Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

11 minutes ago, jonesy said:

BoJo's going to come on stage, goofish grin on, and say Look folks, we've arsed it up thus farLockdowns are a bit crap, and to be honest, aren't working. So, make up yer own minds and nobody will hold it against you. Toodle-pip! 

They'll then cut to Sturgeon just as her wee head explodes in a fountain of gingery pish.

Surprised her head is not a bit loose by now with all that nodding she does

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

15 minutes ago, jonesy said:

BoJo's going to come on stage, goofish grin on, and say Look folks, we've arsed it up thus farLockdowns are a bit crap, and to be honest, aren't working. So, make up yer own minds and nobody will hold it against you. Toodle-pip! 

They'll then cut to Sturgeon just as her wee head explodes in a fountain of gingery pish.

Jonesy, you're putting me off my dinner with the image of the wee hectoring, slavering, ginger nanny-meister.  

3 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Must have the same chiropractor as Joe Dart from the band Vulfpeck. 

Got a bad feeling about the Christmas relaxation - they've been desperate to cancel the opening up, and it seems they've found a way to justify it. 

As if by magic.Mmmm...funny that. Like Mr Benn, Whitty opened a door and suddenly walked into a parallel universe where all these new Covid strains were lurking.

17 minutes ago, jonesy said:

they've been desperate to cancel the opening up, and it seems they've found a way to justify it. 

11 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

As if by magic.Mmmm...funny that. Like Mr Benn, Whitty opened a door and suddenly walked into a parallel universe where all these new Covid strains were lurking.

Yup.

4 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Been driving all over the country the last few days, no sign of any real travel restrictions. 

Same down here. I drove into and out of a tier 3 region every day for a week 2 weeks ago, there were no restrictions to be seen.

Apparently London & South East  are going to be put into tier 4 , Christmas bubbles still allowed for tier 1-3 in England but a stay local message.

2 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Chat that some areas of Scotland going to go to tier 4. I assume Glasgow due to numbers an occurrence of new variant.

That would be rather harsh, their numbers seem to be on the way down I mean arguably they should not have come out of level 4 but numbers seem to be falling.

1 minute ago, steve123 said:

That would be rather harsh, their numbers seem to be on the way down I mean arguably they should not have come out of level 4 but numbers seem to be falling.

Sturgeon has been itching to put Edinburgh into T4.  Here's her chance.

1 minute ago, frankblack said:

I would be surprised at that, her tier system would be well and truly binned if she took that course of action.

5 minutes ago, frankblack said:

No chance 

19 minutes ago, frankblack said:

How has she been itching to put Edinburgh in tier 4 🤨

19 minutes ago, frankblack said:

I would pish myself laughing if this was the case. What a ****ing state of affairs. :D

1 hour ago, Lord BJ said:

That seems to be the chat. Though I can’t see it, think travel restrictions might come into play.

Though the wife has just stated ‘don’t give a **** if they cancel Christmas, it happening in this house and my parents are coming’ 

Cancelling Christmas would be a step to far and leader wider rejection of rules. 

Anyway think it will just be more finger wagging in main and save granny chat.

The fact they said its cool we did a deal wi old Covey he said he’d leave us alone for 4days at Christmas means they can’t go back on their plan surely.

3 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

I would pish myself laughing if this was the case. What a ****ing state of affairs. :D

In all honesty can anyone say any restrictions should have been eased because its Christmas. I get the mental wellbeing aspect but opening things up whilst we see places like Aberdeen and Shire going up a tier is just stupid. London acts like nothing is happening yet BJ thinks its ok to have put the Christmas rules in place. The whole Christmas thing is an absolute shitshow from UK and the devolved governments. Now you have emergency meetings and they are all ****ed no matter what they do if they put anything in place that isn’t what they promised. Yet again things have been politicised instead of looking at the heath of people and its a joke.

7 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Also when doctors star getting it maybe they’ll open the Medical Centres.

I’m calling mine on Monday demanding a face to face consultation. . Not taking any more crap from them about just telephone consultations . Be interesting to see how I get on . 

77% more transmissible. Not 78% nor 76% but 77%. 

Thats following the science right there. 

CHRISTMAS CANCELLED FOR TIER 4 😂😂😂😂😂😂

What a f*****g farce

Edited by The Mighty Thor

6 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

I’m calling mine on Monday demanding a face to face consultation. . Not taking any more crap from them about just telephone consultations . Be interesting to see how I get on . 

Haven’t forgotten you pal , i will get back to you. Just being very careful and doing a bit of research too so its 💯 suitable

4 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

77% more transmissible. Not 78% nor 76% but 77%. 

Thats following the science right there. 

CHRISTMAS CANCELLED FOR TIER 4 😂😂😂😂😂😂

Shitshow and a half. Guessing they can go back on it then. Covey must have lied to them that hed have a few days off. Is this the strain that was causing chaos in Denmark and England wouldn’t allow Iceland to travel to England after playing Denmark?

Edited by sadj

4 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Ignoring the exact number how ****ing transmissible must they view this.

Bojo just cancelled Christmas for London 

You can't ignore the number LBJ. 

76% and Christmas was still on. 

Daily Mail

Xmas is cancelled for a THIRD of England: PM plunges London and swathes of South East into brutal new Tier 4 lockdown with blanket 'stay at home' order amid fears mutant Covid strain is rampant - and festive bubbles are slashed to ONE day for everyone else

2 minutes ago, sadj said:

Bojo looked genuinely lost and a bit stunned at that question about people shielding being asked to work

Totally out of it. I feel sorry in a way for him as he's completely out of his depth. It took Whittey to say sorry for the ladies loss. BJ clueless

5 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

New Tier 4 is our equivalent of Tier ?

I suspect Sturgeon will announce at Tier 5 to make sure our rules are seen as more strict, while cancelling Christmas and sticking some into T4.

2 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Daily Mail

Xmas is cancelled for a THIRD of England: PM plunges London and swathes of South East into brutal new Tier 4 lockdown with blanket 'stay at home' order amid fears mutant Covid strain is rampant - and festive bubbles are slashed to ONE day for everyone else

Cannae beat the Daily Nazi when they get the hyperbole gattling gun fired up.

Plunges, brutal lockdown, mutant covid rampant, slashed....😂😂😂 

3 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

Totally out of it. I feel sorry in a way for him as he's completely out of his depth. It took Whittey to say sorry for the ladies loss. BJ clueless

Agreed

Far from a BJ fan but has to be absolutely draining doing this. Him and NS have to be ****ed mentally. 

infectivity is that a daily mail word 🤨

Edited by sadj

21 minutes ago, sadj said:

In all honesty can anyone say any restrictions should have been eased because its Christmas. I get the mental wellbeing aspect but opening things up whilst we see places like Aberdeen and Shire going up a tier is just stupid. London acts like nothing is happening yet BJ thinks its ok to have put the Christmas rules in place. The whole Christmas thing is an absolute shitshow from UK and the devolved governments. Now you have emergency meetings and they are all ****ed no matter what they do if they put anything in place that isn’t what they promised. Yet again things have been politicised instead of looking at the heath of people and its a joke.

It's spineless leadership from them all with the new strain just an excuse to back track on an initial stupid decision.

This is like a full March border lockdown all over again, damned obvious.

And re your Aberdeen position, your councillors challenging every SG decision and pretty much antagonising your populous to do as they please is why instead of staying in L2, now head quickly towards L4, that even journalists reckon you should.

And I'll await Willie Rennie 'First Minister, what has Fife done wrong?' and Richard Leonard 'let me tell you about wee Jeanie......' in response.

The latest per-100,000 7-day case rates around the councils. A number of good reductions.

