Edinburgh History

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

2019-06-01 00.15.41.jpg

Row after row from Westburn to Hailesland.

As a bairn growing up it wasnt bad.

Before the bypass you had the coos field and the Dell.

My auld Dutch hated it though.

Think it's better place now and growing as a community.

• Replies 19k

• Maroon Sailor

• Radio Ga Ga

• luckyBatistuta

• ¼½¾

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

2019-06-01 00.10.28.jpg

Wonder when that street became one way ? 

ArcticJambo
22 hours ago, 3fingersreid said:

Wonder when that street became one way ? 

Mid-nineties I think.  Was working casual in the DoT at the time and 'Traffic Calming' was all the rage.  Next time I came back late nineties it had all been implemented,

E: although come to think of it, maybe that was just the raised pavement at the top.  Though I'm sure we were looking at a whole bunch of other measure that included one-way re-routing systems around the old-town. (including Candlemakers)

Edited by ArcticJambo

9 hours ago, ArcticJambo said:

Mid-nineties I think.  Was working casual in the DoT at the time and 'Traffic Calming' was all the rage.  Next time I came back late nineties it had all been implemented,

E: although come to think of it, maybe that was just the raised pavement at the top.  Though I'm sure we were looking at a whole bunch of other measure that included one-way re-routing systems around the old-town. (including Candlemakers)

??

Not history, but a great photo of Victoria Street showing both ends.

Edinburgh-Victoria-Street-550.jpg

On 02/06/2019 at 13:51, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_3124.JPG

Looking up the Bridges from General Register House.

On 02/06/2019 at 13:52, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_3125.JPG

General Register House and the Crown Hotel that became Woolies!

16 hours ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

Going by the cars early to mid 70s?

I'd say later as that looks like a Ford Fiesta and they were introduced in 1976.

19 hours ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

6B44FB61-9F5C-48B4-856C-6625FD93CCC0.jpeg

The laddie with the bowl cut and the two stripes round the sleeves looks awfy familiar. I'm sure I've seen him in another photo.

11 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_3142.JPG

That's apparently Oxgangs, but where?

1 minute ago, Lemongrab said:

Right outside Colinton mains shops I reckon.

7 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

On 03/06/2019 at 21:59, Radio Ga Ga said:

On 03/06/2019 at 22:31, FinnBarr Saunders said:

If you look at the sign on the lampost it informs you the away support has to enter by Gorgie Road. This picture is from 1978 not long after Hearts were ordered to segregate the fans after a few bouts of paggering on the terraces, most notably the 1-1 draw against Hibs when Ally McLeod  equalised at half 8 at night 

On 03/06/2019 at 21:59, Radio Ga Ga said:

15 hours ago, Lemongrab said:

The laddie with the bowl cut and the two stripes round the sleeves looks awfy familiar. I'm sure I've seen him in another photo.

Are you maybe thinking of this lad ? 

There was around half a dozen pics taken that day with the main focus being the new segregation structure in place.

IMG_20190605_100430.jpg

46 minutes ago, Lemongrab said:

Yeah I also think it's outside the Colinton Mains shops

The 21 bus has me 2nd guessing as I don't remember the 21 doing that route. Could be a 27 which would make sense

6 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Yeah I also think it's outside the Colinton Mains shops

The 21 bus has me 2nd guessing as I don't remember the 21 doing that route. Could be a 27 which would make sense

I’m pretty sure the No21 never did that route.

As you say it would be the No27..

10 minutes ago, dannymack said:

Are you maybe thinking of this lad ? 

There was around half a dozen pics taken that day with the main focus being the new segregation structure in place.

IMG_20190605_100430.jpg

It's not that. I'm sure he's in a photo posted earlier. If I've got a spare week or two I might trawl through... :D

On 03/06/2019 at 22:31, FinnBarr Saunders said:

19 hours ago, Tazio said:

I'd say later as that looks like a Ford Fiesta and they were introduced in 1976.

London Hearts have it as 1978.

Edit:As dannymack said, and I didn't notice.

Edited by Lemongrab
Peebles

46 minutes ago, dannymack said:

If you look at the sign on the lampost it informs you the away support has to enter by Gorgie Road. This picture is from 1978 not long after Hearts were ordered to segregate the fans after a few bouts of paggering on the terraces, most notably the 1-1 draw against Hibs when Ally McLeod  equalised at half 8 at night 

Utter carnage that day. Sweltering temperatures but the fans really got hot under the collar. So did some of the players.

1978082601.jpg

Edited by Maroon Sailor

34 minutes ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

6CE51AF7-DBD0-436E-9379-78B611952DCD.jpeg

Is that the queue for The Beatles?

2 hours ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

6CE51AF7-DBD0-436E-9379-78B611952DCD.jpeg

My mums in there somewhere.

She and her pal queued out overnight and once she got her tickets she ran home with them in her teeth to make sure she never lost them. There were 2 shows I think, a matinee and an evening show, she went to both.

Bill Barclay who used to work on Radio Forth was a butchers laddie at the time and he delivered meat to my grandparents. He also worked in the door when the Beatles played Edinburgh. My Grandad happened to be walking past in the night of the Beatles gig and Barclay recognised him and asked if he fancied seeing this 'new band'. My Grandad thought he'd give it a bash and nipped in gratis through a side door.

He wasnt that impressed with them.

8 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

The shops look right for Colinton Mains, but surely the bus number would have to be 27?

Stuart Lyon
3 hours ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

6A526795-C774-464C-9B73-3D8731D14C11.jpeg

Rodney Street with the Old Coach Inn on the left hand side just below the junction