous injury was his thigh and maybe this is not even the same leg.

2 hours ago, gov said:

Robbie said he needs a rb to challenge Smith now Brandon is out and another midfielder and thats probs it. Have to remember it's still a pandemic and the club will not want to over stretch with the unknown of future season tickets/crowds

WE don't need anyone to "challenge" Smith as he always produces but having "cover" is a different matter

4 minutes ago, David Black said:

I thought his previous injury was his thigh and maybe this is not even the same leg.

it was his thigh 

46 minutes ago, Der Kaiser said:

NHC

Lennon feels "let down" by Frimpong pushing for his move away.

:glorious:

How the actual **** are sellick getting £11.5 million for player that cost 300k, less than two years ago, and playing in the spl? HOW?

When was the last time we had a forward who scored 15/20 plus goals a season ? Hoping the big fella can net a few score a few for Blackpool.

3 minutes ago, Stu_HMFC said:

When was the last time we had a forward who scored 15/20 plus goals a season ? Hoping the big fella can net a few score a few for Blackpool.

Boyce is not far off that 

8 minutes ago, Rogue Daddy said:

How the actual **** are sellick getting £11.5 million for player that cost 300k, less than two years ago, and playing in the spl? HOW?

Yes good , positive story about Celtic . Funny that

20 minutes ago, David Black said:

thanks mate. I hope he gets a run.. we are a different prospect entirely with Gino in the team

7 minutes ago, Stu_HMFC said:

...or us? 😜

Just now, Diego10 said:

10 goals already and that's only starting 12 games..

He’s class even tho he’s not at 100% 

can’t wait to see how he does when other players make space for him 

15 minutes ago, Rogue Daddy said:

I think Man City knew his true worth, hence selling him to Celtic for 300K + 30% of future sell on. With wages, Celtic will have spent well over 1M on him to date.

1 minute ago, ericb said:

I think Man City knew his true worth, hence selling him to Celtic for 300K + 30% of future sell on. With wages, Celtic will have spent well over 1M on him to date.

Aye, but 11.5 mill?... after less than 2 years in the spl? Something doesn't smell right. 💩...unless his wages are astronomical for the remaining 2 years. i dunno, doesn't add up for me. I can't even remember him playing against us, is he really THAT good?

LarrysRightFoot

Ginnelly is definitely worth a punt. Players with explosive pace tend to pick up hamstring injuries early in their career. I think a proper rest and pre-season will do him the world of good. 

Wighton - I feel sorry for him, clearly more talented than Henderson. I’m guessing but I get the impression something has went on - attitude, fallout etc. 

I don’t know if we need a centre half - I’d rather wait and try to get Findlay or Gallagher. Who knows though we maybe have already and been knocked back. I think Haring could fill in if required until the summer at CB. 

Looks like the squad is going to have a complete overhaul again within the space of a year with Bobby, Doyle, Damour, Frear, Moore, Wighton and potentially Cochrane and Roberts out within the next 6 months. 

1 minute ago, LarrysRightFoot said:

Ginnelly is definitely worth a punt. Players with explosive pace tend to pick up hamstring injuries early in their career. I think a proper rest and pre-season will do him the world of good. 

Wighton - I feel sorry for him, clearly more talented than Henderson. I’m guessing but I get the impression something has went on - attitude, fallout etc. 

I don’t know if we need a centre half - I’d rather wait and try to get Findlay or Gallagher. Who knows though we maybe have already and been knocked back. I think Haring could fill in if required until the summer at CB. 

Looks like the squad is going to have a complete overhaul again within the space of a year with Bobby, Doyle, Damour, Frear, Moore, Wighton and potentially Cochrane and Roberts out within the next 6 months. 

Correct... definitely worth a contract. It's blatantly obvious he's streets ahead of the likes of Roberts & Frear. 

18 minutes ago, LarrysRightFoot said:

Craig Wighton's body language does it for me.  Shoulders down. Looks like has weight of world on them.There's no positivity there. Looks depressed all the time. Are you not supposed to enjoy being a footballer? Sorry, its probably time to get back to Dundee with budgets tight.

If you keep buying shite, you buy twice and it's been added to by RN but not quite to the extent of CL. So, a clear out is inevitable.

Gallagher just wants to go to Celtic. Yes, I think another CH is needed in case CH or Popescu get hurt. You can't pull Smith across now and Haring is too much of a risk, apparently

Edited by Riccarton3

1 hour ago, Der Kaiser said:

NHC

Lennon feels "let down" by Frimpong pushing for his move away.

