Levein *POLL*

Levein - stay or go poll  

1,335 members have voted

1. 1. Should Craig go before new season or be allowed to start the new season?

• Craig should not be manager for next season
    • Craig should be manager at the start of the new season

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 30/03/18 at 12:01

Just now, Greedy_Jambo said:

Apparently the song 'insane in the brain' by the prodigy was based on Jambos kickback users. 

Do you mean ‘Insane’ by The Prodigy? Or ‘Insane in the Brain/Membrane’ by Cypress Hill?

• Replies 1.1k

• Thomaso

• frankblack

Poll result is pretty much in-line with the 30-75 y/o fans that I speak to and/or socialise with.

Greedy_Jambo
3 minutes ago, Ryder said:

Do you mean ‘Insane’ by The Prodigy? Or ‘Insane in the Brain/Membrane’ by Cypress Hill?

I mean Jump around by house of pain. 

Greedy_Jambo
4 minutes ago, Ryder said:

Guid yin mate

I thought so tae. Admins need to make it a sticky. 

Cypress Hills insane in the membrane is a fantastic track

Would be a good kickback theme tune 

Greedy_Jambo
9 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

Cypress Hills insane in the membrane is a fantastic track

Would be a good kickback theme tune 

1 hour ago, Spencer said:

Again to be crystal clear - I hold Craig Levein fully responsible for first team mess at Hearts. I believe that is a perfectly reasonable position to take. One I'm not alone in holding 

Hopefully he does improve things cos I don't think he is going anywhere any time soon 

Exactly, so maybe take a day off to save repeating yourself over and over again :rolleyes:

I might have preferred the options dave if one of them was "stay, but change the manner in which we play football". I think the truth is that having been given a three year deal we have possibly created a position where we really don't want to waste cash on removing Craig as manager, because his existing deal would involve him having to be given a pay off which would involve money that could be better used elsewhere. I see a very basic core of a team, i.e Jon McLaughlin, John Souttar, Christophe Berra, Steven Naismith and Kyle Lafferty which has a lot of scope for building around. I would probably add Harry Cochrane and Adao to that. The main problem for me is that we don't make sufficient use of the two men up front, it does in effect create the vision of signing two forwards who can get us goals, but we then play in a way that they don't get the service needed to get goals. I think Lafferty has done well to rack up the number of goals he has done so far this season. That really just leaves the full back positions and two attack minded midfield positions. I know there are differing opinions  on this board but I've actually liked what I've seen of Michael Smith, but I do feel a bit sorry for him as he seems to be the person who is moved about constantly rather than left to continue at right back and grow a working relationship with the two centre backs. Is it possible we could get Man United to give us Mitchell back again, if yes then I honestly think we have the basis of a back 4 in Smith, Berra Souttar and Mitchell to build on. With Naismith and Lafferty up front, Adao sitting in front of the back 4 we then have three positions to fill, all in the middle of the park. and that has been an area we have been weak in for a little while now.  Who is available, who can we afford, are there scouts out looking, Christ knows. Do I think it is fair to throw Cochrane in as a must start rather than give him time to develop further, no, although I do see a very good player in there.  But if we can get the right players in, put less pressure on the kids to have to succeed at very young ages, and place the focus on trying to win football games, the future isn't necessarily shit. In saying all that I don't think the fan base will put up with attempts to not lose games which go wrong rather than getting to watch attempts to win games. So as I say I'd have preferred if the other option to Levein leaving was Levein staying as long as the manner of approaching games were to change. In terms of actually voting I've gone for stay, as along with the other things needing financial input I'd prefer us not to have to divert some funds into a pay off package.

Edited by portobellojambo1

23 minutes ago, It should have been ten said:

Exactly, so maybe take a day off to save repeating yourself over and over again :rolleyes:

28 minutes ago, It should have been ten said:

Cheers for the advice. I'll do that 

In Craig we trust :thumbsup:

1 hour ago, Ryder said:

Poll result is pretty much in-line with the 30-75 y/o fans that I speak to and/or socialise with.

