New shirt sponsorship deal

• Replies 302

I do not have a problem with the deal.

A lot of folk will go on about morals and ludicrous interest rates but they need to look at the bigger picture.

They are far more upfront about the true loan cost than any high street bank and actually charge far less than a bank will for say a ?100 unauthorised overdraft.

The APR looks massive but no-one ever pays that amount of interest. They are just legally obliged to publish it even though it can be misleading if nothing else is considered.

And if any Hibee bangs on about morals then they should look at their current sponsors who buy houses of people in difficulty for around 20% less than market value arguably far more immoral. .

Vlad-Stupid

1. who cares about what kind of business the sponsor is.

2. Who cares what the Lochend Gallacticos think. Their sponsor is hardly a global power brand.

all-about-the-benjamins.gif

I can see the Sun and Record take on it though:

'Vlad Joins Forces With Bunch Of Loan Sharks'

I am sure the legal team at wongo would love the extra publicity of taking one of the rags to court for libel!

I can see the Sun and Record take on it though:

'Vlad Joins Forces With Bunch Of Loan Sharks'

DoubleFacePalm%5B5%5D.jpg

Not my opinion but it would not surprise me.

A columnist in the Mail on Sunday a couple of months ago already slated Balckpool for it despite the Mail on Sunday, like all papers being happy to publish adverts for all sorts of dubious companies.

I'm not bothered who our sponsors are as long as it benefits Hearts financially.

I stopped buying strips when I was a teenager. There's nothing worse than seeing an older guy walking along wearing a football strip even though their team isn't playing that day eg. yesteray morning I was waiting for a bus in Gorgie and a guy was walking his dog whilst wearing a Hibs top. Looked awful.

I think you are the only one being overly dramatic, not that it would be the first time either. Is charging 4000% representative APR dubious? Quite clearly there will be a lot of people who think it is dubious, although I can also see the flip side which is that going to a company like this is better than going to a loan shark, they are nonetheless a company who rely upon people's vulnerability.

Quote from the guy who owns Wonga.com

Errol Damelin of Wonga.com said: "The APR figure is not a true reflection of the cost of our credit. A typical ?200 loan over five days if paid back on time costs ?10.13. We are not a payday loan company."

Now is that, that bad?

Cheers, (I thought I was helping my old mucker Vlad out!! )

Errol ninja.gif

I genuinely cannot understand why anyone is upset at a company sponsoring us and giving us major amounts of cash!!

I have being reading KB since the days of Hearts moderating it and this is one of those threads where you just shake your head at certain posters and wonder what planet they are on!!

Its an excellent piece of business end off (providing they pay up :ninja: )

Quote from the guy who owns Wonga.com

Errol Damelin of Wonga.com said: "The APR figure is not a true reflection of the cost of our credit. A typical ?200 loan over five days if paid back on time costs ?10.13. We are not a payday loan company."

Now is that, that bad?

Cheers, (I thought I was helping my old mucker Vlad out!! )

Errol ninja.gif

A great example. The APR legally has to be published but on its own is not a true reflection as the loan will never be for a full year.

If you went over your overdraft limit for the same time,, say because of an emergency you would probably face a ?35 charge plus around ?10 a day making ?85 and I am probably being conservative. Yes, you are better to avoid them if you can, but in a short term emergency there are many far worse options from supposed reputable companies.

Only Hearts supporters could create negativity from something so positive, a nationwide known company, sponsors of an EPL team and official broadcasting partner of one of the greatest cup competition's in the world, all publicity for the club! :thumbsup:

I for one think its good news.

That's the shot Jamie, well said mate! :thumbsup:

I don't like our new sponsor and am disappointed that hearts would let themselves be associated with such a company.

Gods a Jambo

Cheap, nasty, tacky looking, crappy company plastered across the front of the famous maroon. At least we get a wee earner out of it! Gis a ******* break.:down:

Patrick Bateman

Anyone wanting to use a Wonga loan to pay for the top, assuming they want to pay it back over 40 days, can expect to pay ?63.45 in total. :thumbsup:

I don't like our new sponsor and am disappointed that hearts would let themselves be associated with such a company.

Please explain what is wrong with them.

I take it that you know all about Wonga?

******* hell, now I'm going to have to find out more about Wonga so I can defend them... :vrface:

Ukio bankas are a shit bank not even operating in the uk.

All:sports were a shit/low profile shop for plebs.

Strongbow is a horrific cider for underage drinkers and alkys.

Lets not pretend we had some sort of proud tradition of top drawer shirt sponsors (nobody in the SPL does)

Decent news. They seem to be doing alright, and if they do start to struggle (which is possible due to that industry) then it's only a two year deal.

Guest Dr. Pepper

Pretending that you know whateverthe **** it is wonga.com actually do, and whats worse, pretending like you care about the complete strangers who apparently get shafted by them, just so you can complain about what is IMO good news for the club

:keys:

First thoughts of some people when this was announced - WHAT WILL HIBS SAY. Thats tragic so it is.

From Wonga.com

95% of our customers are satisfied or very satisfied with the service they receive

96% of our customers think Wonga is easy or very easy to use

96% of our customers say there is enough information available on the site and it is communicated well when using the service

The majority of our customers have access to traditional sources of credit yet choose Wonga as their first-choice credit provider

NAH THEIR badword CORRUPT

I'm just stunned by this news.

Where was the kickback exclusive about this?

Does this mean that there's nobody on kickback who is really IN THE KNOW?

Now that is a scary thought.

The moral outrage is funny, did people act like this when we had Strongbow because alcoholics and tramps drink it and that's exploitation? What about nearly every kit maker using sweatshops?

