What have we become...charging to be a mascot ( edited )

Anderson5

26 minutes ago, Walter Kidd said:

This thread reeks of journalist causing bother week before Ibrox.  The start of many negative stories this week and before the LC Semi.  Ignore it.

Yes and some saddos take the bait.

• Replies 205

• luckyBatistuta

• Nookie Bear

• graygo

5 minutes ago, primrose said:

Exactly .... treat it as a one off for a special occasion, Christmas, Birthday or as a well done. How often do families ask what do the kids want for birthdays etc?  

Now Hibs are cheaper.

But they are Hibs.

No kit or visit to the dressing room for the poor wee Hibbies.

Also doesn't state whether or not VAT is included.

FarmerTweedy
1 hour ago, Barack said:

Here's how much Hibs are robbing the kiddies of...

20181001_130710.jpg

Quite a bit cheaper than ours, although it's also a bit less of a package as they don't get a full strip in the price.

1 hour ago, Barack said:

20181001_130710.jpg

They charge cheaper but they cram them in - 9 mascots in that photo!!!

30 minutes ago, Rudolf said:

No kit or visit to the dressing room for the poor wee Hibbies.

Also doesn't state whether or not VAT is included.

In the picture accompanying the Hibs website piece on mascots there is the captain with 9 mascots. NINE. FFS.

As for unfairness.. I was in the junior jambos or whatever they were called about 30 years ago and I wasn't invited to be a mascot once.. I used to every season think this would be the year. But no, absolutely nothing from the club..Didn't ruin my enjoyment of being a Hearts fan tho.. 

As for the people saying that kids shouldn't have to accept that life is unfair.. why would anyone need to tell them it's too much money.. they could just say only 4 people get picked per week. If they are one of the 4 then they will get a letter.. 

13 minutes ago, RussAsia said:

In the picture accompanying the Hibs website piece on mascots there is the captain with 9 mascots. NINE. FFS.

As for unfairness.. I was in the junior jambos or whatever they were called about 30 years ago and I wasn't invited to be a mascot once.. I used to every season think this would be the year. But no, absolutely nothing from the club..Didn't ruin my enjoyment of being a Hearts fan tho.. 

As for the people saying that kids shouldn't have to accept that life is unfair.. why would anyone need to tell them it's too much money.. they could just say only 4 people get picked per week. If they are one of the 4 then they will get a letter.. 

PlayStation 

PSP

WII

Xbox

Pokemons

Turtle figures

Hero Figures

TV

Ipad

If I think of all the crap i've spent 300 quid on for Birthdays and Christmas's for my son, its all either in the bin or given away to wee cousins.  

He still has his strip from that day framed with his mascot picture and teamsheet and programme, even at 17 its still up on his wall..   He will remember that day forever, the other stuff was just junk! 

1 hour ago, RussAsia said:

The sooner they accept it the better!

If Rangers fans didn’t throw all their money at match officials, they would probably do the same. 

Edited by Paolo

1 hour ago, FarmerTweedy said:

Quite a bit cheaper than ours, although it's also a bit less of a package as they don't get a full strip in the price.

They also have to pay for the photo, unless they are happy with an email copy. 

2 minutes ago, Barack said:

Send a child to there? Dressed head to toe, in that? For £150?

Only photos from that day, of the kids, should be from Social Services, after they've escorted them safely off the premises. For the purposes of compiling cases of mental abuse against the parents.

How much smack will £150 buy?

1 hour ago, Thomaso said:

They charge cheaper but they cram them in - 9 mascots in that photo!!!

that is all of the thumbs kids

3 hours ago, BelgeJambo said:

I'm having some of this for my grandson, unfortunately, he is only 2 years old at the moment and I think it starts from age 5

at least you have 3 years to save for it

17 hours ago, Smithee said:

For the amount of money it brings in, I can't say I'm a big fan of making this something not everyone can afford. If it was huge profits I could grudgingly accept it, but it seems to send out the wrong message for a community club. 

