Aberdeen's new stadium...

1 hour ago, communist said:

Sorry but tell me why it's cheaper to build an entire new stadium on new land than redevelop the 3 stands that need doing at pittodrie one by one?

Three new stands would cost what? £30m? Bearing in mind Hearts have just spent £15m on one stand, and the Kingsford stadium is circa £40m, then £30m is a decent guess.

On top of that we'd need to increase the footprint to get it to 20,000 (you can say we don't need 20,000, but considering we've had over 20,000 at Pittodrie this season that's not true and we would lose money in the long run by building a smaller stadium), so that would cost more money. And, we'd still need to buy land elsewhere to build the training ground. Also add in the cost of a reduced capacity while building it. That would far exceed £30m, probably to the point we would be pushing over £40m anyway.

On the other hand the full cost of Kingsford is £50m. Due to the fact £15-18m of that comes from the sale of Pittodrie, we actually need to raise less money for a brand new modern stadium with training facilities than we need to redevelop Pittodrie. 

And, that doesn't actually take into account the council are lukewarm on letting us redevelop Pittodrie anyway. It's been discussed at meetings between the club and council for years. A redeveloped Pittodrie would be at a reduced capacity. So it's a no-go anyway.

We could build at Kings Links which is across the road, and that is the favoured option of fans, but some of the land is under lease until 2040, and due to the high sand content it would also be very problematic to build there. The council haven't been much help in helping us build there anyway. They haven't been much help full stop.

We were going to build at Loirston, until the council removed some of the land and used it for something else. There is now no longer the room needed. We could fit the stadium in, but only 500 parking spaces which wouldn't be sufficient since it's not in the city centre and again we still need to build a training ground somewhere.

There isn't really anywhere else in the city to build it. If Kingsford is rejected, I would expect Aberdeen will look at sites in Aberdeenshire, probably Portlethen would be their best bet as there is a train station there.

Oh but Milne just wants the land for flats etc etc.

You don't need all the capacity you currently have and could suffer minimal affect to your season doing one stand at a time. 

As above, we've sold over 20,000 at Pittodrie this season, so makes no sense spending millions to reduce the capacity to lower than that, and a redeveloped Pittodrie could be as low as 14,000-16,000.

Edited by La_Leyenda

• Replies 2.7k

• IveSeenTheLight

• sadj

1 minute ago, La_Leyenda said:

Three new stands would cost what? £30m? Bearing in mind Hearts have just spent £15m on one stand, and the Kingsford stadium is circa £40m, then £30m is a decent guess.

On top of that we'd need to increase the footprint to get it to 20,000 (you can say we don't need 20,000, but considering we've had over 20,000 at Pittodrie this season that's not true and we would lose money in the long run by building a smaller stadium), so that would cost more money. And, we'd still need to buy land elsewhere to build the training ground. Also add in the cost of a reduced capacity while building it. That would far exceed £30m, probably to the point we would be pushing £50m anyway.

On the other hand the full cost of Kingsford is £50m. Due to the FA g £15-18m of that comes from the sale of Pittodrie, we actually need to raise less money for a brand new modern stadium with training facilities than we need to redevelop Pittodrie. 

And, that doesn't actually take into account the council are lukewarm on letting us redevelop Pittodrie anyway. It's been discussed at meetings between the club and council for years. A redeveloped Pittodrie would be at a reduced capacity. So it's a no-go anyway.

We could build at Kings Links which is across the road, and that is the favoured option of fans, but some of the land is under lease until 2040, and due to the high sand content it would also be very problematic to build there. The council haven't been much help in helping us build there anyway. They haven't been much help full stop.

We were going to build at Loirston, until the council removed some of the land and used it for something else. There is now no longer the room needed. We could fit the stadium in, but only 500 parking spaces which wouldn't be sufficient since it's not in the city centre and again we still need to build a training ground somewhere.

There isn't really anywhere else in the city to build it. If Kingsford is rejected, I would expect Aberdeen will look at sites in Aberdeenshire, probably Portlethen would be their best bet as there is a train station there.

As above, we've sold over 20,000 at Pittodrie this season, so makes no sense spending millions to reduce the capacity to lower than that, and a redeveloped Pittodrie could be as low as 14,000-16,000.

So what happens if, as seems very possible, planning permission is declined?

Take away the murrayfield games :lol:

You do realise that only makes sense if Hearts and Aberdeen were selling out Shitoddrie and Tynecastle every week?

"Aye but if you take away your big matches we match your attendance"

Congratulations ya ****ing walloper.

Just now, Wham Bam Austin McCann said:

Take away the murrayfield games :lol:

You do realise that only makes sense if Hearts and Aberdeen were selling out Shitoddrie and Tynecastle every week?

"Aye but if you take away your big matches we match your attendance"

Congratulations ya ****ing walloper.

Do you think the attendances at Murrayfield are an accurate reflection of your average crowd this season - since you had 14,000 Rangers fans for one game and I can't even remember what we brought, 7,000 was it?

8 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

On top of that we'd need to increase the footprint to get it to 20,000 (you can say we don't need 20,000, but considering we've had over 20,000 at Pittodrie this season that's not true and we would lose money in the long run by building a smaller stadium), so that would cost more money. And, we'd still need to buy land elsewhere to build the training ground. Also add in the cost of a reduced capacity while building it. That would far exceed £30m, probably to the point we would be pushing over £40m anyway.

On the other hand the full cost of Kingsford is £50m. Due to the fact £15-18m of that comes from the sale of Pittodrie, we actually need to raise less money for a brand new modern stadium with training facilities than we need to redevelop Pittodrie. 

Weve sold over 30k this season doesnt mean we need a 30k stadium. 

3 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

So what happens if, as seems very possible, planning permission is declined?

Well, I think it'll get passed. Was noticeable at the pre-determination meeting the questions being asked by the councillors were towards the no supporters, questioning some of their statements. Aberdeen got asked one question.

The answer to your question is the reason it'll be passed. Because the two alternatives are Aberdeen move to Aberdeenshire, or questions start being asked of the council - why are they not helping the club? They were culpable over Loirston, are they going to help them get land at Kings Links, are they going to help financially if Aberdeen can't afford an alternative in the city?

The easy option for the council is to pass Kingsford and let the club get on with it. 

1 minute ago, La_Leyenda said:

Well, I think it'll get passed. Was noticeable at the pre-determination meeting the questions being asked by the councillors were towards the no supporters, questioning some of their statements. Aberdeen got asked one question.

The answer to your question is the reason it'll be passed. Because the two alternatives are Aberdeen move to Aberdeenshire, or questions start being asked of the council - why are they not helping the club? They were culpable over Loirston, are they going to help them get land at Kings Links, are they going to help financially if Aberdeen can't afford an alternative in the city?

The easy option for the council is to pass Kingsford and let the club get on with it. 

Shame the fans dont ask more questions of Aberdeen as weve told you a million times you really shouldn’t take the chairmans word at face value. We didn’t had we of we’d of been homeless and very possibly would of been gone the same way as Clydebank , Airdrie etc.

2 minutes ago, Barack said:

Council dinnae like Milne. 

The bribes can’t be big enough.

Lol Aberdeen City Council have never taken a bribe. Certainly not for a city centre establishment to be converted into something else....? 

Just now, Barack said:

Milne trying to grease the Aberdeen fans’ up. With lanolin probably.

Stonehaven’s got some land hasn’t it? Nice wee harbour. 

Be aswell moving to the central belt if you think of the crowd today and try and do the figures when the chances are moving out of town would drop that lower the fans really need to ask questions. Seems the no supporters have more common sense than the fans.

5 minutes ago, sadj said:

Shame the fans dont ask more questions of Aberdeen as weve told you a million times you really shouldn’t take the chairmans word at face value. We didn’t had we of we’d of been homeless and very possibly would of been gone the same way as Clydebank , Airdrie etc.

The Pittodrie and Tynecastle situations are completely different.

If all Aberdeen had to do was build one stand, then it might be similar. 

It's not the club that are culpable here, it's the council. The new stadium and training ground could have been built at Loirston by now.

16 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

Do you think the attendances at Murrayfield are an accurate reflection of your average crowd this season - since you had 14,000 Rangers fans for one game and I can't even remember what we brought, 7,000 was it?

Of course the highest crowds aren't a reflection of the average you blithering simpleton, you're losing it. 

24 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

You already have that monstrosity that dwarfs the rest of the stadium, from my understanding that hosts a good percentage of your hospitality/corporate facilities, so even if you build another stand similar to the main at tynie, you could build another 2 very basic and smaller capacity stands for much, much less. (Still giving 20k) I'd expect you could redevelop the entire 3 sides for £25M all in. Makes much more sense and as much as you waffle on you'll never convince me otherwise. You have a vast amount of space around the majority of pittodrie and it must make more sense to redevelop.

7 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

It's not the club that are culpable here, it's the council. The new stadium and training ground could have been built at Loirston by now.

Whit?

Hibs & Hearts have both redeveloped their stadiums which like Pitawdry are within city limits...you doughnuts built the RDS and err...stopped...not culpable :laugh::laugh:

...you do come across as a moron.

Edited by Konrad von Carstein

3 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

They are not completely different. We were told it was too expensive to redevelop Tynie , we were told the only option was to move. Exactly the same situation.....

Aberdeen have left Pittodrie to rot for years instead of redevloping bits of it. Id be asking why that is for a start....

To blame the council and absolve Aberdeen of all blame smacks of shortsightedness. What was the official reason for rejection at Loriston?

3 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Whit?

Hibs & Hearts have both redeveloped their stadiums which like Pitawdry are within city limits...you doughnuts built the RDS and err...stopped...not culpable :laugh::laugh:

...you do come across as a moron.

Exactly this. Look at the financial problems all the other clubs have encountered by gradually rebuilding their stadia. They could have started another stand straight after the RDS, then carried on. Now they just want to build a £50m Job in a oner, with mysterious investors and no realistic plans. :rofl:

16 minutes ago, Ryder said:

Exactly this. Look at the financial problems all the other clubs have encountered by gradually rebuilding their stadia. They could have started another stand straight after the RDS, then carried on. Now they just want to build a £50m Job in a oner, with mysterious investors and no realistic plans. :rofl:

And no hangover. We'd like it all, free, now, and without any consequences thanks. 

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

And no hangover. We'd like it all, free, now, and without any consequences thanks. 

Falkirk, Partick and Airdrie must be pretty pissed off with almost going out of business or massively struggling to compete in order to try and complete their stadia... 

If we take away all the trophies they won under Fergie, have we won loads more trophies than them? Admittedly, I speak English and can count but I’m trying to understand our linguistically-challenged, Wham-loving, animelles-garglers. 

Just now, Zico said:

If we take away all the trophies they won under Fergie, have we won loads more trophies than them? Admittedly, I speak English and can count but I’m trying to understand our linguistically-challenged, Wham-loving, animelles-garglers. 

Laughed at that!

My wee cousin used to say if we didn't have Craig Gordon we'd be shite, it's so stupid. 

Anyone would be shite without a keeper

4 hours ago, La_Leyenda said:

9,800 for a lunchtime kick-off.

But in the days when Hearts didn't only play Hibs or Celtic in the cup, you had 8,859 v St Mirren in the Scottish Cup (2012).

In a field

Image result for bruce higher lower

11 hours ago, sadj said:

They are not completely different. We were told it was too expensive to redevelop Tynie , we were told the only option was to move. Exactly the same situation.....

And you challenged it because you only had to build one stand.

We need three, potentially four as to get 20,000 we'd probably need to move the stadium, possibly 90 degrees.

I can accept people challenging why we can't build across the road at Kings Links (though we're still going to need council help there and more money) but the council have said no to expanding Pittodrie and it'd be outwith our financial reach anyway. 

11 hours ago, sadj said:

What was the official reason for rejection at Loriston?

They passed the stadium. But they rejected the adjoining joint facility between Aberdeen and Cove Rangers and took that land away. They've now built a school there so the land is not available, while the rest of the hand has been sold to s property developer who plan to build houses. As a consequence, Aberdeen couldn't build the required number of parking spaces and also wouldn't be able to build an extra access road which the council were demanding as part of the plans. (If picture works then it'll be below)

Was a shame as Loirston would have been better than Kingsford. 

36F559E5-0050-49C4-8526-1FB4E4AE9C12.png

15 hours ago, jambo1961 said:

Red Army my arse

They could have closed two stands the day no bother

Red Army

Aside from the diehards its a big game support. 18,000 down to 12,000 typically. 

Going forward the big worry is the new stadium drains funds, and there is a downward spiral of poor form and crowds. 

What crowd are Aberdeen budgeting for?. Or is it all going to be from rich people? 

Guest Paul Allen
On 20/01/2018 at 01:08, La_Leyenda said:

This thread is in to its 21st page. How many pages does the Dundee stadium thread have?

Possibly because when it comes to the proposed new Dundee stadium they’re not moving them miles out of the city into the middle of the green belt; they don’t have a huge £50m funding shortfall; they don’t have acres of undeveloped land immediately opposite their current place; their new stadium isn’t predicated on a pie-in-the-sky economic justification of seven additional sell-out events every year; they don’t have a ridiculous transport strategy involving dozens of shuttle buses; their new stadium site isn’t bigger than that of Chelsea or Arsenal; their proposal isn’t likely to be the Local Authority’s most objected to planning application ever etc.

2 hours ago, La_Leyenda said:

And you challenged it because you only had to build one stand.

We need three, potentially four as to get 20,000 we'd probably need to move the stadium, possibly 90 degrees.

I can accept people challenging why we can't build across the road at Kings Links (though we're still going to need council help there and more money) but the council have said no to expanding Pittodrie and it'd be outwith our financial reach anyway. 

