U.S. Politics megathread (merged)

trex

So.....where are all the cops and national guard?

It's been known for WEEKS that this protest was coming and there is barely a security official in sight.

• Replies 32.4k

• JFK-1

• Maple Leaf

• Justin Z

• Watt-Zeefuik

Just now, Barack said:

Another dark day in your nation's history, mate.

Trump finally gets what he's always wanted.

For what it's worth, what's happening right now is a big part of why I planned to be in Scotland right now, thank ****.

Just now, Cade said:

So.....where are all the cops and national guard?

It's been known for WEEKS that this protest was coming and there is barely a security official in sight.

They're all still recovering from jackbooting vigils and remembrance concerts in public parks over the summer.

1 minute ago, kila said:

This is it right - what the election has been leading to This is the moment of absolute chaos and carnage that leads to civil war.

It really is dangerous because of the right to bear arms and the way in which America tolerates white extremism in the name of freedom of speech etc.

There’s basically a civil war going on already. Two sides utterly opposed who can’t stand to share the same street as each other. And sadly, the numbers on Trump’s side are huge. It’s not just a lunatic fringe. Something very bad is going to happen over there 

1 minute ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

It really is dangerous because of the right to bear arms and the way in which America tolerates white extremism in the name of freedom of speech etc.

Nah mate, the real villains are those calling out people who are okay with the racism of the Trump cult and voted for him anyway :rolleyes:

Just now, Lovecraft said:

These Republican politicians are to blame for this as much as Trump.

Fact-free politics have been their calling card for half a century now. This was always going to happen eventually.

A large percentage of these idiots live in some fantasy world where they see themselves as some kind of pioneer fighters for freedom. I saw a tweet a few days ago from an elected republican saying that nothing would stop her wearing her Glock pistol when attending in Washington. Astonishing behaviour. 

More time for them all to reflect on what Mitch McConnell said. 

He is effectively closer to Biden now than Trump. They'll still need to work together even with Democratic Senate. In fact they are long term partners to putting together compromise policies. 

People on here said Trump would incite mass violence after losing. I honestly didn’t think even he was that reckless. But here we are

1 minute ago, Lovecraft said:

Rioting insurrectionists are inside

Fixed, we ought to call them what they are

Just now, Justin Z said:

Sorry.  Protestors is completely the wrong word.

Just now, Justin Z said:

They look more like people who have forced their way in and now aren’t sure what to do now they’re there. 
A nice analogy for Trump’s presidency. 

“No indication of smoke, no indication of irritants in the air.”

THEY HAVE LITERALLY VIOLENTLY STORMED THE US CAPITOL AND POLICE HAVEN'T BEEN MINDED TO USE TEAR GAS

They were launching it directly into people's faces as simply marched down the street over the summer, or gathered in prayer vigils in parks.

If you don't get it yet, hopefully this helps.

4 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

Nah mate, the real villains are those calling out people who are okay with the racism of the Trump cult and voted for him anyway :rolleyes:

And why have they been okay with it? That was partly my point earlier.

Arsehole will be enjoying multiple orgasms over all this.

If I was a journalist or cameraman I’d be getting the hell off the streets with the hatred of the media Trump has whipped up over the last 4 years. 

7 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

Protestors are inside

Wandering aboot like tourists.

That's probably today's session over. 

So with the objections / votes looking at Friday for confirmation. 

It will happen though. 

How were the police not prepared for this?

This looks quite dangerous with the number of people on the stairs etc. Could be a crush, barriers collapse or the likes.

1 minute ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

Wandering aboot like tourists.

Security protecting the politicians so not available yet to clear protestors. 

Watching a live stream and the cameraman asks someone to get out of the way. "Sir, sir, I'm trying to film the revolution". :)

1 minute ago, Sooperstar said:

This looks quite dangerous with the number of people on the stairs etc. Could be a crush, barriers collapse or the likes.

If any of these clowns get hurt I hope it’s nothing trivial.

2 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

Stop trying to cheer me up.

3 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Not a great city to try and have prolonged riots and trouble in. Lots of wide boulevards and open areas. 

Nice clear sightlines and field of fire for the national guard

Allow his numpties their wee day out, halt the counts, resume when they're all away hame.

Diffuse their silly wee revolution rather than rising to their bait?

Is this the plan?

On 24/09/2020 at 17:25, Justin Z said:

The best counter I've seen to an article like that one is this one, which basically says, "You lot in the media have no idea what you're talking about because you've never seen this before. Listen to us, we have."

We Don’t Know How to Warn You Any Harder. America is Dying.

We Survivors of Authoritarianism Have a Message America Needs to Hear: This is Exactly How it Happens, and It’s Happening Here.

The author, Umair Haque, wrote that at the end of August. Here's his latest piece on the subject:

Are These the Last Six Weeks of American Democracy?

All the Pieces are Now in Place for Trump to Steal the Election, Even if He Loses

It's bleak. Very bleak.

On 24/09/2020 at 17:59, alwaysthereinspirit said:

Drama Queen

Good call, mate. Great ****ing call.

They should have implemented a ring of steel around the Capitol. How the hell did they even let them get so close?

• Kalamazoo Jambo changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (title updated)
  • Maple Leaf changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (merged)