7-day per-100,000 cases              
Council Area Tier Today Yesterday       17 Dec 16 Dec 15 Dec 14 Dec 13 Dec
East Ayrshire 3 160 159 +1     171 183 170 175 161
North Ayrshire 3 160 174 -14     194 191 185 181 180
Aberdeen City 3 150 162 -12     166 154 157 144 124
East Lothian 3 146 147 -1     148 150 150 136 126
Midlothian 3 142 151 -9     176 190 182 163 151
Clackmannanshire 3 138 173 -35     167 171 194 188 190
North Lanarkshire 3 129 133 -4     141 146 152 144 134
Dundee City 3 125 146 -21     149 155 159 165 132
Glasgow City 3 122 140 -18     143 145 154 154 141
South Lanarkshire 3 119 122 -3     133 135 145 141 128
Perth and Kinross 3 116 143 -27     124 127 116 113 104
Edinburgh City 3 106 112 -6     113 111 112 109 102
Renfrewshire 3 106 121 -15     141 136 144 145 145
West Dunbartonshire 3 102 99 +3     105 93 96 94 80
Fife 3 100 118 -18     128 134 139 133 135
South Ayrshire 3 96 99 -3     118 126 123 123 116
East Renfrewshire 3 91 109 -18     109 111 128 130 137
Scottish Borders 1 87 100 -13     92 92 89 87 82
West Lothian 3 87 89 -2     92 97 104 110 117
Aberdeenshire 3 79 82 -3     84 80 85 80 89
East Dunbartonshire 3 67 78 -11     86 90 109 100 106
Falkirk 2 64 65 -1     70 87 90 91 98
Stirling 3 62 67 -5     67 76 80 84 93
Inverclyde 2 54 64 -10     66 60 59 51 57
Angus 2 37 45 -8     47 49 59 60 69
Argyll and Bute 2 28 33 -5     37 33 35 33 51
Dumfries & Galloway 1 26 29 -3     24 19 22 21 23
Na h-Eileanan Siar 1 19 15 +4     15 30 26 22 15
Highland 1 17 18 -1     17 17 19 17 18
Moray 1 17 19 -2     21 19 17 21 25
Orkney Islands 1 0 0 0     0 0 0 0 0
Shetland Islands 1 0 0 0     0 0 0 0 0
Scotland   96 105 -9     111 111 115 111 111

Thing is the 5 day free for all was a joke and should never of been announced. Massive own goal.

similar will be announced here I’d imagine later this afternoon 

57 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Yet another pile of auld shite spewed from the usual suspects.

Looks like everything is based on London. When it's fecked, we're all fecked. If it needs furlough, we all get furlough. 

NS hasn't said anything yet, but hopefully she puts the new good Christians of Scotland into safe hands, by shutting the fecking place. 

2 minutes ago, Barack said:

Have to admire viruses. Just as a world-wide vaccine(s) become available...it modifies itself to become even more virulent & transmissible.

:sadrobbo:

Have to admire the Chinese bio weapons labs. Just as a vaccine becomes available the bring out V2.0?

1 minute ago, Barack said:

Have to admire viruses. Just as a world-wide vaccine(s) become available...it modifies itself to become even more virulent & transmissible.

:sadrobbo:

Just in time for Christmas too.  How f̵o̵r̵t̵u̵n̵a̵t̵e̵ unfortunate.

Just now, jonnothejambo said:

The man is an utter buffoon and couldn't run a bath. 

Utterly inept, all wind and piss and I can't really think of anyone who would do a worse job than this utter ringpiece, especially during a pandemic. 

I couldn't agree more Jonno but he is where he is because 'the people' voted him in. He looks completely @@@@ed out and notwithstanding that he's a clown and a blustering buffoon, watching him is a very uncomfortable experience. 

6 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

The man is an utter buffoon and couldn't run a bath. 

Utterly inept, all wind and piss and I can't really think of anyone who would do a worse job than this utter ringpiece, especially during a pandemic. 

If ever we needed a Thatcher or a Blair to lead us through this..

3 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

Thing is the 5 day free for all was a joke and should never of been announced. Massive own goal.

similar will be announced here I’d imagine later this afternoon 

The Governments were under massive public and media pressure to implement the festive relaxation (which was never a "free for all"). They were concerned that if they didn't do anything, and connect the relaxation to specific advice about meeting up, then a large number of us would meet up anyway in an uncontrolled fashion. They were probably right.

We should be blaming ourselves. We the public can be our own worst enemy at times.

1 minute ago, DETTY29 said:

It's spineless leadership from them all with the new strain just an excuse to back track on an initial stupid decision.

This is like a full March border lockdown all over again, damned obvious.

And re your Aberdeen position, your councillors challenging every SG decision and pretty much antagonising your populous to do as they please is why instead of staying in L2, now head quickly towards L4, that even journalists reckon you should.

And I'll await Willie Rennie 'First Minister, what has Fife done wrong?' and Richard Leonard 'let me tell you about wee Jeanie......' in response.

Absolutely stupid initial decision. Sky News boy asking if Social Distancing is now ineffective at 2m against the new strain 🙈

100% on Aberdeen it should never have been in tier 2 as long as it was the numbers up here are not as reported , our lova area reported as 5 cases yet I know of at least 30 or 40 including extended family who have tested positive in the local village. They have been ridiculous but the businesses in Aberdeen all call the shots and this doesnt suit them. Not just oil companies but people like Barry and his old man at PB Devco , Gareth Wood etc. They have too much power up here from a council who ****ed up in 70s and therefore now are cosey in these peoples pockets to try and claw back some business and money for the City. 

That pair of dolts are two of the worst politicians ever elected anywhere going all the way back to these days of Pitt the Elder I think. Absolute out of touch and no interest in anything but point scoring. Ruth Davidson I think has managed to stay away from purely political motives with her interactions with NS. Something I never thought id say about a Tory in Scotland

2 minutes ago, redjambo said:

The Governments were under massive public and media pressure to implement the festive relaxation (which was never a "free for all"). They were concerned that if they didn't do anything, and connect the relaxation to specific advice about meeting up, then a large number of us would meet up anyway in an uncontrolled fashion. They were probably right.

We should be blaming ourselves. We the public can be our own worst enemy at times.

Sorry , when I said free for all what I really meant a U.K. travel free for all for 5 days. That was madness

I think that I agree with others who reckon the "new virulent strain" is a bit of a red herring. I reckon the Government realised that the Christmas relaxation in combination with the rising cases in England and Wales would wreak havoc.

10 minutes ago, redjambo said:

The latest per-100,000 7-day case rates around the councils. A number of good reductions.

7-day per-100,000 cases              
Council Area Tier Today Yesterday       17 Dec 16 Dec 15 Dec 14 Dec 13 Dec
East Ayrshire 3 160 159 +1     171 183 170 175 161
North Ayrshire 3 160 174 -14     194 191 185 181 180
Aberdeen City 3 150 162 -12     166 154 157 144 124
East Lothian 3 146 147 -1     148 150 150 136 126
Midlothian 3 142 151 -9     176 190 182 163 151
Clackmannanshire 3 138 173 -35     167 171 194 188 190
North Lanarkshire 3 129 133 -4     141 146 152 144 134
Dundee City 3 125 146 -21     149 155 159 165 132
Glasgow City 3 122 140 -18     143 145 154 154 141
South Lanarkshire 3 119 122 -3     133 135 145 141 128
Perth and Kinross 3 116 143 -27     124 127 116 113 104
Edinburgh City 3 106 112 -6     113 111 112 109 102
Renfrewshire 3 106 121 -15     141 136 144 145 145
West Dunbartonshire 3 102 99 +3     105 93 96 94 80
Fife 3 100 118 -18     128 134 139 133 135
South Ayrshire 3 96 99 -3     118 126 123 123 116
East Renfrewshire 3 91 109 -18     109 111 128 130 137
Scottish Borders 1 87 100 -13     92 92 89 87 82
West Lothian 3 87 89 -2     92 97 104 110 117
Aberdeenshire 3 79 82 -3     84 80 85 80 89
East Dunbartonshire 3 67 78 -11     86 90 109 100 106
Falkirk 2 64 65 -1     70 87 90 91 98
Stirling 3 62 67 -5     67 76 80 84 93
Inverclyde 2 54 64 -10     66 60 59 51 57
Angus 2 37 45 -8     47 49 59 60 69
Argyll and Bute 2 28 33 -5     37 33 35 33 51
Dumfries & Galloway 1 26 29 -3     24 19 22 21 23
Na h-Eileanan Siar 1 19 15 +4     15 30 26 22 15
Highland 1 17 18 -1     17 17 19 17 18
Moray 1 17 19 -2     21 19 17 21 25
Orkney Islands 1 0 0 0     0 0 0 0 0
Shetland Islands 1 0 0 0     0 0 0 0 0
Scotland   96 105 -9     111 111 115 111 111

Won’t stop her following Boris’ lead sadly.  

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic