Tour de France 2014

Boomstick

Who's all gearing up for the biggest annual sporting event in the world?

Here's a tracker for teams as they're announced - still a few big names missing.

http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/racing/tour-de-france/tour-de-france-2014-team-tracker-127521

Also interested in the personal, and quite bitter feud between Cavendish & Greg Henderson...

https://twitter.com/Greghenderson1/status/481134284410224641

What stages are we most looking forward to? Who's going to win/take the jerseys?

• Replies 362

I see Renshaw and Cavendish are teammates for the race again.

I'd imagine Cavendish is going for the green jersey.

Any news on Wiggins? I heard he'd been dropped then I heard he was in.

Interested to see how the English legs are.

The first week or two are always just nice wee sightseeing trips and the REAL race doesn't start until it hits the mountains.

Yellow - Contador

Green - Sagin

KOM - ? Pierre Rolland as a long shot.

I don't like Contador.

Sagan over Cav? OPQS have rebuilt their team around him. I think this could be Cav's time to get green again. Interesting to see that Nacer Bouhanni hasn't been included in the FDJ.fr roster yet considering he took the points classification at the Giro.

Interested to see how the English legs are.

The first week or two are always just nice wee sightseeing trips and the REAL race doesn't start until it hits the mountains.

The leader is often decided by the early time trial and then when they hit the mountains it is seeing if that leader can survive the mountains. This is why Froome is seen as a better prospect than Wiggins as he is a natural climber.

I don't like Contador.

Sagan over Cav? OPQS have rebuilt their team around him. I think this could be Cav's time to get green again. Interesting to see that Nacer Bouhanni hasn't been included in the FDJ.fr roster yet considering he took the points classification at the Giro.

Cav can get some of the sprint finishes but this will be a hard year for him with Kittel looking good but Sagan will get a lot of the intermediate sprint points as well as being capable of picking up a stage win or two, he is also the best out of the non specialist sprinters at picking up points in bunch sprints.

Was interesting when Wiggins said he wasn't likely to be picked and then Brailsford shortly afterwards was telling the press that "Froome doesn't pick the team, I do". You'd think there was no need to emphasis that. Makes me wonder if Froome rather than Wiggo is the agitator in that team after all.

I'm more interested in seeing Cav back in a team that supports him, though - Cav v Sagan could be awesome if they are both in top form throughout.

Love this time of year, no other sporting event comes close to Le Tour.

I don't like Contador.

The fact Renshaw is back as Cav's lead out man tells me he's going for Green.

I don't like Contador either.

Craig Gordons Gloves

I'd be looking at Quintana this year, he had a stormer in the mountains last year, just won the Giro.

Looking forward to seeing if the Sky machine will push Froome again this year or if they have another in mind.

I'd be looking at Quintana this year, he had a stormer in the mountains last year, just won the Giro.

Looking forward to seeing if the Sky machine will push Froome again this year or if they have another in mind.

Quintana will be lucky if he wins it as he isn't racing.

Craig Gordons Gloves

Quintana will be lucky if he wins it as he isn't racing.

whit? I must have missed that. What happened there? Is he injured?

It's fairly unusual nowadays for top riders to do 2 grand tours in a row even for a senior rider, and he is still young for a GC rider.

Rocco_Jambo

Yellow - Contador

Green - Sagin

KOM - ? Pierre Rolland as a long shot.

Pierre Roland's generally favourite or joint favourite with most bookies for the KOM.

Is he? Show's how good my judgement is I suppose. :2thumbsup:

Franco Fascione

Followed the fortunes of Rui Costa for a wee while, (Team Lampre-Merida). Road race world champion and just won the Tour de Suisse. Not sure how he'll do over the three weeks but I'll be supporting him and his team mates this year.

Hope Cav and the rest of the Brits give a good showing.

The fact Renshaw is back as Cav's lead out man tells me he's going for Green.

I don't like Contador either.

Is Renshaw still the same lead out man as he was between 2009 and 2011? Will be interesting to see how that goes.

Is Kittel over his fever that saw him retire from the Giro?

What about Bouhanni? He took the points classification at the Giro.

I love le tour. Went to see it for the first time last year and it was just an awesome experience.

Unfortunately I'm holidaying in Turkey and not France this year, and will be away for the grande depart :-(

I also think Contador will win.

Froome over Wiggins every day of the week. Cav is the main man though, and would love to see him get green.

Is Renshaw still the same lead out man as he was between 2009 and 2011? Will be interesting to see how that goes.

I reckon he will be the same. OPQS certainly think so.

Froome over Wiggins every day of the week. Cav is the main man though, and would love to see him get green.

I really feel for Wiggins, a top ten finish in Paris-Roubaix and an overall win at the Tour of California showed he can still cut it. If, as Taz said, it comes down to the intermediate sprints then I don't think Cav will get green. He studiously ignores them.

I reckon he will be the same. OPQS certainly think so.

Well OPQS are the top rated 'team' just now so I guess they're doing something right.

invernessjt

Shame Quintana won't be there. Always feel all the best riders should be at the Tour de France and think he could have been in with a chance of winning it this year.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Shame Quintana won't be there. Always feel all the best riders should be at the Tour de France and think he could have been in with a chance of winning it this year.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

He was excellent to watch last year, pity.

I'm going with Vincenzo Nibali. He's done nowt this year but I think his training is geared towards the Tour so could surprise a few. Hope Wiggins is riding as I just can't take to Froome. Be nice to see Cav getting annoyed again. Love Le Tour. Pisses all over Wimbledon.

I try to watch it but a lot of it is just too boring.

Took me a couple of attempts to get into cycling as a viewer (i'm not a cyclist). Think when you get an understanding of the teamwork involved it makes it a lot more enjoyable.

And of course even when the cycling is poor you are being taken on a trip round France via your tv - not a bad thing!

Greedy_Jambo

My old man was a cyclist. He says its not as exciting now that they're all off the drugs lol. Everyone is just knackered now.

JamboInSouthsea

Bit hacked off that my folks moved back from France a few years back, they were pretty close to Bergerac and could've soaked up the atmosphere on the cheap :(

Love Le Tour, is it on ITV again this year, or where?

Greedy_Jambo

I might stick a bet on contador to win it. I was forced to watch that last thing he was in and i was impressed by him making a break away on his own to eat up the seconds froome had on him. Plus he's the same age as me and i rekon i could win it. heh.

My old man was a cyclist. He says its not as exciting now that they're all off the drugs lol. Everyone is just knackered now.

I prefer that they're all ruined, it's not meant to be easy. It's the most brutal sporting challenge in the world. Watching Lance soar up the climbs just wasn't exciting. Seeing someone struggle and find that tiny little bit extra to push themselves beyond what should be physically possible is far more entertaining.

Bit hacked off that my folks moved back from France a few years back, they were pretty close to Bergerac and could've soaked up the atmosphere on the cheap :(

Love Le Tour, is it on ITV again this year, or where?

ITV have it until next year. Dreading the day it moves to a subscription channel, which I think might be sooner rather than later if clean, English speaking riders keep winning stuff.

Lot of talk about Contador, Froome, Costa et al but I'll be interested in what Nibali brings to to the race this year.

I'd love Nibali to do it but I just can't see it.

Best TDF news today is the confirmation from Trek That Jens Voigt is in the team. Always good value Jensie.

I'd love Nibali to do it but I just can't see it.

Best TDF news today is the confirmation from Trek That Jens Voigt is in the team. Always good value Jensie.

Mind he tweeted you? I was ultra jealous. I got wished a goodnight by Alex Dowsett once though so I'm over it.

Craig Gordons Gloves

One of the things i like about the tour is that it gets me back on my bike. I do a 150mile charity cycle at the beginning of June and afterwards i put my bike away and can't face it for a while - then the tour comes on and i'm back out again.

BigCGilmour

Most cyclists would say it's more so IMO...

