Buffalo Bill?s book: ?Two Miles to Tynecastle?

Guest GhostHunter

blondejamtart

I'm looking for some holiday reading material for when I go to Turkey next month, so I'll be snapping up a copy to peruse as I soak up the sun on the beach!

• Replies 214

He must have sold thousands as I ordered mine over a week ago from the publisher and it still aint arrived.

I will be on the 2nd edition.:cool:

jambodougie

It will be interesting to hear what stories you have from Stenhouse school seeing as we were in the same class although I was in the year below - I swear the reason we went through so many teachers in primary is because they couldnt handle teaching one half of the class 1+1 while teaching the other half of the class 2x1 !!

jambodougie

Oh and yes I have ordered the book over 2 weeks ago but still not arrived yet !! Hoepfully it will be there tomorrow morning.

Rawrrrrrrr
Oh and yes I have ordered the book over 2 weeks ago but still not arrived yet !! Hoepfully it will be there tomorrow morning.

Did you miss the fact its not been released yet?:rolleyes:

I ordered it from Play.com and it came through the letter box this morning.

jambodougie

Nope not really - other posters have received their book from the same source as myself ;)

He must have sold thousands as I ordered mine over a week ago from the publisher and it still aint arrived.

I will be on the 2nd edition.:cool:

You will get the paperback copy after he has made his bucks on the hardback!

Blatant comercialism!

LOL.

It will be interesting to hear what stories you have from Stenhouse school seeing as we were in the same class although I was in the year below - I swear the reason we went through so many teachers in primary is because they couldnt handle teaching one half of the class 1+1 while teaching the other half of the class 2x1 !!

I agree, thats why I only have 1 o grade!:mad:

You will get the paperback copy after he has made his bucks on the hardback!

Blatant comercialism!

LOL.

I sent an :compute: yesterday complaining and got a reply today.

They said the book was not due out until 1st August( Knew that) but would send me a copy this week. :content:

ArmiyaRomanova

Another one just finished reading this, and found it a very enjoyable read.

Straightforward and in some ways quite a brave book to write.

speedygonzales

BB, must say I'm disappointed with the book.

Read it when I first got it a few weeks back, then had to re-read to double check my initial findings.

I can't believe there isn't a chapter, christ, not even a paragraph on the 'ultimate sandwich'. It must have taken you hours to come up with that recipe, I was expecting to read about all the blind taste testing, how it was you found baked beans offered the best lubrication for such a tasty doorstep. I sincerely hope you ran out of space and didn't forget the definitive 'eureka moment' that was your life(to date) ;)

I finished it a few days ago and have so far refrained from posting a review.

One of those reasons being that BB is a good mate and people may assume a bias. However as a mate I think I should post my opinion knowing that he won't be offended.

However I don't have to say sorry as I enjoyed it a lot.

It isn't Pulitzer material, and I never expected it to be. However it is a thing that many books aren't. It's honest. Brutally so at points. Andy exposes many things about himself and his family that he could have hidden and made the book a standard football "romp" about being a fan and how it affects his life, instead he takes the hits and makes it so much more than that.

It's a quick easy read with short punchy chapters that stop you losing interest and makes it a nice episodic read that you can dig in and out of at your leisure.

Please read it, you won't regret it, and if it isn't your cup of tea so be it. But a tenner is only a few pints at the end of the day.

And also remember it is over 20+ years so don't expect a Kickback based remembrance, it is the story of a normal bloke that loves Hearts, his family and the future.

The book made it's way over to Australia on Monday morning and was duely finished on Wednesday night as I was on the ferry home.

Obviously I've known Andy for a few years now so I wasn't totally in the dark about the book - although early suggestions it was to be an erotic novel were way off the mark. I'm not going to give it the "hard sell", if you love Hearts you should give it a read. Remembering all the good times and heart ache associated with our club made me feel proud to be a supporter - we truely have been through the mill but we're still standing.

I don't want to spoil anything for those of you who are currently reading it, there are a few gems in there. Thanks Andy for the mentions (3, I counted and double checked to make sure it was me!) I'm looking forward to coming back and sharing in more ups and downs with Hearts and crazed drunken shenanigans come November.

although early suggestions it was to be an erotic novel were way off the mark.

Ha Ha Now that would break the mold and get it up right up Irvine Welsh - even he hasn't got the balls to right an autobiographical porno interwoven with tales of footy. Instead he writes snide ones more bitter about the big team than proclaiming his love of the wee one.

Can't believe I just made a Bowie - Welsh comparison.

Rawrrrrrrr

I notice the question as to whether KB are receiving any monies for advertising has not been answered that I can see

Instead of moaning about someone who has written a book and has conducted a very well run advertising campaign on here.

Why don't you follow suit?

John

What question?

Anyway, not having seen the question, JKB have received nothing from this. Why would it? :wacko:

Hope that clarifies sufficiently. :)

Rawrrrrrrr
Instead of moaning about someone who has written a book and has conducted a very well run advertising campaign on here.

Why don't you follow suit?

John

So is that an admission that he has paid monies to kb?

I feel that if that is the case it is reasonable to expect this to be disclosed to the membership of the forum rather than it being conducted as if its an independent recommendation

And obviously anyone using the for sale/wanted section can expect invoices soon.

So is that an admission that he has paid monies to kb?

I feel that if that is the case it is reasonable to expect this to be disclosed to the membership of the forum rather than it being conducted as if its an independent recommendation

This is all a bit rich from someone who seems to be a non subscribed member.

Rawrrrrrrr
And obviously anyone using the for sale/wanted section can expect invoices soon.

I think you will find that in the rules it is differentiated between a private trader and someone who is selling an unwanted item outwith a trade

If BB or his publishers have paid a fee or any sort of benefit in return for publicity this is unarguably a business transaction and I would expect as such it be disclosed rather than it being put across as independent recommendation

And appearences can be deceiving as I have subscribed

I am now genuinely interested as to whether this website has received a gift or fee to have this and other threads

I think you will find that in the rules it is differentiated between a private trader and someone who is selling an unwanted item outwith a trade

If BB or his publishers have paid a fee or any sort of benefit in return for publicity this is unarguably a business transaction and I would expect as such it be disclosed rather than it being put across as independent recommendation

I am now genuinely interested as to whether this website has received a gift or fee to have this and other threads

You can't read posts sequentially then? :P

Rawrrrrrrr
You can't read posts sequentially then? :P

That thread must have popped up after I read JF's whilst I was posting my reply

The reason I was asking is it seems this thread is doing BB's sales and bank balance no harm at all

Maybe you should be asking for a fee ;)

The reason I was asking is it seems this thread is doing BB's sales and bank balance no harm at all

You write an interesting Hearts related book and we'll do the same for you. ;)

You are a sad man Prancer - BB is one of us. A son of Edinburgh and a Jambo. He's done good. Written something that has provided all of us KBers with a huge source enjoyment. We a quite right to celebrate this man and his gift to us. As for you .............

Rawrrrrrrr
You are a sad man Prancer - BB is one of us. A son of Edinburgh and a Jambo. He's done good. Written something that has provided all of us KBers with a huge source enjoyment. We a quite right to celebrate this man and his gift to us. As for you .............

Christ he's not Martin Luther King :rolleyes:

If you can do better then why don't you?

I can just imagine your book.

Chapter 1 - The day I was banned from Boys In Maroon

Chapter 2 - The day I was suspended from Kickback

Chapter 3 - The day I was warned on View from Gorgie

Chapter 4 - The day I labelled Neil McCann a rusty criple even though I have had a knee injury for 2 years

Grow up and stop trying to find trouble that isn't even there.

I used to think this was an act with you, trying to see how many irate responses you could get. I used to think that you were a wind-up merchant.

But now i think that this is the real you. You're stuck with your personality. You can't help yourself, can you?

Is Prancer the guy who there was all the fuss about last year?

There has never been a fuss over Prancer mate.

Irvine Jambo is the man you are talking about. He is in another league. :)

There has never been a fuss over Prancer mate.

Irvine Jambo is the man you are talking about. He is in another league. :)

Was the guy not suffering from bi-polar disorder or something.

Nope. He was just a serial liar.

Excellent post Jonathan.

To reiterate, I've never met BB, however I wholheartedly agree with Jonathan, he's one of us, one of our own, and I think its right and proper that we support him and 'celebtare' his work on KB.

I'm planning to post a full, in depth, opinionated review of the book sometime in the next few days. Of course, I have no intention of reading the book.

Its the same kind of approach all us exiles have concerning our opinions on Hearts performances that we never see.

Young Codey, if you make the invitation to the Los Angeles book launch, we will be sending a supporters bus down from San Francisco.

I'm confused?

Anyone remember Tory Boy on Harry Enfield?

Ha Ha I was thinking more Student Grant from Viz

Your making an erse of yourself mate.

Having a pop at people who are are genuinely trying to do something creative...but offering nothing but bitter cynicism.

It does you no favours.

flecktimus

Legal restrictions

1. No business offers or advertising of any kind, unless approved in advance with the Administrators.

I think this is the answer you are looking for.;)

Don corleone

How ironic that I choose to post tonight of all nights. a book about the highs and lows of following a wee fitba team on the night we have gone from the high of MM to no MM - and not finished probably.

Just finished this and found it a bit unique, lots has been written about 86 and 98, the highs and lows of being a jambo epitomised. Seldom seen it all captured in one place so well. Jeez there are matches in there I'd forgotten about. Its one guy's take and it is a very amusing one, tinged with sandess. It has a slightly different take on football, going into the life of just another schemie who has had the sh*t kicked out of him, by life and through following hearts.

I renewed my season ticket today, probably on the back of the McGhee thing, only to see all the juff about him staying. Ah well, life as a jambo.

This book captures it all. It could be about any team (apart from the big boys) and any schemie in any city, but it reminded me why I bother every other Saturday (or Monday or whatever).

Buy it - jeez it has to be worth 6.94 on amazon.

Just finished the book and was very impressed.

I was surprised to find myself roaring with laughter at a few points and i’m an age where I can clearly remember all the cultural references.

Quite courageous as well, BB’s honesty was quite brutal in parts regarding his childhood.

Would recommend it for anyone, not just Hearts fans, early 70’s kids or Edinburgh lad’s. But if you’re an early 70’s born, Edinburgh Hearts fan then this book should be a must buy.

One thing though BB, your passion for Hearts shines through quite clearly. :wink:

Cheers

Have just finished BB's book and enjoyed it immensely.

In parts it must have been very courageous/difficult to write, in parts it was incredibly funny, in parts sad and in parts both funny and sad at the same time.

As someone who was brought up, in the main, on the housing schemes of Meadowfield, Magdalene and Niddrie Marischal much of it brought back memories of my youth and sounded very familiar, whether it be North East Edinburgh or West Edinburgh a housing scheme is a scheme is a scheme.

For anyone that hasn't as yet bought it then I would encourage you to do so (no I am not BB's agent, nor am I working on a commission basis), I think you too will find it a good read, with huge chunks you will be able to relate to, and much that will bring back fond memories of HMFC.

just finished the book..........loved it!

couldn't put i down!

It brought back some wonderful memories, some sad ones too!

great stories about being tortured by his older brother made me laugh out loud!!

Great stories about the up's and downs of being a Hearts supporter.....the cup final memories were great and brought it all flooding back to me!

thoroughly recommended, If you love Hearts you'll love this book........Buy it now!!

I beeter get at least a pint for that:dribble:

Finished it a couple of nights ago, really really enjoyed it.

Very funny in huge parts, and equally very sad in others. If anyone is looking for a book to read, they could so a lot worse than pick this up.

Grew up not too far from Andy and a lot of the places mentioned in the book I had completly forgotten about.

Think I also know who the chap was who left the handbrake off at parcel force and got all the workers threatening strike if he was not brought back to work!

Good stuff.

Just started reading it and have to admit I'm hooked so far.As a lad who was brought up in the Broomhouse/ longstone area but left in the mid 70's it's good to here so many places that I used to know.

jambodougie

Having been in Andy class at primary school,the stories of that time brought it all back to me including the ouji board story which I had completely forgotten about as well as the dreaded Miss Bailey !!

Fantastic story not just for myself but from a neutrals point of view as well especially if you are from the same era as myself !!

If you havent read it then I recommend you do !