Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

Just now, Lemongrab said:

From next Monday, Gorebridge Leisure Centre will be operating a drop in service for those over 40 needing a 1st or 2nd jag (Astra Zeneca only).

Excellent news. Looks like I'll definitely be able to get my second dose before I head back off to sea in early August.

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Jambo-Jimbo
12 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I think the issue will be, that some people will be unable to get the vaccine for health reason, that could be discrimatory. Though a clear HR policy would probably get you round that to, That would be the likely grounds someone challenges on and I suspect they would do for the media coverage as much as anything else.

In that case they can still give you an interview but they don't have to give you the job, of course they'll never say that being unvaccinated was the reason you didn't get the job, and in that case there would be diddly squat you could do about it.

I was at an interview at a well known supermarket, bog standard stacking shelves, I had to disclose that I had a dodgy ticker, anyway during the interview they took me into the warehouse and got me to push a fully loaded cage trolly, just for a foot or two and then said that they can get quite heavy etc.  I knew right there that I wasn't getting the job, because what she wanted to say but couldn't was that she didn't think that due to my heart condition I wasn't fit enough to do the job. 

So in the advert they can easily state that if you can't be vaccinated due to a medical condition, they would need evidence of that at the interview, that way they cover their arse, because you are still getting an interview.

24 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

In at ingliston this morning for round 2

Well organised again and done and dusted within 15 minutes 👍

Went there yesterday afternoon for my second.

Longest delay were at the bus stop waiting half an hour for the airport bus to turn up.

37 minutes ago, kila said:

Gyle was well organised. NHS + Army doing it, didn't hear any Irish accents though. I was done by a scouser.

Scouser is fine ! I’m easy 

38 minutes ago, kila said:

Gyle was well organised. NHS + Army doing it, didn't hear any Irish accents though. I was done by a scouser.

Actually here’s a point . The letter today doesn’t say which vaccine it is for my second dose ? My first dose was AZ at the EICC . I would assume the second is AZ ? 

Scottish numbers: 10 June 2021

Summary

• 735 new cases of COVID-19 reported [-276; down from 835 a week ago]
  • 28,379 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results [-7,848]
    • 2.8% of these were positive [-0.2%]
  • 1 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive [=]
  • 14 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [=]
  • 124 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+3]
  • 3,441,217 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 2,345,181 have received their second dose [+18,786; +31,486]

39 minutes ago, buzz said:

Has he pretended he’s greetin yet?

No but he got angry with Dawn Butler who had him on the ropes over contracts for pals and peoples data. 

Edited by Boy Daniel

Here's the latest trend data. First downturn in the overall case rate for a wee while and the average positivity rate has remained level for a couple of days. The average daily deaths figure has also dropped back below 1.

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area Tier WHO Today Yesterday     8 Jun 7 Jun 6 Jun 5 Jun 4 Jun ... 1 May
Scotland     104 106 -2   100 96 93 89 84 ... 22
Dundee City 2 4 261 243 +18   226 206 190 169 149 ... 13
Clackmannanshire 2 4 198 206 -8   202 211 194 169 126 ... 14
Angus 1 4 183 182 +1   167 160 148 132 107 ... 7
Edinburgh City 2 4 181 180 +1   175 172 166 151 138 ... 27
Midlothian 2 4 178 172 +6   158 142 118 121 100 ... 10
South Ayrshire 2 4 178 199 -21   182 178 180 169 166 ... 25
Glasgow City 2 4 158 164 -6   157 157 157 153 148 ... 33
East Ayrshire 2 3 140 149 -9   133 138 136 122 112 ... 45
Perth & Kinross 1 3 136 137 -1   109 96 82 74 57 ... 22
Renfrewshire 2 3 135 133 +2   130 128 125 123 134 ... 20
East Renfrewshire 2 3 126 119 +7   113 117 135 143 154 ... 24
East Dunbartonshire 2 3 124 127 -3   121 111 108 99 101 ... 51
West Dunbartonshire 1 3 110 98 +12   87 69 66 61 58 ... 28
East Lothian 1 3 101 93 +8   80 71 63 60 55 ... 5
West Lothian 1 3 100 103 -3   87 82 73 63 55 ... 26
North Lanarkshire 2 3 93 96 -3   90 80 82 81 83 ... 40
South Lanarkshire 2 3 87 95 -8   92 86 85 85 79 ... 18
North Ayrshire 2 3 85 96 -11   83 74 77 78 81 ... 17
Stirling 2 3 69 70 -1   77 80 83 85 81 ... 11
Fife 1 3 56 58 -2   54 51 49 51 49 ... 32
Falkirk 1 2 42 43 -1   52 51 51 54 52 ... 23
Aberdeen City 1 2 40 40 0   42 38 34 28 24 ... 13
Scottish Borders 1 2 39 35 +4   32 31 28 23 18 ... 6
Dumfries & Galloway 1 2 33 30 +3   25 24 14 12 9 ... 19
Inverclyde 1 2 30 28 +2   27 22 26 24 31 ... 15
Argyll & Bute 1 / 0 2 28 29 -1   20 19 20 12 15 ... 7
Aberdeenshire 1 2 24 24 0   22 18 15 12 12 ... 8
Highland 1 / 0 1 18 22 -4   26 29 31 37 45 ... 9
Moray 1 1 14 19 -5   15 17 17 17 14 ... 65
Shetland Islands 0 1 13 17 -4   17 17 17 17 13 ... 0
Na h-Eileanan Siar 0 1 4 4 0   4 7 7 7 7 ... 0
Orkney Islands 0 1 4 4 0   9 9 9 9 9 ... 0