I'd rather see the whole mascot thing up for sponsorship with members of the kids' club in free draws to get the chance if it's possible, it just doesn't seem fair to make the kids side of thing beyond the less well off.

I do wonder how kid friendly we are in general, I had a look on the official website there and see no mention of kids initiatives, no kid friendly parts of the site. Maybe we could have wee Hearts jigsaws or simple games or something on there, maybe they could qualify you for entry to the mascot draw.

There's no reason to be overly dramatic about the situation, negative stories are to be expected when we're top of the league, but I'm not a fan.

Good post. 

4 hours ago, Peebo said:

It was £5 adults and £1 for kids at the most recent one...

I stand corrected, it was the Gorgie Kids Club before the St Johnstone match that was £10 and £5. 

7 minutes ago, Gorgiewave said:

£25,000 per year would pay a salary for a young player or a member of staff. Not to be sniffed at.

Sorry where does 25k a year come from? 

2 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Sorry where does 25k a year come from? 

5 mascots every home league game would produce that, more if you include cup games.

6 hours ago, primrose said:

Mascot Packages for Season 2018/19 SPFL matches include:

• Mascots Tour
  • Full matchday kit 
  • Matchday tickets in the main stand for each mascot and 2 guests, at least one must be a parent / guardian
    Kiosk vouchers
  • Photo of each mascot on the mascots page within the matchday programme
  • Match programme signed by the 1st team
  • Copy of official team sheet with each mascots’ name on it
  • Kick about with Jock the Jambo alongside Hearts players pre-match
  • Photos with some of the first-team players
  • Stadium announcement
  • Walk out with the team before kick-off
  • Official photo with the match officials, team captains and Jock the Jambo
  • A letter of thanks signed by the first-team Captain

Cost: £300 (incl. VAT)

£300 quid, seems like a good deal to me. 

Good deal I’d say. 

15 minutes ago, graygo said:

I stand corrected, it was the Gorgie Kids Club before the St Johnstone match that was £10 and £5. 

That includes lunch and a pint. Adults get something too ;)

Just to reiterate, Junior Jambos do still get free places - I know because my boy was picked this season.

FWIW I also think £300 is a fair cost for what you get.

Edited by Dunks

1 minute ago, Dunks said:

That includes lunch and a pint. Adults get something too ;)

Of course, I wasn't complaining. I think it's a great deal and would have been there on Saturday but the wee man was having a birthday party.

1 minute ago, graygo said:

Of course, I wasn't complaining. I think it's a great deal and would have been there on Saturday but the wee man was having a birthday party.

you let him have a birthday party that clashed with a hearts game? not a phm

iain ferguson

My kids were mascots last year for a cup game and it was £200 each for a slightly reduced package. By the time I took the price of the strips and the match tickets, the latter would have bought anyway, the cost worked out about £130 each. The kids were in the dressing room right up to kick off and loved their day. Up to everyone to make up their own mind on the cost and treat the Daily Ranger with the contempt it deserves.

19 hours ago, Super T said:

Non story. Sunday night and already the nonsense ahead of a trip to ibrox has started. No surprise it's the daily record that are first up.

I wonder what The Sun will come up with. Their attempt to soften up Livingston with stories during the week never worked so they'll be doubling efforts for us.

P.s. is excluding non season ticket holders, as suggested, not also excluding many kids for a number of reasons. 

what were they saying about Livi?

This article just sums up modern journalism. Go for a controversial headline and lead that gives a misleading view even though it may be factually true ("Scottish clubs charging hundreds of pounds for kids to walk out alongside their heroes as mascots"), but bury some very pertinent facts that tell the full story at the end ("Other clubs charge for the packages which often include a new kit, signed balls, photos, autographs, tickets and the chance to walk their team out on to the pitch.")

In a world so desperately unfair, it is amazing that anyone thinks it is an injustice that people cannot afford to send their kids to a football match as a mascot.  In a world where the football players get paid from TV money which largely comes from peddling gambling adverts at the poor in the middle of games.  When patriarchs who don't recognise democracy or human rights own clubs in England.  When a "glib and shameless liar" owns Rangers.  When 60% of the land in Scotland is owned by about 69 lads in tweed covered in blood.  When more than a quarter of the land in the UK is owned by anonymous trusts offshore.