I wonder how the stage times compare from the past now that all the teams have light weight carbon bikes. The stages change from year to year but some of the climbs such as Alpe d'Huez seem to repeat closely. Is it still down to the cyclists or the equipment to bring success?

Oddly the times on the big climbs are slower now than they were a few years ago. The weight thing isn't a big issue anyway as there is a minimum weight of 6.8Kg on bikes anyway, indeed some of the teams have to put lead ballast in the frames to make the weight limit.

Geraint Thomas took the silver medal in the TT National Championships today. Wiggins got gold with Dowsett in third.

Dowsett v Thomas on the penultimate stage should be an interesting battle. Really looking forward to that one.

Oddly the times on the big climbs are slower now than they were a few years ago. The weight thing isn't a big issue anyway as there is a minimum weight of 6.8Kg on bikes anyway, indeed some of the teams have to put lead ballast in the frames to make the weight limit.

Didn't know the weight limit rule so I wonder if the slower times are down to the riders being clean or do they just not have the stamina of the riders in the past. Eddy Merckx used to like a beer or two at the end of each stage so they say, maybe that's the secret!

Greedy_Jambo

Contador and Froome are heavy favourites with the bookies. Not even worth betting on.

Craig Gordons Gloves

I'm interested in how Porte will do this year, Did a good job as Froome's right hand guy last year (couple of stages aside) and i think he's got it in him to be able to push if needed.

JamboInSouthsea

Don't know much about the sport, as a whole, but how do those of ye that ken think this years route compares with others in terms of any favourance (real word?) for either guessing yellow jersey, stage winners, sprinters etc...loosely disguised as a betting question ?

Looking at the start lists confirmed so far, I can't see anyone with the class to win apart from Froome or Contador. I don't gamble but I think Contador will win this year. Sky haven't been great this season, so might not be able to give Froome the support needed. Outside of that I can only see Nibali and Talansky putting in a realistic challenge for the remaining podium place. Although riders like Costa, Hansen and Andy Schleck (if he can find form again) could all be up there.

On the flat stages Cavendish and Kittel will hoover up the stage wins between them. There is only one time-trial (Stage 20) that I can see. Tony Martin would be most people's favourite, but the course is a bit lumpy so might suit Cancellara more. I can't see anyone other than Sagan winning the Green jersey again.

I don't know if you could put money on it, but David Millar to lead the final stage on the Champs-Elysees at some point would be a good shout. It's his last tour; he did it last year just in case that one was. Also think he'll be looking for a stage win on one of the transitional stages like Stages 12 &15 for the same reason.

The beauty of pro-cycling all of this could be bollocks. So many variables, just takes some bad weather, crashes and mechanical issues and everything changes.

Franco Fascione

Looking at the start lists confirmed so far, I can't see anyone with the class to win apart from Froome or Contador. I don't gamble but I think Contador will win this year. Sky haven't been great this season, so might not be able to give Froome the support needed. Outside of that I can only see Nibali and Talansky putting in a realistic challenge for the remaining podium place. Although riders like Costa, Hansen and Andy Schleck (if he can find form again) could all be up there.

On the flat stages Cavendish and Kittel will hoover up the stage wins between them. There is only one time-trial (Stage 20) that I can see. Tony Martin would be most people's favourite, but the course is a bit lumpy so might suit Cancellara more. I can't see anyone other than Sagan winning the Green jersey again.

I don't know if you could put money on it, but David Millar to lead the final stage on the Champs-Elysees at some point would be a good shout. It's his last tour; he did it last year just in case that one was. Also think he'll be looking for a stage win on one of the transitional stages like Stages 12 &15 for the same reason.

The beauty of pro-cycling all of this could be bollocks. So many variables, just takes some bad weather, crashes and mechanical issues and everything changes.

Would be fab to see David Millar bow out with a wee win. Since coming back from his ban he's done a lot of hard work to make cycling cleaner.

JamboInSouthsea

Thanks for your response...may simply choose names/teams at random..:lol: