Gigs you are going to

jambosean75
9 minutes ago, Ribble said:

Uriah Heep, Saxon and Judas Preist last night at the Hydro, all 3 bands were excellent

yeah, it was a good night and as you say they were all excellent

i think they started and finished late

• Replies 1.3k

• the original dalry llama

• frankblack

• tedarmy

• Costanza

milky_26
2 hours ago, jambosean75 said:

yeah, it was a good night and as you say they were all excellent

i think they started and finished late

Uriah Heep started 20 mins late. For me Saxon were the best out of all three

jambosean75
17 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

i enjoyed it even though all 3 bands are not groups i listen to regularly but I'm trying to see as many "new" (for me) acts as possible

i have 12 gigs booked for this year so far though I'm hoping to add more 

11/03     Judas Priest
27/03 Ugly Kid Joe
17/04 Kris Barras Band *
23/04 The Warning * 
03/05 When Rivers Meet *
08/05 The Cadillac Three  *
17/06 The Foo Fighters *
25/06 Green Day *
14/10 Alice Cooper
22/11 The Australian Pink Floyd
26/11 Robert Jon & The Wreck *
15/12 Slipknot

half of them I've seen before(*) and the rest will be for the first time

i have seen Alice Cooper before but as the lead in the Hollywood Vampires (twice) rather than his own band

milky_26
14 minutes ago, jambosean75 said:

i enjoyed it even though all 3 bands are not groups i listen to regularly but I'm trying to see as many "new" (for me) acts as possible

11/03     Judas Priest
27/03 Ugly Kid Joe
17/04 Kris Barras Band *
23/04 The Warning * 
03/05 When Rivers Meet *
17/06 The Foo Fighters *
25/06 Green Day *
14/10 Alice Cooper
15/12 Slipknot

i have seen Alice Cooper before but as the lead in the Hollywood Vampires (twice) rather than his own band

i'm similar with heart, ac/dc (seen before), alice cooper and journey. it feels like a lot of these bands this will be the last time they tour.

the Kris Barras Band look like they will be a great live band

jambosean75
1 minute ago, milky_26 said:

i'm similar with heart, ac/dc (seen before), alice cooper and journey. it feels like a lot of these bands this will be the last time they tour.

the Kris Barras Band look like they will be a great live band

i saw kris barras band as the opener for black stone cherry a couple of years ago and the were brilliant

Heart of Darkness
7 hours ago, jambosean75 said:

11/03     Judas Priest
27/03 Ugly Kid Joe
17/04 Kris Barras Band *
23/04 The Warning * 
03/05 When Rivers Meet *
17/06 The Foo Fighters *
25/06 Green Day *
14/10 Alice Cooper
15/12 Slipknot

I'm going to the Australian Pink Floyd as well. Seen them years ago at the Playhouse and thought that they were brilliant. 😀

Pans Jambo

Going to see Simple Minds in the Weeg at the end of the month. 
Apologies in advance if thats not ‘cool’. 

The Natural Order
1 hour ago, Heart of Darkness said:

I'm going to the Australian Pink Floyd as well. Seen them years ago at the Playhouse and thought that they were brilliant. 😀

You'll be seeing a totally different show. I don't think there's an original member left. I thought they were a shadow of the band I first seen when I saw them last year. So much so I'm not bothering this time.

The Natural Order
9 hours ago, milky_26 said:

I'm not a fan of Saxon's new album but the classics were good. My highlight was Uriah Heep doing Gypsy.

Heart of Darkness
14 minutes ago, The Natural Order said:

You'll be seeing a totally different show. I don't think there's an original member left. I thought they were a shadow of the band I first seen when I saw them last year. So much so I'm not bothering this time.

It's so far away that they might get the original members back! 😁

It's really just a good excuse to get out for a few beers with an old mate! 🍻🥃🥃

Dirty Deeds
8 hours ago, Heart of Darkness said:

It's so far away that they might get the original members back! 😁

It's really just a good excuse to get out for a few beers with an old mate! 🍻🥃🥃

Spot on and complaining about tribute band members changing is a new one.

