Things you've always wondered about but couldn't be bothered to find out

3 minutes ago, JWL said:

When there's a car crash in a film or tv programme, like a car going off the edge of a cliff stuff, do the tv/film crew organise a clear up of the debris left behind or do they just say, ah feck that?

Surely they are obliged to clear it up?

Staying with TV, how hard is it to fill a cup with water when actors are carrying cups or pretending to drink from them. You can clearly see that is has nothing in it by the way it's carried.

• Replies 5.5k

• Tazio

• redjambo

• FWJ

6 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Staying with TV, how hard is it to fill a cup with water when actors are carrying cups or pretending to drink from them. You can clearly see that is has nothing in it by the way it's carried.

And they never eat food either 

26 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

I would have thought so too but I seen one in Murder, She Wrote (yeah, I know) yesterday that showed a car going off a cliff and it was smashed into smithereens. Not sure how you'd even begin to clear up.

Yeah, agree. Nobody holds a hot mug of tea by anything else than the handle.

8 minutes ago, JWL said:

I would have thought so too but I seen one in Murder, She Wrote (yeah, I know) yesterday that showed a car going off a cliff and it was smashed into smithereens. Not sure how you'd even begin to clear up.

Yeah, agree. Nobody holds a hot mug of tea by anything else than the handle.

When you're watching edgy tv dramas your mind can race and start asking all sorts of strange questions. 😄

20 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

When you're watching edgy tv dramas your mind can race and start asking all sorts of strange questions. 😄

When I get in from work it's Diagnosis Murder then Jessica, edgy doesn't come close.

On 17/09/2023 at 17:40, Maple Leaf said:

That's a reasonable question, but don't expect an answer because no-one knows the answer. I suggest that making up any answer you like is the way to go.  

And persecuting those who don’t agree with your made-up answer. 

On 16/09/2023 at 09:58, ǝǝɥʇᴉɯS said:

I found this thing that ****s with text and wanted to see if it would work as a username, nothing more exciting than that I'm afraid 

Is the 'S' still the normal way around or is the capitalisation unable to drop below the line of the rest of the text?

2 hours ago, Taffin said:

Is the 'S' still the normal way around or is the capitalisation unable to drop below the line of the rest of the text?

No idea, I just copied and pasted the result. 

Just oot walkin the dog and stumbled across something that fits this thread exactly. When it rains, why do some of the houses in my scheme look like this, but others remain perfectly white? And why does it always seem to be a gable end that turns this colour? Has it be badly build/harled? 

Seen it for years and always wondered. Pic taken about 30 seconds ago for illustration. 

IMG_4909.jpeg

On 27/09/2023 at 15:44, Mr Sifter said:

Just oot walkin the dog and stumbled across something that fits this thread exactly. When it rains, why do some of the houses in my scheme look like this, but others remain perfectly white? And why does it always seem to be a gable end that turns this colour? Has it be badly build/harled? 

Seen it for years and always wondered. Pic taken about 30 seconds ago for illustration. 

IMG_4909.jpeg

Looks like the rain has re-vitalised the remains of some graffiti that's been painted over ?    On second thoughts, who would manage to spray graffiti 20-30 feet up the wall ?      Strange that its only the upstairs level, but ok immediately under the window.  

IMG_4909.jpeg

Would guess it is linked to some sort of bacteria or mould. We get little green fuzzy ball things growing on our slated roof but only on the east facing side that gets the sun rise in the morning and the side that won't get much wind.

6 hours ago, Lone Striker said:

Looks like the rain has re-vitalised the remains of some graffiti that's been painted over ?    On second thoughts, who would manage to spray graffiti 20-30 feet up the wall ?      Strange that its only the upstairs level, but ok immediately under the window.  

Funny you should mention under the window, cos on my gable end, I sometimes see a tiny wee Y shaped mark after it rains…immediately underneath my window! 

Edited by Mr Sifter

6 hours ago, hughesie27 said:

Would guess it is linked to some sort of bacteria or mould. We get little green fuzzy ball things growing on our slated roof but only on the east facing side that gets the sun rise in the morning and the side that won't get much wind.

Could be onto something Hughsie cos that is in fact an east facing gable end…🤔

IMG_4909.jpeg

Its a fungus called Gloeocapsa magma. You can grt it chemically cleaned.

4 hours ago, been here before said:

Its a fungus called Gloeocapsa magma. You can grt it chemically cleaned.

Interesting. 👍  Any thoughts on why it was only on the upstairs level in that photo ?  

21 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Interesting. 👍  Any thoughts on why it was only on the upstairs level in that photo ?  

Perhaps heat from the home make the walls a bit too hot or less damp. Also maybe else sunlight getting to it due to the fence and shed.

How come the stonework at the base of old buildings with canals right beside them (e.g. Venice) haven't eroded to the point of building collapse  after hundreds of years of continuous contact with polluted water ? 

th?id=OIP.YEP3wUFbudQ3qsw0rxZnWQHaE9&pid=Api&P=0&h=180

Edited by Lone Striker

Here's one that I stumbled upon this week. How come that when I travel abroad, Spain in this case, my William Hill app automatically changes into the Spanish version but when I landed back in Edinburgh on Monday, it doesn't revert back to UK? The only way I could find to change it back was to delete the app and then re-install the thing!

