Gigs you are going to

On 07/12/2024 at 15:44, weegranty said:

Never noticed Alison Moyet was touring next year,went to buy tickets yesterday, but tickets have sold out.

Saw her years ago in Perth Concert Hall.  She was very good.

Human League at the Hydro on Thursday - and for a different type of gig … Peter Kay in Manchester in January.

• Replies 1.8k

• the original dalry llama

• frankblack

• tedarmy

• Ulysses

First gig in ages, Everything Everything at Assembly Rooms tonight. 

My 6 year old absolutely loves The End of the Contender so will likely be one of those annoying people filming that song for her.

Last gig of the year for me is next Monday, the already mentioned Bootleg Beatles at the Usher Hall. Row F in the stalls for us. I will be conservatively dressed, my son will be in a suit and my daughter dresses like a hippy. 

the original dalry llama
1 hour ago, tedarmy said:

Edinburgh tonight

FB_IMG_1733748099928.jpg

I just bought a ticket for that. Was supposed to be next door at Sneak's to see Freya Beer but that's been cancelled. 

21 minutes ago, the original dalry llama said:

I just bought a ticket for that. Was supposed to be next door at Sneak's to see Freya Beer but that's been cancelled. 

Darth Sidious
20 hours ago, Dirty Deeds said:

And Rival Sons will be a great support. I'm at Maiden a couple of days later at the London Stadium, maybe I'll a another couple of days to the trip.

I'm gonna hold off for the moment as I'm hoping the AC/DC European tour rumours materialise, then do some serious planning.

AC/DC coming back?  Went to Dublin to see them and they were pretty good.  One ticked off the bucket list for me.

Edited by Darth Sidious
Spelling mistake

1 hour ago, Darth Sidious said:

AC/DC coming back?  Went to Dublin to see them and they were pretty good.  One ticked off the bucket list for me.

ACDC Italia are pretty confident that the San Siro is already booked. Strong Paris rumours also. Hopefully a Scottish date but no rumours yet on that.

https://festivalsandtours.eu/ac-dc-summer-tour-on-the-horizon/

We went to see The Damned on Sunday night in Leeds, they were brilliant, as usual.

The Fleshtones were shite to be fair, but, Dr & the Medics were surprisingly good!

The highlight of the evening was wee Dawnrazor going right down the front, it kicking off, him getting 3 real good ones right in the coupen of some prick that was chucking punches about, came back to find me and the wife with his t shirt peppered with blood stains😎🥰

12 hours ago, Darth Sidious said:

was at that one as well and they were pretty good

11 hours ago, Dirty Deeds said:

ACDC Italia are pretty confident that the San Siro is already booked. Strong Paris rumours also. Hopefully a Scottish date but no rumours yet on that.

https://festivalsandtours.eu/ac-dc-summer-tour-on-the-horizon/

similar happened for their tour last year when the mayor of a place in germany let it slip that ac/dc were booked and it wasn't for a few weeks maybe longer until it was announced

the original dalry llama

It's a full day of music today with Lost Map's Christmas Humbug. It will be interesting to see how this goes in the Traverse Theatre which I think means we'll be mostly sitting down. 

Humbug_50.jpg

39 minutes ago, the original dalry llama said:

It's a full day of music today with Lost Map's Christmas Humbug. It will be interesting to see how this goes in the Traverse Theatre which I think means we'll be mostly sitting down. 

Humbug_50.jpg

You will indeed be sitting down. The bands will be split between Traverse 1 which is 280 seats and Traverse 2 which is 120, also the bar will have bands and DJs in it. 

the original dalry llama
2 hours ago, Tazio said:

You will indeed be sitting down. The bands will be split between Traverse 1 which is 280 seats and Traverse 2 which is 120, also the bar will have bands and DJs in it. 

Thanks Tazio - could be fun and games in the evening when bands are alternating between Traverse 1 and Traverse 2. 

5 minutes ago, the original dalry llama said:

Thanks Tazio - could be fun and games in the evening when bands are alternating between Traverse 1 and Traverse 2. 

In theory there is enough time between sets to get between the theatres. And at least there will be stuff in the bar to amuse. 

Percival King

Saw Culture Club last night, no idea why, stupid impulse buy back in the summer, recognised more in Tony Hadley's 40 minute support set than in 2 hours of Boy George. Wasn't into Culture Club 40 years ago, not into them now, never will be into them, what a daftie.

the original dalry llama
On 14/12/2024 at 09:48, Tazio said:

It actually worked really well. Will be interesting to see if they stick with this as the venue for next year as it looks like Summerhall is doomed. Jill Lorean and Blind Yeo were the highlights of the day. 

20241214_142346.jpg

20241214_193819 (2).jpg

3 hours ago, the original dalry llama said:

It actually worked really well. Will be interesting to see if they stick with this as the venue for next year as it looks like Summerhall is doomed. Jill Lorean and Blind Yeo were the highlights of the day. 

I think it worked as well as it could given the change in venue. Some people seemed to enjoy the different feel of the gigs being in a more theatrical setting and some missed the more gig like setting. The bands all enjoyed the day and the support offered by the team. A few wee challenges like discovering that Painting would like projection at short notice and having to rig a screen, projector etc in a very short period of time. Then discovering in the past they’ve done it with small projections screen and were blown away with the huge one I gave them which is a nice feeling. Blind Yeo were an unexpected treat as I didn’t expect them to sound like that from the set up and sound check. It’s always hard doing an event like that as it’s pretty much non stop all day having started at 10am and got the last of the bands equipment out at 2am. I also really enjoyed Alabaster Deplume as the closing act in the main theatre, mad as a box of frogs but a great set. 
Not sure if we’ll do it again next year as it was sheer luck that they needed a venue that could handle the different performance spaces and us not doing a Christmas show this year so were available. 

the original dalry llama
On 15/12/2024 at 14:27, Tazio said:

I think it worked as well as it could given the change in venue. Some people seemed to enjoy the different feel of the gigs being in a more theatrical setting and some missed the more gig like setting. The bands all enjoyed the day and the support offered by the team. A few wee challenges like discovering that Painting would like projection at short notice and having to rig a screen, projector etc in a very short period of time. Then discovering in the past they’ve done it with small projections screen and were blown away with the huge one I gave them which is a nice feeling. Blind Yeo were an unexpected treat as I didn’t expect them to sound like that from the set up and sound check. It’s always hard doing an event like that as it’s pretty much non stop all day having started at 10am and got the last of the bands equipment out at 2am. I also really enjoyed Alabaster Deplume as the closing act in the main theatre, mad as a box of frogs but a great set. 
Not sure if we’ll do it again next year as it was sheer luck that they needed a venue that could handle the different performance spaces and us not doing a Christmas show this year so were available. 

Well done you and all the staff at the Traverse for making this happen. The projection screens during Painting were pretty spectacular. Blind Yeo are playing at the Edinburgh Psych Fest next year - not sure what venues they will use as it seems unlikely there is any way back for Summerhall. 

Dean Owens at Traverse 2 last night was also fantastic. Driving on Lothian Road( I should go on the seethe thread re numpties blocking traffic when their intended position is blocked solid) and parking (Parked on  a single yellow line opposite  Burk and Hare, hope there's no CCTV)a nightmare

1 hour ago, JWL said:

Bootleg Beatles last night, fantastic as always.

It was. Were you the person in the Sergeant Peppers outfit? 

1 hour ago, brownkg said:

Dean Owens at Traverse 2 last night was also fantastic. Driving on Lothian Road( I should go on the seethe thread re numpties blocking traffic when their intended position is blocked solid) and parking (Parked on  a single yellow line opposite  Burk and Hare, hope there's no CCTV)a nightmare

I had never heard of Dean Owens until August when I went to see him at Fringe On The Sea. Great gig. 

I also agree with your driving comments. Lothian Road last night was a nightmare. I rarely drive in Edinburgh and last night it seemed worse than previous times.

3 hours ago, brownkg said:

You must be one of his biggest fans. 😀

3 hours ago, JWL said:

Bootleg Beatles last night, fantastic as always.

Excellent.  Being focussed on the 5 films meant a couple more obscure tunes were played but Hey Bulldog as an unappreciated classic imo. 

