Where is this?

jambogaz1968

2 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

OMG ... the closest yet ...

Fire an arrow from here and it would hit me in the eye ...

Screenshot_20230906_230525_Gallery.jpg

That's Barns Ness Lighthouse.

OMG ... the closest yet ...

Fire an arrow from here and it would hit me in the eye ...

Screenshot_20230906_230525_Gallery.jpg

Barns Ness

1 minute ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Damn you, I'm only about 2 miles as the crow flies from it at the moment.

Just now, Roxy Hearts said:

Just now, Doctor FinnBarr said:

Barns Ness

Indeed it is.

5 points to each of you.

Yup. I was sitting on a wee rock and was enthralled with the amazing colours of the pebbles in the rock pools.

The geology in these parts is awe-inspiring.

We are stupidly spoiled for beauty ... and only but an hour on the bus frae Embra.

£8.50 return. 😁

2 minutes ago, Doctor FinnBarr said:

Damn you, I'm only about 2 miles as the crow flies from it at the moment.

My gal wants to talk to you about static caravans. I kid you not. 😂

6 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

Barns Ness ?

I promise to buy you a 🍺

As a consolation prize for being ... just a tad too late. 😁

3 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

My gal wants to talk to you about static caravans. I kid you not. 😂

Don't do it is the best advice I can give.

I promise to buy you a 🍺

As a consolation prize for being ... just a tad too late. 😁

👍Google maps too bloody slow again 😄

7 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Her heart is set on it, bless 'er.

Honestly don't unless you're prepared to lose a massive % of dosh when you sell it.

We bought ours 18 months ago for just shy of 32k. If we sold it back to Verdant Leisure tomorrow we'd be lucky to get 6k. Tell her to look into it via owners forums. Had we looked at them beforehand we'd never have bought it.

Edited by Doctor FinnBarr

1 hour ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Dunbar with links to John Muir?

I must've missed your post.

A wee 🥂 to you, for what that's worth.

Aye, a lovely walk down from Dunbar, skirting the links to Barns Ness ... and slightly beyond.

Who needs holidays abroad when we have this on our doorstep?

Screenshot_20230907_000956_Gallery.jpg

Screenshot_20230907_001018_Gallery.jpg

Screenshot_20230907_001121_Gallery.jpg

Aye, a lovely walk down from Dunbar, skirting the links to Barns Ness ... and slightly beyond.

Weather is stinking here normally, I'm off to Tenerife in 3 weeks to make sure of good weather, and take in 2 CDT matches.

7 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

We've got a friend who has a static caravan at Pease Bay so I knew the lay of the land, so to speak. I had to Google "lighthouses in East Lothian " to help 😂. Been to Dunbar a few times but not the John Muir House/Museum. He's another Scottish legend.

2 hours ago, Roxy Hearts said:

We've got a friend who has a static caravan at Pease Bay so I knew the lay of the land, so to speak. I had to Google "lighthouses in East Lothian " to help 😂. Been to Dunbar a few times but not the John Muir House/Museum. He's another Scottish legend.

more of a legend in the USA than here.

3 hours ago, **** the SPFL said:

more of a legend in the USA than here.

The John Muir Trust, named after him, do a lot to preserve wild land here in Scotland. They own part of Ben Nevis, Schiehallion and lands in Skye, Knoydart and the far north west. 

Yosemite in California is what he is most famous for, lobbying to establish it as a national park and saving it from loggers and other commercial interests. 

Yosemite National Park, An Adventurers Place - Found The World

Spitonastranger
16 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Her heart is set on it, bless 'er.

I have had a static for 5 years and they are great, as previoulsy advised get a pre owned lots of good deals out there in great parts of the country 

37 minutes ago, Spitonastranger said:

I have had a static for 5 years and they are great, as previoulsy advised get a pre owned lots of good deals out there in great parts of the country 

Thanks for that. The agent has only just phoned her this morning, but she deftly side-stepped the sales pitch and it'll be a while before any decision is made.

16 hours ago, Doctor FinnBarr said:

Honestly don't unless you're prepared to lose a massive % of dosh when you sell it.

We bought ours 18 months ago for just shy of 32k. If we sold it back to Verdant Leisure tomorrow we'd be lucky to get 6k. Tell her to look into it via owners forums. Had we looked at them beforehand we'd never have bought it.

Sound advice, thanks.

Its certainly more expensive than we first thought, for sure. I mean to say £32K is hardly a pittance so serious thought required prior to commiting ... but ...

If you're happy with your one, which it seems that you are going by previous posts, then the potential re-sale value is almost not worth bothering about as you have it to enjoy for as long as it suits you.

If we go ahead then it'll be somewhere for keeps rather than an 'investment', if you know what I mean? Hence, I'll be deid before any re-sale. 😄

4 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Here's an early morning misty Matthew Draper-esque one ...

Screenshot_20230908_032345_Gallery.jpg

Newhaven Harbour?

25 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

Newhaven Harbour?

Was just going to say that. I should have scrolled down before searching where the Carrie B is registered. :yadayada: 😄

1 minute ago, JKB Member C said:

Was just going to say that. I should have scrolled down before searching where the Carrie B is registered. :yadayada: 😄

Don't tell but I did the same 😉

1 minute ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

Don't tell but I did the same 😉

I looked at it about 2 mins after the pic was posted, but couldn't be bothered searching then. If only...😁

3 hours ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

Newhaven Harbour?

Point goes to All roads. 👏

2 hours ago, JKB Member C said:

A couple of times, I've done much the same. The one that left me kicking myself was @All roads lead to Gorgie's Fife one seeing as I was standing looking at the clue in real-life at the time and must've been having an, ahem, 'senior moment'. Just as I'd eventually figured it out, someone beat me to it.

Anyhoo, although disguised with mist, that one, with its Carrie B clue, was a bit of a give-away.

It reminded me of the Artist Matthew Draper who has done many Edinburgh scenes in chalk pastel. I'm fortunate to have a couple of his from his earlier work.

For anyone interested, here's a link showing a good selection of his artistry.

https://matthewjdraper.com/

14 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Point goes to All roads. 👏

A couple of times, I've done much the same. The one that left me kicking myself was @All roads lead to Gorgie's Fife one seeing as I was standing looking at the clue in real-life at the time and must've been having an, ahem, 'senior moment'. Just as I'd eventually figured it out, someone beat me to it.

Anyhoo, although disguised with mist, that one, with its Carrie B clue, was a bit of a give-away.

It reminded me of the Artist Matthew Draper who has done many Edinburgh scenes in chalk pastel. I'm fortunate to have a couple of his from his earlier work.

For anyone interested, here's a link showing a good selection of his artistry.

https://matthewjdraper.com/

Thanks. It's a great image, very atmospheric.

On 07/09/2023 at 12:21, Roxy Hearts said:

John Muir, Scottish legend in America.

Indeed. He had powerful friends in high places.    Literally. 😜

th?id=OIP.p3qudATYApRREesAWMNuDQHaEV&pid=Api&P=0&h=180

John_Muir_and_Theodore_Roosevelt.jpg

Edited by Lone Striker

On 28/08/2023 at 13:45, Tazio said:

Achiltibue. 

5 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Achiltibuie?

Tell me you haven't been to Achiltibuie without telling me you haven't been to Achiltibuie.  

26 minutes ago, SUTOL said:

Tell me you haven't been to Achiltibuie without telling me you haven't been to Achiltibuie.  

Honestly, I have! 😀

... but it was over 40 years ago, so cut me some slack, eh? Lol.

I'm just glad that it wasn't somewhere I've been seeing as the photo had a curiously familiar look to it.

Also been to my other suggestion, Applecross ...

Ach, at least I had a go.

It's only a bit of fun ... and at least I dinnae cheat (I don't have the necessary tech skills, otherwise I likely would). 😁

My next one will be an absolute brammer, especially for you ... har, har, har ... 😉