On 04/10/2023 at 15:10, Lone Striker said:

How come the stonework at the base of old buildings with canals right beside them (e.g. Venice) haven't eroded to the point of building collapse  after hundreds of years of continuous contact with polluted water ? 

I'm going to guess at two reasons.  Not enough impact speed, and not enough time.

2 minutes ago, henrysmithsgloves said:

The p in pswimming pool is though 😬

Every day's a school day 😄👍

1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

Are the two E's in Bee silent?

There are 3 E's in your bee silent, What sort of question even is this?

1 minute ago, henrysmithsgloves said:

When was this?

th-2300808052.jpg

Gascoigne and Alan 'Airdrie Tosser' Lawrence? Off the top of my head, 95ish Id think.

henrysmithsgloves
6 minutes ago, been here before said:

Gascoigne and Alan 'Airdrie Tosser' Lawrence? Off the top of my head, 95ish Id think.

Been racking my brain🤫

On 04/10/2023 at 15:10, Lone Striker said:

The foundations are treated oak which lasts forever under water.

The brickwork does erode over time but requires moving water to actually do the eroding.

In the olden days a few boats being punted along at a very slow pace meant not much movement so the erosion wasn't so bad.

These days there's far too much traffic travelling far too fast and it's eating away at the bricks.

17 hours ago, Cade said:

The foundations are treated oak which lasts forever under water.

The brickwork does erode over time but requires moving water to actually do the eroding.

In the olden days a few boats being punted along at a very slow pace meant not much movement so the erosion wasn't so bad.

These days there's far too much traffic travelling far too fast and it's eating away at the bricks.

Thanks for that thorough answer 👍   

That wee bit of Midlothian (Danderhall / Millerhill etc) that is inside the bypass - why is that?  Was it the historical boundary - although Edinburgh used to be in Midlothian so how was the border decided?

I don’t know but I’d have thought people in this area feel more part of Edinburgh than they do Dalkeith etc?

What are the chances of a land-grab by the CofE like they did with Leith a century ago?

2 hours ago, FWJ said:

That wee bit of Midlothian (Danderhall / Millerhill etc) that is inside the bypass - why is that?  Was it the historical boundary - although Edinburgh used to be in Midlothian so how was the border decided?

I don’t know but I’d have thought people in this area feel more part of Edinburgh than they do Dalkeith etc?

What are the chances of a land-grab by the CofE like they did with Leith a century ago?

It doesn't answer your question but these are the guys who decide local authority boundaries: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boundaries_Scotland

It is not unknown for localities to be switched between local authority areas. In 1975, for example, after the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, West Lothian lost Bo'Ness to Falkirk, but gained East Calder and West Calder from Midlothian. By the same Act, the newly-created City of Edinburgh absorbed Queensferry, Kirkliston and part of Winchburgh from West Lothian, as well as Currie and Cramond from Midlothian.

Interestingly, although Leith was officially incorporated into Edinburgh in 1920, a plebiscite took place in which the people of Leith voted 26,810 to 4,340 against the merger. The population of Leith at the time of was 80,000 and it was Scotland's sixth largest town.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leith

On 16/09/2023 at 10:39, JudyJudyJudy said:

I think when you ascend to heaven you look your " fabulous" best. So for me ill be around 21. 

What if it's an infant? They haven't yet become their fabulous best so they're going to get a surprise when they get there and they've got pubes and boobs or whatever.

The alternative, that they don't grow up is just cruel. While all the other souls go round having wine and stuff, they're stuck with milk & honey and keeping an eye out just in case Jimmy Savile made it. 

On 19/09/2023 at 13:00, JWL said:

When there's a car crash in a film or tv programme, like a car going off the edge of a cliff stuff, do the tv/film crew organise a clear up of the debris left behind or do they just say, ah feck that?

I've got pals whose house has been used for filming and, as well as them getting a decent bit of wedge from the production company, they got full "restitution" (I think that's the word) when the place was put back together - better than it had been before. 

I imagine that's the norm for any location. Someone gets a bit of compensation and the film crew undertake to tidy up after themselves. 

On 19/09/2023 at 13:05, Ron Burgundy said:

Eating and drinking on set hardly happens. You'll see characters pushing their chips around the plate and cutting up their dinner into little morsels, hardly ever putting something into their mouths. When they do, it will be half nothing. Reasons would include the chance that there has to be multiple takes of the scene and there's a risk that the actor gets stuffed full. Even with one take, they don't usually want to film an actor masticating (apart from in those specialist gynaecological information films you can get on certain internet sites), or struggling to deliver lines with a lamb chop in their gob. 

2 hours ago, redjambo said:

It doesn't answer your question but these are the guys who decide local authority boundaries: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boundaries_Scotland

It is not unknown for localities to be switched between local authority areas. In 1975, for example, after the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, West Lothian lost Bo'Ness to Falkirk, but gained East Calder and West Calder from Midlothian. By the same Act, the newly-created City of Edinburgh absorbed Queensferry, Kirkliston and part of Winchburgh from West Lothian, as well as Currie and Cramond from Midlothian.

I think it’s just part of my (not really and shouldn’t joke about it) OCD, that it would make things “tidier” if it was just all Edinburgh inside the bypass..

51 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

What if it's an infant? They haven't yet become their fabulous best so they're going to get a surprise when they get there and they've got pubes and boobs or whatever.

The alternative, that they don't grow up is just cruel. While all the other souls go round having wine and stuff, they're stuck with milk & honey and keeping an eye out just in case Jimmy Savile made it. 

I've got pals whose house has been used for filming and, as well as them getting a decent bit of wedge from the production company, they got full "restitution" (I think that's the word) when the place was put back together - better than it had been before. 

I imagine that's the norm for any location. Someone gets a bit of compensation and the film crew undertake to tidy up after themselves. 

Eating and drinking on set hardly happens. You'll see characters pushing their chips around the plate and cutting up their dinner into little morsels, hardly ever putting something into their mouths. When they do, it will be half nothing. Reasons would include the chance that there has to be multiple takes of the scene and there's a risk that the actor gets stuffed full. Even with one take, they don't usually want to film an actor masticating (apart from in those specialist gynaecological information films you can get on certain internet sites), or struggling to deliver lines with a lamb chop in their gob. 

Apparently in the famous ‘worth waiting for’ lager scene in Ice Cold in Alex real lager had to be used as nothing else looked or foamed authentically.  Sylvia Sims said John Mills was half-cut after several takes.

34 minutes ago, henrysmithsgloves said:

Has anyone bought a sofa from DFS when they've no sale on?

Isn’t there a law that to have a ‘sale’ price at least one branch out of all of them (if they’re a chain) has to have the goods at full price for a certain number of weeks a month?

Edited by FWJ

35 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Sylvia Sims said John Mills was half-cut after several takes

Mills tells the same story.

Sims was sex on a stick in that film.

c9d5d1fabf2c15ac803fc31b49a64f3f.thumb.jpg.7536cb0c31948e79ccc452efc7feaa07.jpg

The food and drink thing is also about continuity. On a decent film or tv set every time the director calls cut on a scene the continuity staff take photos of any variables like amounts of food on a plate or drink in a glass. Then when they shoot the scene from a different angle these things don’t change. 
A mate did extra work on a Taggart years ago on a scene in a bar. The props department forgot to order alcohol free beer so they all got real booze with the Instruction to try not to down it for continuity. So of course they necked it every time filming stopped so they had to get a top up to where it was. Paid a days wages for standing around getting slowly pissed can’t be too bad a days work. 

Just now, Tazio said:

The food and drink thing is also about continuity. On a decent film or tv set every time the director calls cut on a scene the continuity staff take photos of any variables like amounts of food on a plate or drink in a glass. Then when they shoot the scene from a different angle these things don’t change. 
A mate did extra work on a Taggart years ago on a scene in a bar. The props department forgot to order alcohol free beer so they all got real booze with the Instruction to try not to down it for continuity. So of course they necked it every time filming stopped so they had to get a top up to where it was. Paid a days wages for standing around getting slowly pissed can’t be too bad a days work. 

Aye a heard u the first time 😂

henrysmithsgloves
1 hour ago, FWJ said:

Isn’t there a law that to have a ‘sale’ price at least one branch out of all of them (if they’re a chain) has to have the goods at full price for a certain number of weeks a month?

I know a certain car dealership put prices up about Nov,then lowered prices in Jan and called it a sale, but the cars on average were five hundred more than they were in November 🧐

1 hour ago, henrysmithsgloves said:

Has anyone bought a sofa from DFS when they've no sale on?

😀  Aye, DFS are rather  fond of a "sale".   I think stores like that get away with  it because  the items in their summer sale are not the same ones that were reduced in their spring sale, etc.    

The worst for that is the outdoor shop Trespass.  Every week, huge  (alleged) discount percentages on some range of items - anything up to 70% discount.      

Quality & durability of  boots and waterproofs aren't  among  their strong points, shall we say.

On 25/08/2023 at 16:21, Dick Dastardly said:

Why haven't horseshoe crabs evolved? 

Because everything has a tendency to evolve into crabs:

https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/why-do-animals-keep-evolving-into-crabs/#:~:text=Carcinization is an example of,among very closely related animals.

Not really everything, but it's called Carcinisation and a lot of crustaceans evolve a crab-like body.

1 hour ago, FWJ said:

I think it’s just part of my (not really and shouldn’t joke about it) OCD, that it would make things “tidier” if it was just all Edinburgh inside the bypass..

:) You should definitely throw all your energy into campaigning for the communities inside the bypass to become part of the City of Edinburgh.

However, you would probably then have to campaign to get the City of Edinburgh bit outside of the bypass incorporated into Midlothian. Might take a bit of work!

Screenshotat2023-10-1916-44-28.png.3956472bb95c581fc23f6bacf7d93775.png