Sawdust Caesar
23 hours ago, the original dalry llama said:

Well done you and all the staff at the Traverse for making this happen. The projection screens during Painting were pretty spectacular. Blind Yeo are playing at the Edinburgh Psych Fest next year - not sure what venues they will use as it seems unlikely there is any way back for Summerhall. 

I've heard they may be saved but cannot confirm that yet.

The new West End
5 hours ago, brownkg said:

Only managed to see him a couple of times

Great artist and a good jambo to boot

3 hours ago, davemclaren said:

You must be one of his biggest fans. 😀

As a patreon I give my fellow Leith Jambo money every month I'm like the poundland Andrew Carnegie:munny:

the original dalry llama
3 hours ago, Sawdust Caesar said:

I've heard they may be saved but cannot confirm that yet.

That would be great if it happens. It's a fairly unique venue, given the number of different sized rooms. 

21 hours ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

It was. Were you the person in the Sergeant Peppers outfit? 

I had never heard of Dean Owens until August when I went to see him at Fringe On The Sea. Great gig. 

I also agree with your driving comments. Lothian Road last night was a nightmare. I rarely drive in Edinburgh and last night it seemed worse than previous times.

Aye, shook hands on it when we were in Prague for the Plzen game so there was no going back on it, even though my Lennon outfit was green!. Ended up in the Rat Pack till shutting time, it was some night.

5 minutes ago, JWL said:

Aye, shook hands on it when we were in Prague for the Plzen game so there was no going back on it, even though my Lennon outfit was green!. Ended up in the Rat Pack till shutting time, it was some night.

We werent far from you. My daughter was thrilled to see someone dressed up. I wasnt keen on the colour though! 

We saw you outside after the gig and my kids mentioned you again. Fame eh. 

3 hours ago, JWL said:

The guy sitting in front of me had a blue 'Pepper' jacket on.  I generally try to avoid folk dressed in green. 🥸

3 hours ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

We werent far from you. My daughter was thrilled to see someone dressed up. I wasnt keen on the colour though! 

We saw you outside after the gig and my kids mentioned you again. Fame eh. 

I'd really hate to be famous. The amount of people that wanted a photo with us was incredible, sod going through that every day of your life. Did make a wee laddie's night though, must have been 7 or 8 but he was delighted getting his picture taken with John and Paul🙂

58 minutes ago, JWL said:

I'd really hate to be famous. The amount of people that wanted a photo with us was incredible, sod going through that every day of your life. Did make a wee laddie's night though, must have been 7 or 8 but he was delighted getting his picture taken with John and Paul🙂

Your 15 minutes (or so). Made a few folk happy, well done

On 21/12/2024 at 13:12, Ulysses said:

Julie Fowlis and her colleagues with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra in Glasgow in late January.  Peat and Diesel in Dublin in April.

About 15 years ago I was on holiday in Skye and Julie was part of a gaelic concert with lots of other artists. Tremendous show even though I didnt understand any of the lyrics. 

Next morning at breakfast, Julie and her husband were at the table next to us. Lovely couple who seemed happy to chat after we all ate. 

Enjoy the gig, she has an amazing voice. 

Saw Del Amitri at Barrowland last night. First saw them in '92 at the same venue. Justin Currie still has a great voice and Iain Harvie is a great guitarist. Cracking set. 

On 22/12/2024 at 09:44, The new West End said:

Concert for Gaza on 30th at Voodoo Rooms

And some of the First Footing stuff

Is he back on the drink? 🙁

the original dalry llama
On 22/12/2024 at 12:30, lou said:

Postcards at Le Belle Angel on 27th

I've got that tonight too. The middle band, Big Lanes, are well worth seeing.

17 minutes ago, the original dalry llama said:

I've got that tonight too. The middle band, Big Lanes, are well worth seeing.

Planning on meeting friends for drinks beforehand but will hopefully catch them 👍

Skerryvore were excellent last night at a packed out O2 bringing a full pipe band on stage with them. Probably half the crowd had been drinking all day so it was a bit weird being sober there although £7.20 a bottle of beer made it easier to abstain too. So annoying the number of people talking/shouting to each other over the music and phones held in the air recording the show but blocking the view of those stood behind. I was still down after Boxing Day so that lifted my spirits out of the gloom.