What's the worst pub you've ever been in ?

fordy

Jeremy Goss

Got my flat down near asda couple years ago so ventured in to the annfield with the missus to see what it was like. we got the same stare. had our drinks and left, never been back.

There was this young lad in the corner knocking back the pints, looked about 12. Some other dafty who looked like he has never set foot out of street let alone Leith, showing anyone in close proximity porn on his phone. Scrolling through each photo he would say "eh thats the one a shagged last week", next photo "used to go oot wi her". They were clearly photos downloaded from the internet.

This place didn't seem a trouble magnet type of pub, it was just completely backward, like something out of Deliverance.

• Replies 379

• Bridge of Djoum

• Tazio

• Maroon Sailor

His name is

Springfield Vaults near parkhead!

The Flying Scotsman near kings cross in London! Worth a visit tho, if you've been you'll know!

Apparently the grapes on south clerk is is a shocker, never had the pleasure tho.

Oh and the jolly in moredun!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I'm sure it was the Annfield that they discovered a dead bloke had been sitting at a table all night and nobody had noticed until they tried to chuck him out at the end of the night.

Not quite as bad as the Waverley Inn at Southouse/Gilmerton, bloke got battered to death in the pool room. CCTV showing folk just stepping over the body as they continued playing pool!

Looks like it was the inspiration for the pub in shameless too!

181113-110248_waverley-exterior-001.jpg

Grey Horse on Old Dalkeith Road, was going to watch Easthouses Lily play at Peffermill years ago on a Saturday, 4 of us went in for about an hour before the game, there was 3 fights, 1 of the fights was 2 pensioners,another was 2 women, crazy place.

Think the grey horse was done up 2 or 3 years ago. The captains bar beside old college used to be pretty bad. Never been in but the Centurion on St Johns road used to look pretty uninviting

The stadium bar, right beside ibrox.

Have to disagree.

Been in there a few times when doing the Glasgow Subcrawl.

Dare say if you go in looking for trouble you'll find it but they've always been pretty welcoming of drunk students having a day out at the Subcrawl.

Not the best decor etc but bar staff and locals are nice enough. Been in much worse in Glasgow!

Never been in but the Centurion on St Johns road used to look pretty uninviting

Cenny's a good pub mate, you'd be surprised! The oak along the road is a hundred times worse for bother.

My vote goes to the smithfield in Manchester, oaft!

I've heard of a few people going to the Cenny, guess you cant judge a book by its cover or indeed a pub by its exterior

Springfield Vaults at Parkhead just before the 96 Coca Cola Final. Tables and "chairs" bolted to the floor. Dire beer so had a bottle of Becks - which had a big feckin silver sticker saying "duty free , not for resale".

The TV was in a cage with chicken wire on it - which was just as well as the Beast appeared on the screen and some Jambo threw a beer bottle at it. Worst. Pub. Ever.

Chathams in the Gorbals. Went in to source some "tobacco" in my student days. A group of 15 year olds sorted me in full view. In fact the barman nodded me in their direction.

Guest GhostHunter

I used to manage Kays Bar - and thinking back it was so chock full of yuppies back then, it makes me shiver remembering.

Put me right off Dire Straits as well.

Captain's Cabin and Rob Roy were pretty wild on their day

both gone now

never brave enough to venture in to the Waverley!

Got my flat down near asda couple years ago so ventured in to the annfield with the missus to see what it was like. we got the same stare. had our drinks and left, never been back.

Been living in Newhaven for a dozen years now and have never even contemplated going over the door there. Same with the Prom. There used to be a terrible dive on Craighall Road too called the Lobster Pot, later the Granville, now thankfully closed.

Stuart Lyon

Kay's Bar I remember it well. Full of yuppies as you say Dexter but the barman who declined to make a beer shandy for the wife was jus as big a tosser. His excuse was it was real ale!

Serj Tankian

Reivers in Galashiels the smell of urine as you walk in then going in the bar seeing some of the regulars pished up dregs and upstairs SF/IRA supporters club . One to avoid .

Probably The Grapes in Newington. A mate and I had stoated along to Peckhams for a booze re-fill for pre match not realising that the licencing laws had changed and Peckhams could no longer sell booze after 10. Both chocking on a pint and wandered in. Full of absolute ******* mutants. Horrible, horrible people. Still stayed in a while out of intrigue, ended up having 2 or 3 pints.

A few years ago I went into a pub in Prague called the Golden Star with my son and a mate to watch the New Year derby. Worst bar I think I have ever been in. It makes my local in Corstorphine, The Oak, look like a palace in comparison.

mulleted_jambo

Captain's Cabin and Rob Roy were pretty wild on their day

both gone now

never brave enough to venture in to the Waverley!

Been in the Waverly once. I didn't really know what I was going to till I got there. A boy from my old work drank in there sometimes and I was a young lad and didn't think anything of it. Had a couple of games of pool and was fine. Probably about 10 years ago now but the only two things that I remember was the woman sitting in a corner with a spit glass (which she was using regularly) on the table next to her drink and playing the puggy and actually trying our best to lose.

Never felt the urge to go back funnily enough. That was a weekday afternoon I can imagine it being a wee bit worse on a Friday or Saturday night.

Bairds Bar beside the Barrowlands in Glasgow. Got dropped off for a Leftfield gig early so 10 of us went there for a pint. Ended in the 'lounge' bar which was the safest area, the live band were playing a selection of choice Provo songs.

Didn't help that we were all progressing into a state of 'worst for wear' prior to the gig. Left as soon as the Barrowlands opened, but bumped into an old tramp looking guy outside who had been sick all down the front of his jumper and was shouting something incoherent at me.

Sadly shut down last year.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/time-called-on-notorious-pub-dalglish-made-famous.20165870

Jingle Bells

I was a regular in the Vietnam (Dundee Arms) before and after games back in the 80s never had any problems in there and found it ok. I remember going to a pub in Shepherds Bush once going to the bar and being told that I was the wrong colour for that part of the bar and could I go next door for service. Also went to a pub near Dagenham and Redbridge's ground before they played the O's in a pre season friendly and finding I was the only one in the place wearing a shirt, and that I "shouldn't hang around in this pub" ended up in the off license up the road, very strange experience.

Went to a boozer out your way,maybe Guida Park in the 80's. It was in the middle of a scheme and only consisted of four concrete walls/roof, iron bars between the punters and the bar staff with a hatch to shove the money/pints through. The locals weren't that friendly either.

Been living in Newhaven for a dozen years now and have never even contemplated going over the door there. Same with the Prom. There used to be a terrible dive on Craighall Road too called the Lobster Pot, later the Granville, now thankfully closed.

The Lobster Pot was pretty inoffensive on the one night I went in.

Just remembered the Quarter Gill up at Newington - full of nutters (well it was around 2008).

Boaby Prentice

Boozer in Prauge that made Stratties look 5 star. Opened at 08:00 closed at 16:00

Walked in old woman had pi55hed herself!

Beer was cheep - but crap

Boozer in Prauge that made Stratties look 5 star. Opened at 08:00 closed at 16:00

Walked in old woman had pi55hed herself!

Beer was cheep - but crap

Crap beer in Prague...?!?!?!? :arry: :omg!: :rudi:

When visiting a mate in Govan we ended up in some dump called the Tall Cranes. Bit of a hole.

North Berwick Jambo

For me one place tops the lot! In Newlyn Cornwall there is a pub called The Swordfish Inn which is full of the local trawlermen most nights, the vast majority of these guys drink like their lives depend on it. There are so many fights that every single item in the place is fixed down, stools, tables, pictures, ornaments etc, even the fruit machine has big steel bars holding it to the wall so it can't be used as a weapon. It was shown in the series Britain's Worst Pubs a few years ago and it looked worse than I remembered! :)

Grey Horse on Old Dalkeith Road, was going to watch Easthouses Lily play at Peffermill years ago on a Saturday, 4 of us went in for about an hour before the game, there was 3 fights, 1 of the fights was 2 pensioners,another was 2 women, crazy place.

My grandad got barred from there when he was in his 60s, for a fight with another pensioner. I wonder .........

Reivers in Galashiels the smell of urine as you walk in then going in the bar seeing some of the regulars pished up dregs and upstairs SF/IRA supporters club . One to avoid .

Very much this.

Stinking hovel.

My grandad got barred from there when he was in his 60s, for a fight with another pensioner. I wonder .........

Have to disagree.

Been in there a few times when doing the Glasgow Subcrawl.

Dare say if you go in looking for trouble you'll find it but they've always been pretty welcoming of drunk students having a day out at the Subcrawl.

Not the best decor etc but bar staff and locals are nice enough. Been in much worse in Glasgow!

yeah that's actually not bad. It's been reopened as a Louden Tavern now though so it's a full blown Rangers pub now. Still not overly bad though apart from the Rangers pish.

Glamorgan Jambo

In Edinburgh it's a toss up between the Busy Bee and The Sovereign (now Winstons) in Corstorphine.

Down here the Ninian Park is well worth avoiding at all times

Also a pub called the Emerald Loop in Chicago

Kay's Bar I remember it well. Full of yuppies as you say Dexter but the barman who declined to make a beer shandy for the wife was jus as big a tosser. His excuse was it was real ale!

Kay's is a good shout. Full of wankers.

Seem to the remember the Rob Roy at the other end of Cowan Street being just as bad, is that still open?

Rob Roy isn't that bad tbh, mind you, only ever go in on a Thursday for poker. Probably more 'interesting' at the weekend!

RE:The Annfield

Working in asda I go to the the annfield fairly regularly, I'm a little shocked that there have been people in who haven't felt welcome as I always thought the regulars there were quite welcoming to strangers (not saying those people are lying btw).

Agree that the place is a little unorthadox, there doesn't seem to be any structure and you get the feeling that it's run on a day to day basis.

I genuinly laughed at the post about the guy who "looks about 12", I know exactly who you mean, hes also an asda worker and unsurprisingly a hibby,he's actually an ok lad if a little loud.

The pissed barman wasn't a somewhat round and bespectacled guy was he? Again,asda worker, who sometimes helps out.

The common theme on this post is "asda", in all honesty if it wasn't for the store then doors probably would have closed by now.

It's by no means a top quality boozer but I don't think it belongs in this thread either.

Oh and as for the Deal or no deal thing (shit patter by the guys btw), they do go a bit radge with shows like that, you should hear them when "The Chase" is on.

Very much this.

Stinking hovel.

they have a hibs supporters club in there now. that`ll explain the smell

The Star Inn in Alloa,Full of bottomenders. Nuff said

Bottomenders :rofl:

I've not heard that term for decades, it was like Beirut down there.

Sent from my C5303 using Tapatalk

Jase Robertson

The Albion Bar. Utter Sh*thole.

The Boundary Bar was something else. An uncle who lived near it took my mum, who was visiting, in to show her what it was like. She walked into the bogs to find her brother's bursd paggering. It must have been around noon.

The Coach and Horses in Dalkeith. Based on a particular incident when a fellow patron had a bout of diarrhea into the urinal. Whilst people were using said urinal. Disgraceful scenes.

Pete Seeger

Bottomenders :rofl:

I've not heard that term for decades, it was like Beirut down there.

Sent from my C5303 using Tapatalk

Harsh on Beirut.

Angry Haggis

Was in that Grapes bar in South Clerck Street a few years ago on a Friday dinner time-ish...some characters in there.

But to be honest I think the price of the bevy attracts a certain type of clientele in most hovels (not all though)

Stuart Lyon

The Grapes is busy as AH says because of the price of the drink. Most of the nearby pubs are more upmarket compared to the Grapes and their prices are pitched to discourage what they deem as unsuitable customers. Diane's is a bit similar and so is Mather's at the West End.

tommythejambo

RE:The Annfield

Working in asda I go to the the annfield fairly regularly, I'm a little shocked that there have been people in who haven't felt welcome as I always thought the regulars there were quite welcoming to strangers (not saying those people are lying btw).

Agree that the place is a little unorthadox, there doesn't seem to be any structure and you get the feeling that it's run on a day to day basis.

I genuinly laughed at the post about the guy who "looks about 12", I know exactly who you mean, hes also an asda worker and unsurprisingly a hibby,he's actually an ok lad if a little loud.

The pissed barman wasn't a somewhat round and bespectacled guy was he? Again,asda worker, who sometimes helps out.

The common theme on this post is "asda", in all honesty if it wasn't for the store then doors probably would have closed by now.

It's by no means a top quality boozer but I don't think it belongs in this thread either.

Oh and as for the Deal or no deal thing (shit patter by the guys btw), they do go a bit radge with shows like that, you should hear them when "The Chase" is on.

Used to work in that asda until last March. Used to go in now and then after work.

Was always made to feel pretty welcome, but looking back it is a strange boozer.

Know the two guys you are talking about as well. The boy does look about 12 though.

tommythejambo

Staying in Musselburgh there used to be a few dives but most of the really bad ones have shut down.

Being a publican myself I'm glad my pub hasn't made an appearance yet.

The Coach and Horses in Dalkeith. Based on a particular incident when a fellow patron had a bout of diarrhea into the urinal. Whilst people were using said urinal. Disgraceful scenes.

A bit unfair on the Coach. Might be a different jobby story to the one I know about though.