I'm just stunned by this news.

Where was the kickback exclusive about this?

Does this mean that there's nobody on kickback who is really IN THE KNOW?

Now that is a scary thought.

I think you'll find there was a thread, and I called Wonga well over a week ago.

I do not recall who it was but it was someone. If it was you then well done, though I did feel it was a speculative guess based on another post.

Sterling Archer

lawsonuruguay.png

Let's hope this thing works like a bat signal.

I do not recall who it was but it was someone. If it was you then well done, though I did feel it was a speculative guess based on another post.

IM IN THE KNOW'D OOT MA NUT M8

Na, but really someone else told me but I'm taking the credit. :smuggy:

IM IN THE KNOW'D OOT MA NUT M8

Na, but really someone else told me but I'm taking the credit. :smuggy:

I also knew about this days ago :verysmug:

I must admit it's a pretty kick ass prediction :smuggy:

I also knew about this days ago :verysmug:

I must admit it's a pretty kick ass prediction :smuggy:

:verysmug: :verysmug: :verysmug: :verysmug:

perhaps the kickback doyens of ethical business practice should direct their outrage at the hearts season ticket finance company who are offering INTEREST FREE OVER 4 MONTHS!!!1! (but with a ?20 administration fee).

Meh,,, I would never use Wonga,,, I did not use Ukio Bank, and I dont drink strongbow, I also dont live in a miller home.

it could be be a lot worse and as long as the cash comes in I'm happy.

jimjamjolly

I'm not bothered who our sponsors are as long as it benefits Hearts financially.

I stopped buying strips when I was a teenager. There's nothing worse than seeing an older guy walking along wearing a football strip even though their team isn't playing that day eg. yesteray morning I was waiting for a bus in Gorgie and a guy was walking his dog whilst wearing a Hibs top. Looked awful.

I agree with the first sentence. I particularily agree that any dog wearing a hibs top would look awful :whistling:

Meh,,, I would never use Wonga,,, I did not use Ukio Bank, and I dont drink strongbow, I also dont live in a miller home.

it could be be a lot worse and as long as the cash comes in I'm happy.

What about Mita Copiers? And did you buy a car from Alexanders?

Cheap, nasty, tacky looking, crappy company plastered across the front of the famous maroon. At least we get a wee earner out of it! Gis a ******* break.:down:

Jesus wept!!!!!

Yes he did when he saw a hearts top with trampy Wonga on it.

I agree, there was something of a prestige about Lithuania's 5th largest bank sponsoring us...

Honestly cant understand some of the negativity on here about the deal,Wonga give us free money which can be used to sign 2 or 3 quality players for the next 2 seasons.In this financial climate and considering how pish Scottish football is,we have secured a major new sponsorship deal that is(reputedly)the biggest ever outside the old firm,have a word guys.

I don't know how to react to some of the comments on this thread.

The club has successfully negotiated a sponsorship deal with a company outwith the UBIG Group, which will put additional funds into HMFC and the UBIG Group (thereby benefiting both).

And people are upset with this for some reason, or at least two main reasons, which seem to be (i) they, the new shirt sponsors, exploit the poor and (ii) what will Hibs fans think of it.

(i) They don't exploit the poor, they offer a short term credit facility for people who need to realise some cash in an emergency, while understanding the repayment terms. Any person or persons who depend on such companies to get by from month to month aren't poor, they are feckin stupid, and shouldn't be allowed anywhere near money in the first place.

(ii) Who gives a flying feck what any erse hole who supports Hibs thinks.

(I'm thinking there may be a logical reason why they are looking for more profile in East Central Scotland, I believe there is a council in that area who are in the process of throwing together a one line train set, wrapped up as tram system, and who in terms of money management are feckin hopeless. Advertising on their doorstep could be a brilliant move for our new shirt sponsors).

Congratulation to David Southern and his team for bringing some additional funds into the club, lets hope part of that is what Jim Jefferies has been offered by Mr Romanov to make the team better on the park, which is the most important thing. Whose name appears on the shirt is a feckin irrelevance, the fact they are paying to have their name on the shirt is what counts.

Yes he did when he saw a hearts top with trampy Wonga on it.

hearts - let's find a new sponsor.

wonga - right we're interested. we'll pay ?400,000

hearts - nah, you're awright. the fans wont fancy that cos yer a trampy brand and they're awfy concerned about your unethical lending policies.

wonga - ehhh??? oor money's as good as anyone else's.

hearts - nah beat it. we can afford to be picky aboot who we associate wi.

wonga - well i never.

hearts - look at 'lil old high minded us eh?

hearts - let's find a new sponsor.

wonga - right we're interested. we'll pay ?400,000

hearts - nah, you're awright. the fans wont fancy that cos yer a trampy brand and they're awfy concerned about your unethical lending policies.

wonga - ehhh??? oor money's as good as anyone else's.

hearts - nah beat it. we can afford to be picky aboot who we associate wi.

wonga - well i never.

hearts - look at 'lil old high minded us eh?

It's the way it should have been done imo.

OK first things first. Yes it is good to get a sponsor that is going to bring us money, i have grown to like Ukio Bankas on the strip, however doubt we've made any money from them over last few years.

Secondly just because our club is sponsored by Wonga doesn't mean we have to use them (you can use quickquid instead ;) how many people actually have a Ukio Bankas account??

I don't particulairly like the Wonga logo either so it will save me even more money by not buying hearts strip next year :)(quite like this season's strip)

Lets just hope with Wonga.com as a sponsor we don't end up in the relegation zone (blackpool) :P

It's the way it should have been done imo.

ah well. maybe the next time if we're still in with a shout of getting unicef or barnardos instead.