There aren't even enough football matches for all the kids to be mascots at ffs. 

Maybe the next article will be about the injustice of Budge making her fortune while kids starved in the world.

Preposterous stuff.

1 hour ago, milky_26 said:

you let him have a birthday party that clashed with a hearts game? not a phm

He had a birthday party, I was at Tynecastle.             :greggy:

Bungalow Bill

I’m uncomfortable with the amount we charge. Charge the value of the kit if anything. For a club effectively fan owned we should be looking after the fans a bit more on things like this. 

1 hour ago, ToqueJambo said:

This article just sums up modern journalism. Go for a controversial headline and lead that gives a misleading view even though it may be factually true ("Scottish clubs charging hundreds of pounds for kids to walk out alongside their heroes as mascots"), but bury some very pertinent facts that tell the full story at the end ("Other clubs charge for the packages which often include a new kit, signed balls, photos, autographs, tickets and the chance to walk their team out on to the pitch.")

They wouldn't even have run the story if one or both OF charged. Perhaps one of them needs a bit of positive PR today?

22 hours ago, Anderson5 said:

I’d like to see us approach a “big team” mentality such as Celtic, Rangers and Aberdeen and reward our young fans as opposed to making it an elitist occasion. 

How many clubs in england’s top flight do you think charge to walk out with their heroes?

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/dec/18/premier-league-clubs-charge-600-children-mascots

And most seem to go with the one mascot per player approach to empty as many piggy banks as possible.

How much do Celtic, Rangers and Aberdeen charge for kids to actually go to games? As we have had a reputation for being one of the cheaper clubs to watch, especially for kids, I'm going to guess they charge a fair bit more.

1 hour ago, Apache Mal said:

I’m uncomfortable with the amount we charge. Charge the value of the kit if anything. For a club effectively fan owned we should be looking after the fans a bit more on things like this. 

Yeah, I'm tending towards this view. I kinda hoped we would be above profiteering in this way.

Not going to turn up at Ann's door with a pitchfork over it but it's always a little disappointing when we do something to make a few pennies just because it is the norm in football. 

8 hours ago, Barack said:

20181001_130710.jpg

That's not bad.

Giving kids 150 quid to go to ER.

19 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Yeah, I'm tending towards this view. I kinda hoped we would be above profiteering in this way.

Not going to turn up at Ann's door with a pitchfork over it but it's always a little disappointing when we do something to make a few pennies just because it is the norm in football. 

I'm neither for or against. Does seem a touch steep but there is certainly demand so no reason to drop the price?

For example its wee Shugs birthday. Mum and Dad ask nobody in the family to buy him presents or booze for his 10th birthday but the aunties and uncles grannies and grandads etc all chuck in £20 each or such to the pot.

I understand that some can't even afford that but Hearts have opened up other options for them to experience Tynecastle.

1 hour ago, Notts1874 said:

I'm neither for or against. Does seem a touch steep but there is certainly demand so no reason to drop the price?

For example its wee Shugs birthday. Mum and Dad ask nobody in the family to buy him presents or booze for his 10th birthday but the aunties and uncles grannies and grandads etc all chuck in £20 each or such to the pot.

I understand that some can't even afford that but Hearts have opened up other options for them to experience Tynecastle.

Seeing your username reminds me of Matt Forde (comedian) talking about the time he was the mascot at Forest. 10 years old and ended  up sitting in the changing room after the game with a squad full of naked footballers - says he could still pick Roy Keane’s kn0b out of a line up. 

But he did get to witness Clough hanging keeper Mark Crossley from a clothes peg. 

2 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Seeing your username reminds me of Matt Forde (comedian) talking about the time he was the mascot at Forest. 10 years old and ended  up sitting in the changing room after the game with a squad full of naked footballers - says he could still pick Roy Keane’s kn0b out of a line up. 

But he did get to witness Clough hanging keeper Mark Crossley from a clothes peg. 

Met Brian a couple of times at Burton's old ground when Young Nigel became player manager. He was supposedly off the booze at that point but was obviously very ill.

Very special if flawed man who was so different from his bombastic public image. A

As an aside I couldn't pick out Roy Keane's knob in a line up??

4 hours ago, WageThief said:

In a world so desperately unfair, it is amazing that anyone thinks it is an injustice that people cannot afford to send their kids to a football match as a mascot.  In a world where the football players get paid from TV money which largely comes from peddling gambling adverts at the poor in the middle of games.  When patriarchs who don't recognise democracy or human rights own clubs in England.  When a "glib and shameless liar" owns Rangers.  When 60% of the land in Scotland is owned by about 69 lads in tweed covered in blood.  When more than a quarter of the land in the UK is owned by anonymous trusts offshore.

There aren't even enough football matches for all the kids to be mascots at ffs. 

Maybe the next article will be about the injustice of Budge making her fortune while kids starved in the world.

Preposterous stuff.

I was going to go that way but thought it would go a bad way. 

What I was thinking. 

Some kids can't get heat or food as thier patents are drugged up, some get it even worse. 

But aye, they cannae be a mascot. High up on th list of underprivileged kids things to be. 

Let's have a go at Hearts. 

Place is nuts. 

7 hours ago, Paolo said:

How much smack will £150 buy?

Depends, my dealer is good and is value for money. 

8 hours ago, WeeChuck'sHeed said:

I was going to go that way but thought it would go a bad way. 

What I was thinking. 

Some kids can't get heat or food as thier patents are drugged up, some get it even worse. 

But aye, they cannae be a mascot. High up on th list of underprivileged kids things to be. 

Let's have a go at Hearts. 

Place is nuts. 

Its not really having a go at Hearts, it’s having a go at football’s insatiable appetite for squeezing cash out of people who already contribute more than enough. For me, it’s a pity we are no better than anyone else in this regard. 

It is actually possible to criticise a part of something without having a go at the whole company. 

30 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Its not really having a go at Hearts, it’s having a go at football’s insatiable appetite for squeezing cash out of people who already contribute more than enough. For me, it’s a pity we are no better than anyone else in this regard. 

It is actually possible to criticise a part of something without having a go at the whole company. 

It is, but the tone and wording of the thread is clearly a go at Hearts, so in this case it is a dig at Hearts. 

17 hours ago, milky_26 said:

that is all of the thumbs kids

Some of them...

• 10 months later...

Has anyone bought the mascot package? I was thinking bout taking my wee boy and wondered if was worth the money. Signed him up as a junior jambo and taken to a few games but might be losing him to the dark side in green n white hoops!

37 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

Has anyone bought the mascot package? I was thinking bout taking my wee boy and wondered if was worth the money. Signed him up as a junior jambo and taken to a few games but might be losing him to the dark side in green n white hoops!

Barnardos with the wee shite

5 minutes ago, The Kdogg said:

Barnardos with the wee shite

Haha I’m playing the long game. It’s a marathon not a sprint so early days!

3 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

Haha I’m playing the long game. It’s a marathon not a sprint so early days!

Good luck then. Don’t know anyone who’s done the mascot package so can’t help. Suppose exposure to all things Hearts is the only way forward. Keep him away from the hooped demons.

45 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

You need to brush up on your parenting skills. Don't buy him a mascot package, threaten to remove his game consoles, phone and anything else he holds dear. Tell him you'll lock him in his room for a month if he even mentions the name Celtic.

Trust me, he'll thank you when he's older

47 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

My laddie won a mascot gig with the Junior Jambos a year or two back. Strip, tour, dressing room pre-kick off while the players were warming up , 3 tickets, kick about with Jock the Jambo, few pics with the players, signed programme and leading the team out.

He loved it which is the main thing but I certainly dont think it worth £300. Id have been a bit pissed off if Id shelled out that amount for what it was.