The JKB Autumn 2011 SPL Predictor competition - GAME ON

Ulysses

Forgetting to predict in one round has cost me the yellow jersey :smuggy:

:brucey:

:greggy:

:jbsmug:

Baws, if I hadn't missed one week I'd have crushed you all even more convincingly

• Replies 2.7k

Mad Uly is safe Wilky, I mark that group so the error was mine. :embarassed:

Uly, apologies for the error at such a crucial week in the game.

:embarassed:

You better wait Beats.......

You never know Jack of Hearts could've been marking your Group too ??? ooh_matron2.png

I'm confident my group was marked by someone who can count mate :lol:

SPL Predictor player of the week

The SPL Predictor player of the week gets an extra chance of securing a place in the knockout phase.

The average score per player in this round was 4.6 points. Six players reached double figures for points scored, and with the best score of the round of 12 points, the SPL Predictor player of the week is:

Flux

:toasting:

I want to cry with happyness.

So my good scoring was based on Celtic getting a late winner (shocker!)

And Davie O being 3 inches to the left with his shot....

I'm confident my group was marked by someone who can count mate :lol:

Oi! I can count alright.

I just can't enter numbers the right way round. :geek:

Paisley Jambo

Group 2 table

69 Wedge Antilles

64 kevinref

63 Tenor

58 Maple Leaf

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

56 Cyprus Jambo

55 mikethejambo

55 Clerry Jambo

55 Sexton Hardcastle

51 soonbe110

50 Paisley Jambo

46 JAYEL

41 The Imp

37 hoof.hearted

22 Gavsy Van Gaverson

9 scottishguy

The four above the line qualify for the knockout phase. There was no change to the qualifier list in the final round, despite a last-minute challenge from Cyprus Jambo.

Got what my shambolic predictions deserved. Thanks to all involved in organising.

Group 8 table

59 Everybody loves Baz

56 GRL1969

53 Randle P McMurphy

51 The Comedian

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

48 Harold Bishop

48 hibshater

46 winchester 73

44 Era Macaroons

40 Tams bird

20 hmfc fan

19 Jon Snow

18 ELVIS_LEGEND

15 dinger

12 Normthebarman

11 Toronto Jambo

The four above the line qualify for the knockout phase. There was one change to the qualifier list in the final round. winchester 73 scores 0 and falls out of contention, while a double-digit score from GRL1969 carries him from fifth to second place.

woo-hoo !!!!

:woot:

Mad Uly is safe Wilky, I mark that group so the error was mine. :embarassed:

Uly, apologies for the error at such a crucial week in the game.

:embarassed:

:unsure::blink::ninja:

As it happens, that wasn't the only error. :eek:

I got the list of qualifiers from the players of the week wrong. ArmiyaRomanova shouldn't have been on the list - and many thanks to him for pointing that out to me.

So here's how it works. First of all, the short version:

ArmiyaRomanova isn't on the list of qualifiers. His place is taken by Wilky.

Now the long explanation (feel free not to bore yourselves reading the details if you prefer):

The corrected table for Group 9 reads as follows:

Group 9 table

71 CostaJambo

64 DerekJapp

62 Alice Glass

57 Wilky

54 KilbrideJambo

54 billyboy38

52 portobellojambo1

43 Stewie Griffin

43 Tasavallan

41 ians1874

23 weasel69

10 Damski1874

9 somakeanoise

0 Beverley

The four above the line qualify for the knockout phase. There was one change to the qualifier list in the final round. Portobellojambo1 missed out, and Wilky secured the fourth qualifying spot.

This meant that KilbrideJambo didn't qualify automatically, but could still qualify from among the best scoring players who finished outside the top four.

Of those best scorers, Allowayjambo1874 had qualified with the lowest score. KilbrideJambo had the same overall score as Allowayjambo1874 - but had a better score in Maroon games.

This means that Allowayjambo1874 would be knocked out of the qualifying list. However, because there were only five qualifying players of the week - not six as stated - that means one more qualifying place is available for the best scoring players who finished outside the top four. So Allowayjambo1874 stays on the list.

Here's the updated list of the 64 qualifiers. The plan is to post the draw later tonight.

Alice Glass

Allowayjambo1874

AndyMcI

basher the jambo

Beats

Bigsmak

bikerjambo

blairdin

Bleedsmaroon

bordeaux...was bordeaux

CavySlaveJambo

CostaJambo

Cyprus Jambo

Dave Spacey

Debut 4

Deevers

DerekJapp

Dougie Masterton

Era Macaroons

Everybody loves Baz

Father Tiresias

Flux

Godfather

GRL1969

grumpyespana

hamburger jambo

holy smoke

Hungry hippo

ian039

interista

jambo 71

joshp

kevinref

KilbrideJambo

kurt mambo

LeylandJambo

MalkyMcFrench

Maple Leaf

mikethejambo

moyseuk2000

North Berwick Jambo

Nudster

penicuik jambo

peter_hmfc

potato

Randle P McMurphy

Rastajambo

seats

soonbe110

Sooperstar

Statto

Superted is a jambo

tenor

The Comedian

weasel69

Wedge Antilles

Wilky

yvonnejambo

Morgaro Gomis

Never in doubt. :smugger:

Dr. Sheldon Cooper

I got the list of qualifiers from the players of the week wrong. ArmiyaRomanova shouldn't have been on the list - and many thanks to him for pointing that out to me.

Now the long explanation (feel free not to bore yourselves reading the details if you prefer):

Group 9 table

71 CostaJambo

64 DerekJapp

62 Alice Glass

57 Wilky

54 KilbrideJambo

54 billyboy38

52 portobellojambo1

43 Stewie Griffin

43 Tasavallan

41 ians1874

23 weasel69

10 Damski1874

9 somakeanoise

0 Beverley

The four above the line qualify for the knockout phase. There was one change to the qualifier list in the final round. Portobellojambo1 missed out, and Wilky secured the fourth qualifying spot.

This meant that KilbrideJambo didn't qualify automatically, but could still qualify from among the best scoring players who finished outside the top four.

Of those best scorers, Allowayjambo1874 had qualified with the lowest score. KilbrideJambo had the same overall score as Allowayjambo1874 - but had a better score in Maroon games.

This means that Allowayjambo1874 would be knocked out of the qualifying list. However, because there were only five qualifying players of the week - not six as stated - that means one more qualifying place is available for the best scoring players who finished outside the top four. So Allowayjambo1874 stays on the list.

Dr. Sheldon Cooper

Jambo Ian 1874 -> :sob::cry::seething:

Wilky -> :jjyay::yas::pleasing:

Don't be jealous, maybe next time, champ. :thumbsup:

I demand a recount :ninja:.

Morgaro Gomis

I demand a recount :ninja:.

You would.

In JKB predictor terms. I am Paulo Sergio and you are Colin Calderwood. :turmoil:

Dr. Sheldon Cooper

You would.

In JKB predictor terms. I am Paulo Sergio and you are Colin Calderwood. :turmoil:

Hope you get pumped in the next round :thumbsup:.

Knockout phase draw details

Last 64

1 MalkyMcFrench v weasel69

2 grumpyespana v Maple Leaf

3 CavySlaveJambo v chester copperpot

4 Tenor v KilbrideJambo

5 jambo 71 v Randle P McMurphy

6 GRL1969 v Debut 4

7 Dougie Masterton v Rastajambo

8 peter_hmfc v Hungry hippo

9 Godfather v penicuik jambo

10 Jambof3tornado v ian039

11 Superted is a jambo v Clerry Jambo

12 Allowayjambo1874 v moyseuk2000

13 yvonnejambo v kurt mambo

14 Sexton Hardcastle v Alice Glass

15 vegas-voss v Cyprus Jambo

16 basher the jambo v Flux

17 Wedge Antilles v holy smoke

18 Bigsmak v hamburger jambo

19 blairdin v kevinref

20 Sooperstar v bordeaux...was bordeaux

21 Everybody loves Baz v Beats

22 Father Tiresias v joshp

23 Dave Spacey v Nudster

24 The Comedian v LeylandJambo

25 Deevers v soonbe110

26 bikerjambo v interista

27 Bleedsmaroon v mikethejambo

28 AndyMcI v North Berwick Jambo

29 Statto v potato

30 DerekJapp v seats

31 hughesie27 v Wilky

32 Era Macaroons v CostaJambo

Last 32

33 Winner 1 v Winner 2

34 Winner 3 v Winner 4

35 Winner 5 v Winner 6

36 Winner 7 v Winner 8

37 Winner 9 v Winner 10

38 Winner 11 v Winner 12

39 Winner 13 v Winner 14

40 Winner 15 v Winner 16

41 Winner 17 v Winner 18

42 Winner 19 v Winner 20

43 Winner 21 v Winner 22

44 Winner 23 v Winner 24

45 Winner 25 v Winner 26

46 Winner 27 v Winner 28

47 Winner 29 v Winner 30

48 Winner 31 v Winner 32

Last 16

49 Winner 33 v Winner 34

50 Winner 35 v Winner 36

51 Winner 37 v Winner 38

52 Winner 39 v Winner 40

53 Winner 41 v Winner 42

54 Winner 43 v Winner 44

55 Winner 45 v Winner 46

56 Winner 47 v Winner 48

Quarter-finals

57 Winner 49 v Winner 50

58 Winner 51 v Winner 52

59 Winner 53 v Winner 54

60 Winner 55 v Winner 56

Semi-finals

61 Winner 57 v Winner 58

62 Winner 59 v Winner 60

Final

63 Winner 61 v Winner 62

Feel a little guilty... I copied RastaJambos scores and sent them by PM to Uly.... So no matter what he couldn't overtake me... Looks like Joshp has played a blinder and got 9 points where we both scored 4 points. Looks like my evil plan has worked and cost Rasta his place while Joshp moves up into 3rd place.

Sorry Rasta... :whistling:

gutted but just spoke to Uly and he said you are getting withdrawn for being a cheating hobo :whistling:

actually scrap that i still made it through, hopefully you stay in long enough to challenge me head to head;)

Just realised that due to mine and Malky's exceptional form in the groups we will have to wait for the final to lock horns

:jbsmug:

:greggy:

:brucey:

gutted but just spoke to Uly and he said you are getting withdrawn for being a cheating hobo :whistling:

actually scrap that i still made it through, hopefully you stay in long enough to challenge me head to head;)

Well to be honest.. I didn't even look at what scores you had posted... But to put hibs down for a win.. WTF..I mean, honestly..

Reason I did it was that a few seasons back someone did it to me and I couldn't overtake them.. So learned my lesson... Private PMs for the last round...

KilbrideJambo

Group 9 table

71 CostaJambo

64 DerekJapp

62 Alice Glass

57 Wilky

54 KilbrideJambo

54 billyboy38

52 portobellojambo1

43 Stewie Griffin

43 Tasavallan

41 ians1874

23 weasel69

10 Damski1874

9 somakeanoise

0 Beverley

This all feels a bit like the state of Florida during a Bush election! I'll take it though as I had a mare of a campaign this time B)

Group 5 table

63 jambo 71

60 joshp

59 Dave Spacey

57 Bigsmak

56 Rastajambo

49 robbo214

48 Gambo

47 johnmitchell

43 alanjambo

42 adam1998

38 jambo east anglia

33 JamboCB

32 Pistol1874

22 jambos142

1 jayjay

The four above the line qualify for the knockout phase. There was one change to the qualifier list in the final round. Rastajambo loses out to a combination of a tactical firewall forecast from Bigsmak and a score from joshp that propelled him from fifth to second in the group.

jambo 71 wins the group. Just as well someone in that household knows something about football. :thumbsup::lol:

Tell me you don't mean that

I wish I didn't...:(

Feel a little guilty... I copied RastaJambos scores and sent them by PM to Uly.... So no matter what he couldn't overtake me... Looks like Joshp has played a blinder and got 9 points where we both scored 4 points. Looks like my evil plan has worked and cost Rasta his place while Joshp moves up into 3rd place.

Sorry Rasta... :whistling:

Must admit I did keep an eye out for you and Dave the last 2 weekends, didn't want to lose the lead with 2 weeks to go :whistling:

Group 5 table

63 jambo 71

60 joshp

59 Dave Spacey

57 Bigsmak

56 Rastajambo

49 robbo214

48 Gambo

47 johnmitchell

43 alanjambo

42 adam1998

38 jambo east anglia

33 JamboCB

32 Pistol1874

22 jambos142

1 jayjay

The four above the line qualify for the knockout phase. There was one change to the qualifier list in the final round. Rastajambo loses out to a combination of a tactical firewall forecast from Bigsmak and a score from joshp that propelled him from fifth to second in the group.

jambo 71 wins the group. Just as well someone in that household knows something about football. :thumbsup::lol:

:cheers::cheese:

You can stop trying to catch up with me John, was never gonna happen

:rudi:

Everybody loves Baz

Hope you get slaughtered in the next round :thumbsup:

Hardly, He's got me next round and it's the first time I've ever got past the qualifiers ninja.gif

Tell me you don't mean that

But I do hope you get Humped in the next round thumbsup.gif

Group 12 table

66 Deevers

60 Bleedsmaroon

58 vegas-voss

58 hamburger jambo

54 Allowayjambo1874

53 AndyMcI

49 brownkg

48 fatboythree

47 ArmiyaRomanova

46 Jamdub

44 shaun.lawson

39 Sierra Delta

32 BRY

7 merseyjambo

The four above the line qualify for the knockout phase. There was one change to the qualifier list in the final round. AndyMcI drops out of the top four and is replaced by vegas-voss.

I forgot to enter scores for the last week of the competition blink.gifsad.gif

As it happens, 12 players won player of the week over the 13 rounds, and of those 12 six qualified as top four finishers. So the remaining six will qualify as the six highest scoring SPL Predictor players of the week (based on the score they achieved in the week they got the award) who do not qualify as top four or highest scoring players.

The full list (in the order they won the award) is:

weasel69

CostaJambo *

basher the jambo

AndyMcI

Hungry hippo *

soonbe110

chester copperpot *

moyseuk2000 *

Era Macaroons

joshp *

ArmiyaRomanova

Flux *

The players marked with an asterisk finished in the top four in their groups. The six remaining players - who all qualify for the knockout phase - are:

AndyMcI

ArmiyaRomanova

basher the jambo

Era Macaroons

soonbe110

weasel69

I sneak in the backdoor woot.gifbiggrin.gif

Pish game anyway....

don't hate the game hate the players :interesting:

Must admit I did keep an eye out for you and Dave the last 2 weekends, didn't want to lose the lead with 2 weeks to go :whistling:

I did notice you copied my predictions a few weeks ago :whistling: was going to copy Josh's in the last week but had a change of heart, which nearly backfired :sweat:

Morgaro Gomis

Oooh. Drawn away to Hughsie, tough draw. Confident I can make it through though.

(Not really, been pretty pish this time round and was lucky to sneak through)

:smugger:

Tough group mine(6) so glad to sneak through as a higher scorer that didnt make top 4!!

Squeaky bum time for a good while though.

I did notice you copied my predictions a few weeks ago :whistling: was going to copy Josh's in the last week but had a change of heart, which nearly backfired :sweat:

needs must, I was most upset the Bigsmak posted his by Pm last week, had me waiting till Monday to see if he sneaked past me - but hey ho yous never :lol: :lol:

No need ya wee shite :(

Life in my household is pish just now :hang:

No need ya wee shite :(

Six days, and that's the only retort you can come up with? :ninja:

Sheesh, take some advice from someone who knows about the SPL. I believe you can find such a person quite close to home. :mw_tease:

The full list of the 64 qualifiers for the knockout phase is as follows (in alphabetical order):

Alice Glass

Allowayjambo1874

AndyMcI

ArmiyaRomanova

basher the jambo

Beats

Bigsmak

bikerjambo

blairdin

Bleedsmaroon

bordeaux...was bordeaux

CavySlaveJambo

CostaJambo

Cyprus Jambo

Dave Spacey

Debut 4

Deevers

DerekJapp

Dougie Masterton

Era Macaroons

Everybody loves Baz

Father Tiresias

Flux

Godfather

GRL1969

grumpyespana

hamburger jambo

holy smoke

Hungry hippo

ian039

interista

jambo 71

joshp

kevinref

KilbrideJambo

kurt mambo

LeylandJambo

MalkyMcFrench

Maple Leaf

mikethejambo

moyseuk2000

North Berwick Jambo

Nudster

penicuik jambo

peter_hmfc

potato

Randle P McMurphy

Rastajambo

seats

soonbe110

Sooperstar

Statto

Superted is a jambo

Tenor

The Comedian

weasel69

Wedge Antilles

yvonnejambo

Good Luck to everyone, may the winner be the one with all HMFC results predicted correctly. :thumbsup:

Competition update

This is where the tournament gets a lot tougher, because now you have to play head-to-head against other players and win.....

....and you have to win six ties in a row if you want to be the Predictor champion, and if you lose you're out.

Because we're in the knockout phase, it's time to introduce the Predictor knockout tie-break rule. If two players are tied on points scored, whoever predicts closer to the number of goals scored in the games on the coupon will win. If there's still a tie, it'll be up to the competition organiser to devise a coin toss or equally cruel sudden-death method of deciding a winner.

First knockout round coupon coming up.

First knockout round fixtures

The first knockout round (last 64) will be played on 19 November.

First knockout round fixtures are listed here. Get your predictions in before the first game kicks off at 12:30pm on Saturday, 19 November.

Please note the deadline date and time carefully, because predictions submitted afterwards cannot be accepted.

You can forecast on this thread, or you can send your forecasts by PM or via JKB email to one of the following members:

ArmiyaRomanova

Boof

brownkg

CavySlaveJambo

Dave Spacey

Deek

Eastender

Ezio Auditore da Firenze

Jack of Hearts

Paul_C

seats

Ulysses

yvonnejambo

Or you can send your forecasts by email to [email protected].

First knockout round ties

MalkyMcFrench v weasel69

grumpyespana v Maple Leaf

CavySlaveJambo v chester copperpot

tenor v KilbrideJambo

jambo 71 v Randle P McMurphy

GRL1969 v Debut 4

Dougie Masterton v Rastajambo

peter_hmfc v Hungry hippo

Godfather v penicuik jambo

Jambof3tornado v ian039

Superted is a jambo v Clerry Jambo

Allowayjambo1874 v moyseuk2000

yvonnejambo v kurt mambo

Sexton Hardcastle v Alice Glass

vegas-voss v Cyprus Jambo

basher the jambo v Flux

Wedge Antilles v holy smoke

Bigsmak v hamburger jambo

blairdin v kevinref

Sooperstar v bordeaux...was bordeaux

Everybody loves Baz v Beats

Father Tiresias v joshp

Dave Spacey v Nudster

The Comedian v LeylandJambo

Deevers v soonbe110

bikerjambo v interista

Bleedsmaroon v mikethejambo

AndyMcI v North Berwick Jambo

Statto v potato

DerekJapp v seats

hughesie27 v Wilky

Era Macaroons v CostaJambo

First knockout round matches played 19 November

Inverness CT v Celtic

Aberdeen v Motherwell

Dundee Utd v Hearts

Hibernian v Kilmarnock

Rangers v St Johnstone

St Mirren v Dunfermline ? Platinum game

The Platinum game counts double in the Predictor, and you can score six points if you predict the scoreline right. This week?s Platinum game was selected by the player of the week for round twelve and current holder of the Predictor Yellow Jersey, MalkyMcFrench.

Inverness CT 1 - 2 Celtic

Aberdeen 0-1 Motherwell

Dundee Utd 1-1 Hearts

Hibernian 1-1 Kilmarnock

Rangers 2-1 St Johnstone

St Mirren 2-1 Dunfermline ? Platinum game

Allowayjambo1874

Inverness CT 0 - 2 Celtic

Aberdeen 1-1 Motherwell

Dundee Utd 1-0 Hearts

Hibernian 2-1 Kilmarnock

Rangers 3-0 St Johnstone

St Mirren 2-1 Dunfermline ? Platinum game

Inverness CT 1 v 2 Celtic

Aberdeen 2 v 1 Motherwell

Dundee Utd 2 v 1 Hearts

Hibernian 1 v 1 Kilmarnock

Rangers 2 v 0 St Johnstone

St Mirren 2 v 1 Dunfermline ? Platinum game

Everybody loves Baz

First knockout round fixtures

The first knockout round (last 64) will be played on 19 November.

First knockout round fixtures are listed here. Get your predictions in before the first game kicks off at 12:30pm on Saturday, 19 November.

Please note the deadline date and time carefully, because predictions submitted afterwards cannot be accepted.

You can forecast on this thread, or you can send your forecasts by PM or via JKB email to one of the following members:

ArmiyaRomanova

Boof

brownkg

CavySlaveJambo

Dave Spacey

Deek

Eastender

Ezio Auditore da Firenze

Jack of Hearts

Paul_C

seats

Ulysses

yvonnejambo

Or you can send your forecasts by email to [email protected].

First knockout round ties

MalkyMcFrench v weasel69

grumpyespana v Maple Leaf

CavySlaveJambo v chester copperpot

tenor v KilbrideJambo

jambo 71 v Randle P McMurphy

GRL1969 v Debut 4

Dougie Masterton v Rastajambo

peter_hmfc v Hungry hippo

Godfather v penicuik jambo

Jambof3tornado v ian039

Superted is a jambo v Clerry Jambo

Allowayjambo1874 v moyseuk2000

yvonnejambo v kurt mambo

Sexton Hardcastle v Alice Glass

vegas-voss v Cyprus Jambo

basher the jambo v Flux

Wedge Antilles v holy smoke

Bigsmak v hamburger jambo

blairdin v kevinref

Sooperstar v bordeaux...was bordeaux

Everybody loves Baz v Beats

Father Tiresias v joshp

Dave Spacey v Nudster

The Comedian v LeylandJambo

Deevers v soonbe110

bikerjambo v interista

Bleedsmaroon v mikethejambo

AndyMcI v North Berwick Jambo

Statto v potato

DerekJapp v seats

hughesie27 v Wilky

Era Macaroons v CostaJambo

First knockout round matches played 19 November

Inverness CT v Celtic

Aberdeen v Motherwell

Dundee Utd v Hearts

Hibernian v Kilmarnock

Rangers v St Johnstone

St Mirren v Dunfermline ? Platinum game

The Platinum game counts double in the Predictor, and you can score six points if you predict the scoreline right. This week?s Platinum game was selected by the player of the week for round twelve and current holder of the Predictor Yellow Jersey, MalkyMcFrench.

I'd rather post my predictions publicly than run the Gauntlet of having my score marked & totalled up by the Mathematical Genius that is hartley.png JoH......

sugar.png

ooh_matron2.png

qqb007.gif

Inverness CT 0 v 2 Celtic

Aberdeen 0 v 1 Motherwell

Dundee Utd 1 v 1 Hearts

St Mirren 1 v 1 Dunfermline ? Platinum game

Inverness CT 1 v 2 Celtic

Aberdeen 2 v 1 Motherwell

Dundee Utd 2 v 1 Hearts

St Mirren 2 v 1 Dunfermline ? Platinum game

what is it wi you? :P Mr Unbelievably negative? have you ever predicted Hearts to win CJ?

ICT 1 Celtic 3

Aberdeen 0 Motherwell 0

Dundee United 0 Heart of Midlothian Football Club 2

Hibs 0 Kilmarnock 2

Rangers 4 St Johnstone 0

St Mirren 1 Dunfermline 1 platinum game

Inverness CT 0 v 1 Celtic

Aberdeen 1 v 1 Motherwell

Dundee Utd 1 v 0 Hearts

Rangers 2 v 1 St Johnstone

St Mirren 2 v 1 Dunfermline