Theres 5 of us that go to at least all the home games and every one of us aren’t particularly delighted with things but all agree he should stay and get the summer window. All 5 of us are renewing as well regardless of how it pans out between now and end of season. 

1 hour ago, kimosavi said:

Genuinely surprised that over 74% vote in favour of Levein staying. The people off JKB have spoken and it's in Leveins favour 

I guess it shows you that there's a large silent majority on here.  Folks that may not actively post but will participate in a poll where they feel the content on the board doesn't represent their opinion.  Either that or the minority will likely argue that the poll has been infiltrated by Hibs fans.

3 minutes ago, EH11 said:

I guess it shows you that there's a large silent majority on here.  Folks that may not actively post but will participate in a poll where they feel the content on the board doesn't represent their opinion.  Either that or the minority will likely argue that the poll has been infiltrated by Hibs fans.

Craig Leveins extended family numbers nearly 450 I’m reliably informed. 

He's had his chance and has made an arse of it.  I want someone with a set of balls in charge. Someone not shiting it from every away game. Someone not shiting it to try and win a trophy. 

Sadly I won't get my way as Mrs Budge Wont remove him and we appear to have a support who accept mediocrity.

7 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

Theres 5 of us that go to at least all the home games and every one of us aren’t particularly delighted with things but all agree he should stay and get the summer window. All 5 of us are renewing as well regardless of how it pans out between now and end of season. 

Exactly how most of us feel not so long ago we were mostly singing his praises eight clean sheets etc we've had the bad results against Motherwell and Hibs and that has created the current furore. I feel over the last two/three years when we've lost to the Wee Team it's lets punt the manager. Were having a bad run against them but its only temporary keep the faith. 

I have said he should be given one more window, the summer one where there is better quality available. My patience will run out very quickly if he doesn't deliver this time though!

Finlay James
3 minutes ago, Beats said:

He's had his chance and has made an arse of it.  I want someone with a set of balls in charge. Someone not shiting it from every away game. Someone not shiting it to try and win a trophy. 

Sadly I won't get my way as Mrs Budge Wont remove him and we appear to have a support who accept mediocrity.

Or they maybe know what they are talking about and don't just propose to sack managers after one bad result.

The fact your in the minority with your opinion says it all

8 minutes ago, Finlay James said:

Or they maybe know what they are talking about and don't just propose to sack managers after one bad result.

One bad result? 

Enzo Chiefo
10 minutes ago, Beats said:

Beats, genuinely worrying how posters on here defy logic and clear evidence to delude themselves into thinking that Levein just needs another window to get it right. The type of players that he wants for his system and the type of players that we need to progress are incompatible. Money or no money that is the real problem.

I'd actually say that the poll results (thus far) should be extremely concerning for the board of our club if it is at all reflective of the larger Hearts support. 25% of our ST holders would represent over 3500 people and gauging exactly where our fanbase is with regards Levein will be measured on how those sell over the summer. Right now I would confidently predict our numbers will fall, possibly by a couple of thousand unless there is significant money spent in putting together a competitive squad by the end of July. That's not 3 or 4 players that's at least double figures of real quality. I won't hold my breath on that eventuality and I actually think the % would be higher for 'Craig should go' if you polled all Hearts ST holders but that's just my personal opinion. It's going to be another interesting summer! 

47 minutes ago, Spencer said:

1 minute ago, Beats said:

One bad result? 

Indeed. We've won 14 of our last FIFTY SPL games mate! 

There are none so blind as those who will not see.

2 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Beats, genuinely worrying how posters on here defy logic and clear evidence to delude themselves into thinking that Levein just needs another window to get it right. The type of players that he wants for his system and the type of players that we need to progress are incompatible. Money or no money that is the real problem.

Scary man!

You have people saying it's one bad result! **** sake. He/She perfectly illustrated my point about supporters excepting mediocrity! 

49 minutes ago, Spencer said:

:fing25:

1 minute ago, Hendricks said:

As Gary Mackay said. We deserve better. Or maybe we don't going by some of the posts on here!

7 minutes ago, Beats said:

As Gary Mackay said. We deserve better. Or maybe we don't going by some of the posts on here!

We do deserve better, of course we do. Don’t think anybody in either camp disagrees with that 

Edited by 1971fozzy

Gordon Ramsay
11 minutes ago, Hendricks said:

Shocking stat.

Don't worry though another transfer window of 3 year deals to randoms no one has heard of will sort us out...

Just now, Gordon Ramsay said:

Shocking stat.

Don't worry though another transfer window of 3 year deals to randoms no one has heard of will sort us out...

Ken :lol: I'm actually laughing that some people are sitting straight faced saying give him a transfer window, give him a ****ing transfer embargo with the amount of duds he's able to tempt from far and wide, deary me.

Wonder how many Killie fans want their manager sacked? Daft thought of course but some of the shit on here beggars belief in entrenchment and name calling.

I voted stay having been very in favour of Cathro being sacked last year long before he was and was angry with Levein a year ago. Now we have stabilised from the post Robbie slide down the table but are still very limited by a poor squad (which Levein cannot deny all responsibility for) and injuries (which Levein has no control over). He has had to play too many youngsters too early. I voted stay as I feel he deserves the chance to rebuild and progress our youngsters. I am sure he and our owner have discussed the disappointing tail end of the season and how he aims to improve things and what money he will be allowed. Meantime I'm off to my scratcher and will leave folk to argue rather than discuss. Better to have a nightcap and call it a night fellow Jambos.

20 minutes ago, Hendricks said:

I'd actually say that the poll results (thus far) should be extremely concerning for the board of our club if it is at all reflective of the larger Hearts support. 25% of our ST holders would represent over 3500 people and gauging exactly where our fanbase is with regards Levein will be measured on how those sell over the summer. Right now I would confidently predict our numbers will fall, possibly by a couple of thousand unless there is significant money spent in putting together a competitive squad by the end of July. That's not 3 or 4 players that's at least double figures of real quality. I won't hold my breath on that eventuality and I actually think the % would be higher for 'Craig should go' if you polled all Hearts ST holders but that's just my personal opinion. It's going to be another interesting summer! 

Genuine question. I thought you lived in New York? Do you have a season ticket despite not getting to many games, or do you fly back and forward every couple of weeks? 

1 minute ago, Beats said:

The Killie manager is doing a far better job than our joker on a budget far inferior to ours!!

****ing hell :lol:

It was a joke but you bleat on. Calling Levein a joker adds a lot to the debate as well. Just the sort of poster that confirms it's time to put the laptop to bed. Night now but just try being more polite and someone may stay up and continue dialogue with you.

12 draws hasn’t helped. 

That’s one of the standout stats for me. A few late equalisers. A few sloppy mistakes. Makes all the difference. 

9 league defeats so far this season (just 1 more than teams in 2nd, 3rd and 5th) is another one. Last year we lost 16 in total, majority away from home. 

Just now, deejtee said:

It was a joke but you bleat on. Calling Levein a joker adds a lot to the debate as well. Just the sort of poster that confirms it's time to put the laptop to bed. Night now but just try being more polite and someone may stay up and continue dialogue with you.

Sleep well. 

12 minutes ago, Gordon Ramsay said:

Shocking stat.

Indeed. Its staggeringly bad given our relative size in comparison to the majority of our competition. In comparison Hibs have won 14 (in 29), Aberdeen 16 (in 29) and Rangers 18 (in 30) in the SPL this season! To reiterate, we've won 14 in our last 50 SPL games!!!!

In my view the only players Hearts should be signing on 3 year contracts are the most promising of our young players. 

4 minutes ago, redm said:

12 draws hasn’t helped. 

That’s one of the standout stats for me. A few late equalisers. A few sloppy mistakes. Makes all the difference. 

9 league defeats so far this season (just 1 more than teams in 2nd, 3rd and 5th) is another one. Last year we lost 16 in total, majority away from home. 

The shite negative football hasn't helped either to be honest. 

8 minutes ago, Ryder said:

Genuine question. I thought you lived in New York? Do you have a season ticket despite not getting to many games, or do you fly back and forward every couple of weeks? 

Correct. Completely irrelevant how I currently support Hearts and frankly none of your business what financial backing I give the club through the various means available. 

45 minutes ago, Finlay James said:

“One bad result”?

Which one are we talking about?

Levein should go at the end of the season. We heard all the same things a year ago about giving Cathro a summer window and pre-season etc. 

Levein is of course a seasoned Manager which Cathro is not. But Levein has basically had a season in charge of the club, and its difficult to say he is getting the most out of the players available.

Not to mention he hamstrung himself by getting rid of 2 strikers in January without finding suitable replacements. As well as not fully addressing the CM situation. 

4 minutes ago, Hendricks said:

Indeed. Its staggeringly bad given our relative size in comparison to the majority of our competition. In comparison Hibs have won 14 (in 29), Aberdeen 16 (in 29) and Rangers 18 (in 30) in the SPL this season! To reiterate, we've won 14 in our last 50 SPL games!!!!

In my view the only players Hearts should be signing on 3 year contracts are the most promising of our young players. 

Why look at other teams over 29/30 and insist on looking at our record over 50 when it doesn’t reflect Levein’s tenure as manager - the subject of this thread? That’s not a fair comparison. 

We’ve won 9 in 30. 

FE7EDBCF-2009-47C6-975B-85F1F0812D7B.jpeg

14 minutes ago, redm said:

12 draws hasn’t helped. 

When it boils down to it the only stat that matters is points on the board. Regardless of whether the points are made up of x amount of draws, or away wins etc. 

Just now, Hendricks said:

Correct. Completely irrelevant how I currently support Hearts and frankly none of your business what financial backing I give the club through the various means available. 

Not making any assumptions at all about how much money you put in. As you rightly point out, it’s none of my business. I’m sure you do what you can and that’s all any real fan does.

I was just curious as to how you felt you could speak with such authority about what season ticket holders would vote... seeing as how the majority who voted in this poll probably are season ticket holders.

10 minutes ago, Hendricks said:

Doesn't go to games type post IMO. 

1 minute ago, Ministry said:

Levein should go at the end of the season. We heard all the same things a year ago about giving Cathro a summer window and pre-season etc. 

Levein is of course a seasoned Manager which Cathro is not. But Levein has basically had a season in charge of the club, and its difficult to say he is getting the most out of the players available.

Not to mention he hamstrung himself by getting rid of 2 strikers in January without finding suitable replacements. As well as not fully addressing the CM situation. 

Letting Stockton go was no great loss. We could have done with another striker in the window though. 

3 minutes ago, redm said:

Why look at other teams over 29/30 and insist on looking at our record over 50 when it doesn’t reflect Levein’s tenure as manager - the subject of this thread? That’s not a fair comparison. 

We’ve won 9 in 30. 

FE7EDBCF-2009-47C6-975B-85F1F0812D7B.jpeg

Oh well, that’s alright then :happy:

14 wins out of 50 in the league? 

That is appalling. Particularly given the budget we have, and the cash we as fans are throwing at the club. Cash cows and STs, FOH DDs and 5 strips brought out this season.

Levein has sadly overseen things get progressively worse since we came back up.  We had a run on rangers and TWO YEARS on hibs, yet they are embarrassing us with how they have done since coming back up. 

8 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Letting Stockton go was no great loss. We could have done with another striker in the window though. 

I didn't have a major problem with either Stockton or Goncalves going tbh. We should have had some sort of plan in place to replace them tho. 

1 minute ago, davemclaren said:

In my opinion Stockton would have done more of a job than Henderson at this stage.

• redm changed the title to Levein *POLL*