***World Cup 2018 - Croatia v England***

Cade

2 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

So England out and possibly another "self imposed" ban from Snoreson!  What's not to like. :laugh:

A win double in anybody's book.

• Replies 1.2k

• Hearts007

• Alex Kintner

• ri Alban

Bindy Badgy
6 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Aye but don't forget Croatia will be knackered, running on empty, nothing left in the tank etc .....

20 years ago this would have been an issue. It doesn't seem to matter that much now as the standard of conditioning in the top players is unbelievably high.

Edited by Stokesy

6 hours ago, SwindonJambo said:

Like most on here, I am far from disappointed with tonight's result. However, I find the jumping up and down to celebrate cringey and embarrassing. Your rival's failure is not your own success. Scotland remain in a pitiful state with the usual small population crap trotted out as an excuse. Croatia, with an even smaller one have tonight shown this up for the utter bollocks it is.

Listen closely to Luca Madric's words. When asked if this was his greatest moment in football he paused and said 'maybe, but it definitely will be if we win on Sunday'. He and his team are winners and will be satisfied with nothing less. So no more reminiscing about all the past nearly moments, SFA, get your arses in gear and sort it out.

One person who comes out with huge credit for England is their manager. An absolute gent and class act. He's growing into the job.

Right you, that’s plenty - The day we stop having banter and laughing at our rivals is the day we should give up watching football! 

9 minutes ago, Stokesy said:

20 years ago this would have been an issue. It doesn't seem to matter that much now as the standard of conditioning in the top players is unbelievably high.

Someone hauf inched a certain Serbs water bottle. 

6 hours ago, 1971fozzy said:

The state of John Barnes on SSN :rofl:

Saying they deserve a hero’s welcome back ffs. Carry on lad. That kind of thinking breeds failure. He needs to stay off of he pork pies ffs before giving out advice on fitba

2 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

Some people don't seem to grasp the concept: You have one winner, and everyone else is a loser.

There should be no hero's welcome for being a loser.

Spot on! If he wants heroes he can get his fat erse down the co-op for a big box eh them. 

27E03EC4-BE38-434C-A714-42BFC55E8257.thumb.jpeg.3cb8e54303b92ef6b0f0a9cbb88ccf89.jpeg

7 hours ago, Frank1874 said:

6DE742DE-6F61-45A8-889C-01C693D2D64C.jpeg

:sweeet:

11 minutes ago, WeeChuck'sHeed said:

Zovi-Regular-Fit-Red-And-SDL274797107-1-26b4a.jpg

911B84BE-0CAA-4123-8A1A-FD30773CDDB6.jpeg.6312e4e04aee195cbbf46000629bd8fc.jpeg

Edited by It should have been ten

10 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

Well done Scotland. 

Oh wait ...

Croatia has only two thirds of Scotland's population.

What fraction of England's do they have?

Tears are delicious ?

1 minute ago, graygo said:

Tears are delicious ?

These population debates make no sense to me.

India should be playing China in the final in that case.

Not a go at anyone by the way.

9 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

Going on about how Kane had roasted Lovren once while ignoring that Lovren helped Liverpool to Champions League final.

Ignoring Mandzukic completely. 

How did that work out? 

letsalldothebeattie

The TV this morning was glorious viewing on to see all the upset faces having to replay last night over and over again

8 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

D3FB47E3-D146-47A5-BFF5-6AEB48CC628E.jpeg

That has made me smile.

Interesting. That BBC Breakfast ended with Goalkeeper Pickford as the English hero.

The BBC are a disgrace. British broadcasting turned into English broadcasting for the whole tournament and we are force fed all the English propaganda. Not even trying to be impartial.

south morroccan
11 hours ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

You’re missing the point. When Wales or Scotland or N Ireland play and you watch the game in England, you get an English broadcast, albeit with some of their ex players in the studio but still  English commentary team, anchor man, etc. But when you watch an England game in Scotland you don’t get the impartiality of a Scottish broadcast.

And probably the worst, when we’re watching non England matches but at half time the experts can’t discuss the actual game we’re watching for 15 minutes, we have to spend more time finding out what England are doing in their hotel. Our own broadcast, like they have in England would solve this.

It would solve your issue. However  every half time would comprise interviews with Brenda and Slippy on their preparations for Europe. If that doesn't persuade you remember who else is in Europe!