They passed the stadium. But they rejected the adjoining joint facility between Aberdeen and Cove Rangers and took that land away. They've now built a school there so the land is not available, while the rest of the hand has been sold to s property developer who plan to build houses. As a consequence, Aberdeen couldn't build the required number of parking spaces and also wouldn't be able to build an extra access road which the council were demanding as part of the plans. (If picture works then it'll be below)

Was a shame as Loirston would have been better than Kingsford. 

36F559E5-0050-49C4-8526-1FB4E4AE9C12.png

Loriston would most definately be a better option than Kingswells for travelling to and from etc and impact would be less on other aspects such as residential areas. 

Have you got links to the council saying no to expanding and redeveloping Pittodrie

1 minute ago, Buffalo Bill said:

A step closer for AFC now...just need to find that £50M.

https://stv.tv/news/north/1406756-aberdeen-fc-s-50m-stadium-bid-backed-by-planners/

If passed it will go to court id imagine. Then all the way up until no routes available to oppose. Will take a good time yet. Someones at it though from the opposition as that had health and safety concerns plus fanciful economic benefits. Moving to Portlethen or Loriston would of made sense Kingswells makes none. With a fair weather support though it really is a risky strategy as a poor season and people wont travel 45/60mins for a game as they refuse to travel 15/20mins as it is. 

IveSeenTheLight
On 1/20/2018 at 23:16, La_Leyenda said:

Our average attendance this season is in excess of 16,000 (albeit I last calculated this before the cup game)

IveSeenTheLight
3 minutes ago, jambo1961 said:

Take out the Sheep OF games and you see the true att at Todders

It's not worth getting into a debate about attendances, however given you have asked

NK SIROKI BRIJEG - Att: 17,067

APOLLON LIMASSOL - Att: 20,085

HAMILTON ACADEMICAL - Att: 15,165

DUNDEE FC - Att: 15,646

KILMARNOCK FC - Att: 15,037

HEART OF MIDLOTHIAN - Att: 18,371

Remember, we report attendances, not seats sold.

I know of season ticket holders where seats are sold, but not attended some games for various reasons

16 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

It's not worth getting into a debate about attendances, however given you have asked

I know of season ticket holders where seats are sold, but not attended some games for various reasons

I dont get that ^^^ could you elaborate

On 20/01/2018 at 14:51, Kingswells said:

Those figures can’t be compared. We were still counting actual attendance then. Now we have switched to the tickets sold method Hearts have been using for years and our average is over 16k. We also give away fans less tickets.

11 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

As usual ISTL you just make thing up to suit your agenda.

I bet you the season ticket holders that didn't turn up found out they would be sitting next to you and found something better to do.

Portable Badger

Good news for us then.   They'll have a big debt, lower revenues and won't be able to compete as effectively as a result.   Why do we spend so much energy, time & effort telling them it's a shit idea? It's their club so let them get on with it.   When it goes tits up, over the next 5-10 years, we can stand there pissing ourselves laughing at their demise. 

1 hour ago, FWJ said:

It’s madness.  Absolute madness.

A sparkly-new, empty stadium in the middle of nowhere.

How long do you reckon Aberdeen fans will regard themselves as some sort of "sleeping giant"?

Diddy club that would and should have been relegated years ago had it not been for the SFA. They would manage just fine in a stadium similar to Dens.

On 23/01/2018 at 16:40, IveSeenTheLight said:

Pish.. That game against us there were nowhere near 18k in attendance.. The big stand behind the goal had no one in the top tier., behind the other goal was half empty and the main stand 70% at best

1 hour ago, Wham Bam Austin McCann said:

How long do you reckon Aberdeen fans will regard themselves as some sort of "sleeping giant"?

Diddy club that would and should have been relegated years ago had it not been for the SFA. They would manage just fine in a stadium similar to Dens.

For as long as the Meeja tell them that they are.  The big love-in with Liam McLeod, Richard Gordon, Willie Miller and Rob McLean.

Regal Kingston

Another pish performance from Scotland’s Second force. The media really needs to focus on their dreadful form against the old firm. 

P5 W0 D0 L5 F1 A13

Maybe better luck with a new stadium. 

Council meeting to decide on now

But Aberdeen Council senior planner has admitted Aberdeenshire Council, who are against it, have an effective veto over the project as applications for a controlled parking zone and pedestrian footbridge have to be made to Aberdeenshire Council.

Oh dear. 

6 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Lunch

My Aberdeen friend next me, predicts there will be several breaks throughout the day! Lunch, tea, whatever they can string it out for :)

2 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

My Aberdeen friend next me, predicts there will be several breaks throughout the day! Lunch, tea, whatever they can string it out for :)

Could be all relies on Scottish Government forcing it through