7-day averages     Today Yesterday     8 Jun 7 Jun 6 Jun 5 Jun 4 Jun ... 1 May
Tests     24392 24887 -495   23462 23693 23145 22720 22305 ... 18484
Cases     816 830 -14   782 751 730 694 654 ... 171
Positivity rate %     3.6 3.6 0.0   3.6 3.4 3.4 3.3 3.1 ... 1.1
Deaths     0.7 1.1 -0.4   1.1 1.1 1.3 1.3 1.1 ... 1.3
All Vaccinations     48996 49098 -102   49078 48884 48033 47745 47074 ... 45346
1st Dose     19344 19453 -109   19511 19312 18781 18582 18565 ... 6677
2nd Dose     29652 29645 +7   29567 29572 29252 29163 28509 ... 38669

Daily data                          
All in hospital     124 121 +3   121 122 112 111 116 ... 65
Non-ICU     110 107 +3   109 110 102 103 108 ... 54
ICU     14 14 0   12 12 10 8 8 ... 11

14 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Yes it will be.

Also your sure it doesn't say after the venue? Its almost part of the address.

Nope definitely can’t see it 

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

Nope definitely can’t see it 

You'll definitely be getting AZ, James if that's what you got the first time. That's what most of us more mature guys and gals in the age cohorts are getting, and they should confirm it with you before your second jab.

25 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Actually here’s a point . The letter today doesn’t say which vaccine it is for my second dose ? My first dose was AZ at the EICC . I would assume the second is AZ ? 

My letter arrived yesterday for my first vaccine and it didn’t say which vaccine it would be either . 

light at the end of the tunnel lads. Soon we’ll be freeeeeeeee. Buzzing 🥰

8 minutes ago, redjambo said:

You'll definitely be getting AZ, James if that's what you got the first time. That's what most of us more mature guys and gals in the age cohorts are getting, and they should confirm it with you before your second jab.

“ mature “ !!! Never 👎 😂 if it isn’t the AZ I suppose I can kick up a fuss and get man handled out by a couple of army guys ! 😂 A positive spin on it 

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

if it isn’t the AZ I suppose I can kick up a fuss and get man handled out by a couple of army guys ! 😂 A positive spin on it 

James, stop being such a ****ing tart.

20 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

@redjambo have WHO recently made any adjustments to how they categories Tiers 

Not that I know of, BD. As far as I am aware we adopted the WHO tiers and it is those which are listed in the second column. If the WHO have since adjusted their Covid levels then I'll need to find another way to describe the second column.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-56237471

Edited by redjambo

18 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

You may as well tell the Earth to stop rotating. ;)

19 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Its getting a bit creepy to be honest. Can’t imagine it would go down well if it was female nhs/army staff he was talking about. 

6 minutes ago, Dazo said:

Its getting a bit creepy to be honest. Can’t imagine it would go down well if it was female nhs/army staff he was talking about. 

original.png

57 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Not that I know of, BD. As far as I am aware we adopted the WHO tiers and it is those which are listed in the second column. If the WHO have since adjusted their Covid levels then I'll need to find another way to describe the second column.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-56237471

Thanks for the answer. I just wonder with the changing vaccine administered levels it may have change the way WHO categorise tiers. 

Do The Dance
1 hour ago, Dazo said:

? Aye, this forum has never had anything of the like mentioned about females…

4 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

Thanks for the answer. I just wonder with the changing vaccine administered levels it may have change the way WHO categorise tiers. 

It could well end up doing so. It certainly appears that the tiers in use in a no-vaccination scenario are significantly different to the ones that are required in a "sufficiently-vaccinated" scenario. Perhaps the tier level criteria should be sliding, depending on the level of vaccinations? That however could become quite complex.

In reality, the second column doesn't appear to show much now except the extent to which the current tiers don't match up with the official SG criteria, i.e. how much the levels appear to have evolved due to the vaccination effort. I wouldn't in a month of Sundays, for example, be implying that Dundee should be moved to level 4. However, they do provide a vivid illustration of how much the game has changed so I'll keep them in there for the moment.

1 minute ago, Governor Tarkin said:

We need more pervy bursds posts imo.

The Louise Minchin thread over yonder has probably finished a few of the old one’s off !

🥴

7 minutes ago, Do The Dance said:

Who said that ? 

2 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

“ mature “ !!! Never 👎 😂 if it isn’t the AZ I suppose I can kick up a fuss and get man handled out by a couple of army guys ! 😂 A positive spin on it 

You'll love that!

Someone beat me to it :(

Edited by Jeff

1 minute ago, Jeff said:

Freedom Day delayed by another 3 years

I'm putting together my monkeypox spreadsheet as we speak.

2 hours ago, Irufushi said:

My letter arrived yesterday for my first vaccine and it didn’t say which vaccine it would be either . 

light at the end of the tunnel lads. Soon we’ll be freeeeeeeee. Buzzing 🥰

2 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Might as well tell the world to stop spinning ! 

1 hour ago, Dazo said:

Tough , Sorry if it majes you feel uncomfortable , like someone else said have you seen the amount of posts in the opposite direction about females ? But I guess that’s ok ? Hmmm . Why didn’t u challenge the guy who mentioned about Michelle keagen in Combats ? Yea didn’t think you would . It’s 2021  buttercup 

40 minutes ago, Do The Dance said:

Exactly 

3 minutes ago, Jeff said:

You'll love that!

Oh I know 😂

4 minutes ago, redjambo said:

I'm putting together my monkeypox spreadsheet as we speak.

Hows the super gonorrhoea numbers looking? Falkirk still in zone 5?

2 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

A13A7D49-07C9-44CC-9390-2B6E99B74EAC.gif

3 minutes ago, Jeff said:

Hows the super gonorrhoea numbers looking? Falkirk still in zone 5?

Sadly yes, but they've enlisted the help of a local health expert, V. D. Rotchakokov, to try and bring it back under control.

Just now, redjambo said:

Sadly yes, but they've enlisted the help of a local health expert, V. D. Rotchakokov, to try and bring it back under control.

Thought it was Dr Sloberdon Makokubich

1 minute ago, Jeff said:

Thought it was Dr Sloberdon Makokubich

Took early retirement last year. But everyone who knew him agrees that his legacy kinda lingers.

Just now, redjambo said:

Took early retirement last year. But everyone who knew him agrees that his legacy kinda lingers.

The Shipman of shagging

2 hours ago, redjambo said:

Here's the latest trend data. First downturn in the overall case rate for a wee while and the average positivity rate has remained level for a couple of days. The average daily deaths figure has also dropped back below 1.

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area Tier WHO Today Yesterday     8 Jun 7 Jun 6 Jun 5 Jun 4 Jun ... 1 May
Scotland     104 106 -2   100 96 93 89 84 ... 22
Dundee City 2 4 261 243 +18   226 206 190 169 149 ... 13
Clackmannanshire 2 4 198 206 -8   202 211 194 169 126 ... 14
Angus 1 4 183 182 +1   167 160 148 132 107 ... 7
Edinburgh City 2 4 181 180 +1   175 172 166 151 138 ... 27
Midlothian 2 4 178 172 +6   158 142 118 121 100 ... 10
South Ayrshire 2 4 178 199 -21   182 178 180 169 166 ... 25
Glasgow City 2 4 158 164 -6   157 157 157 153 148 ... 33
East Ayrshire 2 3 140 149 -9   133 138 136 122 112 ... 45
Perth & Kinross 1 3 136 137 -1   109 96 82 74 57 ... 22
Renfrewshire 2 3 135 133 +2   130 128 125 123 134 ... 20
East Renfrewshire 2 3 126 119 +7   113 117 135 143 154 ... 24
East Dunbartonshire 2 3 124 127 -3   121 111 108 99 101 ... 51
West Dunbartonshire 1 3 110 98 +12   87 69 66 61 58 ... 28
East Lothian 1 3 101 93 +8   80 71 63 60 55 ... 5
West Lothian 1 3 100 103 -3   87 82 73 63 55 ... 26
North Lanarkshire 2 3 93 96 -3   90 80 82 81 83 ... 40
South Lanarkshire 2 3 87 95 -8   92 86 85 85 79 ... 18
North Ayrshire 2 3 85 96 -11   83 74 77 78 81 ... 17
Stirling 2 3 69 70 -1   77 80 83 85 81 ... 11
Fife 1 3 56 58 -2   54 51 49 51 49 ... 32
Falkirk 1 2 42 43 -1   52 51 51 54 52 ... 23
Aberdeen City 1 2 40 40 0   42 38 34 28 24 ... 13
Scottish Borders 1 2 39 35 +4   32 31 28 23 18 ... 6
Dumfries & Galloway 1 2 33 30 +3   25 24 14 12 9 ... 19
Inverclyde 1 2 30 28 +2   27 22 26 24 31 ... 15
Argyll & Bute 1 / 0 2 28 29 -1   20 19 20 12 15 ... 7
Aberdeenshire 1 2 24 24 0   22 18 15 12 12 ... 8
Highland 1 / 0 1 18 22 -4   26 29 31 37 45 ... 9
Moray 1 1 14 19 -5   15 17 17 17 14 ... 65
Shetland Islands 0 1 13 17 -4   17 17 17 17 13 ... 0
Na h-Eileanan Siar 0 1 4 4 0   4 7 7 7 7 ... 0
Orkney Islands 0 1 4 4 0   9 9 9 9 9 ... 0

7-day averages     Today Yesterday     8 Jun 7 Jun 6 Jun 5 Jun 4 Jun ... 1 May
Tests     24392 24887 -495   23462 23693 23145 22720 22305 ... 18484
Cases     816 830 -14   782 751 730 694 654 ... 171
Positivity rate %     3.6 3.6 0.0   3.6 3.4 3.4 3.3 3.1 ... 1.1
Deaths     0.7 1.1 -0.4   1.1 1.1 1.3 1.3 1.1 ... 1.3
All Vaccinations     48996 49098 -102   49078 48884 48033 47745 47074 ... 45346
1st Dose     19344 19453 -109   19511 19312 18781 18582 18565 ... 6677
2nd Dose     29652 29645 +7   29567 29572 29252 29163 28509 ... 38669

Daily data                          
All in hospital     124 121 +3   121 122 112 111 116 ... 65
Non-ICU     110 107 +3   109 110 102 103 108 ... 54
ICU     14 14 0   12 12 10 8 8 ... 11

👍🍺

MoncurMacdonaldMercer
3 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

In that case they can still give you an interview but they don't have to give you the job, of course they'll never say that being unvaccinated was the reason you didn't get the job, and in that case there would be diddly squat you could do about it.

I was at an interview at a well known supermarket, bog standard stacking shelves, I had to disclose that I had a dodgy ticker, anyway during the interview they took me into the warehouse and got me to push a fully loaded cage trolly, just for a foot or two and then said that they can get quite heavy etc.  I knew right there that I wasn't getting the job, because what she wanted to say but couldn't was that she didn't think that due to my heart condition I wasn't fit enough to do the job. 

So in the advert they can easily state that if you can't be vaccinated due to a medical condition, they would need evidence of that at the interview, that way they cover their arse, because you are still getting an interview.

its not the same as having a clean driving licence

the pretend interview scenario may occur but obviously shouldn’t as that would be discrimination

also I’m not sure your posts have covered the scenario where the employer does not have a multitude of suitable candidates to choose from and may be very keen to hire certain candidates whether they have been vaccinated or not - in this scenario they may choose not to enforce vaccinations (or not discriminate if unable to) and may just go with it or make some sort of practical adjustments for the unvaccinated eg working from home, socially distanced desk, bell etc

Rupert Pupkin

Just had a text.. My son off school for a week.. Lasswade High to close due to 3 positive cases.... 3 out of 2000..

Edited by Rupert Pupkin

Jambo-Jimbo
1 hour ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

its not the same as having a clean driving licence

the pretend interview scenario may occur but obviously shouldn’t as that would be discrimination

also I’m not sure your posts have covered the scenario where the employer does not have a multitude of suitable candidates to choose from and may be very keen to hire certain candidates whether they have been vaccinated or not - in this scenario they may choose not to enforce vaccinations (or not discriminate if unable to) and may just go with it or make some sort of practical adjustments for the unvaccinated eg working from home, socially distanced desk, bell etc

You are correct, my posts didn't.

1 hour ago, Rupert Pupkin said:

Just had a text.. My son off school for a week.. Lasswade High to close due to 3 positive cases.... 3 out of 2000..

Schools will never be open at this rate as that's where most of the infections are.

Edited by Nucky Thompson

46 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Schools will never be open at this rate as that's where most of the infections are.

I heard a figure, not sure how accurate it is, that 1 in 13 kids are off school through either having it or self-isolating. The latter being the majority of course if it is accurate.

15 minutes ago, Boab said:

I heard a figure, not sure how accurate it is, that 1 in 13 kids are off school through either having it or self-isolating. The latter being the majority of course if it is accurate.

Aye, my daughter has been off all week because a lad in her English class tested positive.

Thank God they only have a fortnight until the summer holidays

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic