Our First Minister

Rudy T

No I'm saying the opposite. She should be promoting Scotland as a stable environment with a leader who can keep us as an attractive proposition going forward. What she is doing at the moment is making us look like a country ready to throw itself into greater uncertainty.

Do you actually believe she has the answers to what an independent Scotland would be like? Do we have a strong ecomonic plan, would we get into the EU, would we have a currency? So many questions that require answers, answers she didn't have last time.

Right there, is a bunch of questions no one can answer.

We can't see the future and what will come after a referendum.

As many like to point out, look at what the change in oil price did after the last referendum.

Plans are great but you can only work with the information you have in many regards.

They gave a solid unflinching answer on both the questions of the EU and currency, yet were criticised for not having a plan B.

Had they given a plan B they'd have been criticised for not having a solid plan, giving wishy washy answers and being unprepared for an unpredictable economic future.

But if we showed one thing last time, it is that we can put forward a solid case with a well thought out plan.

The white paper was perhaps not without it's flaws and the predictions on various economic issues can only be based on best estimates.

But compare that comprehensive document to the plans laid out by the Leave side, for a UK out of the EU and it tells you everything you need to know about our ability to put a plan in place.

I've no doubt the Scottish government will, once again, put forward a well thought out, costed and planned "white paper 2". But they don't have a crystal ball.

• Replies 601
Thunderstruck

Aye?

cc76cf1d94b1e9b72d6b617781569e65.jpg

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Look at actions and not words or some pseudo Myers Briggs test.

You would expect a left-leaning party in power to have implemented some policies on wealth redistribution or social inclusion. What did we get - the regressive Council Tax Freeze and the abject nonsense with student fees and college places.

You would expect a left-leaning party in power to direct spending towards instead of away from health and education. Although, to be fair, they have promised to return some, repeat some, of the diverted cash.

They will continue to pander to the middle classes and the grey vote as they are the ones that vote in numbers. They are running scared of using new tax-raising powers when they could be using them to fund, for example, social housing.

Nothing that they have done paints then as left of centre but they are good at stirring trouble and being noisy.

Space Mackerel

Look at actions and not words or some pseudo Myers Briggs test.

You would expect a left-leaning party in power to have implemented some policies on wealth redistribution or social inclusion. What did we get - the regressive Council Tax Freeze and the abject nonsense with student fees and college places.

You would expect a left-leaning party in power to direct spending towards instead of away from health and education. Although, to be fair, they have promised to return some, repeat some, of the diverted cash.

They will continue to pander to the middle classes and the grey vote as they are the ones that vote in numbers. They are running scared of using new tax-raising powers when they could be using them to fund, for example, social housing.

Nothing that they have done paints then as left of centre but they are good at stirring trouble and being noisy.

Sorry, didn't know you're a paid up member of Rise [emoji53]

Thunderstruck

Sorry, didn't know you're a paid up member of Rise [emoji53]

No chance, I wouldn't be able to get into my Club when down in the Capital.

Right there, is a bunch of questions no one can answer.

We can't see the future and what will come after a referendum.

As many like to point out, look at what the change in oil price did after the last referendum.

Plans are great but you can only work with the information you have in many regards.

They gave a solid unflinching answer on both the questions of the EU and currency, yet were criticised for not having a plan B.

Had they given a plan B they'd have been criticised for not having a solid plan, giving wishy washy answers and being unprepared for an unpredictable economic future.

But if we showed one thing last time, it is that we can put forward a solid case with a well thought out plan.

The white paper was perhaps not without it's flaws and the predictions on various economic issues can only be based on best estimates.

But compare that comprehensive document to the plans laid out by the Leave side, for a UK out of the EU and it tells you everything you need to know about our ability to put a plan in place.

I've no doubt the Scottish government will, once again, put forward a well thought out, costed and planned "white paper 2". But they don't have a crystal ball.

what a crock of utter shite. The plan put forward in first referendum was written on the bag of a cigarette box, after being written by a delusional self serving First Minister, who believed that oil would never come down in price and that the independence fairy would save him. Luckily enough, the Scoypttish people saw through the manure laid before them. They will do so again if required.

punkrockcroc

She is doing her job.

Her parties manifesto states that change like Scotland being taken out the EU against our will would lead to the SNP requesting a second referendum.

This is the mandate she has been elected with and she is getting on with it.

By "doing her job"she's also ignoring the fact that many Scots also voted to leave incidentally I voted to remain she doesn't seem to understand it was a UK vote as a whole not by certain areas.

michael_bolton

By "doing her job"she's also ignoring the fact that many Scots also voted to leave incidentally I voted to remain she doesn't seem to understand it was a UK vote as a whole not by certain areas.

Not sure how you work that out.

Going by your logic, nobody would ever do anything as long as one person voted against it. Leave voters have to accept that they're in the minority in Scotland and will need to accept the political landscape they live in. I think it's more reasonable for our elected leader to explore fulfilling the will of over 60% of voters rather than under 40%.

Not sure how you work that out.

Going by your logic, nobody would ever do anything as long as one person voted against it. Leave voters have to accept that they're in the minority in Scotland and will need to accept the political landscape they live in. I think it's more reasonable for our elected leader to explore fulfilling the will of over 60% of voters rather than under 40%.

like the losers did with the indy ref.

the vote wasn't an isolated Scotland only vote, we voted as part of the union, you cant just pick the bits you like outta a vote. Edinburgh voted mostly for union, Glasgow mainly separation at the indy ref, where do you stop pandering to smaller groups, do you keep going until the the group only has one person left.

the vote was a united kingdom vote, not a Scotland one, you vote in a democratic way, you have to abide by the outcome of that right to democracy and get on with result, not sneak about to undermine the "MAJORITY" who voted leave.

get on with it.

the vote wasn't an isolated Scotland only vote, we voted as part of the union, you cant just pick the bits you like outta a vote. Edinburgh voted mostly for union, Glasgow mainly separation at the indy ref, where do you stop pandering to smaller groups, do you keep going until the the group only has one person left.

the vote was a united kingdom vote, not a Scotland one, you vote in a democratic way, you have to abide by the outcome of that right to democracy and get on with result, not sneak about to undermine the "MAJORITY" who voted leave.

get on with it.

except the notion of the UK as a single political entity is defunct.  Devolution has seen to that. Followed up by our referendum a couple of years ago.

Yes, Westminster has ultimate say, but the politics of a devolved system means attention has to be paid. Realpolitik and all that.

michael_bolton

get on with it.

I think you're being willfully simplistic here. Before this vote happened everyone knew that there would be controversy if Scotland voted remain yet the UK as a whole voted out. Like it or not, the UK is a union of different nations. By definition this means those nations are going to differ in some ways. When those differences are perceived by enough people to be significant then a situation like this will arise.

I refuse to believe you don't understand that. The comparison to post-Scottish referendum does not logically stand. Yes voters and campaigners did accept the result. There were no riots in the street, no re-runs, no protests. It was accepted. Now, many perceive the situation to have changed. That's politics.

Again, I'm sure you understand this, but are choosing to pretend you don't. It's really all very straight forward.

I think you're being willfully simplistic here. Before this vote happened everyone knew that there would be controversy if Scotland voted remain yet the UK as a whole voted out. Like it or not, the UK is a union of different nations. By definition this means those nations are going to differ in some ways. When those differences are perceived by enough people to be significant then a situation like this will arise.

I refuse to believe you don't understand that. The comparison to post-Scottish referendum does not logically stand. Yes voters and campaigners did accept the result. There were no riots in the street, no re-runs, no protests. It was accepted. Now, many perceive the situation to have changed. That's politics.

Again, I'm sure you understand this, but are choosing to pretend you don't. It's really all very straight forward.

so what your saying is "Glasgow" should have its own vote on independence because they overwhelmingly voted for independence, compared to the Edinburgh.

the comparison is perfectly logical because the only limit on it you seem to have on when its ok, is when it suits your position

there were no protests ? there was more whinging going on than there is about the leave vote, half kickback was greetin their eyes oot.

michael_bolton

so what your saying is "Glasgow" should have its own vote on independence because they overwhelmingly voted for independence, compared to the Edinburgh.

the comparison is perfectly logical because the only limit on it you seem to have on when its ok, is when it suits your position

there were no protests ? there was more whinging going on than there is about the leave vote, half kickback was greetin their eyes oot.

Not really, though. Glasgow doesn't operate on a devolved system. It isn't recognised as a nation. It isn't a nation or a political entity in any real sense. Scotland clearly is. England clearly is.

The comparison only makes sense if you don't understand the UK political system, or if you pretend not to. I'll give you the benefit of the doubt (having seen you post before) and assume you're at it.

Also, complaining about something and protesting about it are not the same thing. The democratic choice made in the 2014 referendum was clearly respected by all sides. The No campaign don't seem to respect the democratic right of the Yes supporters to continue to campaign for the end they want.

Not really, though. Glasgow doesn't operate on a devolved system. It isn't recognised as a nation. It isn't a nation or a political entity in any real sense. Scotland clearly is. England clearly is.

The comparison only makes sense if you don't understand the UK political system, or if you pretend not to. I'll give you the benefit of the doubt (having seen you post before) and assume you're at it.

Also, complaining about something and protesting about it are not the same thing. The democratic choice made in the 2014 referendum was clearly respected by all sides. The No campaign don't seem to respect the democratic right of the Yes supporters to continue to campaign for the end they want.

How do you get the 2014 result was respected by both sides? Since the first second the 'Yes' campaign cried foul.  We were scared, we hated our country, we were sold on false promises.  The ink is still wet on the ballot paper and they are trying to organise another one.  We have had 2 already, they need to RESPECT the decision.

michael_bolton

How do you get the 2014 result was respected by both sides? Since the first second the 'Yes' campaign cried foul.  We were scared, we hated our country, we were sold on false promises.  The ink is still wet on the ballot paper and they are trying to organise another one.  We have had 2 already, they need to RESPECT the decision.

They do.

There have been no tanks. No guns. No political gridlock. No sit-ins in parliament. No strikes.

It's been accepted. People got on with life.

However, people have the right to continue to campaign for it if they want. And a political party with independence as their reason for existence (who have been elected three times in a row and who dominate our Westminster seats) have a right to continue to campaign for it.

Why not?

except the notion of the UK as a single political entity is defunct.  Devolution has seen to that. Followed up by our referendum a couple of years ago.

Yes, Westminster has ultimate say, but the politics of a devolved system means attention has to be paid. Realpolitik and all that.

Attention has to be paid but not to an excessive degree. The SNP seem to pipe up in demand of something any time anything happens. As I've said on many threads before, more people live in Yorkshire than Scotland. Therefore Yorkshire deserves more attention than Scotland. It wouldn't be a great political system if clumps of 5 million people across the UK were free to do their own thing or go their own way every time they disagreed with something, or something didn't go their way.

You can pretend that Scotland is an exceptional case but as someone pointed out a few posts back, Glasgow and Dundee backed Independence. Edinburgh didn't. So Scotland is no more of a political union than anywhere else.

michael_bolton

Attention has to be paid but not to an excessive degree. The SNP seem to pipe up in demand of something any time anything happens. As I've said on many threads before, more people live in Yorkshire than Scotland. Therefore Yorkshire deserves more attention than Scotland. It wouldn't be a great political system if clumps of 5 million people across the UK were free to do their own thing or go their own way every time they disagreed with something, or something didn't go their way.

You can pretend that Scotland is an exceptional case but as someone pointed out a few posts back, Glasgow and Dundee backed Independence. Edinburgh didn't. So Scotland is no more of a political union than anywhere else.

Yorkshire did not enter into a union with England that it can choose to exit at a time of its own choosing. Neither did Glasgow. Or Dundee. Or Bournemouth.

Scotland is a political entity and a nation that chose to enter a political union. Within the framework of the UK constitution Scotland has the right to leave if that is the will of its citizens.

That does not apply to Yorkshire or any of the other areas you care to mention. Even Wales, I think, cannot leave of its own choosing.

So, Scotland is in fact a special case. Simple constitutional stuff, mate. Buy a book.

Yorkshire did not enter into a union with England that it can choose to exit at a time of its own choosing. Neither did Glasgow. Or Dundee. Or Bournemouth.

Scotland is a political entity and a nation that chose to enter a political union. Within the framework of the UK constitution Scotland has the right to leave if that is the will of its citizens.

That does not apply to Yorkshire or any of the other areas you care to mention. Even Wales, I think, cannot leave of its own choosing.

So, Scotland is in fact a special case. Simple constitutional stuff, mate. Buy a book.

You're living in a time warp. It entered into a union 300 years ago. Looking forward to Italy reclaiming the Roman empire.

michael_bolton

You're living in a time warp. It entered into a union 300 years ago. Looking forward to Italy reclaiming the Roman empire.

No, you're in denial of reality.

Scotland retains the institutions of state.

Scotland has its own legal system. Scotland has banks. Scotland retains its own church. It retains its own educational system. It has a functioning parliament.

That level of statehood does not apply to Yorkshire. Or Glasgow. Or Edinburgh.

It's quite clear on the most basic of political levels Scotland is different from other regions in a way you don't seem to have grasped. Even different to Wales, which, as a principality, lost its institutions. For example, there is no distinct Welsh legal or education system. So, you can try to paint it as a centuries old relic or compare it to ancient empires, but we are talking about a real, living political entity which continues to this day.

Just because you don't understand that doesn't make it wrong. It means you don't understand how the UK is made up.

Ha ha. sky news asking who should be the Next PM .

Nicola Sturgeon getting most responses .

Might not be popular with kickbacks angry Unionists but much respected UK wide .

No, you're in denial of reality.

Scotland retains the institutions of state.

Scotland has its own legal system. Scotland has banks. Scotland retains its own church. It retains its own educational system. It has a functioning parliament.

That level of statehood does not apply to Yorkshire. Or Glasgow. Or Edinburgh.

It's quite clear on the most basic of political levels Scotland is different from other regions in a way you don't seem to have grasped. Even different to Wales, which, as a principality, lost its institutions. For example, there is no distinct Welsh legal or education system. So, you can try to paint it as a centuries old relic or compare it to ancient empires, but we are talking about a real, living political entity which continues to this day.

Just because you don't understand that doesn't make it wrong. It means you don't understand how the UK is made up.

My point at the very start was that none of this entitles 5m people in Scotland to more of the UK government's attention than 5m in Yorkshire, regardless of whether you think it should.

Might not be popular with kickbacks angry Unionists but much respected UK wide .

The UK electorate who have just voted to leave the EU are now backing an vehemently pro-EU candidate - can't beat a democratic electorate unswayed by the UK media.

but but but   Jimmy Krankie      nippy sweety      cannae walk in high heels        

Oh and Alex Salmond is fat. I think that's the main reasons why Scotland will never be Independent according to social media     

Judging by Junckers comments today in Brussels, it doesn't look like The Commission will pay much heed to our 1st Ministers entreaties given that they are insisting on no informal negotiations before Article 50 is invoked by the UK Government.

Forget any evidence of precedent re Greenland's withdrawal from the EU, Scotland NI & London remaining in the EU just ain't gonna happen. EU will only negotiate with sovereign Governments, and todays mood in the EU parliament is not particularly benevolent towards the UK, they are in the driving seat & they know it.

Sky Sources: President of the European Council #DonaldTusk has turned down a meeting with Scotland's First Minister #NicolaSturgeon

Jambo-Jimbo

Just said on Sky News that, Nicola Sturgeon who was due to fly to Brussels tomorrow to meet European Parliament President Martin Schulz for talks about Scotland remaining in the EU.

Well according to Sky, Donald Tusk has just said that now is not the right time to discuss this, so it looks like there isn't going to be any meeting.

Ouch.

Sky Sources: President of the European Council #DonaldTusk has turned down a meeting with Scotland's First Minister #NicolaSturgeon

Hahahaha one day she will understand that she is a Jim fixed it for me politician.

Just said on Sky News that, Nicola Sturgeon who was due to fly to Brussels tomorrow to meet European Parliament President Martin Schulz for talks about Scotland remaining in the EU.

Well according to Sky, Donald Tusk has just said that now is not the right time to discuss this, so it looks like there isn't going to be any meeting.

Ouch.

The Schulz  and Tusk are probably assuming that Brexit  can still be avoided.

They're probably right

Jambo-Jimbo

The Schulz  and Tusk are probably assuming that Brexit  can still be avoided.

They're probably right

I don't see how a democratic vote can be ignored, however in saying that the EU does have history in ignoring democratic votes which it doesn't like.

Sovereignty of parliament, material change of circumstances, Superceded by a general election, Superceded by a fresh referendum, some combination of those

Boris is already attempting to kick the problem down the road

So back to my OP can she get on with looking after Scotland and put her fanciful ideas on ways to sneak through another referendum to bed for a while!!

Unlikely as that would not give her the national and limited international publicity her massive ego craves.

Jambo-Jimbo

Sovereignty of parliament, material change of circumstances, Superceded by a general election, Superceded by a fresh referendum, some combination of those

Boris is already attempting to kick the problem down the road

That may be the case, hence why the delay in starting the process.

How many times did Ireland have to hold referendums until the EU got the result it wanted?  Denmark as well?  Two or three IIRC.

It would have to be included into someone's manifesto at a GE for them to hold another referendum, so watch this space.

Riddley Walker

It wouldn't be the EU that decides.

Standing up for the country = looking for reasons to hold another referendum.

And ignoring the fact that 62% voting remain is, if I've worked it out right, 42% of the Scottish electorate. Which in my book isn't a mandate for the posturing she's currently indulging in.

By that logic we would have had no UK government for the last 100 years

That may be the case, hence why the delay in starting the process.

How many times did Ireland have to hold referendums until the EU got the result it wanted? Denmark as well? Two or three IIRC.

It would have to be included into someone's manifesto at a GE for them to hold another referendum, so watch this space.

The delay is also down to the fact that as soon as the clock starts the EU has the stronger hand

It would take a particularly hardcore Europhobe to advocate a position where we commit to leave regardless of the terms of that departure

It would take an absolutely insane one to advocate entering negotiations having advertised that as our starting position.

By that logic we would have had no UK government for the last 100 years

My point was about mandates for referendums and yellow coloured maps being used to suggest 100% support.

1 - On the contrary. The EU currently has a huge incentive to retain Scotland/attract Scotland's new membership after Brexit. It could be seen to stem the flow and help avert future exits.

I'm finding it hard to see where you're coming from. No offence, but you're wrong in pretty much every sentence you write on this subject. I'm going for a run.

Maybe not then......?

Bowmans_Boot

That is a ridiculous argument. Which elections/referendums have been valid, then? Had the turn out been higher then the chances are the % voting to remain would have been higher, as well. I think a lot of people didn't vote (here and elsewhere) because they thought it was a foregone conclusion. 

My point was about mandates for referendums and yellow coloured maps being used to suggest 100% support.

Not going to do the math but by your logic there is no mandate to leave the EU.

Jambo-Jimbo

The delay is also down to the fact that as soon as the clock starts the EU has the stronger hand

It would take a particularly hardcore Europhobe to advocate a position where we commit to leave regardless of the terms of that departure

It would take an absolutely insane one to advocate entering negotiations having advertised that as our starting position.

Agreed, the EU have stated they have a plan in place, whilst the UK doesn't, thus the EU has the upper hand.

It is staggering the ineptitude of the Tory government that they never once thought they would lose and as a consequence didn't have the need for a plan B.

On the leave side, they didn't have access to the Civil Service and the whole Government machine so it was pretty well impossible for them to formulate the next move if they won. 

Faisal Islam, Sky's Political Editor said the other day that nothing could happen until the Civil Service got their teeth into it, which they will now be doing.

Sturgeon is prostituting Scotland all over Europe now and it is embarrassing.

SNP MEP "begging" the European parliament to take us' 

How does one woman hold Scotland and the rest of the UK to ransom.

Now Donald Tusk has told her to do one.

Krankie, Hi Donald, I am president Nicola and I have told everyone I am meeting you.

Donald, Sorry hen I don't want to meet you do one, and who are you by the way.

The Labour and Tory leaders in Scotland are turning into her lapdogs.

Agreed, the EU have stated they have a plan in place, whilst the UK doesn't, thus the EU has the upper hand.

It is staggering the ineptitude of the Tory government that they never once thought they would lose and as a consequence didn't have the need for a plan B.

On the leave side, they didn't have access to the Civil Service and the whole Government machine so it was pretty well impossible for them to formulate the next move if they won.

Faisal Islam, Sky's Political Editor said the other day that nothing could happen until the Civil Service got their teeth into it, which they will now be doing.

The Government had a perfectly good plan for Brexit: "Don't ****ing do it"

To blame them for the 17,410,000 other people ****ing the decision up isn't fair

Sturgeon is prostituting Scotland all over Europe now and it is embarrassing.

SNP MEP "begging" the European parliament to take us' 

How does one woman hold Scotland and the rest of the UK to ransom.

Now Donald Tusk has told her to do one.

Krankie, Hi Donald, I am president Nicola and I have told everyone I am meeting you.

Donald, Sorry hen I don't want to meet you do one, and who are you by the way.

The Labour and Tory leaders in Scotland are turning into her lapdogs.

That was as cringeworthy as much as it was embarrassing

What a pathetic man

Jambo-Jimbo

The Government had a perfectly good plan for Brexit: "Don't ******* do it"

To blame them for the 17,410,000 other people ******* the decision up isn't fair

Point taken.

This is what's been getting to me over the last couple of days. Journalists pushing on when and who is going to trigger article 50 , on and on they go. Why would you set the timescale before entering the negotiation? It's nippy as.

Point taken.

Mind you they deserve a slap for appeasing the far right by holding the referendum in the first place.

Space Mackerel

Just said on Sky News that everything is OK in the Tory Party and its all the fault of Corbyn [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]