:glorious:

Odd.   I heard him on radio yesterday saying its good business. 

He's looking for excuses already.    Crazy!  

Have to say I don't like this big long transfer thread idea as it currently is - impossible to know where to start...

Could I suggest that whenever the mods change the name they also put the page number the thread is at?

bobby bombscare
1 minute ago, Rogue Daddy said:

Correct... definitely worth a contract. It's blatantly obvious he's streets ahead of the likes of Roberts & Frear. 

i'd be interested to see how many minutes in total he has actually played for us this season?

1 hour ago, neilnunb said:

😁

Millwall after porteous, quoted interest.    Strange that, as I recall Millwall are usually good defensively.  😂 

3 minutes ago, HMFC01 said:

Millwall after porteous, quoted interest.    Strange that, as I recall Millwall are usually good defensively.  😂 

Another one they have been able to hype up.They are certainly good at it regardless if they are good or not.

Edited by vegas-voss

9 minutes ago, bobby bombscare said:

i'd be interested to see how many minutes in total he has actually played for us this season?

I don't actually think he's had a full half yet.... which is worrying. As Larry says above, with a decent rest (or pre-season even), it'll hopefully do him the world of good.

The lad clearly has bags of talent.

41 minutes ago, Rogue Daddy said:

Aye, but 11.5 mill?... after less than 2 years in the spl? Something doesn't smell right. 💩...unless his wages are astronomical for the remaining 2 years. i dunno, doesn't add up for me. I can't even remember him playing against us, is he really THAT good?

Clearly it's a pace thing.   He played in Europe and outran some top players on occasion.   Stinks as a defender, his crossing, decision making were bad too. Has potential, clearly they wanted him at a cost.   Maybe had to outbid other clubs but it hasn't been mentioned.   I think they just really wanted him. 

Edited by HMFC01

15 minutes ago, bobby bombscare said:

any news or hints as to if there will be any more incoming players and if there is any names floating about?

Robbie said last night he was hoping to get 1 or 2 more in. 

33 minutes ago, Rogue Daddy said:

He didn't want to stay and was adamant he wanted to leave , so were many others. Lennon said so in his BBC interview. They can see the writing on the wall - and Celtic aren't big payers.

£11.5 M ? Sounds a lot but these days bang average players are moving from the English Championship to the Prem for even more. 

17 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

Have to say I don't like this big long transfer thread idea as it currently is - impossible to know where to start...

Could I suggest that whenever the mods change the name they also put the page number the thread is at?

Used to have post numbers. What happened to that? Was easy to reference something when you were told its post number "x" on the thread.

15 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

He didn't want to stay and was adamant he wanted to leave , so were many others. Lennon said so in his BBC interview. They can see the writing on the wall - and Celtic aren't big payers.

£11.5 M ? Sounds a lot but these days bang average players are moving from the English Championship to the Prem for even more. 

Man U gets £3.45M of that fee (30%).

EDIT: City.

Edited by Pans Jambo

13 minutes ago, HMFC01 said:

Clearly it's a pace thing.   He played in Europe and outran some top players on occasion.   Stinks as a defender, his crossing, decision making were bad too. Has potential, clearly they wanted him at a cost.   Maybe had to outbid other clubs but it hasn't been mentioned.   I think they just really wanted him. 

I think he's ****ing rubbish, personally. Gets stretchered off greeting every game then is back the next as if nothing happened. He's a wee girl's blouse. All he can do is run. He can't cross, pass or tackle. He's literally just quick. Would absolutely bite someone's hand off for anything north of £2M. £10M is utterly scandalous.

Also, from his point of view - would he rather live in Milngavie on £10-15k p/w or in a nice German city like Dusseldorf or Cologne (or Leverkusen itself which is pretty small but a nice wee place) on £20-25k p/w...?? Hmmmmmmm.........

Edited by Batistuta87

10 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Yeah, I get that, but this is Scotland... I dunno why it's bugging me, maybe because it's the mhanks - but I'd wager there are better players in Scotland that wouldn't command a fee a quarter of that, just simply because they aren't sellick. Just find it a bit bizarre. Maybe Leverkusen (?) just really, really, really wanted the player.

Also makes you wonder how much they would have got, if he didn't want to leave!

• davemclaren changed the title to January transfer window ( Now closed )