1 hour ago, graygo said:

Tears are delicious ?

The post wasn't about England. This isn't the BBC.

2 hours ago, Boab said:

These population debates make no sense to me.

India should be playing China in the final in that case.

Not a go at anyone by the way.

Population and the importance in that country of football correlates with the pool of players available and thus correlates with football success.  See the table above of World Cup "superpowers". (Pre-war Uruguay was the exception that proved the rule).

Croatia deservedly reaching the WC final is a huge achievement. While many Scots gloat over England's defeat the thing that grates with me even more is that Croatia are and have been now for a few decades at a different level from Scotland despite the correlation between size/interest and success.

In China and India of course football is not that big a thing and the same goes for the USA.  Russia lost a lot of its football clout with the break up of the USSR.

Edited by Francis Albert

SwindonJambo
31 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Croatia don’t have the SFA and dullards like Petr15 

The latter have a lot to answer for.  A total waste time, money and space. Self serving wage thieves and someone like Barry Hearn should be brought in to to put an axe through it. Another likely factor is Croatia also having a climate more conducive to sport.   They excel at other sports too, notably tennis.  No doubt their diet and lifestyles are streets ahead of Scotland's too.

Bindy Badgy

Iceland, have a climate that is even less conducive to summer sport than we do. they got around this by building indoor pitches. We don't have any disadvantages that can't be got around by investing in the correct areas. This starts with getting competent people in at the top.

1 hour ago, Francis Albert said:

Population and the importance in that country of football correlates with the pool of players available and thus correlates with football success.  See the table above of World Cup "superpowers". (Pre-war Uruguay was the exception that proved the rule).

Croatia deservedly reaching the WC final is a huge achievement. While many Scots gloat over England's defeat the thing that grates with me even more is that Croatia are and have been now for a few decades at a different level from Scotland despite the correlation between size/interest and success.

In China and India of course football is not that big a thing and the same goes for the USA.  Russia lost a lot of its football clout with the break up of the USSR.

Football isn't a big thing in China ?

Aye ?

To put the English media's nose further out of joint, China claim they invented football !

SwindonJambo
21 minutes ago, Stokesy said:

Iceland, have a climate that is even less conducive to summer sport than we do. they got around this by building indoor pitches. We don't have any disadvantages that can't be got around by investing in the correct areas. This starts with getting competent people in at the top.

Both of those changes would help a lot. The SFA truly are Scottish Football's poison.

Bindy Badgy
26 minutes ago, Mauricio Pinilla said:

Would have been offside surely as no Croatia players were in their own half aside from the goalkeeper and number 19 was in front of the guy that passed the ball forward?

Edited by Stokesy

1 hour ago, Boab said:

Football isn't a big thing in China ?

Aye ?

To put the English media's nose further out of joint, China claim they invented football !

Not really

No real football tradition. Football grafted on as a commetcial venture relying on superannuated imports.

May change but not soon

6 minutes ago, Stokesy said:

Would have been offside surely as no Croatia players were in their own half aside from the goalkeeper and number 19 was in front of the guy that passed the ball forward?

Very good point. Idiots!

2 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

Croatia have done well in football since their independence. 

:ninja:

8 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Not really

No real football tradition. Football grafted on as a commetcial venture relying on superannuated imports.

May change but not soon

Is that China or PSG you're talking about ?

2 hours ago, Boab said:

Is that China or PSG you're talking about ?

Nah it's England

7 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

the bbc are reporting it might have been something along the lines of "no surrender"

1 minute ago, Cairneyhill Jambo said:

At least we wont hear from the slavering erse from South America for another 4 years. 

Careful. He is very active not too far from here as we speak.

3 minutes ago, Notts1874 said:

Careful. He is very active not too far from here as we speak.

Chatting away (at length!) with our compadres on TallkHearts

Just now, Nookie Bear said:

I think chatting may be a very polite way of describing the exchange of views???

7 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

JKB has owned him !

He's not coming home either !

SwindonJambo
8 hours ago, WeeChuck'sHeed said:

Croatia have done well in football since their independence. 

:ninja:

Croat players always featured very prominently in the Yugoslavia Team which preceded it. The only current Scotland player who might get anywhere near a UK team if one existed is Andrew Robertson at Liverpool. Our game needs drastic surgery, whether in Union or not.