The new West End
12 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Going to see Simple Minds in the Weeg at the end of the month. 
Apologies in advance if thats not ‘cool’. 

In Manchester on Saturday and both Simple Minds and Echo and the Bunnymen are playing separately.

Swithering what to try and get tickets for

Heart of Darkness
12 hours ago, Dirty Deeds said:

Spot on and complaining about tribute band members changing is a new one.

TBF I  usually get that pissed I can't remember how good or badly they played anyway!! 😊

Heart of Darkness

Tomorrow night at the Barrowlands  - Happy Mondays - Inspiral Carpets - Stereo MC's. 🫨

the original dalry llama

Today's entertainment - really looking forward to seeing Dr. VZX Moist's first gig in about five years. 

424660793_834000275196417_1114747120791156707_n.jpg

ArcticJambo

Really fancied Air doing Moon Safari at the RAH but didn't fancy the prices, was looking at 250 a seat!  Even looking at it as a one off treat I couldn't really justify it, as all in with transportation and accommodation youre likely looking at a grand.  Had the remaining seats been a bit more central however ....

Anyone going?

Hmfc1965
2 hours ago, EH11_2NL said:

Screenshot_20240312_074201_YahooMail.thumb.jpg.b36b8bb5c21dd6ef735cd35163d12f35.jpg

You're a lucky *******.

I went to a few of the St Patrick 's gigs and the atmosphere is off the scale.

2 hours ago, ArcticJambo said:

Really fancied Air doing Moon Safari at the RAH but didn't fancy the prices, was looking at 250 a seat!  Even looking at it as a one off treat I couldn't really justify it, as all in with transportation and accommodation youre likely looking at a grand.  Had the remaining seats been a bit more central however ....

Anyone going?

Seen them back in the day at Brixton Academy. Amazing experience.

2 hours ago, ArcticJambo said:

Anyone going?

Cheaper tickets in Halifax - £55, or Paris is 30-60 euros. 

10 hours ago, EH11_2NL said:

Screenshot_20240312_074201_YahooMail.thumb.jpg.b36b8bb5c21dd6ef735cd35163d12f35.jpg

Will be an amazing gig as usual.

ArcticJambo
9 hours ago, Pap said:

Seen them back in the day at Brixton Academy. Amazing experience.

Quite jealous! 25 yrs ago, bet its clear still to this day.

9 hours ago, Gizmo said:

Cheaper tickets in Halifax - £55, or Paris is 30-60 euros. 

Need to check into alternatives, thanks.  The missus and I pretty much hooked up over MS and You've Come a Long Way Baby. :lol: 

Boston Jambo

I just worked three nights of The Dropkicks at MGM Fenway.

St Patrick's weekend, Dropkicks, drunkenness and fake Oirish.

Great show though.

Edited by Boston Jambo

Jamboross
34 minutes ago, AndyNic said:

The Gaslight Anthem last night in Glasgow @ The o2.

Superb.

I'm at the Edinburgh show tonight. Can't stand the Corn Exchange but looking forward to it. Glad to see they've been mixing up the set lists and playing a good amount of older stuff. 

Ulysses

Got tickets for Mary Coughlan in the Olympia in Dublin in December. Last time I saw her there was in about 1988. :eek:

Cairneyhill Jambo
On 17/03/2024 at 19:31, PTBCAL said:

SLF last night was superb 🙂

I don't think i've ever heard any bad reviews about their gigs.

I'm off to see them in Belfast in August.

Suspect Device
On 17/03/2024 at 19:31, PTBCAL said:

SLF last night was superb 🙂

Screenshot_20240321_185542_Gallery.thumb.jpg.6a6930c484377718936e50cae352ce03.jpg

the original dalry llama

Just setting for Newcastle to catch Chemtrails tomorrow night. 

chemtrails.jpg

AndyNic

Bleachers at the Barrowlands last night.

Absolutely fantastic show. 

My 12yo sons first ever gig also and he loved it.

Gundermann
On 18/03/2024 at 14:20, Boston Jambo said:

I just worked three nights of The Dropkicks at MGM Fenway.

St Patrick's weekend, Dropkicks, drunkenness and fake Oirish.

Great show though.

😄

A pal put them on in Edinburgh years ago and said they were decent guys but knew next-to-diddlysquat about good old Eire.

Saw them once at a festival and they were pretty good. Some naked guy got on stage, bopping about with his tadger geeing it laldy before putting his arm around the singer - not Ken Casey - who acted like he'd been electrocuted.

Zen Jambo

Hot Water Music tomorrow at Leeds Brude. 

23 years after my first time seeing them - blew my mind. 

the original dalry llama

Next few days:

Tonight – Jesus and Mary Chain at the Usher Hall

Friday – Gerard Love at the Wee Red bar. This is his first full band gig in Edinburgh since leaving Teenage Fanclub.

Sunday – Cave Wave Alldayer at the Caves

Cave Wave.jpg

Mister T
21 hours ago, the original dalry llama said:

Next few days:

Friday – Gerard Love at the Wee Red bar. This is his first full band gig in Edinburgh since leaving Teenage Fanclub.

Cave Wave.jpg

I was at the Jesus and Mary Chain last night. Blooming magic!

The support band Aircooled were interesting. Might have to explore their stuff.

30 minutes ago, Mister T said:

I was at the Jesus and Mary Chain last night. Blooming magic!

The support band Aircooled were interesting. Might have to explore their stuff.

Aircooled are a great band, that's about the third time I've seen them.

They're playing in Glasgow at Stereo in November, so may need to get tickets....

jambosean75

Ugly Kid Joe were absolutely amazing last night.

i don't know if it was because it was the last night of the tour but they just seemed like they wanted to have fun and spent the night interacting with the crowd, having a laugh and rocking out as hard as they could.

wasn't more than a casual fan before who knew the name and a few songs but will definitely be keeping an eye out for them coming back.

the warm up act the virginmarys i hadn't heard before but were very good and gave their all

Costanza

William Doyle at Sneaky Pete's tonight.

Nice 10pm curfew as well which is a boon at my age.

Jibbers
On 27/03/2024 at 09:37, the original dalry llama said:

Next few days:

Cave Wave.jpg

Cave Wave postponed until September. I was really looking forward to Scaler as well.

the original dalry llama
15 hours ago, Jibbers said:

Cave Wave postponed until September. I was really looking forward to Scaler as well.

This is my plan B for Sunday. 

picky.jpg

boag1874

The Hives at the Barras last night - will take some beating! Phenomenal set from one of the best live bands about, loads of energy from the first minute to the last. Just straight up, no punches pulled, simple yet effective Rock n' Roll music in front of an absolutely bouncing crowd eating out the palm of their hands, 

Underworld tomorrow at Usher Hall. Should be good.

About 20 years or so since I last saw them. T in the Park on the Sunday, while 95% of the attendees flocked to see ****ing Coldplay. 

Ulysses
51 minutes ago, Peebo said:

...while 95% of the attendees flocked to see ****ing Coldplay. 

I've never seen Coldplay, but I haven't been cool in years so I will in August.  Couldn't get tickets for Taylor Swift, though.  :ninja: :laugh: 

Costanza
1 hour ago, Peebo said:

Underworld tomorrow at Usher Hall. Should be good.

About 20 years or so since I last saw them. T in the Park on the Sunday, while 95% of the attendees flocked to see ****ing Coldplay. 

If I wasn't at Johnny Marr would be there, superb live and their back catalogue is outrageously good.

Costanza

Johnny Marr tomorrow at the Barrowlands.

Last time I saw him at The Picturehouse (RIP) he was magnificent; solo, Electronic, the Smiths. What a legend.

When he does Smiths songs like this, who needs Morrissey?

the original dalry llama
10 hours ago, Ulysses said:

I've never seen Coldplay, but I haven't been cool in years so I will in August.  Couldn't get tickets for Taylor Swift, though.  :ninja: :laugh: 

I saw Coldplay's first ever two Scottish gigs back in November 1999. They were supporting Icelandic indiepop legends Bellatrix. The first night was at the Attic (now Legends and, before that, Opium) and the second night was at King Tut's. I'm not quite sure why I even bothered to watch them the second night after being bored rigid by them the first night.